Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 AVC / H.264

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 1st March 2005, 20:51   #1  |  Link
bob0r
Pain and suffering
 
bob0r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,337
mirrors

I have put all revisions online.
I have setup a script to check, compile and mirror the latest version.
The script will check for a new revision every hour.
Generic version of x264vfw.dll is compiled, default compile settings from x264.
A full changelog can be found in changelog.txt
Read the readme.txt for info about the builds and more info.

url: http://x264.nl

Last edited by bob0r; 3rd March 2005 at 11:53.
bob0r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd March 2005, 18:25   #2  |  Link
Sharktooth
Mr. Sandman
 
Sharktooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Haddonfield, IL
Posts: 11,768
I added some cflags that should give some speed in general:
Added -O3 in vfw
Added -march=pentium3 -mmmx -msse -mfpmath=sse
Removed -ffast-math due to crashes with sse.

The (in)famous compiler bug was generated by -fomit-frame-pointer (that was removed as well).

Last edited by Sharktooth; 5th March 2005 at 22:15.
Sharktooth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th March 2005, 22:47   #3  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 6,007
Only P3 (, P4?) and AXP builds would kick me out of business: I only have a Duron 800, which supports only MMX and ISSE. So please: Do not turn down vanilla builds, if possible.
LigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th March 2005, 23:18   #4  |  Link
Sharktooth
Mr. Sandman
 
Sharktooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Haddonfield, IL
Posts: 11,768
Vanilla builds can be downloaded at the celtic druid site or bob0r site.
Sharktooth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th March 2005, 23:28   #5  |  Link
bob0r
Pain and suffering
 
bob0r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,337
386

Quote:
Originally posted by LigH
Only P3 (, P4?) and AXP builds would kick me out of business: I only have a Duron 800, which supports only MMX and ISSE. So please: Do not turn down vanilla builds, if possible.
My builds are for any 386 or higher CPU.
The default Makefile doesn't force any cpu-specific optimizations, and gcc defaults to 386-compatible.
My compiled versions ( http://x264.nl/x264/readme.txt ) only adds no debug, so it should work just fine for you.
I just did a test on a Intel Pentium II, 334MHz, 512KB and it works fine.

I think adding cpu optimalisations and not offering the default version is not very smart, as indeed some people want to test and don't have the luxury of a great new CPU, or other reasons!
As x264 is still in early development (although progress is great),
Puting more specific cpu versions online also limits the feedback from users, which at this stage seems always welcome!

[edit]
@Sharktooth
Yup edit is our friend
Agreed!
[/edit]

Grab my version from:
||
\/

Last edited by bob0r; 6th March 2005 at 00:12.
bob0r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th March 2005, 23:39   #6  |  Link
Sharktooth
Mr. Sandman
 
Sharktooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Haddonfield, IL
Posts: 11,768
Ppl who doesnt own a P3 class CPU can always download your builds or celtic druid ones. That's the reason i added the links to my original post. It's quite useless to have 3 persons doing the same things, don't you think?

Last edited by Sharktooth; 5th March 2005 at 23:45.
Sharktooth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th March 2005, 07:21   #7  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 6,007
"I love you all!"
LigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th March 2005, 19:16   #8  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 6,007
Stooopid question: An entry like "10L" in the changelog makes me wonder if the fixed bug was too embarassing to mention...
LigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th March 2005, 07:30   #9  |  Link
el divx
"el" as in Hellas
 
el divx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Greece
Posts: 71
Has anyone noticed that the mirror is down? Tried to download the Athlon XP build a couple of minutes ago and nothing.
__________________
Divx Forums Nickname: DivxRulez | Greek Doom9 Forums Nickname: Dark Scizor | dvd.stuff.gr Forums Nickname: Dark Scizor
el divx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th March 2005, 13:04   #10  |  Link
Sirber
retired developer
 
Sirber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 8,978
WFM
__________________
Detritus Software
Sirber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th March 2005, 15:15   #11  |  Link
Sharktooth
Mr. Sandman
 
Sharktooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Haddonfield, IL
Posts: 11,768
The mirror is overloaded. Just try again later.
Sharktooth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th March 2005, 18:58   #12  |  Link
buzzqw
HDConvertToX author
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Cesena,Italy
Posts: 6,552
rundll32.exe x264vfw.dll, Configure

isn't fuction or at last in 158 for p4 and p3

BHH
buzzqw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th March 2005, 19:01   #13  |  Link
Sharktooth
Mr. Sandman
 
Sharktooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Haddonfield, IL
Posts: 11,768
It's no longer patched.
I restarted to compile from CVS again coz b-frame pyramid and weighted prediction was added to the vfw GUI.
Maybe i can re-enable the configure option for future builds.
Sharktooth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2005, 00:33   #14  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 6,007
Was it necessary or useful to remove the deblocking "Threshold" slider, and leave only the "Strength"?
LigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2005, 02:10   #15  |  Link
Sharktooth
Mr. Sandman
 
Sharktooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Haddonfield, IL
Posts: 11,768
The vfw gui needs a heavy restyling coz there is no space for new options.
So if someone offers to make an "akupenguin proof" redesigning of the vfw GUI, it's more than welcome since there are already some options that are left out.
Btw, i'm designing my own...
Sharktooth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2005, 05:34   #16  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 6,007
Indeed - inside MeGUI, there are a hell of special advanced features revealed, which have not yet be seen in x264vfw.
LigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2005, 17:36   #17  |  Link
WelloBanir
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 3
Concerning the ahlon-xp- build, I guess (MMX+SSE+3DNOW required) means

CFLAGS="... -m3dnow -msse -mmmx"

or is it

CFLAGS="... -march=athlon-xp"

or is it (for nasm)

DHAVE_SSE DHAVE_MMX DHAVE_3DNOW

(as in the x264-Makefile, sorry, don't have one here now).

Maybe it is a bit of everything.
Most of these flags do not seem to make that much of a difference yet, the framerates seem to be not much higher or lower (on Linux again only).

I am just asking, because i want to build it on Linux, and therefor i am searching for Flags (C, nasm) where i can get optimal performance.

Maybe i test gcc-4.0-beta with x264.
WelloBanir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2005, 17:53   #18  |  Link
planet1
... space nerd ...
 
planet1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Terra
Posts: 159
Hey Sharktooth, you can also add some AMD Durons to your build list.

The Durons 0.9-1.3 GHz (Morgan Core) & 1.4-1.8 Ghz (Applebred Core) should work with all AthlonXP "accelerations", as they support MMX, SSE & 3DNow!.

The old Durons < 950 MHz (Spitfire Core) can only cope with MMX & 3DNow!.


http://www6.tomshardware.com/cpu/200...istory_big.gif


Last but not least, does GCC / MinGW make any use of the MMX+ or 3DNow!+ "Extended" instructions ?
planet1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2005, 22:18   #19  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 6,007
My Duron works well with the Tbird builds of Mplayer/Mencoder. I guess they don't use too many 3Dnow!-Ext opcodes...
LigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th March 2005, 23:18   #20  |  Link
akupenguin
x264 developer
 
akupenguin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 2,393
There are two ways to support all these cpu extensions:
There's the hand-optimized dsp functions (e.g. motion compensation, DCT) that come in several versions. Usually all versions are included in the executable, and it decides at runtime which to use. These will never cause compatibility problems. Currently there are no SSE or 3DNOW functions used in x264 (they're just known by the cpu recognition code), only MMX and Altivec.
Then there's compiler flags, which tell gcc that it can use the extra opcodes for the C part of the program. This is where cpu-specific builds come in. Since most of the parallelizable computations are in said dsp functions, cpu extensions don't make so much difference here.
akupenguin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 22:12.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.