Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > High Efficiency Video Coding (HEVC)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 18th February 2024, 18:48   #21  |  Link
tormento
Acid fr0g
 
tormento's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Italy
Posts: 2,586
Still have to see aq-mode 6 my count stops at 5 help!
__________________
@turment on Telegram
tormento is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2024, 19:50   #22  |  Link
Boulder
Pig on the wing
 
Boulder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 5,734
Quote:
Originally Posted by tormento View Post
Still have to see aq-mode 6… my count stops at 5… help!
It's bitmapping, so --aq-auto 6 enables the recommended stuff for HDR and --aq-auto 10 does the same for SDR (allows all modes for automatic switching). You can also set different strengths for different modes. I for example use --aq-strength 1.0 --aq-strength-edge 0.75 --aq-bias-strength 0.7 --aq-bias-strength-edge 0.8.
__________________
And if the band you're in starts playing different tunes
I'll see you on the dark side of the Moon...

Last edited by Boulder; 18th February 2024 at 19:52.
Boulder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st February 2024, 15:06   #23  |  Link
tormento
Acid fr0g
 
tormento's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Italy
Posts: 2,586
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boulder View Post
I for example use --aq-strength 1.0 --aq-strength-edge 0.75 --aq-bias-strength 0.7 --aq-bias-strength-edge 0.8.
For SDR or HDR? Same for live action and anime?
__________________
@turment on Telegram
tormento is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2024, 06:06   #24  |  Link
Boulder
Pig on the wing
 
Boulder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 5,734
Quote:
Originally Posted by tormento View Post
For SDR or HDR? Same for live action and anime?
I use the same for SDR and HDR (even though auto mode 6 skips the bias ones). I don't encode anime so the setting may need tuning for that. Note that the bias strengths are multipliers used with the non-bias one, for example strength for AQ-mode 3 is 1.0 * 0.7 = 0.7 in my case.
__________________
And if the band you're in starts playing different tunes
I'll see you on the dark side of the Moon...
Boulder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2024, 09:13   #25  |  Link
tormento
Acid fr0g
 
tormento's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Italy
Posts: 2,586
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boulder View Post
I use the same for SDR and HDR (even though auto mode 6 skips the bias ones). I don't encode anime so the setting may need tuning for that. Note that the bias strengths are multipliers used with the non-bias one, for example strength for AQ-mode 3 is 1.0 * 0.7 = 0.7 in my case.
Thank you.

I have tried to set those parameters but I can't understand for what aq-mode. I am using a GUI (StaxRip) and perhaps it's the reason I can't choose freely the number, i.e. I have 0 to 5 only. Choosing one of those, it allows you to modify the aq parameters (of course not with 0).
__________________
@turment on Telegram
tormento is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2024, 11:25   #26  |  Link
Boulder
Pig on the wing
 
Boulder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 5,734
Quote:
Originally Posted by tormento View Post
Thank you.

I have tried to set those parameters but I can't understand for what aq-mode. I am using a GUI (StaxRip) and perhaps it's the reason I can't choose freely the number, i.e. I have 0 to 5 only. Choosing one of those, it allows you to modify the aq parameters (of course not with 0).
The aq-auto parameter is not the same as aq-mode. Aq-auto does automatic AQ-mode switching in the encoder no matter what mode you set as a parameter. So what you would need is to use jpsdr's x265 fork which includes the parameter and set the parameter --aq-auto 6 or 10 as a custom parameter if StaxRip has such functionality.
__________________
And if the band you're in starts playing different tunes
I'll see you on the dark side of the Moon...
Boulder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2024, 14:15   #27  |  Link
tormento
Acid fr0g
 
tormento's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Italy
Posts: 2,586
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boulder View Post
So what you would need is to use jpsdr's x265 fork which includes the parameter and set the parameter --aq-auto 6 or 10 as a custom parameter if StaxRip has such functionality.
StaxRip is double bonded with Patman builds, that, AFAIK, has aq-mode up to 5 but no aq-auto.

What multipliers could I use if limited to those modes?

P.S: Isn't --auto-aq instead of --aq-auto?
__________________
@turment on Telegram

Last edited by tormento; 22nd February 2024 at 14:29.
tormento is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2024, 14:57   #28  |  Link
Boulder
Pig on the wing
 
Boulder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 5,734
Quote:
Originally Posted by tormento View Post
StaxRip is double bonded with Patman builds, that, AFAIK, has aq-mode up to 5 but no aq-auto.

What multipliers could I use if limited to those modes?

P.S: Isn't --auto-aq instead of --aq-auto?
Well, the values for aq-strength based on the multipliers in my example would be 1.0 for modes 1 and 2, 0.7 for mode 3, 0.75 for mode 4 and 0.6 for mode 5.

You probably could replace the exe with jpsdr's one to use auto-aq (yes, the param is that way).
__________________
And if the band you're in starts playing different tunes
I'll see you on the dark side of the Moon...
Boulder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2024, 11:27   #29  |  Link
tormento
Acid fr0g
 
tormento's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Italy
Posts: 2,586
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boulder View Post
set the parameter --aq-auto 6 or 10
Can you please explain me the boolean values that make up the decimal number? I can't find anywhere.
__________________
@turment on Telegram
tormento is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2024, 12:31   #30  |  Link
jpsdr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: France
Posts: 2,320
@tormento
From the help file:
Code:
   --aq-auto                     Configure auto-AQ mode. Disabled 0 (default), <>0 enabled
                                   - Bit 1: If set to 1, enable hysteresis.
                                   - Bit 2: If set to 1, enable HDR mode => don't use biased mode on auto-AQ.
                                   - Bit 3: If set to 1, replace AQ-MODE 1 by AQ-MODE 5. Overrided by bit 2.
Value of a bit = 2^(Number/position of the bit)
8 bit data for exemple, bit 0 (LSB) to bit 7 (MSB).
So, Bit 0 -> 2^0 = 1, Bit 1 -> 2^1 = 2, etc...
So, setting bit 1 and bit 2 result in 2+4=6 value.
Setting only bit 0, so 1, will just enable aq-auto, without any other option activated (or any other bit than [1,2,3]).
__________________
My github.

Last edited by jpsdr; 24th February 2024 at 12:36.
jpsdr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2024, 13:40   #31  |  Link
tormento
Acid fr0g
 
tormento's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Italy
Posts: 2,586
Quote:
Originally Posted by jpsdr View Post
@tormento
From the help file
Thank you! Do you maintain the help file on GitHub?
__________________
@turment on Telegram
tormento is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2024, 10:42   #32  |  Link
jpsdr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: France
Posts: 2,320
The help file is included in the .7z pack releases, but it's generated with the following command : "x265_x64 --fullhelp > x265_Help.txt" (for 64bits version).
__________________
My github.
jpsdr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th March 2024, 14:43   #33  |  Link
tormento
Acid fr0g
 
tormento's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Italy
Posts: 2,586
Did some tests with the material I encode most, i.e. anime.

Look here.

Really peculiar how aq-mode 3 is almost always better than any other mode.

--aq-auto was left with no parameter.
__________________
@turment on Telegram
tormento is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 18th March 2024, 14:57   #34  |  Link
tormento
Acid fr0g
 
tormento's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Italy
Posts: 2,586
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boulder View Post
It's bitmapping, so --aq-auto 6 enables the recommended stuff for HDR and --aq-auto 10 does the same for SDR (allows all modes for automatic switching). You can also set different strengths for different modes. I for example use --aq-strength 1.0 --aq-strength-edge 0.75 --aq-bias-strength 0.7 --aq-bias-strength-edge 0.8.
x265.exe: unrecognized option `--aq-strength-edge'
x265.exe: unrecognized option `--aq-strength-edge'
x265.exe: unrecognized option `--aq-bias-strength-edge'

What build do you use?
__________________
@turment on Telegram
tormento is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 18th March 2024, 16:47   #35  |  Link
Boulder
Pig on the wing
 
Boulder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 5,734
Quote:
Originally Posted by tormento View Post
x265.exe: unrecognized option `--aq-strength-edge'
x265.exe: unrecognized option `--aq-strength-edge'
x265.exe: unrecognized option `--aq-bias-strength-edge'

What build do you use?
I've used a patched build created with Media Autobuild Suite, but I'm sure https://github.com/jpsdr/x265/releases contains releases with all the goodies.
__________________
And if the band you're in starts playing different tunes
I'll see you on the dark side of the Moon...
Boulder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th March 2024, 19:31   #36  |  Link
jpsdr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: France
Posts: 2,320
And making new build (should be finished in 1 or 2 days) updated with the last Patman patches, especialy a patch called "fix rate control bug", wich worries me... Are all my encodes "screwed up"... as i didn't have this patch on them.
__________________
My github.
jpsdr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th March 2024, 19:37   #37  |  Link
Boulder
Pig on the wing
 
Boulder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 5,734
Quote:
Originally Posted by jpsdr View Post
And making new build (should be finished in 1 or 2 days) updated with the last Patman patches, especialy a patch called "fix rate control bug", wich worries me... Are all my encodes "screwed up"... as i didn't have this patch on them.
Maybe it's for that age-old issue of sudden blocking in certain rather corner cases. I think it was shown to affect also x264 where the code was then ported when x265 was developed.
__________________
And if the band you're in starts playing different tunes
I'll see you on the dark side of the Moon...
Boulder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th March 2024, 20:57   #38  |  Link
tormento
Acid fr0g
 
tormento's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Italy
Posts: 2,586
Quote:
Originally Posted by jpsdr View Post
And making new build (should be finished in 1 or 2 days) updated with the last Patman patches, especialy a patch called "fix rate control bug", wich worries me... Are all my encodes "screwed up"... as i didn't have this patch on them.
Please, if possible, provide some build for avx in llvm for my venerable Sandy Bridge.

The winthread one is so slow compared to msvc one.
__________________
@turment on Telegram
tormento is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 18th March 2024, 22:14   #39  |  Link
tormento
Acid fr0g
 
tormento's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Italy
Posts: 2,586
So strange. Different builds can make a difference.



Seems like the suggested autoaq 10 is lower in quality than the implementation with no parameters at all (Patman builds).

Autoaq + tweaks are the suggested edge parameters.

As I stated, it's a very peculiar content, i.e. anime.
__________________
@turment on Telegram
tormento is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 19th March 2024, 21:21   #40  |  Link
jpsdr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: France
Posts: 2,320
It takes allready a lot of time make the builds, i don't want to add more.
__________________
My github.
jpsdr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:22.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.