Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > VapourSynth

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 3rd October 2014, 19:58   #41  |  Link
feisty2
I'm Siri
 
feisty2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 2,133
little pickle here, Mystery Keeper, what should I do if I want mdegrainn (tr=6) instead of mcompensate
feisty2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd October 2014, 21:50   #42  |  Link
spawnbsd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 32
Great plugin, but any idea when we'll see 16bit support ?
spawnbsd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd October 2014, 22:06   #43  |  Link
jackoneill
unsigned int
 
jackoneill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: 🇪🇺
Posts: 725
Quote:
Originally Posted by spawnbsd View Post
Great plugin, but any idea when we'll see 16bit support ?
Dunno. This year, if I'm not too lazy.

On that topic, how does everyone feel about adding support for 16 bit input to Analyse by simply shifting it to 8 bit? Filters like the Degrains and Compensate will work with 16 bit input directly, of course.
__________________
Buy me a "coffee" and/or hire me to write code!
jackoneill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd October 2014, 22:44   #44  |  Link
Mystery Keeper
Beyond Kawaii
 
Mystery Keeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Russia
Posts: 712
Quote:
Originally Posted by feisty2 View Post
little pickle here, Mystery Keeper, what should I do if I want mdegrainn (tr=6) instead of mcompensate
Then, of course, you would need to write the function that takes array of clips. But I think that's better than generating special multivector clips.
__________________
...desu!
Mystery Keeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd October 2014, 22:45   #45  |  Link
Mystery Keeper
Beyond Kawaii
 
Mystery Keeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Russia
Posts: 712
Quote:
Originally Posted by jackoneill View Post
On that topic, how does everyone feel about adding support for 16 bit input to Analyse by simply shifting it to 8 bit? Filters like the Degrains and Compensate will work with 16 bit input directly, of course.
Should be alright. At least that would be a start. Personally, I'm looking forward to DCT.
__________________
...desu!
Mystery Keeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd October 2014, 22:50   #46  |  Link
Are_
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Ibiza, Spain
Posts: 282
Quote:
Originally Posted by jackoneill View Post
On that topic, how does everyone feel about adding support for 16 bit input to Analyse by simply shifting it to 8 bit? Filters like the Degrains and Compensate will work with 16 bit input directly, of course.
I don't see anything wrong with that.
Are_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd October 2014, 23:09   #47  |  Link
foxyshadis
ангел смерти
 
foxyshadis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Lost
Posts: 9,414
Quote:
Originally Posted by jackoneill View Post
On that topic, how does everyone feel about adding support for 16 bit input to Analyse by simply shifting it to 8 bit? Filters like the Degrains and Compensate will work with 16 bit input directly, of course.
Heck, you could probably get away with 4-bit for the most part. Obviously, dithering down would just introduce unwanted noise, but truncating should work fine. I look forward to it, someday!
__________________
There are four boxes to be used in defense of liberty: soap, ballot, jury, and ammo. Please use in that order.
foxyshadis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th October 2014, 06:26   #48  |  Link
feisty2
I'm Siri
 
feisty2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 2,133
Mystery Keeper, I mean, the reason that large time radius mcompensate could be done this way is mcompensate only takes one vector clip once, if you have n vector clips, there would be n mcompensates, but mdegrain takes a lot of vector clips once basing on the time radius, so, I donno how to do the same thing to mdegrain like mcompensate
feisty2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th October 2014, 16:05   #49  |  Link
cretindesalpes
͡҉҉ ̵̡̢̛̗̘̙̜̝̞̟̠͇̊̋̌̍̎̏̿̿
 
cretindesalpes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: No support in PM
Posts: 610
Quote:
Originally Posted by jackoneill View Post
how does everyone feel about adding support for 16 bit input to Analyse by simply shifting it to 8 bit? Filters like the Degrains and Compensate will work with 16 bit input directly, of course.
Donít waste your time at this, moreover it would be misleading. We can explicitly convert the high-bitdepth clips to 8 bits for analysis. Anyway, I think there is a definite benefit to run the analysis on 10Ė12 bits. I often remap the luma channel to increase the contrast is some specific ranges (generally the dark parts), and keeping 8 bits crunches other ranges, reducing the accuracy of the analysis on fine textures.
__________________
dither 1.27.2 for AviSynth | avstp 1.0.3 for AviSynth development | fmtconv r19 for Vapoursynth | trimx264opt segmented encoding
cretindesalpes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th October 2014, 22:14   #50  |  Link
jackoneill
unsigned int
 
jackoneill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: 🇪🇺
Posts: 725
Quote:
Originally Posted by cretindesalpes View Post
Donít waste your time at this, moreover it would be misleading. We can explicitly convert the high-bitdepth clips to 8 bits for analysis. Anyway, I think there is a definite benefit to run the analysis on 10Ė12 bits. I often remap the luma channel to increase the contrast is some specific ranges (generally the dark parts), and keeping 8 bits crunches other ranges, reducing the accuracy of the analysis on fine textures.
Damn. No easy way out of it, huh.
__________________
Buy me a "coffee" and/or hire me to write code!
jackoneill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th October 2014, 23:22   #51  |  Link
chainik_svp
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Saint-Petersburg
Posts: 221
jackoneill

I really don't want to suggest anything but the code in SVPflow is really cleaned comparing to original MVTools
Just compare a few numbers - as you already know all the magic is in "PlaneOfBlocks" cpp/h, and they're ~80 KB of code(*) in MVTools (and in your build too) BUT only 42 KB in SVPflow.

(*) huge commented blocks are also included


Also original MVTools loosing >= 20% of performance just for nothing...
__________________
SVPflow motion interpolation

Last edited by chainik_svp; 5th October 2014 at 23:39.
chainik_svp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th October 2014, 23:51   #52  |  Link
Mystery Keeper
Beyond Kawaii
 
Mystery Keeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Russia
Posts: 712
Quote:
Originally Posted by chainik_svp View Post
jackoneill

I really don't want to suggest anything but the code in SVPflow is really cleaned comparing to original MVTools
Just compare a few numbers - as you already know all the magic is in "PlaneOfBlocks" cpp/h, and they're ~80 KB of code(*) in MVTools (and in your build too) BUT only 42 KB in SVPflow.

(*) huge commented blocks are also included


Also original MVTools loosing >= 20% of performance just for nothing...
So would you kindly port it to VapourSynth?
__________________
...desu!
Mystery Keeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th October 2014, 00:03   #53  |  Link
chainik_svp
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Saint-Petersburg
Posts: 221
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mystery Keeper View Post
So would you kindly port it to VapourSynth?
Since we (SVP) need ffdshow support I'm thinking only of AVS+ 64bit right now.

But if "porting" is just a few interface functions then why not...

===

In fact it's not great to have so many branches of MVTools:
- original version
- the one with MT built-in
- SVP's build of original version plus (external) GPU rendering
- completely refactored SVPflow
- this VS version

and all the version but SVPflow share the very same code for MV search algorithm
__________________
SVPflow motion interpolation

Last edited by chainik_svp; 6th October 2014 at 00:12.
chainik_svp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th October 2014, 00:18   #54  |  Link
Mystery Keeper
Beyond Kawaii
 
Mystery Keeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Russia
Posts: 712
chainik_svp, put algorithm into static library and link it to the different projects?
__________________
...desu!
Mystery Keeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th October 2014, 00:26   #55  |  Link
chainik_svp
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Saint-Petersburg
Posts: 221
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mystery Keeper View Post
chainik_svp, put algorithm into static library and link it to the different projects?
this's how SVPflow is working

rendering part with GPU support (and some more features) is "hidden"
"MAnalyse" part is in a separate GPL library

since SVPflow is the only branch changing something in the MVTools' math I really think it should be the base for any other versions
__________________
SVPflow motion interpolation
chainik_svp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th October 2014, 00:35   #56  |  Link
Mystery Keeper
Beyond Kawaii
 
Mystery Keeper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Russia
Posts: 712
chainik_svp, keep in mind that VapourSynth is multithreaded (GPU use becomes complicated), cross-platform and both 32 and 64-bit versions are used. Though 32-bit version is only needed when script uses AviSynth plugins.
__________________
...desu!
Mystery Keeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th October 2014, 13:58   #57  |  Link
jackoneill
unsigned int
 
jackoneill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: 🇪🇺
Posts: 725
v4 is out, with more barely tested changes.

* Fix the use of an uninitialised variable in Recalculate (kind of important).
* Add some more SAD functions. Block sizes of 8x4, 16x2, 32x16, and 32x32 should now be just as fast as in the original Avisynth plugin.
* Allow YUV422P8 input. The filters only needed to accept such clips, because the required code was already there.
__________________
Buy me a "coffee" and/or hire me to write code!
jackoneill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2014, 17:56   #58  |  Link
Are_
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Ibiza, Spain
Posts: 282
Wow, I'm having about ~20% speed improvement on my linux box, or I'm doing something wrong or you did a really good job there.
Are_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th October 2014, 19:51   #59  |  Link
jackoneill
unsigned int
 
jackoneill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: 🇪🇺
Posts: 725
Quote:
Originally Posted by Are_ View Post
Wow, I'm having about ~20% speed improvement on my linux box, or I'm doing something wrong or you did a really good job there.
If you compiled the latest from git it's probably that change the SVP folks made. I finally copied it. v5 will have it.
__________________
Buy me a "coffee" and/or hire me to write code!
jackoneill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th November 2014, 14:38   #60  |  Link
Aurelio
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 8
Great work!

Any plans to port also MFlowFps and MBlockFps?
Aurelio is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 20:59.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.