Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > Avisynth Usage

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 6th October 2011, 19:08   #1  |  Link
jmac698
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,862
Black lines extend right on VHS

You can see them here, despite using my multipass technique:
http://screenshotcomparison.com/comp...4395/picture:3
Anyone found a way to get rid of them? They seem to be on sharp luma transitions.
This video is still pretty bad even when cleaned up a huge amount by multipass.
@yup
you worked on this?
jmac698 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th October 2011, 19:31   #2  |  Link
Mounir
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 759
you might wanna tnl-means filter not sure it'll solve your issue entirely but should help
Mounir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th October 2011, 06:12   #3  |  Link
Gerry62
TV Guy
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 46
Hmm interesting MultiPass results there, Care to elaborate on how you got it thus far?
Gerry62 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th October 2011, 06:45   #4  |  Link
Tempter57
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Ukraine, Donetsk
Posts: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmac698 View Post
You can see them here, despite using my multipass technique:
http://screenshotcomparison.com/comp...4395/picture:3
Anyone found a way to get rid of them? They seem to be on sharp luma transitions.
This video is still pretty bad even when cleaned up a huge amount by multipass.
@yup
you worked on this?
Used filter depulse http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.ph...hlight=depulse
Tempter57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th October 2011, 12:43   #5  |  Link
jmac698
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,862
Easy, just record it 9 times and take the median
What's left is purely the original tape/camera noise, I guess.

temptr
Are you sure you viewed the pic with the mouse over it? That's the clean version.

Last edited by jmac698; 7th October 2011 at 12:50.
jmac698 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2011, 11:59   #6  |  Link
cobo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 118
Do they shift from frame to frame? If so, I think I'd try TemporalDegrain or Didée's script for single frame spot removal. With the spot remover, medianblur seems to be faster, but I suggest to use version 0.5 as the latest version was causing x264 and QuEnc to crash.
cobo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2011, 13:58   #7  |  Link
Ghitulescu
Registered User
 
Ghitulescu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,765
Is the VCR ok? Sometimes the black/white peaks are the result of a defective headamp (most probably one capacitor).
__________________
Born in the USB (not USA)
Ghitulescu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2011, 14:17   #8  |  Link
jmac698
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,862
G
Thanks for the advice, however this VCR plays other tapes fine. This is the first tape I've seen with the white lines, originally, which ppl on the internet call dropouts. I have to talk to yup, he made a mask for this problem.
jmac698 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2011, 15:39   #9  |  Link
Ghitulescu
Registered User
 
Ghitulescu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,765
Yes, I know, but dropouts are the problem of the tape, while these lines of yours are not dropouts. Most VCRs have a dropout correction/masking circuit.
Of course, it may be that the recording VCR had problems and if these are part of a signal you can only hope for a correction in SW.
BTW, have you tried the tape in another deck?
__________________
Born in the USB (not USA)
Ghitulescu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2011, 20:18   #10  |  Link
jmac698
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,862
yes in 5 decks actually, by far this was the best result. I have seen the black lines before and recreate them, though I think from another reason. If I record svhs-et and playback in a non-et vhs I get the same look.
jmac698 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2011, 20:22   #11  |  Link
johnmeyer
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: California
Posts: 2,583
Have you tried manually adjusting the tracking control? This sure looks like a tracking problem. On most VCRs, tracking can be manually adjusted by pressing either the Channel UP or the Channel DOWN button on your remote control while playing the tape (the tape has to first be playing before you press these buttons). I think this might solve the problem.

The other thing to try on your VCR, when capturing, is to see if it has an "EP correction" circuit. On JVC decks, this is called "Video Stabilizer." It is NOT a TBC, and it only works on EP (6-hour) mode recordings. I am less confident that this will improve your capture, but it is worth a try if the tape is EP.

Again, this looks like something that can be corrected by using manual tracking.
johnmeyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2011, 20:55   #12  |  Link
jmac698
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,862
Hi,
Yes it was captured by adjusting the tracking for each scene. This did affect the white lines noise, I could minimize it. Of course I can completely eliminate the white lines with my multipass technique, but the black lines continue. The black lines are fairly consistent, which is why that even after 9 captures I can't eliminate them.
Actually I have given the tape back to the customer now, I have a half dozen captures lying around, they all have the black lines.
jmac698 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2011, 00:59   #13  |  Link
Mounir
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 759
A local blur filter with a find edge option may help perhaps ? Otherwise you're good for a photoshop cleaning-crap session
Mounir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2011, 02:54   #14  |  Link
jmac698
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,862
ps I have an SVHS JVC with tape calibration, actually that didn't end up being the best deck. It seems one deck will be best for each kind of tape.
Let me try some of the suggestions here; I think depulse could be adjusted to find black lines instead of white lines for one thing.
jmac698 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2011, 06:49   #15  |  Link
Ghitulescu
Registered User
 
Ghitulescu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,765
Then the black lines are part of the image and o software solution is needed to remove them.
__________________
Born in the USB (not USA)
Ghitulescu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2011, 07:05   #16  |  Link
IanB
Avisynth Developer
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 3,167
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmac698 View Post
...
Let me try some of the suggestions here; I think depulse could be adjusted to find black lines instead of white lines for one thing.
You could try using Invert to swap Black and White then apply your current fix white logic.
IanB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2011, 14:44   #17  |  Link
2Bdecided
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,673
Assuming your VCR is not at fault, then I bet the tape was recorded with a worn head. A similarly worn head may play it back just fine.

I know that's no help - just sharing!

You mention yup - have you seen his thread about this? I think the lines are too clustered together for his approach to work, but I don't know.

Cheers,
David.
2Bdecided is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2011, 23:46   #18  |  Link
StainlessS
HeartlessS Usurer
 
StainlessS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Over the rainbow
Posts: 10,259
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmac698 View Post
ps I have an SVHS JVC with tape calibration, actually that didn't end up being the best deck. It seems one deck will be best for each kind of tape.
Let me try some of the suggestions here; I think depulse could be adjusted to find black lines instead of white lines for one thing.
Depulse does cope with black lines:-

http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.ph...14#post1355414

EDIT: Added the missing default values to the linked post.
__________________
I sometimes post sober.
StainlessS@MediaFire ::: AND/OR ::: StainlessS@SendSpace

"Some infinities are bigger than other infinities", but how many of them are infinitely bigger ???

Last edited by StainlessS; 11th October 2011 at 00:18.
StainlessS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th October 2011, 13:07   #19  |  Link
jmac698
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,862
Please see http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=121197&page=3 for a specific script developed by yup for removing these black lines.
jmac698 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:31.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.