Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 25th November 2022, 19:11   #761  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 4,369
But that really just adds work for your CPU without reducing the workload on the GPU. The GPU even has to do a little more work due to copying the decoded data from the CPU's memory to the GPU.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2022, 20:10   #762  |  Link
StrifeLeonhart
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by JNW View Post
Not exactly what you wanted but best you could do would be to use software decoding. That will use your CPU instead of GPU.
My friend that is exactly what I was trying to explain to Asmodian, that is exactly what I wanted to do, thank you so much for saying what I wanted to say but didn't know how.

I don't mind about adding more work for the CPU, I'm just trying to make the CPU take the work load instead of the GPU.

Now I would like to ask Asmodian, which options would I need to go through the "MaxQuality" settings to use Software decoding.
StrifeLeonhart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th November 2022, 05:23   #763  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 7,550
you should stop ignoring him and understand that this will cost you GPU power...
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th November 2022, 23:18   #764  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 4,369
Quote:
Originally Posted by StrifeLeonhart View Post
I don't mind about adding more work for the CPU, I'm just trying to make the CPU take the work load instead of the GPU.
Using software decoding does not make the CPU take the workload instead of the GPU. It makes the CPU do a lot more work, while also making the GPU do more work.

I know it is counterintuitive, it seems like the CPU doing a lot more work would mean the GPU has less to do, but the way hardware decoding works on modern GPUs means that madVR has the most GPU power available when using native hardware decoding. The GPU has extra fixed function hardware that does the decoding directly into GPU memory which takes less GPU power than copying the data from system memory.

There are reasons to use software decoding but moving workload from the GPU to the CPU is not one of them.

Quote:
Originally Posted by StrifeLeonhart View Post
Now I would like to ask Asmodian, which options would I need to go through the "MaxQuality" settings to use Software decoding.
You do not change anything in madVR, hardware v.s. software decoding is an option in LAV Video.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 9th December 2022, 15:32   #765  |  Link
alexnt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 27
Is it correct to use
1080p23, 1080p24, 1080p60, 1080p120, 2560x1440p23, 2560x1440p24, 2560x1440p60, 2560x1440p120
under "list all display modes madvr may switch to" ?

My monitor is 1440p@144 but I use it @120Hz
The content I watch on this monitor is mostly 23.976 & 24 fps.
alexnt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th December 2022, 22:18   #766  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 7,550
you sadly have to check the refreshrates manual 144 and 240 are usually 143 and 239 so a muliply of 23 refreshrate.

looking at all the modes provided maybe enough.
2560x1440p120 and 2560x1440p144

you can skip 144.

why would you ever want to switch to 1080?
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th December 2022, 22:43   #767  |  Link
alexnt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
you sadly have to check the refreshrates manual 144 and 240 are usually 143 and 239 so a muliply of 23 refreshrate.

looking at all the modes provided maybe enough.
2560x1440p120 and 2560x1440p144

you can skip 144.

why would you ever want to switch to 1080?
Thanks for the reply!
Because movies are 1080 but as I understand from what you said this not a correct assumption.

I'll stick with 2560x1440p120

Last edited by alexnt; 9th December 2022 at 22:49.
alexnt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2022, 08:01   #768  |  Link
JNW
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asmodian View Post
Using software decoding does not make the CPU take the workload instead of the GPU. It makes the CPU do a lot more work, while also making the GPU do more work. Verified with task manager.

I know it is counterintuitive, it seems like the CPU doing a lot more work would mean the GPU has less to do, but the way hardware decoding works on modern GPUs means that madVR has the most GPU power available when using native hardware decoding. The GPU has extra fixed function hardware that does the decoding directly into GPU memory which takes less GPU power than copying the data from system memory.

There are reasons to use software decoding but moving workload from the GPU to the CPU is not one of them.



You do not change anything in madVR, hardware v.s. software decoding is an option in LAV Video.
I'd never argue with you but not how it works on an Intel 11th Gen XE. Get better performance dropping to software. Depends on GPU most likely. Verified task manager. Same madVR, mpv.


EDIT: Merry Christmas Doom9

Last edited by JNW; 24th December 2022 at 08:11.
JNW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2022, 08:19   #769  |  Link
Klaus1189
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Bavaria
Posts: 1,516
So what GPU do you use?
Klaus1189 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2022, 22:27   #770  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 4,369
Quote:
Originally Posted by JNW View Post
Get better performance dropping to software.
I am curious how you measured "better performance" along with which GPU you are using. Are you comparing to DXVA2 or D3D11, copyback or native?

Do you get lower GPU power draw when running software decoding?

The point I was arguing against with was the idea that you can free up GPU resources by using software decoding. Unless your GPU is pretty old, e.g. using a hybrid decoder, software decoding does not free up GPU resources. It actually uses more GPU resources due to the increased data transfer over the PCIe bus. This is usually a very minor effect with higher end GPUs; however, it is counter intuitive if you expect the CPU to have taken a lot of work from the GPU.

Sometimes you do get better performance overall with software decoding. This is because the GPU switches to a higher power (higher clock speed) mode due to the increased workload, which actually runs madVR better. The drivers don't seem to be that good at picking power levels for madVR's workload. I suggest using a mode other than "Optimal power" for Nvidia GPUs, unless power usage is very important to you.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 19:51.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.