Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12th July 2024, 19:25   #64921  |  Link
Asmodian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 4,419
Because madVR does not have an option to flip the video and MPC does not have a way to intercept the video between the decoder and renderer to flip it. The renderer is the right place to do something like a horizontal flip, but madVR does not support it.
__________________
madVR options explained
Asmodian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th July 2024, 16:45   #64922  |  Link
HillieSan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 177
Quote:
Originally Posted by SirMaster View Post
If you are having stutters on Nvidia, make sure vsync is enabled globally or for your media player. Set Nvidia low latency mode to off (again globally or for the media player), and disable multiplane overlay.
There is no “I like” button in this forum. Herewith, I like your tip. I use this simple solution as well and madvr runs smooth on my 1080 and 3060. It’s more like solving the glitches than stuttering.
HillieSan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th July 2024, 07:12   #64923  |  Link
flossy_cake
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 646
So am I correct in understanding that in Windows 10 MadVR cannot do a proper full screen exclusive mode like DX9/DX11 games use?

Because after "upgrading" from Windows 7 to 10 I can see regardless of my chosen MadVR settings the MadVR debug screen always reports "composition rate" which I take to mean the rendering is all going through the Windows compositor now.... which means what ... Windows is applying its own vsync and triple buffering to MadVRs output? Is that how it works in Windows 10? Or is that only Windows 7 behaviour?

Also random comment, I'm playing around with a new Intel UHD 730 iGPU and shocked to find how pissweak it is... all it can basically manage for 60fps is bicubic scaling only, and that's it. Lanczos is too much GPU load for it, antiringing filter is too much for it, and none of the DXVA features work either, just get black screen for any DXVA processing. The UHD 770 is about 50% faster than 730 so maybe that one could be used for light HTPC duties but I reckon you'd want at least a 1060 or a 3050 for MadVR (my old R9 380 manages it ok too, but needed the stable enterprise driver otherwise it has a 5% chance of crashing every time MadVR changes the display mode). To confidently steamroll everything I'd say you'd want a 1070/3060/4060 or AMD equivalent.
flossy_cake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th July 2024, 07:16   #64924  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 8,032
nothing can do FSE ou of the box.
microsoft disabled it and just lies to the software.

you are always going through the DWM as there is no FSE anymore.
some driver and windows version will show a composition rate some don't do that.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th July 2024, 07:37   #64925  |  Link
flossy_cake
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 646
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
nothing can do FSE ou of the box.
microsoft disabled it and just lies to the software.

you are always going through the DWM as there is no FSE anymore.
some driver and windows version will show a composition rate some don't do that.
Cheers, I won't worry about it then.

The windows 7 compositor is a bit flakey for me, so maybe the windows 10 compositor is better. Haven't had any issues with it so far but need to do lots of testing.
flossy_cake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th July 2024, 09:31   #64926  |  Link
isamu
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 29
Hi guys, do any of you happen to know of a plugin, or any sort of way that enables menu support for 4K UHD Bluray discs in either MPC-HC or MPC-BE? Sucks that we have this as support by default.
isamu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th July 2024, 10:01   #64927  |  Link
Manni
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 971
Quote:
Originally Posted by isamu View Post
Hi guys, do any of you happen to know of a plugin, or any sort of way that enables menu support for 4K UHD Bluray discs in either MPC-HC or MPC-BE? Sucks that we have this as support by default.
jRiver MC does it very well and supports both madVR and JRVR. AFAIK there is no such option for MPC-BE.
I use jRiver (with JRVR) as an external player for CMC and it works great (within the limitations of HTPCs).
__________________
Win11 Pro x64 b23H2
Ryzen 5950X@4.5Ghz 32Gb@3600 Zotac Trinity 3090 24Gb 555.99
JRVR/LAV/jRiver MC/MyMovies/CMC
Denon X8500HA>HD Fury VRRoom>Samsung 77S90C
Manni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th July 2024, 13:20   #64928  |  Link
isamu
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manni View Post
jRiver MC does it very well and supports both madVR and JRVR. AFAIK there is no such option for MPC-BE.
I use jRiver (with JRVR) as an external player for CMC and it works great (within the limitations of HTPCs).
Thank you sir! What exactly is jRiver MC and where can I find more information about it? Link?
isamu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th July 2024, 13:29   #64929  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 5,417
Quote:
Originally Posted by isamu View Post
Thank you sir! What exactly is jRiver MC and where can I find more information about it? Link?
https://jriver.com/

Sent from my SM-S928U1 using Tapatalk
__________________
HTPC: Windows 11, AMD 5900X, RTX 3080, Pioneer Elite VSX-LX303, LG G2 77" OLED
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th July 2024, 13:41   #64930  |  Link
isamu
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamuriHL View Post
https://jriver.com/

Sent from my SM-S928U1 using Tapatalk
Thanks buddy!
isamu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th July 2024, 17:03   #64931  |  Link
Sunspark
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 514
@flossy_cake It really depends on what OS build, driver version and GPU level you're using.. One of the things that is necessary to do on older builds, not sure about the newest ones as I don't use them, is on the compatibility tab of the player's properties is to place a check on "disable fullscreen optimizations". I believe FSE does work on my system as looking at the graph lines in the HUD of other renderers like evr-cp and mpc-vr the shape is not the same as when it is in non-exclusive. Do you "need" exclusive? No. Can it be useful sometimes? Yes, a good example is if you use night light but don't want it to affect the video playing, then you need FSE as it bypasses night light. Overlay still works for me, but older system.

Do your test with the checkbox I mentioned.

You may need to go much further like disabling the game bar as well which is another overlay layer.

Composition rate line was present even on Windows 7.

You don't want to recommend AMD for your own use, because you do a lot of deinterlacing--there are issues, unless you rolled up a fully software solution.

All non-exclusive modes get vsynced by Windows so it's not necessary to turn on built-in vsync options in players. I very much do like to switch to the resolution and refresh rate of the video playing, so even in FSE you don't need to turn on player vsync either if you do that.

Tip for the scaling issue you're having at 60 fps. Instead of trying to scale both chroma and the image, switch to the resolution and refresh of the video and scale just chroma only and let your display do the image scaling. Is it going to be "as nice"? Depends on what your display does. Mine is ok and doing that reduces system load.

Last edited by Sunspark; 17th July 2024 at 17:08.
Sunspark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th July 2024, 15:50   #64932  |  Link
flossy_cake
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 646
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sunspark View Post
on the compatibility tab of the player's properties is to place a check on "disable fullscreen optimizations".
Cheers I didn't know about that one. The Windows 10 machine I was building has been handed off to my parents so I'm unable to test it right now but does it still say "composition rate" for you?

Also what about FSE mode games - do those all go through compositor now too on Windows 10+? Cause the "tell" on Windows 7 that you were going through compositor is that vsync would always be enabled even when you disabled it in the game. But in Windows 10 if I run Unigine Heaven benchmark in fullscreen mode I can run it vsyncless and get tearing which I *thought* implied no compositor but I'm probably wrong it seems and Windows 10 probably stopped forcing vsync for its compositor?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sunspark View Post
You don't want to recommend AMD for your own use, because you do a lot of deinterlacing--there are issues, unless you rolled up a fully software solution.
I do all my deinterlacing on the CPU with Avisynth in realtime using my own script to adaptively and seamlessly switch between BWDIF and TIVTC - heres a demo of it in action (480i30 -> 1080p60). I was motivated because the MadVR IVTC gets tripped up on cadence breaks whereas my script doesn't because it maintains the field rate when IVTC'ing to 60p so the cadence is always the same as the source. It can also optionally IVTC to 24p and detect the cadence breaks and do a frame blend over 10 frames to hide the stutter caused by duplicates ending up in the final 24p clip, in case you prefer the smooth motion of 24p vs 3:2 at 60p.
flossy_cake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th July 2024, 22:24   #64933  |  Link
Sunspark
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 514
Yes, the checkbox still says composition rate, however from what I read it was only respected between versions 1709 and 1809 and after that no. There are a bunch of registry keys in \HKEY_CURRENT_USER\System\GameConfigStore to control things around FSE, but I haven't messed with them. Can't even remember if I added a key. There are 7 entries listed there for me. If you really get into it, you may need to mess with the registry keys, especially for games. So now I don't know if it's actually using true FSE.. alt-tab doesn't work with my setup, so who knows? YMMV, a lot of testing will be required around those keys.

That said, I was curious so I booted into Windows 7 to take a look. Overlay DOES show a composition rate there if using the Aero theme, but does not show the line if it is using Basic or Classic. Checking the MadVR option to disable desktop and unchecking only fullscreen sub-option, you see the theme switch to basic so that is what it is doing. FSE mode doesn't show the composition line in any theme there. In Windows 7 overlay mode will show a composition rate of 30 Hz when playing 23.976 when in Aero.

In Windows 10, all display paths including overlay will show the composition line. That said, from poking at it, fullscreen exclusive when resolutions and refresh rates are matched, but using old-path backbuffers has a consistently lower rendering time than new-path frames in advance on this old igpu, this is with the player properties checkbox checked to disable optimizations. Don't know if there's a relation. The difference is minor and not worth caring about, but it is there. Overlay mode will show 23.976 as the composition rate unlike 30 in Win 7.
Sunspark is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 23:39.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.