Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 25th March 2018, 12:47   #49821  |  Link
Razoola
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 454
I have always used 'Home Theater' to label my HDMI port on my 2016 LG E6. The lst lime I tried the 'PC' label I remember it could not do UHD at 23.976 / 24.

Going back to nvidia and 10bit vs 12bit. What I think is really needed is a nvidia driver hack to unlock 10bit for those of us who have a panel that can do both 10bit and 12bit.
Razoola is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th March 2018, 13:03   #49822  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 829
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manni View Post
I am sure you meant purchase, rent or legally stream.
there is quite a lot of dowloadable HDR material which is legal, demos and the like.
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th March 2018, 14:40   #49823  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 829
Quote:
Originally Posted by Razoola View Post
I have always used 'Home Theater' to label my HDMI port on my 2016 LG E6. The lst lime I tried the 'PC' label I remember it could not do UHD at 23.976 / 24.

Going back to nvidia and 10bit vs 12bit. What I think is really needed is a nvidia driver hack to unlock 10bit for those of us who have a panel that can do both 10bit and 12bit.

well now.. this post got me thinking about the colour output problem I have with my RX card and i've found something interesting.

I have an 2015 OLED, when I play movies I got blown out reds when no calibration is selected in MADVR, i've logged this as a bug.

I have found however that by calibrating my TV in MADVR to BT2020 with a BT709 curve it corrects the colours, to my eye anyway.

Whats interesting is that this happens on both my 2015 OLED and my 2016 samsung LCD.

What I found today was interesting though. I ithe BLURAY LABEL as it gives me access to motion processing which I find essential, PC mode greys out all motion processing.

If I set my HDMI output to PC mode this fixes the problem, colours are now back to normal in MADVR.

When I select HOME THEATER they are even worse than BLURAY.

I've no idea what this suggests, is there mismatch colour gamut match up on the GPU side or MADVR, no idea whats going on, hopeing MADSHI can unravel this when he's back with us.
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th March 2018, 14:46   #49824  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 829
could MADVR be applying a higher colour gamut in calibration off mode maybe incorrectly, but then why does it not do this when my TV is in PC mode, all very odd.
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th March 2018, 16:40   #49825  |  Link
Robominator
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 4
Is it possible to turn off image improvement on Madvr for nativ 4k Content ?

Only use madvr for the HDR to SDR for 4k ?

If yes , how ?
Robominator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th March 2018, 16:55   #49826  |  Link
sneaker_ger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,476
Profiles (in settings click "processing"/"scaling algorithms"/"rendering"->"create profile group").
https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.p...17#post1271417
sneaker_ger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th March 2018, 17:01   #49827  |  Link
Warner306
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,115
Quote:
Originally Posted by mclingo View Post
well now.. this post got me thinking about the colour output problem I have with my RX card and i've found something interesting.

I have an 2015 OLED, when I play movies I got blown out reds when no calibration is selected in MADVR, i've logged this as a bug.

I have found however that by calibrating my TV in MADVR to BT2020 with a BT709 curve it corrects the colours, to my eye anyway.

Whats interesting is that this happens on both my 2015 OLED and my 2016 samsung LCD.

What I found today was interesting though. I ithe BLURAY LABEL as it gives me access to motion processing which I find essential, PC mode greys out all motion processing.

If I set my HDMI output to PC mode this fixes the problem, colours are now back to normal in MADVR.

When I select HOME THEATER they are even worse than BLURAY.

I've no idea what this suggests, is there mismatch colour gamut match up on the GPU side or MADVR, no idea whats going on, hopeing MADSHI can unravel this when he's back with us.
Your choice of a BT709 curve won't help matters. Try setting this to 2.20. Read Asmodian's madVR Options Explained in the Software forum for more information.

Last edited by Warner306; 25th March 2018 at 17:34.
Warner306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th March 2018, 17:02   #49828  |  Link
Warner306
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,115
Quote:
Originally Posted by mclingo View Post
could MADVR be applying a higher colour gamut in calibration off mode maybe incorrectly, but then why does it not do this when my TV is in PC mode, all very odd.
When off, I think it assumes your display is BT.709 and 2.20. That could also be your problem.
Warner306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th March 2018, 17:11   #49829  |  Link
brazen1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 227
I don't even know why PC mode is included in displays anymore? I bet your red colors change so dramatically because when in PC mode, custom color calibration is defaulted to native. Also, HDR deep color settings prefer native.
__________________
HOW TO-Kodi 2D-3D-UHD (4k) HDR Guide Internal & External Players
W10 1903 9604GB RGB 4:4:4 @Matched Refresh Rates 8,10,12bit
KODI MPC-HC/BE PDVD19 DVDFab 3 & 5
65JS8500 UHD HDR 3D
brazen1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th March 2018, 17:30   #49830  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 829
i dont have any calibration tools but when I apply the settings we think are correct its still way too red compared to the standard EVR renderer.

As i've said before, if I apply a BT2020 with BT709 curve what I get looks identical to EVR renderer, no idea why this is, it just is, I even bypassed my AVR and it made no difference.

Something odd going in MADVR with AMD cards, (i have no issues with my NVIDIA 1050 in the same machine with calibration off)
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th March 2018, 17:33   #49831  |  Link
Warner306
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,115
Quote:
Originally Posted by mclingo View Post
i dont have any calibration tools but when I apply the settings we think are correct its still way too red compared to the standard EVR renderer.

As i've said before, if I apply a BT2020 with BT709 curve what I get looks identical to EVR renderer, no idea why this is, it just is, I even bypassed my AVR and it made no difference.

Something odd going in MADVR with AMD cards, (i have no issues with my NVIDIA 1050 in the same machine with calibration off)
You should at least know what a BT.709 curve is. Read Asmodian's guide.
Warner306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th March 2018, 17:41   #49832  |  Link
brazen1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 227
Why aren't you using DCI-P3 at 2.20?
__________________
HOW TO-Kodi 2D-3D-UHD (4k) HDR Guide Internal & External Players
W10 1903 9604GB RGB 4:4:4 @Matched Refresh Rates 8,10,12bit
KODI MPC-HC/BE PDVD19 DVDFab 3 & 5
65JS8500 UHD HDR 3D
brazen1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th March 2018, 19:27   #49833  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 829
Hi, BT2020 is the only setting that gives me the correct screen colours, ALL other settings have been tried, none of them work, i think this is a bug.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/rdu32xdk72...22.38.png?dl=0

Last edited by mclingo; 25th March 2018 at 19:42. Reason: post toned down.
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th March 2018, 22:04   #49834  |  Link
Warner306
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,115
Quote:
Originally Posted by mclingo View Post
Hi, BT2020 is the only setting that gives me the correct screen colours, ALL other settings have been tried, none of them work, i think this is a bug.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/rdu32xdk72...22.38.png?dl=0
I meant pure power curve, not just 2.20. Try that. It probably won't fix anything, but that is what it's supposed to be.
Warner306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th March 2018, 22:33   #49835  |  Link
tyrindor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 47
I'm using a 4K OLED both as a monitor and HTPC. When I play 4K HDR content MadVR resizes all my windows and throws them into the top left corner after I close MPC-BE. I don't even need to fullscreen the video, just launch 4K HDR, closed MPC-BE, TV goes black for a few seconds and windows get resized/moved. Does not happen with 1080p content.

I have supported resolutions set to:
2160p23, 2160p24, 2160p25, 2160p29, 2160p30, 2160p59, 2160p60

This happens with stock MPC-HC with MadVR selected as well. Any ideas how I can fix it?

EDIT: It doesn't happen 100% of the time. I have to open/close it a few times sometimes.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Razoola View Post
I have always used 'Home Theater' to label my HDMI port on my 2016 LG E6. The lst lime I tried the 'PC' label I remember it could not do UHD at 23.976 / 24.

Going back to nvidia and 10bit vs 12bit. What I think is really needed is a nvidia driver hack to unlock 10bit for those of us who have a panel that can do both 10bit and 12bit.
Make sure you enable Deep Color on that HDMI input, because my E6 does UHD at 23.976 / 24 on the PC label. However, PC label absolutely ruins HDR on the LG E6, locks settings, and makes it look washed out. You also cannot get 4:4:4 without using the "PC" label. So if you are using the display as both a desktop monitor and an HTPC, gotta switch between PC mode and non-PC mode depending on HDR. It sucks, shame on LG for never fixing it.

Last edited by tyrindor; 25th March 2018 at 23:43.
tyrindor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th March 2018, 23:39   #49836  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 829
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warner306 View Post
I meant pure power curve, not just 2.20. Try that. It probably won't fix anything, but that is what it's supposed to be.
i started off with that and was sure it was right, after a while I came to conclusion it was still too red so I moved to BT2020, i'm now questioning that decision again after comparing a new set of images I took from interstellar today, could be The Phantom Menace isnt a good movie to compare colour with.

I'll just go back to DCi-P3 with pure curve 2.20 for a while and see how it goes.
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2018, 00:10   #49837  |  Link
maxkolonko123
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by tyrindor View Post
I'm using a 4K OLED both as a monitor and HTPC. When I play 4K HDR content MadVR resizes all my windows and throws them into the top left corner after I close MPC-BE. I don't even need to fullscreen the video, just launch 4K HDR, closed MPC-BE, TV goes black for a few seconds and windows get resized/moved. Does not happen with 1080p content.

I have supported resolutions set to:
2160p23, 2160p24, 2160p25, 2160p29, 2160p30, 2160p59, 2160p60

This happens with stock MPC-HC with MadVR selected as well. Any ideas how I can fix it?

EDIT: It doesn't happen 100% of the time. I have to open/close it a few times sometimes.
Hi,

I have had same issue what helped me was changing some values in registry keys, look here buddy

https://superuser.com/questions/4534...ing-from-sleep

read 3rd post, and let me know about the outcome
maxkolonko123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2018, 00:57   #49838  |  Link
tyrindor
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by maxkolonko123 View Post
Hi,

I have had same issue what helped me was changing some values in registry keys, look here buddy

https://superuser.com/questions/4534...ing-from-sleep

read 3rd post, and let me know about the outcome
Changed the values, restarted, and sadly no go. I've had that tweak work in the past with other window resizing problems, had high hopes.

I end up deleting the entire configuration directory and restarting, which resulted in only 1 entry instead of 6 which was correctly set to 3840x2160. However it still happens, and even after another restart there is still only 1 entry there that is set to the correct resolution.

I'll have to try a direct connection and bypass my receiver to see if that's what is causing it, unless someone has anything else i can try.

Last edited by tyrindor; 26th March 2018 at 01:08.
tyrindor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2018, 04:01   #49839  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,823
Quote:
Originally Posted by mclingo View Post
i started off with that and was sure it was right, after a while I came to conclusion it was still too red so I moved to BT2020, i'm now questioning that decision again after comparing a new set of images I took from interstellar today, could be The Phantom Menace isnt a good movie to compare colour with.

I'll just go back to DCi-P3 with pure curve 2.20 for a while and see how it goes.
gamma doesn't change "color" it only changes brightness nothing else.

the bt 709/601 curve is not the gamma curve we understand it something not fully it give you something like an sRGB gamma curve not sure what why it should be used.

madVR doesn't care if you have a AMD or NVIDIA card. so GPU driver differences?

BTW. there is a content flag for HDMI content with nvidia user have full control over it this flag can change the way a TV behaviours.
could be something simple as this most TV have an option to disable this stuff.

and just to make that absolutely clear you will not get proper color without an calibration that's the why people calibrate there screens.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th March 2018, 04:44   #49840  |  Link
foxyshadis
ангел смерти
 
foxyshadis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Lost
Posts: 9,413
Quote:
Originally Posted by tyrindor View Post
I'm using a 4K OLED both as a monitor and HTPC. When I play 4K HDR content MadVR resizes all my windows and throws them into the top left corner after I close MPC-BE. I don't even need to fullscreen the video, just launch 4K HDR, closed MPC-BE, TV goes black for a few seconds and windows get resized/moved. Does not happen with 1080p content.

I have supported resolutions set to:
2160p23, 2160p24, 2160p25, 2160p29, 2160p30, 2160p59, 2160p60

This happens with stock MPC-HC with MadVR selected as well. Any ideas how I can fix it?
Details of TV, receiver, video card, general configuration? (I'm assuming latest driver.)

I had incredibly annoying problems like this anytime I needed to change resolution on Win10 1709 when I had a laptop with 1080 vs external monitor of 4K, Optimus setup -- Windows would transfer the main screen to the 1080p and then back to the 4K, screwing up everything. It also did that whenever the screen went in powersave move, a well-known problem of Win8 and up. But it sounds like you don't have a laptop, so I'm not sure what would be causing the transfer to low resolution and back. Any other screens show up in display settings?
__________________
There are four boxes to be used in defense of liberty: soap, ballot, jury, and ammo. Please use in that order.
foxyshadis is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 21:18.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.