Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > Audio encoding

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 9th February 2021, 17:17   #1  |  Link
clidx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2021
Posts: 13
Extracting DD+/E-AC3 + Atmos from TrueHD + Atmos

Is this possible without expensive Dolby software? I have read reports of some receivers outputting DD+ Atmos when given a TrueHD Atmos track. The eac3to wiki also has an example of DD+ extraction but when I tried it, it started to transcode which suggests to me that TrueHD either doesn't always have a DD+ core or the Atmos metadata is tripping it up.
clidx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th February 2021, 18:01   #2  |  Link
SeeMoreDigital
Registered User
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Notts, UK
Posts: 11,917
Hi and welcome to the forum

Quote:
Originally Posted by clidx View Post
Is this possible without expensive Dolby software? I have read reports of some receivers outputting DD+ Atmos when given a TrueHD Atmos track.
Really... Which AVR's can do this?

Quote:
Originally Posted by clidx View Post
The eac3to wiki also has an example of DD+ extraction but when I tried it, it started to transcode which suggests to me that TrueHD either doesn't always have a DD+ core or the Atmos metadata is tripping it up.
Dolby TrueHD audio streams do not include a DD+ (eac3) core. They have an ac3 core
__________________
| I've been testing hardware media playback devices and software A/V encoders and decoders since 2001 | My Network Layout & A/V Gear |
SeeMoreDigital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th February 2021, 18:36   #3  |  Link
clidx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2021
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeeMoreDigital View Post
Hi and welcome to the forum

Really... Which AVR's can do this?

Dolby TrueHD audio streams do not include a DD+ (eac3) core. They have an ac3 core
I didn't keep links but found this report again. https://emby.media/community/index.p...comment=947524

Guess I will just have to put up with 5Mb audio tracks for now!
clidx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th February 2021, 19:47   #4  |  Link
tormento
Acid fr0g
 
tormento's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Italy
Posts: 1,841
Quote:
Originally Posted by clidx View Post
Is this possible without expensive Dolby software?
ffmpeg.exe -i [eng].thd -acodec eac3 -ab 640k [eng].eac3
__________________
@turment on Telegram
tormento is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th February 2021, 23:39   #5  |  Link
clidx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2021
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by tormento View Post
ffmpeg.exe -i [eng].thd -acodec eac3 -ab 640k [eng].eac3
Surely ffmpeg's encoder discards Atmos?
clidx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2021, 10:08   #6  |  Link
tormento
Acid fr0g
 
tormento's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Italy
Posts: 1,841
Quote:
Originally Posted by clidx View Post
Surely ffmpeg's encoder discards Atmos?

There is no way to keep it without expensive software AFAIK.
__________________
@turment on Telegram
tormento is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:18.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.