Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 8th January 2016, 22:34   #101  |  Link
ts1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 71
It's a pretty lightweight shader. Something wrong with your GPU drivers/setup. I tried it on Linux and it works fine with proprietary nVidia drivers, but with nouveau it's also not usable, very slow.
There is parameter to control sharpening strength.

Last edited by ts1; 8th January 2016 at 22:37.
ts1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2016, 10:23   #102  |  Link
BRM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by ts1 View Post
It's a pretty lightweight shader. Something wrong with your GPU drivers/setup. I tried it on Linux and it works fine with proprietary nVidia drivers, but with nouveau it's also not usable, very slow.
There is parameter to control sharpening strength.
I know, I get similar results with the 2-pass shader.
As for my setup, it's radeon-git, xorg.conf and xorg.conf.d/20-radeon.conf are as follows: http://pastebin.com/raw/aE3e21Bn

Code:
  Section "Device"
          Identifier "radeonVGA"
                      Driver "radeon"
                      Option "AccelMethod" "Glamor" # See compatibility on features page
                      Option "DRI3" "on" # Compatibility not very well documented, remove it if it fails
                      Option "EnablePageFlip" "On"
  EndSection
BRM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2016, 11:02   #103  |  Link
ts1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 71
Can't help you with this, I never used Radeon and I use Linux (Sabayon, Gentoo based) from flash drive, it already includes proprietary drivers and mpv.
ts1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2016, 23:01   #104  |  Link
XMonarchY
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
How would I go about integrating your latest version downloads into ReShade? ReShade uses either .fx files or .h files. I assume I can just rename TWO-PASS .hlsl file to .h or .fx file because the content is identical, isn't it? When I open the file with WordPad, it shows identical info. I assume ReShade uses the TWO-PASS file because ATM it uses a 12KB file, which is closer to TWO-PASS 11KB then to ONE-PASS 4KB file.
  Reply With Quote
Old 14th January 2016, 01:42   #105  |  Link
aufkrawall
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,812
You have to port the HLSL shader to ReShade shading language.
bacondither or JPulowski will do it soon:
https://github.com/crosire/reshade-shaders/issues/8
aufkrawall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th January 2016, 18:41   #106  |  Link
BRM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by ts1 View Post
Can't help you with this, I never used Radeon and I use Linux (Sabayon, Gentoo based) from flash drive, it already includes proprietary drivers and mpv.
New 1 pass shader causes a segfault.

Code:
LLVM triggered Diagnostic Handler: SIInstrInfo::storeRegToStackSlot - Can't spill VGPR!
[1]    9181 segmentation fault  mpv https://www.youtube.com/watch\?v\=yqynPcFEL3U

Last edited by BRM; 19th January 2016 at 18:44.
BRM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th January 2016, 19:47   #107  |  Link
ts1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 71
Are you sure this is shader's fault? Is there any errors from a shader compiler?
I will test it with mesa later.

Edit: works with mesa, slow but without errors.
Quote:
LLVM triggered Diagnostic Handler: SIInstrInfo::storeRegToStackSlot - Can't spill VGPR!
Seems like it's a LLVM's bug https://bugs.freedesktop.org/show_bug.cgi?id=75276#c50. Do you use latest LLVM 3.7?

Last edited by ts1; 27th January 2016 at 20:43.
ts1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th January 2016, 01:18   #108  |  Link
BRM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by ts1 View Post
Seems like it's a LLVM's bug https://bugs.freedesktop.org/show_bug.cgi?id=75276#c50. Do you use latest LLVM 3.7?
Yes, that one is super slow but works, and you were right, it was caused by using LLVM 3.5.
BRM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd February 2016, 15:40   #109  |  Link
ts1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 71
nevermind

Last edited by ts1; 2nd February 2016 at 16:14.
ts1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2016, 14:27   #110  |  Link
ts1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 71
bacondither
I removed my previous comment, but there is still a problem in minim_satloss, there are cases when c0_Y==0.

Ok, this is only in glsl so.

Last edited by ts1; 16th February 2016 at 19:57.
ts1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2016, 23:10   #111  |  Link
foozoor
Registered User
 
foozoor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 116
Thanks for the update ts1.
foozoor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2016, 04:02   #112  |  Link
XMonarchY
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Could someone provide some images that compare LumaSharpen, AdaptiveSharpen, FineSharp, and or Crispen Edges using similar settings?

I usually apply a little bit of AdaptiveSharpen (0.1-0.15) and a little bit of LumaSharpen (0.50 - strength, 0.030 - clamp) in films and games, but I'd like to reduce ringing, noise, artifacts, overshoot, and other side-effects. What should I be using them - both AdaptiveSharpen and LumaSharpen OR just one of them? Which one?
  Reply With Quote
Old 12th July 2016, 18:54   #113  |  Link
bacondither
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Sweden
Posts: 128
New version released!

Quote:
Originally Posted by ts1 View Post
bacondither
I removed my previous comment, but there is still a problem in minim_satloss, there are cases when c0_Y==0.

Ok, this is only in glsl so.
That's strange, i have done a glsl port of my own for testing so i could poke around with it in mpv a bit.
bacondither is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th July 2016, 21:50   #114  |  Link
toniash
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 131
new one-pass version??

A guy (igv) ported and improved this shader for the mpv hook system:
https://gist.github.com/igv/8a77e4eb...bb94c1c50c317e

I don't really know what he improved but it looks amazingly on my sister's laptop with a weak intel hd3000 iGPU. The two-passes version is too intensive!

(From Madvr thread)
toniash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th December 2016, 12:27   #115  |  Link
bob88
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 57
Hello,

I'm using latest version MPC-HC x64 1.7.10
I added the shaders in post-resize in the described order but I still get a green screen.
Could somebody please tell me how to fix it?

Thank you!
bob88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th December 2016, 14:08   #116  |  Link
bacondither
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Sweden
Posts: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob88 View Post
Could somebody please tell me how to fix it?

Thank you!
If you are using madVR as video renderer untick "lose BTB and WTW if it improves performance" and "run custom pixel shaders in video levels instead of PC levels".
The settings can be found in madVR settings, rendering->trade quality for performance.
bacondither is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th December 2016, 15:12   #117  |  Link
bob88
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 57
I am using the default 'enhanced video renderer (custom presenter)'
madVR is listed as unavailable, I guess it has to be installed additionally. Should I be using that? Is it better?
bob88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th December 2016, 15:30   #118  |  Link
bacondither
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Sweden
Posts: 128
Ok you are using EVR.
Go to View-> Renderer Settings -> Presentation and enable "Full floating point point processing" or "Half floating point point processing", then restart MPC-HC.

Hmm i should probably add this to the installation instructions.
bacondither is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th December 2016, 18:48   #119  |  Link
BetA13
cosmic entity
 
BetA13's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: outside the Box
Posts: 258
Quote:
Originally Posted by bacondither View Post
Ok you are using EVR.
Go to View-> Renderer Settings -> Presentation and enable "Full floating point point processing" or "Half floating point point processing", then restart MPC-HC.

Hmm i should probably add this to the installation instructions.
ha, and i was wondering why it didnt work in my normal MPCHC test player but did work with madvr etc..

Thanks for the tip with the "Full floating point point processing"


Just wondering, what does this function do anyway?

"Full floating point point processing", "Half floating point point processing"


Have a nice evening bacondither and thanks for teh lesson haha..
BetA13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th December 2016, 19:28   #120  |  Link
bob88
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by bacondither View Post
Ok you are using EVR.
Go to View-> Renderer Settings -> Presentation and enable "Full floating point point processing" or "Half floating point point processing", then restart MPC-HC.

Hmm i should probably add this to the installation instructions.
Enabling full or half floating point processing just results in completely black screen regardless of shaders.
bob88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
adaptive sharpen, shader, sharpening

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 16:04.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.