Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > Avisynth Usage

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11th April 2013, 15:26   #21  |  Link
LaTo
LaTo INV.
 
LaTo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: France
Posts: 701
AutoGain beta7

Update Here: AutoGain-beta7

I consider the core robust and stable now, so for next release I will only fix bugs reported by users and some little things.
LaTo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th April 2013, 14:37   #22  |  Link
Reel.Deel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,115
Hi LaTo, I was wondering if you changed the defaults after Beta5 or something internally? By looking at the readme's I see that the defaults are still the same. But, beta5 compared to 6 and 7 behave differently.
Here's the comparison, I used all defaults and for beta 6 and 7 I used chroma_process=0. I like beta5 better.

Also, do you think it would be worthwhile to have U=xx, V=xx parameters instead of chroma_process=xx? I've come across footage where one of the chroma channels seems to be more "saturated" than the other.
Maybe independent parameters can aid those types of situations.

One last thing, AutoGain works fine with 8bit YV16/24 and with 16bit YV12 but with 16bit YV16/24 I get some weird artifacts which seems to only affect the MSB/top half. Here's an example after dithering to 8bit.


Kudos on the debug view. It looks very good!
Thanks again for all your awesome work!
Reel.Deel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th April 2013, 20:50   #23  |  Link
LaTo
LaTo INV.
 
LaTo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: France
Posts: 701
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reel.Deel View Post
Hi LaTo, I was wondering if you changed the defaults after Beta5 or something internally? By looking at the readme's I see that the defaults are still the same. But, beta5 compared to 6 and 7 behave differently.
Here's the comparison, I used all defaults and for beta 6 and 7 I used chroma_process=0. I like beta5 better.

Also, do you think it would be worthwhile to have U=xx, V=xx parameters instead of chroma_process=xx? I've come across footage where one of the chroma channels seems to be more "saturated" than the other.
Maybe independent parameters can aid those types of situations.

One last thing, AutoGain works fine with 8bit YV16/24 and with 16bit YV12 but with 16bit YV16/24 I get some weird artifacts which seems to only affect the MSB/top half. Here's an example after dithering to 8bit.


Kudos on the debug view. It looks very good!
Thanks again for all your awesome work!
I made a mistake with dark_exclude/bright_exclude, default should be "0.5" and not "0.05"... I will change it in next version, for now use "dark_exclude=0.5,bright_exclude=0.5".

And for 16bits / YV24, this seems a chroma bug (maybe I forgot a shift somewhere... )
LaTo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th April 2013, 09:52   #24  |  Link
steptoe
Registered User
 
steptoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 360
If I click that link, or any other to try and download autogain beta's I just get the '404 error' and had done in the past


Ignore that, must have been in the process of updating it while I was typing this. Just tried searching for another link came back to this one, beta 8 was available like 2 minutes later

Thanks

Last edited by steptoe; 14th April 2013 at 09:55.
steptoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th April 2013, 09:53   #25  |  Link
LaTo
LaTo INV.
 
LaTo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: France
Posts: 701
AutoGain beta8

Update: AutoGain-beta8
LaTo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th April 2013, 09:54   #26  |  Link
LaTo
LaTo INV.
 
LaTo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: France
Posts: 701
Quote:
Originally Posted by steptoe View Post
If I click that link, or any other to try and download autogain beta's I just get the '404 error'
Yeah, I was updating
LaTo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th April 2013, 16:37   #27  |  Link
ganymede
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Paris
Posts: 52
Your plugins makes wonders on dark scenes with footage from my Canon DSLR. Thank you very much LaTo !
ganymede is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th April 2013, 12:33   #28  |  Link
PDyksma
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 3
LaTo:

Just want to say THANK YOU!

This is the first "autolevel" filter that works for me.
I had some difficult laser-scanned super8's which had varying levels and never succeeded in getting them right.
With your Autogain plugin the result is just amazingly good!

Thanks again!
PDyksma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th April 2013, 14:27   #29  |  Link
Motenai Yoda
Registered User
 
Motenai Yoda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 701
just a question, how dark_exclude/bright_exclude works?
by percentile of excluded pixel or percentile of dynamic range?
also can be added a parameter that control how heavy and light correctons weighs?
ie if i want that light corrections remains unthouched, and lighting heavy corrections, or viceversa, lighting light corrections and leave heavy corrections unthouched.
I think to an "S" function that, for positive values relieve light corrections and, for negative values relieve heavy corrections (or increase lights ones).
__________________
powered by Google Translator
Motenai Yoda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th April 2013, 12:08   #30  |  Link
LaTo
LaTo INV.
 
LaTo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: France
Posts: 701
Quote:
Originally Posted by Motenai Yoda View Post
just a question, how dark_exclude/bright_exclude works?
by percentile of excluded pixel or percentile of dynamic range?
By percentile of excluded pixel

Quote:
Originally Posted by Motenai Yoda View Post
also can be added a parameter that control how heavy and light correctons weighs?
ie if i want that light corrections remains unthouched, and lighting heavy corrections, or viceversa, lighting light corrections and leave heavy corrections unthouched.
I think to an "S" function that, for positive values relieve light corrections and, for negative values relieve heavy corrections (or increase lights ones).
You can do that in an avisynth script with lut/mask/merge, but for general purpose I don't see the point to remove small corrections and leave big corrections untouched.
A sort of color vibrance's effect but on luminance?

Last edited by LaTo; 16th April 2013 at 18:39.
LaTo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th April 2013, 09:39   #31  |  Link
LaTo
LaTo INV.
 
LaTo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: France
Posts: 701
AutoGain beta9

Update: AutoGain-beta9
LaTo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th April 2013, 18:53   #32  |  Link
Motenai Yoda
Registered User
 
Motenai Yoda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 701
Quote:
Originally Posted by LaTo View Post
You can do that in an avisynth script with lut/mask/merge, but for general purpose I don't see the point to remove small corrections and leave big corrections untouched.
A sort of color vibrance's effect but on luminance?
maybe I did not explain well,
I mean correction by frame, not by pixel.
I notice you have added some limits, in a similar way, when gain of contrast is huge, or small, for some stuff, like night scenes or dark/light scenes (ie a corrected night scene maybe will look like a day scene), may don't require a heavy correction, so in other stuff can be preferable don't touch so much good scenes.
__________________
powered by Google Translator
Motenai Yoda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th April 2013, 10:01   #33  |  Link
Dogway
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,009
I get different results with high_bitdepth =true and without.
temporal_radius = -1 crashes on me
How to limit change to 235? is it a guesswork with bright_limit?
Dogway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th April 2013, 10:32   #34  |  Link
LaTo
LaTo INV.
 
LaTo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: France
Posts: 701
Quote:
Originally Posted by Motenai Yoda View Post
maybe I did not explain well,
I mean correction by frame, not by pixel.
I notice you have added some limits, in a similar way, when gain of contrast is huge, or small, for some stuff, like night scenes or dark/light scenes (ie a corrected night scene maybe will look like a day scene), may don't require a heavy correction, so in other stuff can be preferable don't touch so much good scenes.
Or maybe I am tired, or maybe the italian->english->french translation is failing
Sorry but I still do not understand what you want more than dark/bright/gamma_limit... These will limit changes on low contrast scene (like night scene).
Please explain a bit more


Quote:
Originally Posted by Dogway View Post
I get different results with high_bitdepth =true and without.
Yes very small variations are possible, but that is just +/- 1-2 pixels differences.
Do you experience more changes?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dogway View Post
temporal_radius = -1 crashes on me
No crash on my side...
But, with all due respect, you have 835 posts on doom9.org and your crash report is sooo small... Really, I can not do anything with that.

So as with the newbies:
- precise error message
- crash at startup or later or at the end
- avisynth version
- entire script used
- properties of the video
- a sample if possible

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dogway View Post
How to limit change to 235? is it a guesswork with bright_limit?
You can not because of the averaging system, you will always have values ​​above or below 16/235.
Add Limiter() after AutoGain if you do not want these.

Last edited by LaTo; 18th April 2013 at 11:23.
LaTo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th April 2013, 12:22   #35  |  Link
Dogway
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,009
I'm using Avisynth 2.6a3 MT.
It's more than 2 values, have a look.
Now I have 836 posts...
After giving it an unusual 10 seconds of settling it seems to be working... it seems..., can report further if you are not so annoyed.

Limiter() despite the name doesn't limit range, it actually kills it. So from your indirect take of the answer all I can read is "yes sir, guesswork". Thanks

Last edited by Dogway; 19th April 2013 at 07:59. Reason: There's no such as v2.6a4, MT is only for a3
Dogway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th April 2013, 14:19   #36  |  Link
LaTo
LaTo INV.
 
LaTo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: France
Posts: 701
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dogway View Post
I'm using Avisynth 2.6a4 MT.
It's more than 2 values, have a look.
Now I have 836 posts...
After giving it an unusual 10 seconds of settling it seems to be working... it seems..., can report further if you are not so annoyed.

Limiter() despite the name doesn't limit range, it actually kills it. So from your indirect take of the answer all I can read is "yes sir, guesswork". Thanks
Honestly there was no animosity from me in my answer, all reports are welcome... But how could I find a bug with so little information.
With all the time spent on the forum, you should be somewhat familiar with bug report.
Anyway, in the end you still do not give me all the information requested...

And for Limiter(), yes there is no solution unless you want to use "AutoGain(dark_exclude=0,bright_exclude=0,temporal_radius=0)" which is nearly as stupid as "ColorYUV(autogain=true)".
So the answer was the correct one, it's not my fault if you not like it...

Thank you anyway, there is effectively a bug with gamma processing in 16 bits... Just need to spot it.
LaTo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2013, 01:38   #37  |  Link
Dogway
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,009
with bright_limit as default, I went to the brightiest spot (many values compressed at 255) and lowered parameter up to 1.1 where (most) range was within 16-235.
I still don't know exactly how the filter works, but if there's no way to estimate lost range it's as useful as overdenoising. You are "gaining" partly, there's a range you are actually losing.
Dogway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2013, 19:12   #38  |  Link
LaTo
LaTo INV.
 
LaTo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: France
Posts: 701
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dogway View Post
with bright_limit as default, I went to the brightiest spot (many values compressed at 255) and lowered parameter up to 1.1 where (most) range was within 16-235.
I still don't know exactly how the filter works, but if there's no way to estimate lost range it's as useful as overdenoising. You are "gaining" partly, there's a range you are actually losing.
As I already said previously:
Quote:
Originally Posted by LaTo View Post
And for Limiter(), yes there is no solution unless you want to use "AutoGain(dark_exclude=0,bright_exclude=0,temporal_radius=0)"
Set "dark_exclude=0, bright_exclude=0", to eliminate 99% of your problem.
But this will have some outside range values, use "temporal_radius=0" if you want but it will be jerky.

And I still do not have screenshot or sample or script or ..., so I talk without seeing anything...
LaTo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th April 2013, 13:40   #39  |  Link
LaTo
LaTo INV.
 
LaTo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: France
Posts: 701
Update 2013/04/20

Quote:
v1.00:
first stable version
Finally
LaTo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th April 2013, 14:38   #40  |  Link
Reel.Deel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,115
Hi LaTo, congratulations on your advancement.

One odd thing though, the 2.6 version worked since beta8 but it does not with v1.00. I tried both MSVC and ICL, x86 only and the same error.
Quote:
VirtualDub Error
---------------------------
Avisynth open failure:
Avisynth: access violation at 0x00000000 in C:\Documents and Settings\VirtualDub\VirtualDub.exe,
attempting to read from 0x00000000
(C:\AutoGain\Test.avs, line 6)
Here's the script:
Code:
LoadPlugin("AutoGain.dll")

# NTSC DVD Source
DGSource("X:\test.dgi")

AutoGain()
I'm using SEt's 2.6.0.3 MT 2012.05.16. I have not tried it with the official or MT 2.6.0.4. Unfortunately I have to go to work right now . When I get some time I will try it out and report back.
Reel.Deel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:54.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.