Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > VirtualDub, VDubMod & AviDemux

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 28th June 2016, 00:11   #21  |  Link
StainlessS
HeartlessS Usurer
 
StainlessS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Over the rainbow
Posts: 7,263
That issue is because changing trim(0,1) in vub format (meaning single frame 0) would convert to trim(0,0) (entire clip).
So, is a 'special Case of trim(0,-1) which means 1 frame startiing at frame 0.

Edit, issue arises because 0 as end frame, means 'all the way to the very last frame.

Edit, having trouble with autocorrect.
__________________
I sometimes post sober.
StainlessS@MediaFire ::: AND/OR ::: StainlessS@SendSpace

"Some infinities are bigger than other infinities", but how many of them are infinitely bigger ???

Last edited by StainlessS; 28th June 2016 at 00:24.
StainlessS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th June 2016, 00:27   #22  |  Link
shekh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 706
Quote:
Originally Posted by StainlessS View Post
OfThat issue is because changing trim(0,1) in vub format (meaning single frame 0) would convert to trim(0,0) (entire clip).
So, is a 'special Case of trim(0,-1) which means 1 frame startiing at frame 0.

Edit, issue arises because 0 as end frame, means 'all the way to the very last frame.
In that case it works.
But there is another special case now: when I select frames 0-0 (0 frames) it creates the same Trim(0,-1) which is not good. Should it be Trim(0,0)?

btw I edited msg 20
__________________
VirtualDub2
shekh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th June 2016, 00:32   #23  |  Link
StainlessS
HeartlessS Usurer
 
StainlessS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Over the rainbow
Posts: 7,263
In vd, 0-0 (0 frames) should be ignored, there is no range.
__________________
I sometimes post sober.
StainlessS@MediaFire ::: AND/OR ::: StainlessS@SendSpace

"Some infinities are bigger than other infinities", but how many of them are infinitely bigger ???
StainlessS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th June 2016, 00:43   #24  |  Link
shekh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 706
In that case I will display a message.

Another question: I set a limit for importing frameset to 1024 chunks. Is it enough for all practical purposes or there exist a valid use case for importing more?
__________________
VirtualDub2
shekh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th June 2016, 00:50   #25  |  Link
StainlessS
HeartlessS Usurer
 
StainlessS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Over the rainbow
Posts: 7,263
I'm sure that I would be more than happy with that

Edit having quite bad problems, mo!bile.
__________________
I sometimes post sober.
StainlessS@MediaFire ::: AND/OR ::: StainlessS@SendSpace

"Some infinities are bigger than other infinities", but how many of them are infinitely bigger ???

Last edited by StainlessS; 28th June 2016 at 00:56.
StainlessS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th June 2016, 01:17   #26  |  Link
StainlessS
HeartlessS Usurer
 
StainlessS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Over the rainbow
Posts: 7,263
I'm probably gonna dump vdubmod, it's kinda sad, really.

My auto correct keeps converting 'shekh' to 'enemy', is there something that you are not telling me

Also corrects 'vdubmod' to 'crumble' for some strange reason.
__________________
I sometimes post sober.
StainlessS@MediaFire ::: AND/OR ::: StainlessS@SendSpace

"Some infinities are bigger than other infinities", but how many of them are infinitely bigger ???

Last edited by StainlessS; 28th June 2016 at 12:58.
StainlessS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th June 2016, 15:45   #27  |  Link
raffriff42
Retried Guesser
 
raffriff42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,377
Can it read Stack16? That would be handy for importing high bit depth Avisynth.
raffriff42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th June 2016, 15:48   #28  |  Link
StainlessS
HeartlessS Usurer
 
StainlessS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Over the rainbow
Posts: 7,263
OK, tried new version, no problems that I can think of
Tried copy plugin to vdub 1.10.4 plugins32, no crash (does not appear anywhere, presume its not supposed to).

Avisynth Information, now does not crash, I dont really use that anyway, but nice it dont crash now (with no change in my Avs plugs dir).

Quote:
Fixed Trim range for Avisynth (no idea for "decomb")
I was not even aware that VDMod had a Decomb mode, no idea what kind of scripts that uses.

Quote:
Added edit->goto command (frame/line)
That might be handy.

Quote:
Reloading in filter preview now works
Lovely.

Quote:
Concerning Avisynth information, it is probably better to not show "external commands" at all?
I'm not bothered either way, but dont crash anyway now.

Perhaps the disabled Crop() insertion could be of use (but I've never used it), it just allows user to set up crop
inside VDub, then insert into script, user would then need to remove crop (usually attached to "Null transform filter"),
and then refresh script. (add it or not, I'm happy either way).
Thanks for posting the plugin source link, quite interesting. [EDIT: Project opened just fine in VS2008, have not tried to compile, yet]

Can you remove the initial posted plugin link, you dont want people downloading that.

Also, you perhaps want to shout a bit louder about your having added Vapoursynth script handling, I'm sure some will love that.

One very small thing, in "Open With", your mod still shows as "VirtualDub" (same as official one), whereas VDMod shows
as "www.virtualdub-fr.org", dont know where/how this is set but would it be possible to change so as to be able to
select which version of VDub you want to open a file with (I've had to copy your exe into same place as original [and rename orig]
so that I can right click and Open With. I actually now have about 6 or 7 versions of VD on sys, and would be nice if Open With
worked with all of them individually. If I try to add another Open With VirtualDub, by browsing to your mod, it always uses the
original one (hence the temp replacement).

Anyways, I'm a very happy bunny already, thanks very much. All Hail Shekh ...
__________________
I sometimes post sober.
StainlessS@MediaFire ::: AND/OR ::: StainlessS@SendSpace

"Some infinities are bigger than other infinities", but how many of them are infinitely bigger ???

Last edited by StainlessS; 28th June 2016 at 16:05.
StainlessS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th June 2016, 16:27   #29  |  Link
StainlessS
HeartlessS Usurer
 
StainlessS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Over the rainbow
Posts: 7,263
Seems that afxres.h is not included with Express versions and so plugin cannot be compiled under VS 2008 Express.

(Part of MFC, is that really necessary ?)

Code:
Compiling...
accel.cpp
c:\temp\vdfiltermod-scripted-d01fa5f6f9aeaf63cb6171347c2cad604e842fe1\accel.cpp(67) : 
fatal error C1083: Cannot open include file: 'afxres.h': No such file or directory

AVSViewer.cpp
c:\temp\vdfiltermod-scripted-d01fa5f6f9aeaf63cb6171347c2cad604e842fe1\avsviewer.cpp(62) : 
fatal error C1083: Cannot open include file: 'afxres.h': No such file or directory
Everything else seems to compile OK.

EDIT: For accel.cpp
if I comment out include "afxres.h" I get this

Code:
1>c:\temp\vdfiltermod-scripted-d01fa5f6f9aeaf63cb6171347c2cad604e842fe1\accel.cpp(80) : error C2065: 'ID_FILE_NEW' : undeclared identifier
1>c:\temp\vdfiltermod-scripted-d01fa5f6f9aeaf63cb6171347c2cad604e842fe1\accel.cpp(81) : error C2065: 'ID_FILE_OPEN' : undeclared identifier
1>c:\temp\vdfiltermod-scripted-d01fa5f6f9aeaf63cb6171347c2cad604e842fe1\accel.cpp(91) : error C2065: 'ID_EDIT_REDO' : undeclared identifier
1>c:\temp\vdfiltermod-scripted-d01fa5f6f9aeaf63cb6171347c2cad604e842fe1\accel.cpp(92) : error C2065: 'ID_EDIT_UNDO' : undeclared identifier
1>c:\temp\vdfiltermod-scripted-d01fa5f6f9aeaf63cb6171347c2cad604e842fe1\accel.cpp(102) : error C2065: 'ID_EDIT_FIND' : undeclared identifier
EDIT: More or less same if compiling AVSViewer.cpp with missing header commented out.
Someone on StackOverFlow, says can replace afxres.h with windows.h if not using MFC.
__________________
I sometimes post sober.
StainlessS@MediaFire ::: AND/OR ::: StainlessS@SendSpace

"Some infinities are bigger than other infinities", but how many of them are infinitely bigger ???

Last edited by StainlessS; 28th June 2016 at 16:50.
StainlessS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th June 2016, 17:00   #30  |  Link
shekh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 706
Quote:
Originally Posted by raffriff42 View Post
Can it read Stack16? That would be handy for importing high bit depth Avisynth.
I was thinking of it.
Best option right now is to add "b64a" output to Avisynth, as I already handle it.
What else is possible?
If its possible to automatically identify Avisynth output as stack16, I will add it (especially if it is rgb).
Handling yuv would need a lot of supporting code which I dont want to implement right now.
__________________
VirtualDub2
shekh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th June 2016, 17:04   #31  |  Link
shekh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 706
Quote:
Originally Posted by StainlessS View Post
Seems that afxres.h is not included with Express versions and so plugin cannot be compiled under VS 2008 Express.
This is result of hacky porting. Original source was a mess of resource files.
The only reason afxres is included is to have 5 ids like ID_FILE_NEW, better to just redefine them in resource.h.
__________________
VirtualDub2

Last edited by shekh; 28th June 2016 at 17:50.
shekh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th June 2016, 17:19   #32  |  Link
shekh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 706
Quote:
Originally Posted by StainlessS View Post
Tried copy plugin to vdub 1.10.4 plugins32, no crash (does not appear anywhere, presume its not supposed to).
It should display an error like "plugin requires newer api".

Quote:
Originally Posted by StainlessS View Post
Can you remove the initial posted plugin link, you dont want people downloading that.
In fact it points to a new download too

Quote:
Originally Posted by StainlessS View Post
Also, you perhaps want to shout a bit louder about your having added Vapoursynth script handling, I'm sure some will love that.
There is not much handling except python syntax which colorizes comments. Vpy support now is a pleceholder for someone else to take care of

Quote:
Originally Posted by StainlessS View Post
One very small thing, in "Open With"...
I think these shell associations are created by some installers?
I am not sure the code is in VirtualDub.
__________________
VirtualDub2
shekh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th June 2016, 17:47   #33  |  Link
StainlessS
HeartlessS Usurer
 
StainlessS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Over the rainbow
Posts: 7,263
I did copy/paste of FILE and EDIT id's from afxres.h into resource.h,
comment out include of afxres.h in both cpp files (no need to add include for windows.h).

Resource.h has another include of afxres.h, commented out.
resource.rc had another include, commented out, but then other problems,

Code:
2>Compiling resources...
2>Microsoft (R) Windows (R) Resource Compiler Version 6.1.6723.1
2>Copyright (C) Microsoft Corporation.  All rights reserved.
2>.\resource.rc(20) : error RC2144 : PRIMARY LANGUAGE ID not a number
2>.\resource.rc(55) : error RC2135 : file not found: 3
2>.\resource.rc(56) : error RC2135 : file not found: 4
2>.\resource.rc(57) : error RC2135 : file not found: 5
2>.\resource.rc(66) : error RC2135 : file not found: 6
2>.\resource.rc(73) : error RC2135 : file not found: 7
Gave up at this point.

Quote:
It should display an error like "plugin requires newer api".
Nope, nothing.

Quote:
In fact it points to a new download too
Smart arse

Quote:
Vpy support now is a placeholder for someone else to take care of
I'm quite sure that will happen, not so difficult when a plugin

Quote:
I think these shell associations are created by some installers?
I am not sure the code is in VirtualDub.
What you said there gave me a clue, when you run VD first time on new system, it asks acceptance of license or something,
before continuing. Bet it's done at that stage.


Dont think that there is any way to tell Stack16 format.
[EDIT: perhaps statistically fewer set bits in low byte].
__________________
I sometimes post sober.
StainlessS@MediaFire ::: AND/OR ::: StainlessS@SendSpace

"Some infinities are bigger than other infinities", but how many of them are infinitely bigger ???

Last edited by StainlessS; 29th June 2016 at 04:04.
StainlessS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th June 2016, 17:52   #34  |  Link
shekh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 706
update from git, I just fixed it.

Note that there are project configurations for plugin and for standalone exe.
exe is convenient for testing features which do not interact with VirtualDub. Or maybe it can be useful for something?
__________________
VirtualDub2
shekh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th June 2016, 18:18   #35  |  Link
StainlessS
HeartlessS Usurer
 
StainlessS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Over the rainbow
Posts: 7,263
It's a long time since I installed Vdub, If I remember correctly, the VirtualDub.exe IS THE INSTALLER, and extracts
other stuff from inside itself. (I for years just copy a folder for ALL non-install programs, I can do a
new OS setup and copy my NON-INSTALL folder to C:\ and copy the shortcuts folder into Start Menu\Programs\NON-INSTALL\
so can install all my non-install programs [at least 100], with minimum effort, and hotkeys installed too).

Did registry search on "www.virtualdub-fr.org", and found this (only place in entire registry, except the copy of Current User)
Code:
HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\ShellNoRoam\MUICache\

C:\NON-INSTALL\VDUB\VDUB_MOD\VirtualDubMod     REG_SZ    www.virtualdub-fr.org
EDIT: Both copies of VD original and your version are there too with their directories (but same name VirtualDub),
so somewhere in VD source there is a string "VirtualDub" that is installed to that location.

I'll see if I can find the "www.virtualdub-fr.org" in vdmod source.

EDIT: Here all places in vdmod source that have that string ("www.virtualdub-fr.org").
Code:
Setup.rc
Changes.txt
VirtualDub.rc
Init.cpp
projectui.cpp
credits_mod.h
Changes_MOD.txt
EDIT: OK, got it sorted, using below "
Install_VDUB_ShellNoRoam.reg"
Code:
Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\ShellNoRoam\MUICache]
"C:\\NON-INSTALL\\VDUB\\VDUB_MOD\\VirtualDubMod.exe"="www.virtualdub-fr.org"
"C:\\NON-INSTALL\\VDUB\\VDUB_PLAIN\\VirtualDub.exe"="VirtualDub"
"C:\\NON-INSTALL\\VDUB\\VDUB_DEEP\\VirtualDubDEEP.exe"="VirtualDubDEEP"
So I can install and use now without too much of a problem.

EDIT: Obviously the path to the executables above is for my system only (ie, "C:\\NON-INSTALL\\VDUB\\VDUB_MOD\\" etc)
Above double slashes are totally necessary for the .reg file (real path are only single backslash).
__________________
I sometimes post sober.
StainlessS@MediaFire ::: AND/OR ::: StainlessS@SendSpace

"Some infinities are bigger than other infinities", but how many of them are infinitely bigger ???

Last edited by StainlessS; 29th June 2016 at 03:50.
StainlessS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th June 2016, 02:14   #36  |  Link
StainlessS
HeartlessS Usurer
 
StainlessS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Over the rainbow
Posts: 7,263
I tried to compile new source from Sourceforge, failed on resource.rc, #include "winres.h".

Winres.h not included in "Windows SDK for Windows 7 with DotNet 3.5 SP1" (one I'm using with vs 2008 Exp).

So had a look at SDK I'm using for VS6(I had copy in VS6 include/mfc but wanted Express only access) and Toolkit 2003,
ie "Windows Server 2003 R2 Platform SDK"
(ISO:- http://download.cnet.com/Windows-Ser...l?tag=untagged)
[EDIT: Mar 2006 Last SDK for VS6, despite some saying last is May 2005: See note 9 on wikipedia below
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Micros...DK#cite_note-9 ]

and that has required header file in include\mfc. [EDIT: Need add that path to include 's]

Compiled debug, and ran scripted.vdplugin OK.

I dont usually do any multi-solution projects (or whatever you call them), but spent some time creating Release project
and copied over a few things from the debug project (probably not all of below is necessary).
Code:
Scintilla:-
C/C++/General/Additional Include Directories/       include;lexlib;src
C/C++/Preprocessor/Preprocessor definitions/        WIN32;NDEBUG;_LIB;SCI_LEXER;STATIC_BUILD;_CRT_SECURE_NO_WARNINGS;NO_CXX11_REGEX
Librarian/General/Additional Dependencies/          imm32.lib

Scripted:-
General/Configuration Type/                         Dynamic Library(.dll)
C/C++/General/Additional Include Directories/       scintilla\include,VirtualDub
C/C++/Preprocessor/Preprocessor definitions/        WIN32;_WINDOWS;_CRT_SECURE_NO_WARNINGS;PLUGIN
C/C++/Code Generation/Runtime Library/              Multi-threaded (/MT)
Linker/General/Outfile/                             $(OutDir)\$(ProjectName).vdplugin
Linker/Input/Additional Dependencies/               comctl32.lib
Linker/Input/Module Definition File/                scripted.def
Linker/System/Subsystem/                            Windows (/SUBSYSTEM:WINDOWS)
Linker/Advanced/Target Machine/                     MachineX86 (/MACHINE:X86)
Above for those that wanna take a crack at building non debug version plugin.

EDIT: Its lovely not having to exit VDMod and start up VD Official just to run Video Analysis pass,
me loves this, congrats on job well done, and appreciated so very much.
__________________
I sometimes post sober.
StainlessS@MediaFire ::: AND/OR ::: StainlessS@SendSpace

"Some infinities are bigger than other infinities", but how many of them are infinitely bigger ???

Last edited by StainlessS; 29th June 2016 at 13:53.
StainlessS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th June 2016, 05:52   #37  |  Link
raffriff42
Retried Guesser
 
raffriff42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,377
Quote:
Originally Posted by shekh View Post
I was thinking of it ...If its possible to automatically identify Avisynth output as stack16, I will add it (especially if it is rgb).
Ah, identifying stack16, that's gonna be a problem. I think it might be better to let the user decide, by setting a "stack16" mode that assumes all incoming video is stack16; it should be persistent, not per-file, so that drag-and-drop can work without a popup dialog.

Quote:
Originally Posted by shekh View Post
Handling yuv would need a lot of supporting code which I dont want to implement right now.
No need to: stack16 is just a way to transport 16 bits-per-channel over an 8 (or 10) bit path (ie, VfW and DirectShow). It's color format neutral.

Thanks for your good work, VirtualDub FilterMod is the best VirtualDub ever.

EDIT "unstack" filter, good idea vvvv

Last edited by raffriff42; 29th June 2016 at 15:27.
raffriff42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th June 2016, 13:30   #38  |  Link
shekh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 706
If stack16 has no special metadata the best thing I can think of is to add stack16 to "alias format filter", or make another "unstack" filter exactly for this. Filter is good explicit way to express the intent and control it.
I`d like to hear who actually wants to use this and for what (simply transferring from avs to ffmpeg?)
My own interest would be to study various denoising filters (in some future).

---------------

Thanks for appreciation. My fork is still ridiculously hard to find and the download rate on sourceforge is vanishing.
I wish I could stick a link onto official vd sourceforge

btw would it be appropriate to move part of this thread related to avs editor to Avisynth development subforum?
__________________
VirtualDub2
shekh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th June 2016, 15:06   #39  |  Link
StainlessS
HeartlessS Usurer
 
StainlessS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Over the rainbow
Posts: 7,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by shekh View Post
btw would it be appropriate to move part of this thread related to avs editor to Avisynth development subforum?
Perhaps if you feel it needs that and you want to keep your thread cleaner.

I have posted a notice in New Plugins & Utilities thread in AVS Usage, it should get some attention there as that thread is tracked by many forums and some kind of auto generated RSS or Special Interest feeds (not sure what they are called).

EDIT: Here's the link to New Plugins & Utilities:- http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.ph...15#post1772115
PM me with link if your want me to change link to ScriptEd, to somewhere else (eg 1st post of this thread if you put link there).
__________________
I sometimes post sober.
StainlessS@MediaFire ::: AND/OR ::: StainlessS@SendSpace

"Some infinities are bigger than other infinities", but how many of them are infinitely bigger ???

Last edited by StainlessS; 29th June 2016 at 16:00.
StainlessS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th June 2016, 16:29   #40  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 5,963
Quote:
Originally Posted by shekh View Post
Hmm, strange; did I miss any intermediate files?

I unpacked VirtualDub.exe and plugins32 over a 32b pack 37200. Started VirtualDub.exe on Windows 7 SP1 Ult. 64b ger. Process stays in the background, does not show a visible window. Need a task manager to kill the process.

I unpacked Veedub64.exe and plugins64 over a 64b pack 37201. Started Veedub64.exe on Windows 7 SP1 Ult. 64b ger. Process stays in the background, does not show a visible window. Need a task manager to kill the process.
__________________

New German Gleitz board
MediaFire: x264 | x265 | VPx | AOM | Xvid
LigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:32.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.