Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > Audio encoding

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 23rd September 2022, 15:48   #221  |  Link
Kuler087
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2021
Posts: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by pcroland View Post
Use deew, it swaps the channels automatically so DEE will encode it correctly.
thanks but I already wrote my own script that converts UHD-BD to profile 8 DV with EC3 7.1. So @tebasuna51 manual solution works well, I just tried.

Code:
%ffmpeg_path% -drc_scale 0 -i %input_path% -map 0:%ID% -filter_complex "pan=7.1|c0=c0|c1=c1|c2=c2|c3=c3|c4=c6|c5=c7|c6=c4|c7=c5" -rf64 auto -c pcm_s24le %TEMP%temp.wav
EDIT:

This whole story got me curious and I checked an original BD with a 7.1 EC3 track and the channels are also out of order.. seriously Dolby wtf?

https://slow.pics/c/diDhad6t

Last edited by Kuler087; 23rd September 2022 at 19:09.
Kuler087 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th September 2022, 09:17   #222  |  Link
Balling
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 420
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kuler087 View Post

This whole story got me curious and I checked an original BD with a 7.1 EC3 track and the channels are also out of order.. seriously Dolby wtf?

https://slow.pics/c/diDhad6t
Your EAC3 has DRC applied... are we sure there is no any metadata in EAC3?

I imagine this is why most Blu-rays have no EAC3. And of course EAC3 having AC3 inside.
Balling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th September 2022, 13:07   #223  |  Link
Balling
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 420
Yesterday Audacity Stable was released, BTW with support of HEAD of ffmpeg.
Balling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th September 2022, 14:49   #224  |  Link
Kuler087
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2021
Posts: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by Balling View Post
Your EAC3 has DRC applied... are we sure there is no any metadata in EAC3?
I dont know how to check if a file has DRC.
check your PM I sent you a link to the whole 7.1 EC3 Atmos track from the Justice League BD.
Kuler087 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th September 2022, 19:07   #225  |  Link
filler56789
SuperVirus
 
filler56789's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Antarctic Japan
Posts: 1,276
1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kuler087 View Post
This whole story got me curious and I checked an original BD with a 7.1 EC3 track and the channels are also out of order.. seriously Dolby wtf?

https://slow.pics/c/diDhad6t
2)
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
It is not a problem of your xml file, a wav file have this channel order:
FL FR FC LF BL BR SL SR
and ALL eac3 7.1 encoders are wrong and ignore that order
(only EAE based in ffmpeg know that),
even if the wav file have the correct channelmask, and read it like:
L R C LFE Ls Rs Rls Rrs
(Ls=SL, Rrs=BR)
conclusion: friends don't let friends use 7.1 "enhanced"-AC-3. :-|
__________________
«Your software patents have expired.»
filler56789 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th September 2022, 01:13   #226  |  Link
Balling
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 420
First of all what is this:
L R C LFE Ls Rs Tfl Tfr

Never saw it on blu-ray, nor did I ever see Bit rate: 1 512 kb/s for eac3.
Duration: 4 h 2 min on Blu-ray was also a shock, but yeah, long movie... There is no EAC3 sound on Blu-ray... There is AC3 core on your sample in my DM. So that at leasy checks out (00001F47 strmtyp: 1 (0x1) - (2 bits)):

Type 1: These frames comprise a dependent substream. The programme shall be decoded in conjunction with the independent substream with which it is associated.

Last edited by Balling; 26th September 2022 at 04:20.
Balling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th September 2022, 08:59   #227  |  Link
SeeMoreDigital
Life's clearer in 4K UHD
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Notts, UK
Posts: 12,089
Quote:
Originally Posted by Balling View Post
There is no EAC3 sound on Blu-ray... There is AC3 core on your sample in
Are you referring to EAC3 being present on a particular Blu-ray disc or EAC3 (without an AC3 core) being available on the Blu-ray format in general? If it's the latter then you are wrong...
__________________
| I've been testing hardware media playback devices and software A/V encoders and decoders since 2001 | My Network Layout & A/V Gear |
SeeMoreDigital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th September 2022, 11:32   #228  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 6,509
Quote:
Originally Posted by Balling View Post
First of all what is this:
L R C LFE Ls Rs Tfl Tfr
The same than (L R C LFE Ls Rs Vhl Vhr) a EAC3 channel map than can be obtained with Audition 2017.

And is played in my AVR like it was a Atmos 3D 5.1.2 front

Of course aren't in BD's but if Atmos tracks are recoded to (L R C LFE Ls Rs Vhl Vhr) can save space and sended by SPDIF (my TV SAMSUNG player to AVR-DENON). It is my only interest in eac3 8 channels, for me 2D 5.1 and 7.1 are the same.
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder.

Last edited by tebasuna51; 26th September 2022 at 11:44. Reason: add info
tebasuna51 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 26th September 2022, 12:11   #229  |  Link
Kuler087
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2021
Posts: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by Balling View Post
First of all what is this:
L R C LFE Ls Rs Tfl Tfr

Never saw it on blu-ray, nor did I ever see Bit rate: 1 512 kb/s for eac3.
Duration: 4 h 2 min on Blu-ray was also a shock, but yeah, long movie... There is no EAC3 sound on Blu-ray... There is AC3 core on your sample in my DM. So that at leasy checks out (00001F47 strmtyp: 1 (0x1) - (2 bits)):

Type 1: These frames comprise a dependent substream. The programme shall be decoded in conjunction with the independent substream with which it is associated.
The track come from this bluray:
https://www.blu-ray.com/movies/Zack-...lu-ray/288273/
Kuler087 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th September 2022, 12:42   #230  |  Link
Balling
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 420
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeeMoreDigital View Post
Are you referring to EAC3 being present on a particular Blu-ray disc or EAC3 (without an AC3 core) being available on the Blu-ray format in general? If it's the latter then you are wrong...
The first, but apparently there is such a Blu-ray.
Balling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th September 2022, 14:11   #231  |  Link
Balling
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 420
BTW, "C:\tmp\Plex\Plex Media Server\Plex Transcoder.exe" -c:a pcm_s24le -i "C:\Users\Pepe\Core.wav" -eae_root C:\Users\Pepe core.eac3

This command uses -c:a pcm_s24le, but it is not needed here, wav encoding defaults to 24 bit to flac, eac3, truehd (with newer ffmpeg with activated 24 bit TrueHD that is). No, the only time it is needed is if you decode .thd to wav or .eac3 to wav. BTW, I still think drc_scale and normal native ffmpeg should be used to decode.

Last edited by Balling; 27th September 2022 at 14:22.
Balling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th September 2022, 16:11   #232  |  Link
tormento
Acid fr0g
 
tormento's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Italy
Posts: 2,241
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
And is played in my AVR like it was a Atmos 3D 5.1.2 front
Waiting for proper support in deew of Atmos, is there a way to have 5.1.2 instead of 7.1?
__________________
@turment on Telegram
tormento is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th September 2022, 17:02   #233  |  Link
Balling
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 420
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
The same than (L R C LFE Ls Rs Vhl Vhr) a EAC3 channel map than can be obtained with Audition 2017.

And is played in my AVR like it was a Atmos 3D 5.1.2 front

Of course aren't in BD's but if Atmos tracks are recoded to (L R C LFE Ls Rs Vhl Vhr) can save space and sended by SPDIF (my TV SAMSUNG player to AVR-DENON). It is my only interest in eac3 8 channels, for me 2D 5.1 and 7.1 are the same.
I understand that Vhl is Tfl. And Vhr is Tfr. The problem is I never saw something like that on Blu-ray. And I never saw such high bitrate. Again, this is native Blu-ray. This cannot be Audition 2017, because the eac3 sample is JOC, i.e. Atmos.

Last edited by Balling; 27th September 2022 at 17:18.
Balling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 10:45   #234  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 6,509
Quote:
Originally Posted by tormento View Post
Waiting for proper support in deew of Atmos, is there a way to have 5.1.2 instead of 7.1?
Like I say in the Deew thread I don't know how pass the correct channel map (5.1.2) to Dolby Encoder Engine, and dee.exe ignore the channel mask of wav file input and output always 7.1
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder.
tebasuna51 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 15:08   #235  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 6,509
Some off topic posts moved to https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=184364 and https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=184175
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder.

Last edited by tebasuna51; Today at 15:13.
tebasuna51 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
eac3

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 15:18.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.