Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10th May 2018, 07:54   #50781  |  Link
wushantao
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 54
[QUOTE=oldpainlesskodi;1841699]
Quote:
Originally Posted by wushantao View Post
since KB4103721, fullscreen playback broken,it will be blackscreen

anyone have the same problem with me?

win10 x64 1803 17134.48

17134.1 is ok,17134.48(KB4103721) is broken[/Q

No issue here with FSE 10bit.

Are you using AMD or Nvidia?
lav soft decode
intel gpu(4760HQ-iris5200)
wushantao is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2018, 08:00   #50782  |  Link
oldpainlesskodi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 178
[QUOTE=wushantao;1841704]
Quote:
Originally Posted by oldpainlesskodi View Post
lav soft decode
intel gpu(4760HQ-iris5200)
Ok. Sorry I can't help, as I am using an Nvidia card - maybe someone else can comment.
__________________
Sapphire RX 5700 XT (19.7.5) Ryzen 7 3700x, PRIME X570-Pro, Win 10 x64 (1903), Silverstone LC13B-E, Pioneer SC-LX501 Elite D3, Samsung UE55KS8000, Mission M33i speakers, Kodi Dsplayer 17.6 X64
oldpainlesskodi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2018, 08:41   #50783  |  Link
Dorohedoro
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by FDisk80 View Post
It does switch to 1080p23 but completely ignores the custom timing I set up in CRU that should result in 23.976hz.
When it switches from 1080p60 to 1080p23 it just results to 23.977hz like I didn't even create any custom timings in CRU.
Take the values you got from CRU and manually put them on the custom resolution tab of madvr (edit button), reset your pc or gpu and then let madvr automatically change the resolution. It should work this way.
Dorohedoro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2018, 09:21   #50784  |  Link
FDisk80
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Israel
Posts: 162
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dorohedoro View Post
Take the values you got from CRU and manually put them on the custom resolution tab of madvr (edit button), reset your pc or gpu and then let madvr automatically change the resolution. It should work this way.
Like I said before this doesn't work. When I apply those specific timings in madVR I get an error that says "Rejected By Driver".

Last edited by FDisk80; 10th May 2018 at 09:24.
FDisk80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2018, 09:26   #50785  |  Link
svengun
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Barcelona
Posts: 49
anybody tried the new Nvidia driver ? If so , any improvements ?

Version: 397.64 WHQL
Release Date: 2018.5.9
svengun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2018, 10:15   #50786  |  Link
jkauff
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Akron, OH
Posts: 433
Quote:
Originally Posted by FDisk80 View Post
It does switch to 1080p23 but completely ignores the custom timing I set up in CRU that should result in 23.976hz.
When it switches from 1080p60 to 1080p23 it just results to 23.977hz like I didn't even create any custom timings in CRU.
Here's another approach you could try. Since you were able to complete customization, look at the details of one that gives you an acceptable time between frame repeats at 23.976 and write them down. Then delete the madVR custom resolution.

Run the CRU reset-all.exe. Reboot, and you should then see nothing other than the native standard resolutions in the OS Display Properties details.

Then create a new CRU entry in Manual mode using the numbers you wrote down from madVR. They should result in 23.976. Save it and reboot again. Then check Display Properties to make sure your new resolution is there and you can switch to it.

Go back into madVR, and your new entry should be listed as a standard resolution of 23. Type in "1080p23" (or whatever you're using) into the box on the first tab, and check to see if the "Valid" indicator is OK. Then play a movie and see what happens.

This way you're bypassing madVR custom resolutions altogether for 23.976, and still getting your optimized result. It's a pain, I know, but it should work.
jkauff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2018, 10:56   #50787  |  Link
FDisk80
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Israel
Posts: 162
Quote:
Originally Posted by jkauff View Post
Here's another approach you could try. Since you were able to complete customization, look at the details of one that gives you an acceptable time between frame repeats at 23.976 and write them down. Then delete the madVR custom resolution.

Run the CRU reset-all.exe. Reboot, and you should then see nothing other than the native standard resolutions in the OS Display Properties details.

Then create a new CRU entry in Manual mode using the numbers you wrote down from madVR. They should result in 23.976. Save it and reboot again. Then check Display Properties to make sure your new resolution is there and you can switch to it.

Go back into madVR, and your new entry should be listed as a standard resolution of 23. Type in "1080p23" (or whatever you're using) into the box on the first tab, and check to see if the "Valid" indicator is OK. Then play a movie and see what happens.

This way you're bypassing madVR custom resolutions altogether for 23.976, and still getting your optimized result. It's a pain, I know, but it should work.
That is exactly what I tried. For some reason this still doesn't work. While the EDID in madVR does show the created resolution with the custom timings correctly, when MPC-BE goes in to full screen and switched to 23hz mode the refresh rate still shows as 23.977hz and keeps repeating frames.

Behind the scenes the drivers still rejects those custom timings. CRU just doesn't show the error like madVR does when you apply them.

Last edited by FDisk80; 10th May 2018 at 23:51.
FDisk80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2018, 11:41   #50788  |  Link
((( atom )))
noise is all around us...
 
((( atom )))'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: - deep within -
Posts: 466
You can easily do 10 Channels and more using USB 2.0 audio interfaces. I use an RME UFX interface to feed:
2 Tweeter Channels
2 Midrange Channels
2 Subwoofer Channels
4 Surround Channels

Audio is being transported from Kodi DS via jackd's network portion, which works perfectly to connect Windows and Linux and being received from a Linux PC which does audio convolution.
__________________
((( atom )))
((( atom ))) is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2018, 18:08   #50789  |  Link
jkauff
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Akron, OH
Posts: 433
Quote:
Originally Posted by FDisk80 View Post
That is exactly what I tried. For some reason this still doesn't work. While the EDID in madVR does show the created resolution with the custom timings correctly when MPC-BE goes in to full screen and switched to 23hz mode but the refresh rate still shows as 23.977hz and keeps repeating frames.

Behind the scenes the drivers still rejects those custom timings. CRU just doesn't show the error like madVR does when you apply them.
Well, I'm baffled. I don't get exactly 23.976 either when I play a movie (slightly less in fact), and I initially get frame repeats every few seconds, but as I let the movie play the repeat rate gradually increases, and after 10 minutes or so it's less than one repeat an hour, and continues to improve.

I read in an earlier post that this is just a limitation of the measurement, and not to worry about what the OSD says if you can't actually see any repeated frames.
jkauff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th May 2018, 19:17   #50790  |  Link
arcspin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 29
I have noticed the same but if I pause the movie and then resume my movie the stats change from 1 frame repeat every few seconds to every 15 hour or so.

It however doesn't matter what the stats say, for me the counter for repeated frames doesn't go up no matter what the "1 frame repeat every..." state and I do not notice any repeated or dropped frames.

Last edited by arcspin; 10th May 2018 at 22:04.
arcspin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th May 2018, 12:39   #50791  |  Link
suanm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 121
I wanna ask if madshi has a plan to add an option that converts format 4:2:0 to format 4:4:4 through gpu instead of cpu ?
suanm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th May 2018, 15:46   #50792  |  Link
wushantao
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by wushantao View Post
since KB4103721, fullscreen playback broken,it will be blackscreen

anyone have the same problem with me?

win10 x64 1803 17134.48

17134.1 is ok,17134.48(KB4103721) is broken


i think i know it。。。

check “enable automatic fullscreen exclusive mode” is bad

uncheck is okay

wushantao is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th May 2018, 15:47   #50793  |  Link
el Filou
Registered User
 
el Filou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 527
@suanm: madVR already does chroma upscaling of 4:2:0 to 4:4:4 via the GPU, it's basic stuff.
What's your source format? Can you post a screenshot of the madVR OSD to see what format it's receiving from the video decoder?
__________________
HTPC: Windows 10 1809, MediaPortal 1, LAV Filters, ReClock, madVR. DVB-C TV, Panasonic GT60, 6.0 speakers Denon 2310, Core 2 Duo E7400, GeForce 1050 Ti
el Filou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th May 2018, 17:25   #50794  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 3,662
Quote:
Originally Posted by suanm View Post
I wanna ask if madshi has a plan to add an option that converts format 4:2:0 to format 4:4:4 through gpu instead of cpu ?
That is what the "chroma upscaling" page is for.

madVR has an amazing number of options for upscaling the chroma from 4:2:0 to 4:4:4 and they all run on the GPU. NGU AA high is my favorite method for 4:2:0 to 4:4:4.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th May 2018, 22:43   #50795  |  Link
Clown shoes
King of the Jungle
 
Clown shoes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Shoreditch, London
Posts: 429
Soooooo has anyone had an issue with custom refresh rates causing their HDR image to be green??

No frame drops for over 24 hours, but green HDR! Doh!
Clown shoes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th May 2018, 09:48   #50796  |  Link
mitchmalibu
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 37
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clown shoes View Post
Soooooo has anyone had an issue with custom refresh rates causing their HDR image to be green??

No frame drops for over 24 hours, but green HDR! Doh!
Are you using a LG OLED ?
__________________
OS: Win10 1703
GPU: GTX 1070 (latest stable drivers)
Monitor: LG OLED55B6V TV / Yamaha RX-A860 AVR
Media setup: MPC-BE x64, madvr, lav filters (nightly)
mitchmalibu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th May 2018, 09:59   #50797  |  Link
wushantao
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by wushantao View Post
since KB4103721, fullscreen playback broken,it will be blackscreen

anyone have the same problem with me?

win10 x64 1803 17134.48

17134.1 is ok,17134.48(KB4103721) is broken


Quote:
Originally Posted by wushantao View Post
i think i know it。。。

check “enable automatic fullscreen exclusive mode” is bad

uncheck is okay


amd gpu is ok—amd a10 7890k
intel gpu is not good—intel 4760hq
wushantao is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th May 2018, 15:27   #50798  |  Link
suanm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 121
Quote:
Originally Posted by el Filou View Post
@suanm: madVR already does chroma upscaling of 4:2:0 to 4:4:4 via the GPU, it's basic stuff.
What's your source format? Can you post a screenshot of the madVR OSD to see what format it's receiving from the video decoder?
First of all:
A big thank to you for your reply.
I posted two screenshots on the post board.
Second:
I'm surprised there is no chroma appeared on madVR OSD.i don't know what's going on?Chroma is not displayed all the time when the playback of 4K UHD movies
Third:
Due to no chroma used, the conversion of 4:2:0 format to 4:4:4 format doesn't always work.This leads to worse video quality.I don't know how to solve the intractable problem.
Attached Images
  
suanm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th May 2018, 15:32   #50799  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,827
cam you upload the inages somewhere else?
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th May 2018, 15:37   #50800  |  Link
suanm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 121
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
That is what the "chroma upscaling" page is for.

madVR has an amazing number of options for upscaling the chroma from 4:2:0 to 4:4:4 and they all run on the GPU. NGU AA high is my favorite method for 4:2:0 to 4:4:4.
You're exactly correct.However, Chroma item doesn't appear all the time when the playback of 4K UHD movies.
suanm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 00:01.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.