Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > New and alternative a/v containers

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 30th May 2007, 08:58   #341  |  Link
Mosu
MKVToolNix author
 
Mosu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Braunschweig, Germany
Posts: 4,014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neo Fagin View Post
A small feature request (dunno if it's already been requested) - can there be a checkbox in options to enable quiet mode (-q) without error reporting?
Hmm, I don't want to add this. If mkvmerge spills out warnings then there are issues the user has to be aware of. Warnings are nothing to laugh at, and suppressing them by default seems like a recipe for grief.

Quote:
When muxing DTS created with Surcode, if the DTS has padding, mkvmerge strips the padding which is fine, however it produces thousands of error messages and the process stalls waiting for the console / GUI to catch up to display them, causing it to take literally half a day to mux a DTS track. This also occurs with AC3 and other tracks which have padding in them.
I've changed something in the MPEG reader code lately, but I think I haven't built a new Windows build with those changes. Let me do this now. (goes away for a minute) Here you go. Please download this build and test against the files that produce those warnings:
http://www.bunkus.org/videotools/mkv...20070530-1.rar
__________________
Latest MKVToolNix is v60.0.0

If I ever ask you to upload something, please use my file server.
Mosu is offline  
Old 31st May 2007, 02:39   #342  |  Link
Neo Fagin
Mmmmmmmmangoscam!
 
Neo Fagin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mosu View Post
Hmm, I don't want to add this. If mkvmerge spills out warnings then there are issues the user has to be aware of. Warnings are nothing to laugh at, and suppressing them by default seems like a recipe for grief.
Oh, I agree, I just meant an option being available to suppress them. It would logically not be checked by default, obviously. It exists on the commandline so I wasn't sure why it doesn't exist in the GUI.

I'll be trying it on DTS for Pirates of the Caribbean in a bit.

Last edited by Neo Fagin; 31st May 2007 at 02:41.
Neo Fagin is offline  
Old 31st May 2007, 09:32   #343  |  Link
delacroixp
Emperor building empire
 
delacroixp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: ZAR
Posts: 674
@Mosu

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mosu View Post
Matroska does support changing of private codec data in the middle of the stream, but this feature is not widely supported (if at all, Haali's splitter might be the only app supporting this at the moment).

However, Matroska's header fields may NOT change mid stream. Therefore the answer is more likely "no".
With critical-mass... menus, stereoscopic3D and various advanced features will undoudtedly take-off.

Thanks for your time...



Pascal
__________________
DualRomeEPYC . Storinator
delacroixp is offline  
Old 31st May 2007, 22:42   #344  |  Link
Neo Fagin
Mmmmmmmmangoscam!
 
Neo Fagin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mosu View Post
I've changed something in the MPEG reader code lately, but I think I haven't built a new Windows build with those changes. Let me do this now. (goes away for a minute) Here you go. Please download this build and test against the files that produce those warnings:
http://www.bunkus.org/videotools/mkv...20070530-1.rar
I just tried this on another DTS file made with Surcode and it is still rather slow compared to the commandline with -q, though not "20K per second" slow like it was. It writes about 1MB/sec versus the commandline with -q writing about 4MB/sec.
Neo Fagin is offline  
Old 1st June 2007, 07:39   #345  |  Link
Mosu
MKVToolNix author
 
Mosu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Braunschweig, Germany
Posts: 4,014
Hmm, so it still does not skip the appropriate amount of byets... I hate MPEG. Could you please upload 10 MB of your file? Thanks.
__________________
Latest MKVToolNix is v60.0.0

If I ever ask you to upload something, please use my file server.
Mosu is offline  
Old 2nd June 2007, 00:12   #346  |  Link
Neo Fagin
Mmmmmmmmangoscam!
 
Neo Fagin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mosu View Post
Hmm, so it still does not skip the appropriate amount of byets... I hate MPEG. Could you please upload 10 MB of your file? Thanks.
D'oh I deleted it, but I'll make another one and up it later today.
Neo Fagin is offline  
Old 4th June 2007, 12:30   #347  |  Link
delacroixp
Emperor building empire
 
delacroixp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: ZAR
Posts: 674
@Neo Fagin

Quote:
Originally Posted by Neo Fagin View Post
D'oh I deleted it, but I'll make another one and up it later today.
What happened to the recycle bin... or do you also shift-delete or possibly even use a shredder...



Pascal
__________________
DualRomeEPYC . Storinator
delacroixp is offline  
Old 8th June 2007, 14:54   #348  |  Link
bob0r
Pain and suffering
 
bob0r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,337
@Mosu

Any news on fixing Nal-Size on H.264 muxed .mkv files?
The ones with nal size 3 can't be played with the latest cyberlink H.264 decoder.

If no news yet, or not possible soon, can you advice me on how to "fix" the nal-size by remuxing, but keeping the same audio delay? (extra question: How can we see audio delay used in a muxed .mkv file?)

A method used now is:
Demux video from .mkv
Open wrong bad .mkv, select audio only
Then open the H.264 video again and remux with nal-size 4

P.S.
Why is nal-size 3 still selectable?
For H.264 its not valid, but for other video formats it is?
bob0r is offline  
Old 15th June 2007, 12:41   #349  |  Link
delacroixp
Emperor building empire
 
delacroixp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: ZAR
Posts: 674
Multiple video tracks ???

I made 3xH264 encodes of 'Band of Brothers 1'... over-sampled or upscaled to 1440x800, 1280x720 and 1024x576... @ Q23, Q22 and Q19 respectively...
I also made 3xMP4a audio tracks... 5.1 surround @ 48 KHz (full dynamic range), 5.1 surround @ 44.1 KHz (reduced dynamic range) and 2.0 stereo (reduced dynamic range)...
I then muxed the lot, hoping that a friend of mine could do a quality comparison of BoB 1 at each of the 3 encode resolutions on his 40 inch HD LCD TV.

The muxing goes fine but I can't switch video tracks in Zoom Player... the other track is ticked, but not played...
what gives... ???



Pascal
__________________
DualRomeEPYC . Storinator

Last edited by delacroixp; 15th June 2007 at 12:42. Reason: TV
delacroixp is offline  
Old 16th June 2007, 08:42   #350  |  Link
KoD
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 563
This is very likely not muxing related, but playback related. Your decoder maybe doesn't like switching from 48KHz to 44.1KHz without being resetted or something like that.
KoD is offline  
Old 16th June 2007, 19:19   #351  |  Link
delacroixp
Emperor building empire
 
delacroixp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: ZAR
Posts: 674
@KoD

Quote:
Originally Posted by KoD View Post
This is very likely not muxing related, but playback related. Your decoder maybe doesn't like switching from 48KHz to 44.1KHz without being resetted or something like that.
Actually, the soundtracks change quite happily... it's only the video tracks that have issues...
Also, each video has the same content... so the audio tracks relate equally...

for the response...



Pascal
__________________
DualRomeEPYC . Storinator
delacroixp is offline  
Old 16th June 2007, 23:42   #352  |  Link
foxyshadis
ангел смерти
 
foxyshadis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Lost
Posts: 9,564
Definitely something I'd ask Blight or Haali first. Switching video seems much less common and less well-tested than audio.
foxyshadis is offline  
Old 17th June 2007, 13:38   #353  |  Link
delacroixp
Emperor building empire
 
delacroixp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: ZAR
Posts: 674
@foxyshadis

Quote:
Originally Posted by foxyshadis View Post
Definitely something I'd ask BeLight or Haali first. Switching video seems much less common and less well-tested than audio.
much




Pascal
__________________
DualRomeEPYC . Storinator
delacroixp is offline  
Old 17th June 2007, 23:40   #354  |  Link
foxyshadis
ангел смерти
 
foxyshadis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Lost
Posts: 9,564
Blight -> Creator of Zoomplayer
BeLight -> Kurt's besweet GUI.

Not a typo. =p
foxyshadis is offline  
Old 18th June 2007, 08:28   #355  |  Link
delacroixp
Emperor building empire
 
delacroixp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: ZAR
Posts: 674
@foxyshadis

Quote:
Originally Posted by foxyshadis View Post
Blight -> Creator of Zoomplayer
BeLight -> Kurt's besweet GUI.

Not a typo. =p
oops... a little bit of knowledge can be a terrible handicap...



Pascal


Btw
sorry for editing your post...
__________________
DualRomeEPYC . Storinator
delacroixp is offline  
Old 21st June 2007, 16:47   #356  |  Link
bob0r
Pain and suffering
 
bob0r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,337
@Mosu:

AC3 issue with .mkv (mkvextract(gui))

Delaycut 1.2.1.2: http://www.free-codecs.com/download/..._Corrector.htm

Source file: skyone_ac3_fuckup.ts
mkv file with Haali's gdsmux.exe: skyone_ac3_fuckup.mkv

AC3 file demuxed from .ts with mplayer: skyone_ac3_fuckup_ts_demuxed_mplayer.ac3, info:

Code:
====== INPUT FILE INFO ========================
File is          	ac3
Bitrate  (kbit/s) 	384
Act rate (kbit/s) 	384.000
File size (bytes)	1702880
Channels mode    	2/0: L+R
Sampling Frec    	48000
Low Frec Effects 	LFE: Not present
Duration         	00:00:35.476
Frame length (ms)	32.000000
Frames/second    	31.250000
Num of frames    	1108
Bytes per Frame  	1536.0000
Size % Framesize 	992
CRC present: 	YES
=============================================
====== TARGET FILE INFO ======================
Start Frame   	0
End Frame     	1107
Num of Frames 	1108
Duration      	00:00:35.456
NotFixedDelay 	0.0000
=============================================
AC3 file demuxed from .mkv with mkvextractgui: skyone_ac3_fuckup_ts_demuxed_mplayer.ac3.

Or: mkvextract tracks gegdsmuxed.mkv 2:ditisdusfuckedup.ac3
mkvextract -V
mkvextract v2.0.0 ('After The Rain Has Fallen') built on Apr 16 2007 08:48:50

info:

Code:
====== INPUT FILE INFO ========================
File is          	ac3
Bitrate  (kbit/s) 	64
Act rate (kbit/s) 	64.000
File size (bytes)	1653652
Channels mode    	2/0: L+R
Sampling Frec    	0
Low Frec Effects 	LFE: Not present
Duration         	00:03:26.706
Frame length (ms)	16.000000
Frames/second    	62.500000
Num of frames    	12919
Bytes per Frame  	 128.0000
Size % Framesize 	20
CRC present: 	YES
=============================================
====== TARGET FILE INFO ======================
Start Frame   	0
End Frame     	12918
Num of Frames 	12919
Duration      	00:03:26.704
NotFixedDelay 	0.0000
=============================================
Can you explain this problem?

(all files packed as ac3_issue.7z and uploaded to your FTP)

EDIT:
The source .ts file (ever muxed to .mkv) won't play here at all, only takes 100% cpu, and then i can stop it with alt F4.
Hope Haali can examine the .ts file for us, but it seems the audio file is very fucked

Last edited by bob0r; 21st June 2007 at 17:04.
bob0r is offline  
Old 22nd June 2007, 10:17   #357  |  Link
Mosu
MKVToolNix author
 
Mosu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Braunschweig, Germany
Posts: 4,014
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob0r View Post
@Mosu

Any news on fixing Nal-Size on H.264 muxed .mkv files?
The ones with nal size 3 can't be played with the latest cyberlink H.264 decoder.
I've implemented this in this build: http://www.bunkus.org/videotools/mkv...20070622-1.rar

Quote:
Why is nal-size 3 still selectable?
For H.264 its not valid, but for other video formats it is?
Hmm, good question. No, the NALU size only applies to h.264 video, and I can probably take '3' out.
__________________
Latest MKVToolNix is v60.0.0

If I ever ask you to upload something, please use my file server.
Mosu is offline  
Old 22nd June 2007, 10:19   #358  |  Link
Mosu
MKVToolNix author
 
Mosu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Braunschweig, Germany
Posts: 4,014
Quote:
Originally Posted by bob0r View Post
@Mosu:

AC3 issue with .mkv (mkvextract(gui))
...

Quote:
Source file: skyone_ac3_fuckup.ts
mkv file with Haali's gdsmux.exe: skyone_ac3_fuckup.mkv
mkvextract does NOT modify the AC3 contents during extraction in any way. So my guess is that Haali's gdsmux or, more likely, his TS splitter is at fault. Especially as your also saying:

Quote:
EDIT:
The source .ts file (ever muxed to .mkv) won't play here at all, only takes 100% cpu, and then i can stop it with alt F4.
Hope Haali can examine the .ts file for us, but it seems the audio file is very fucked
I repeat. mkvextract cannot be responsible for the corrupted data. I'd almost guarantee it.
__________________
Latest MKVToolNix is v60.0.0

If I ever ask you to upload something, please use my file server.
Mosu is offline  
Old 22nd June 2007, 14:47   #359  |  Link
bob0r
Pain and suffering
 
bob0r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 1,337
@Mosu:

When i open a .mkv H.264 file in: 2.0.2 - 22 Jun 2007, i still can not change the nal-size in Format specific options.
The option is greyed out.

(Note: all my .mkv are now nal-size 4, i have fixed them manually, so does it detect nal-size 3, or is it a bug?)
bob0r is offline  
Old 22nd June 2007, 15:35   #360  |  Link
Mosu
MKVToolNix author
 
Mosu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Braunschweig, Germany
Posts: 4,014
Hmm you're right, I haven't updated mmg yet, only mkvmerge. No, mmg does not detect the current NALU size length at all, it just defaults to '3'. I'll change both.
__________________
Latest MKVToolNix is v60.0.0

If I ever ask you to upload something, please use my file server.
Mosu is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 14:39.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.