Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > Newbies

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 5th August 2009, 16:35   #1  |  Link
bong.tv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4
Crop black borders of TV Show - possbile?

I like to crop the black borders of a recorded TV Show. I transcode with VLC and X264 but found until now NO working solution
Like in handbrake possible, I like to maintan the aspect ratio and the original size. My video is a MPEG with a width: 720 and a height of 576 pixel. I like to get a H.264 encoded MP4 with no black borders in the same size.
I encode in the terminal, so a working parameter would be great.
bong.tv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2009, 18:18   #2  |  Link
thewebchat
Advanced Blogging
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 483
If you crop, there is no way to maintain both the original aspect and original size.

Last edited by Guest; 5th August 2009 at 18:25. Reason: rule 4
thewebchat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2009, 23:42   #3  |  Link
Skelsgard
foobaring my ass off
 
Skelsgard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Argentina
Posts: 620
Maintaining 720x576 size might usefull if you're gonna transcode to DVD or want to keep the highest possible framesize in the final product, otherwise the image is either 4:3 or 16:9 DAR, so resizing is gonna be done eventually at pre or post-processing.
It your using DAR flags for proper AR decoding, than it doesn't really matter if the image is not 720 pixels width.
Just be sure to use mod16 resolutions for better compression.
__________________
"Damn, respect my authoritay!!" - E. Cartman
Skelsgard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th August 2009, 12:05   #4  |  Link
bong.tv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4
ok, I understood. Thanks.
Can you give me an X264 parameter example to crop some pixels?
bong.tv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th August 2009, 14:37   #5  |  Link
Skelsgard
foobaring my ass off
 
Skelsgard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Argentina
Posts: 620
x264 doesn't do processing, just encoding. You'll need other tools to crop those pixels, I would recommend AviSynth, which x264 accepts as input (file.avs).
Being AviSynth a script-based frameserver, it would allow you to do on-the-fly processing without the need for an intermediary AVI file (saving both time and HDD space).
__________________
"Damn, respect my authoritay!!" - E. Cartman

Last edited by Skelsgard; 6th August 2009 at 14:42.
Skelsgard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th August 2009, 15:25   #6  |  Link
m3mbran3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 90
Have a look at MeGUI, it's a gui for x264 encoding and it makes it easy to crop / resize before encoding while maintaining aspect ratio.
m3mbran3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th August 2009, 18:10   #7  |  Link
smok3
brontosaurusrex
 
smok3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 2,395
Quote:
Originally Posted by thewebchat View Post
If you crop, there is no way to maintain both the original aspect and original size.
why not? you'd need to crop properly and upsize (but thats probably a bad way of doing things).
__________________
certain other member
smok3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th August 2009, 18:22   #8  |  Link
Skelsgard
foobaring my ass off
 
Skelsgard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Argentina
Posts: 620
Quote:
Originally Posted by smok3 View Post
why not? you'd need to crop properly and upsize (but thats probably a bad way of doing things).
I think the key word is "original". The original size will be lost.
__________________
"Damn, respect my authoritay!!" - E. Cartman
Skelsgard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
crop

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 14:12.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.