Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 16th July 2020, 14:34   #1  |  Link
Statick
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 26
how does madvr display switching work?

I recently got a new TV and wanted to see how TV scaling compares to the madvr scaling I've been using

I have Windows set as 1920x1080, this is what it reports as "native" although it's a 4k display and will happily switch to 2160p if I ask it to

so I put in all of the display modes into the settings - 2160p, 1080p, 720p, 852x480p, with each one at every fps the display supports, and this was "valid" and seemed okay

I then played a SD video, encoded at 720x480, and madVR switched to 4k mode to display it, when what I had hoped for was the 852x480p mode

why did this happen? what should I do instead?

the other problem I had, which I suspect is an Nvidia issue rather than a madvr issue, is that when it switched back from 4k mode to 1080p, it lost my overscan settings saved in the Nvidia control panel. if anyone has any suggestions on how to fix that (I will want to watch 4k videos on this) that would be great!

Last edited by Statick; 16th July 2020 at 14:39.
Statick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th July 2020, 14:43   #2  |  Link
clsid
*****
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 5,160
Why the hell are you using the crappy low resolutions of your TV? Step 1 is to remove 720p and 852x480p. If it is truly a 1080p native panel, then also remove 2160p.

The whole point of using madVR is its superior scaling ability.
clsid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th July 2020, 14:53   #3  |  Link
Statick
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 26
well as I said in the first sentence, I want to see what the TV scaling actually looks like and how it compares. I'm mostly just curious. I just want to see what happens if I send it a low resolution video without scaling in madVR, so I want it to switch to 852x480p. I just don't understand why it picked 4k instead.
Statick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th July 2020, 16:45   #4  |  Link
Klaus1189
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Bavaria
Posts: 1,089
What exact TV model is it? I need that info for research of further info of the 2160p vs 1080p issue you mentioned. AVR in the HDMI-chain?

For testing purposes to see how the TV handles the scaling, delete all resolutions like
Code:
1080p23, 1080p24, 1080p50, 1080p59, 1080p60
and use instead only
Code:
480p23, 480p24, 480p50, 480p59, 480p60
But as already mentioned this is only for testing, this is not a recommended setting, as the previous users already explained.
Klaus1189 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th July 2020, 19:15   #5  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 6,732
then do it manual.

480p is "always" 720x480 don't think about.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:27.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.