Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > Avisynth Usage
Register FAQ Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 7th July 2017, 05:57   #1  |  Link
MrVideo
Registered User
 
MrVideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 2,132
How to serve H.264/4:2:2 video when use of DGDecodeNV not possible

The reason that I cannot use DGDecodeNV to serve the video to x264 is that my nVidia card does not support H.264/4:2:2 video (4:2:0 only).

Is there something else I can use to do the serving?

Here is an example with one of my AVS templates:
Code:
LoadPlugin("C:\Program Files (x86)\DGAVCDecNV\DGDecodeNV.dll")
dgsource("=DRIVE=\=FILENAME=")
assumetff()
telecide(guide=1)
decimate()
Yes, it is to IVTC the 1080i29.97 to 1080p23.976.

Any and all tips appreciated.
MrVideo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2017, 07:26   #2  |  Link
sneaker_ger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,565
ffms2?
sneaker_ger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2017, 08:34   #3  |  Link
MrVideo
Registered User
 
MrVideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 2,132
Going this web page (https://github.com/FFMS/ffms2) I find the following line:
Code:
This plugin is a part of the FFMS2 project and is available for download here;
Except there is no link. I think it is obtained from here: https://github.com/FFMS/ffms2/releases
If that is the case, then I think the file is: ffms2-2.23.1-msvc.7z
I have no idea where to drop the contents of the directory contained therein.
In the user manual I find the following line:
Code:
Because of LAVF's demuxer, most raw streams (such as elementary h264 and other mpeg video streams)
will fail to work properly.
I do most of my work as H.264 elementary streams. But, if I have to feed it the TS file and ignoring the audio, so be it.

Once I have the plugin, the user manual gives no example as how to incorporate it into an AVS script, like the one I have above. That said, I am assuming that I would use FFVideoSource, as I will be ignoring the audio (that is handled differently).

Still playing with the info, but still confused.

UPDATE: D'Oh! Looks like the ftms2.dll is dropped into the AVSynth plugins directory.

Last edited by MrVideo; 7th July 2017 at 08:52.
MrVideo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2017, 08:52   #4  |  Link
Groucho2004
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Barcelona
Posts: 5,034
I recommend qyot27's ffms2 C-plugin.
Groucho2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2017, 08:56   #5  |  Link
StainlessS
HeartlessS Usurer
 
StainlessS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Over the rainbow
Posts: 10,980
FFmpegSource: (ffms2)
https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=127037

LSmashSource: (LSMASHVideoSource)
https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=167435

Both in Avs Devs forum, seems devs dont think that they are of interest to users.

LSmash, has two video decoders,
LSMASHVideoSource for ISO
Code:
    Function IsISOFileName(String s) {
        s=RT_GetFileExtension(s) Return(s==".mov"||s==".mp4"||s==".3gp"||s==".3g2"||s==".mj2"||s==".dvb"||s==".dcf"||s==".m21")}
Otherwise use LWLibavVideoSource.
__________________
I sometimes post sober.
StainlessS@MediaFire ::: AND/OR ::: StainlessS@SendSpace

"Some infinities are bigger than other infinities", but how many of them are infinitely bigger ???
StainlessS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2017, 09:05   #6  |  Link
MrVideo
Registered User
 
MrVideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 2,132
Quote:
Originally Posted by Groucho2004 View Post
Any particular reason?

EDIT: I see that his requires AVISynth 2.6.0 (or later). Does the github 2.23.1 do so as well?

I have a version of 2.6.0, but haven't installed it. I'm running XP-64 (yes it is old, but works for what I need).

Last edited by MrVideo; 7th July 2017 at 09:10.
MrVideo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2017, 09:12   #7  |  Link
Groucho2004
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Barcelona
Posts: 5,034
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrVideo View Post
Any particular reason?

EDIT: I see that his requires AVISynth 2.6.0 (or later). Does the github 2.23.1 do so as well?

I have a version of 2.6.0, but haven't installed it. I'm running XP-64 (yes it is old, but works for what I need).
I have not tried all variations of ffms2/lsmash but this one just works (also on XP32/64, the latest ffms/lsmash will not work on XP).

If you don't have Avisynth(+) 2.6 installed you should really do so.

Last edited by Groucho2004; 7th July 2017 at 09:16.
Groucho2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2017, 09:46   #8  |  Link
Sharc
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3,997
Quote:
Originally Posted by Groucho2004 View Post
If you don't have Avisynth(+) 2.6 installed you should really do so.
Note for MrVideo: BD-RB does not (yet) support AVS+.
Sharc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2017, 09:54   #9  |  Link
MrVideo
Registered User
 
MrVideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 2,132
Quote:
Originally Posted by Groucho2004 View Post
I have not tried all variations of ffms2/lsmash but this one just works (also on XP32/64, the latest ffms/lsmash will not work on XP).
Then that is a good reason to use his.
Quote:
If you don't have Avisynth(+) 2.6 installed you should really do so.
As noted above, I can't, because I use BDRB.

While I have a Win7 box (recently brought up), the XP64 box is only meant for x264 recoding and BDRB authoring use.
MrVideo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2017, 09:58   #10  |  Link
feisty2
I'm Siri
 
feisty2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: void
Posts: 2,633
Quote:
Originally Posted by Groucho2004 View Post
I have not tried all variations of ffms2/lsmash but this one just works (also on XP32/64, the latest ffms/lsmash will not work on XP).

If you don't have Avisynth(+) 2.6 installed you should really do so.
Except no one else cares about xp support.
"I don't wanna upgrade to win10 for various reasons."
"Switch to Linux" - Good
"Xp till death" - Bad
feisty2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2017, 10:09   #11  |  Link
Sharc
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3,997
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrVideo View Post
Then that is a good reason to use his.

As noted above, I can't, because I use BDRB.
You can upgrade from Avisynth 2.5.8 to Avisynth 2.6.0, but not to AVS+ for BD-RB.
Sharc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2017, 10:19   #12  |  Link
MrVideo
Registered User
 
MrVideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 2,132
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharc View Post
You can upgrade from Avisynth 2.5.8 to Avisynth 2.6.0, but not to AVS+ for BD-RB.
I will be upgrading to 2.6.0.
MrVideo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2017, 10:27   #13  |  Link
MrVideo
Registered User
 
MrVideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 2,132
Quote:
Originally Posted by feisty2 View Post
Except no one else cares about xp support.
There are still many who do.
Quote:
"I don't wanna upgrade to win10 for various reasons."
It is really evil. The stranglehold it puts on users is horrible. The crap I had to go thru to get Win7 running so that I, as the only user, could actually use the box.
Quote:
"Switch to Linux" - Good
I run a Fedora 25 server. Unfortunately, no one ports any of the programs I need to use on Linux (Adobe, AVISynth, BDRB, VideoReDo and many others).
Quote:
"Xp till death" - Bad
But, it continues to work for what I need.

On all three of my XP/Win7 boxes, I have cygwin installed so that can do lots of stuff. I have scripts that do my AVISynth jobs. No GUI required.
MrVideo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2017, 10:46   #14  |  Link
Groucho2004
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Barcelona
Posts: 5,034
When I wrote "Avisynth(+)" I meant either Avisynth 2.60 (classic) or AVS+ (which is also v2.60).

If you want some flexibility or want to try out other Avisynth versions you could give this a try.
Groucho2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2017, 10:47   #15  |  Link
Groucho2004
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Barcelona
Posts: 5,034
Quote:
Originally Posted by feisty2 View Post
Except no one else cares about xp support.
Funny that all Avisynth versions and ~99% of plugins work fine on XP.
Groucho2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2017, 11:01   #16  |  Link
feisty2
I'm Siri
 
feisty2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: void
Posts: 2,633
it's not a stranglehold, no one said "you HAVE TO upgrade to win10", sure you have every right to avoid win10 if that's what you want.
BUT, if you're gonna do that, you just have to plan for something else, obsolete software is simply toxic, especially ancient antique like xp, it's been 16 years since the initial release of xp...
generally, you would update that antique to the latest version of the same thing (that is, win10), but you find win10 is somehow not what you want, then, you should really pick something else, maybe Linux, or OSX, whatever you like.
xp should die cuz it also fails to work with modern hardware (at least it couldn't release the full potential of the modern hardware, you have no AVX, FMA and stuff with xp).
it might work for what you need, FOR NOW, but it works with lower efficiency, and that's very harmful.
xp is an obsolete program, not your soulmate, it would be extra easy to get rid of if only you could just let go
feisty2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2017, 11:05   #17  |  Link
feisty2
I'm Siri
 
feisty2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: void
Posts: 2,633
Quote:
Originally Posted by Groucho2004 View Post
Funny that all Avisynth versions and ~99% of plugins work fine on XP.
that's because country bumpkins like you demanded it
feisty2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2017, 11:28   #18  |  Link
Groucho2004
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Barcelona
Posts: 5,034
Quote:
Originally Posted by feisty2 View Post
that's because country bumpkins like you demanded it
Who are you and what have you done to feisty2? He would never spell the word "because" in this obsolete manner.
Groucho2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2017, 11:48   #19  |  Link
feisty2
I'm Siri
 
feisty2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: void
Posts: 2,633
Quote:
Originally Posted by Groucho2004 View Post
Who are you and what have you done to feisty2? He would never spell the word "because" in this obsolete manner.
Save your sarcasm for your xp sinking ship, maybe one day the gravity on earth suddenly disappears and the hardware manufacturers choose to again, support xp
feisty2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th July 2017, 11:53   #20  |  Link
Groucho2004
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Barcelona
Posts: 5,034
Quote:
Originally Posted by feisty2 View Post
Save your sarcasm for your xp sinking ship, maybe one day the gravity on earth suddenly disappears and the hardware manufacturers choose to again, support xp
I'm curious about why you get so rowled up about people who still use XP. Is it the brain-washing by M$ and its minions? Why do you even care?
Groucho2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 22:31.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.