Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion. Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules. |
![]() |
#1 | Link |
Registered User
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 485
|
Skipping NAL Unit 63
I am encoding videos and when I do my dolby vision files I get the message in the subject over and over again thru the entire encode process. Basic encode commands are:
Code:
ffmpeg -i <source>.mkv -sn -an -f yuv4mpegpipe -strict -1 -pix_fmt yuv420p10le - | x265-10b - --input-depth 10 --output-depth 10 --y4m --preset slow --hdr10 --hdr10-opt --high-tier --repeat-headers --crf 19 --master-display "G(13250,34500)B(7500,3000)R(34000,16000)WP(15635,16450)L(10000000,1)" --max-cll "1000,629" --chromaloc 2 --no-sao --range limited --keyint 24 --colormatrix bt2020nc --colorprim bt2020 --transfer smpte2084 --dolby-vision-rpu rpu.bin --dolby-vision-profile 8.1 --vbv-bufsize 160000 --vbv-maxrate 160000 <output>.hevc |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#2 | Link |
ffx264/ffhevc author
Join Date: May 2007
Location: /dev/video0
Posts: 1,817
|
It's harmless. ffmpeg doesn't have all DV profiles implemented in decoding, so you get that message.
__________________
TV: Samsung QE50Q60T AVR: Denon AVR-X1700H CD: Yamaha CD-S300 Tuner: TechniSat 143v3 BD: Samsung UBD-M8500 Speakers: Klipsch Reference Phono: Audio-Technica AT-LP120X Amp: Marantz PM6007 |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#4 | Link |
ffx264/ffhevc author
Join Date: May 2007
Location: /dev/video0
Posts: 1,817
|
Here is the ticket to that. Might want to comment on it so it hopefully finally gets resolved.
https://trac.ffmpeg.org/ticket/5688
__________________
TV: Samsung QE50Q60T AVR: Denon AVR-X1700H CD: Yamaha CD-S300 Tuner: TechniSat 143v3 BD: Samsung UBD-M8500 Speakers: Klipsch Reference Phono: Audio-Technica AT-LP120X Amp: Marantz PM6007 |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#5 | Link | |
Registered User
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 318
|
Quote:
If you are concerned about speed: pipe the stderr output from ffmpeg to a file instead of console with "2> garbage.txt" after the ffmpeg command. This should prevent a redraw of the console. For your example this should be Code:
ffmpeg -i <source>.mkv -sn -an -f yuv4mpegpipe -strict -1 -pix_fmt yuv420p10le - 2> garbage.txt | x265... |
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#6 | Link |
Moderator
![]() Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 4,653
|
You're likely right on the throughput. I remember a version of PageMaker back in 90's was determined to spend 4x more time reporting on the progress of an import than it did on the import itself, as it updated the number of characters processed after every character.
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#7 | Link | |
Registered User
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Canada
Posts: 565
|
Quote:
It's a whole bitstream, so it could easily go into the millions (parameter sets, SEIs, slices) are all under that type. That said, I doubt it has any impact on transcoding. Even for decoding it would be negligible.
__________________
LG C2 OLED | GitHub Projects |
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#9 | Link | |
Registered User
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 529
|
Quote:
|
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#10 | Link | |
ffx264/ffhevc author
Join Date: May 2007
Location: /dev/video0
Posts: 1,817
|
Quote:
__________________
TV: Samsung QE50Q60T AVR: Denon AVR-X1700H CD: Yamaha CD-S300 Tuner: TechniSat 143v3 BD: Samsung UBD-M8500 Speakers: Klipsch Reference Phono: Audio-Technica AT-LP120X Amp: Marantz PM6007 |
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#11 | Link |
Registered User
Join Date: Sep 2023
Posts: 2
|
Hi jriker1,
you can use the following parameter: Code:
ffmpeg.exe -loglevel error -stats -i <source>.mkv <followed by your parameters...> Hope this can help you. Bye Last edited by caphp; 18th September 2023 at 09:59. |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
Tags |
dolby vision, ffmpeg |
Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
Display Modes | |
|
|