Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > Audio encoding

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 19th September 2022, 19:48   #201  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 6,513
For me works now with wav sources (always 24 bit, 48000 Hz), I'm not need transcode, only encode.

1) Run in a CLI window:
Quote:
C:\Users\Pepe>EasyAudioEncoder.exe
Dolby, Dolby Digital, Dolby Digital Plus, Dolby TrueHD and the double D symbol are trademarks of Dolby Laboratories.
2) Run in other CLI window:
Quote:
C:\Users\Pepe>"C:\tmp\Plex\Plex Media Server\Plex Transcoder.exe" -c:a pcm_s24le -i "C:\Users\Pepe\Core.wav" -eae_root C:\Users\Pepe core.eac3
ffmpeg version c4efa15-4365 Copyright (c) 2000-2021 the FFmpeg developers
built with Plex clang version 11.0.1 (https://plex.tv 9b997da8e5b47bdb4a9425b3a3b290be393b4b1f)
configuration: --disable-static ...
libavutil 56. 63.101 / 56. 63.101
libavcodec 58.117.101 / 58.117.101
libavformat 58. 65.101 / 58. 65.101
libavfilter 7. 96.100 / 7. 96.100
libswscale 5. 8.100 / 5. 8.100
libswresample 3. 8.100 / 3. 8.100
Input #0, wav, from 'C:\Users\Pepe\Core.wav':
Metadata:
encoder : Lavf59.27.100
Duration: 00:03:07.94, bitrate: 9216 kb/s
Stream #0:0: Audio: pcm_s24le ([1][0][0][0] / 0x0001), 48000 Hz, 7.1, s32 (24 bit), 9216 kb/s
Stream mapping:
Stream #0:0 -> #0:0 (pcm_s24le (native) -> eac3 (eac3_eae))
Output #0, eac3, to 'core.eac3':
Metadata:
encoder : Lavf58.65.101
Stream #0:0: Audio: eac3, 48000 Hz, 7.1, flt (24 bit), 128 kb/s
Metadata:
encoder : Lavc58.117.101 eac3_eae
size= 23496kB time=00:03:07.93 bitrate=1024.2kbits/s speed=20.9x
video:0kB audio:23496kB subtitle:0kB other streams:0kB global headers:0kB muxing overhead: 0.000000%
EasyAudioEncoder.exe send error messages, but seems can be ignored.
We need Ctrl+C to stop run.

And I obtain the core.eac3 7.1 1024 Kb/s
Decoded with ffmeg -drc_scale 0 the output is equivalent to input Core.wav


- Using a 3D input wav:
Quote:
Input #0, wav, from 'C:\Users\Pepe\8w3D.wav':
Duration: 00:00:20.04, bitrate: 9216 kb/s
Stream #0:0: Audio: pcm_s24le ([1][0][0][0] / 0x0001), 48000 Hz, 8 channels (FL+FR+FC+LFE+SL+SR+TFL+TFR), s32 (24 bit), 9216 kb/s
Stream mapping:
Stream #0:0 -> #0:0 (pcm_s24le (native) -> eac3 (eac3_eae))
Output #0, eac3, to '8w3D.eac3':
Metadata:
encoder : Lavf58.65.101
Stream #0:0: Audio: eac3, 48000 Hz, 5.1(side), flt (24 bit), 128 kb/s
Metadata:
encoder : Lavc58.117.101 eac3_eae
size= 940kB time=00:00:20.03 bitrate= 384.6kbits/s speed=27.9x
video:0kB audio:940kB subtitle:0kB other streams:0kB global headers:0kB muxing overhead: 0.000000%
The channels TFL+TFR are ignored (not mixed, ignored). Then for me EAE is useless.

NOTE: To obtain "C:\tmp\Plex\Plex Media Server\Plex Transcoder.exe" I download Plex and install it in a PC without internet conexion.
I copy the folder "C:\Program Files\Plex" to "C:\tmp\Plex" and I uninstall Plex.
I don't know if the full Plex folder is needed, at least shared ffmeg dll's like avcodec-58.dll, avformat-58.dll, avutil-56.dll, ...
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder.

Last edited by tebasuna51; 19th September 2022 at 19:50.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th September 2022, 20:19   #202  |  Link
Kuler087
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2021
Posts: 60
I didn't test yet because I'm not home but looking at audacity waves, it seems the audio volume is very low?

https://slow.pics/c/AGvZoOf2
Kuler087 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th September 2022, 23:26   #203  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 6,513
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kuler087 View Post
I didn't test yet because I'm not home but looking at audacity waves, it seems the audio volume is very low?

https://slow.pics/c/AGvZoOf2
Audacity don't read eac3 files. It can use old ffmpeg libs, but a 7.1 eac3 was readed like 5.1 here.
Your image have only 5 channels.

Decode it to wav/w64 before:

ffmpeg.exe -drc_scale 0 -i "sample.eac3" -c:a pcm_s24le "sample.wav"
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th September 2022, 00:01   #204  |  Link
Kuler087
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2021
Posts: 60
thanks for the info.

Unfortunately, DDP produced by EAE gives me the same problem as DEE using my LG C2 ARC to Denon AVR. The AVR reports 7.1 audio DD+ but it plays in slow motion.
If I encode 7.1 EC3 1536kbps with an AC3 core(bd compatible) in DEE, then my AVR reports PCM (no idea if it's the 5.1 core or the 7.1 DD+ that plays). PLEX reports 7.1 audio but I have a feeling that only the 5.1 core is played.
EC3 5.1 1536kbps produced by ffmpeg plays properly and AVR reports 5.1 DD+.

Nvidia Shield: everything works and AVR reports DD+ 7.1.
X800m2: DD+ 7.1 with core plays and AVR reports DD+ 7.1. ... DD+ 7.1 without core= same issue as the TV, it plays in slow motion.

I guess I'll stick to ffmpeg DD+ 5.1 1536kbps even though my TV EDID clearly says that it supports DD+ 7.1
Kuler087 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th September 2022, 03:28   #205  |  Link
Balling
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 433
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kuler087 View Post
ha thank you for the clarification, now it's working.
Now I hope it works on my TV, the DEE EC3 7.1 tracks are not playing correctly.
Why would they not?? You did tick bitstream eas3 in lavfilters, right? Sample of DEE??

Last edited by Balling; 20th September 2022 at 03:31.
Balling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th September 2022, 03:31   #206  |  Link
Balling
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 433
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
Audacity don't read eac3 files. It can use old ffmpeg libs, but a 7.1 eac3 was readed like 5.1 here.
Your image have only 5 channels.

Decode it to wav/w64 before:

ffmpeg.exe -drc_scale 0 -i "sample.eac3" -c:a pcm_s24le "sample.wav"
No, audacity does support it, just download latest nightly, only then you will be able to use head of master of ffmpeg. Api changes were frozen around 4.1.3, so it should be compatible for a while until API breaking version. Audacity does does not do two option as above, so sure decoding to w64 is better.
Balling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th September 2022, 04:08   #207  |  Link
Kuler087
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2021
Posts: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by Balling View Post
Sample of DEE??
https://drive.google.com/drive/folde...uK?usp=sharing

Quote:
Why would they not?? You did tick bitstream eas3 in lavfilters, right?
I'm talking about TV internal player playback with ARC to my AVR.

Last edited by Kuler087; 20th September 2022 at 04:23.
Kuler087 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th September 2022, 06:18   #208  |  Link
Balling
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 433
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kuler087 View Post
I didn't test yet because I'm not home but looking at audacity waves, it seems the audio volume is very low?

https://slow.pics/c/AGvZoOf2
It is very low because of horrible drc on TrueHD files (not on your file on google drive, that .thd has no DRC), and they are supposed to be lossless, LOL!! The fact is FFmpeg does not support DRC on TrueHD (only EAC3 and AC3), it just decodes lossless.

Use this: decode with normal ffmpeg:

ffmpeg.exe -i file.thd -c:a pcm_s24le wa1.wav

Then encode with Plex to eac3.

Last edited by Balling; 20th September 2022 at 06:23.
Balling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th September 2022, 06:34   #209  |  Link
Balling
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 433
>The channels TFL+TFR are ignored (not mixed, ignored).

Top front left and top front right require EX or Atmos, do they not?
Balling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th September 2022, 21:03   #210  |  Link
pcroland
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Hungary
Posts: 103
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kuler087 View Post
DEE EC3 7.1 tracks are not playing correctly.
Have you tried both the standard and the bluray profile?
__________________
deew (Dolby Encoding Engine Wrapper): GitHub, Doom9 | substoforced
pcroland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th September 2022, 22:54   #211  |  Link
Kuler087
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2021
Posts: 60
yes as said previously...

LG C2 internal player:
Standard profile = AVR reports DD+ 7.1 but the audio stutter
Bluray profile = AVR reports PCM and I suspect it's playing only the 5.1 core but it doesnt stutter.

Last edited by Kuler087; 20th September 2022 at 23:00.
Kuler087 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st September 2022, 19:44   #212  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 6,513
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kuler087 View Post
Unfortunately, DDP produced by EAE gives me the same problem as DEE using my LG C2 ARC to Denon AVR. The AVR reports 7.1 audio DD+ but it plays in slow motion.
If I encode 7.1 EC3 1536kbps with an AC3 core(bd compatible) in DEE, then my AVR reports PCM
I have a TV Samsung UE40NU7125 conected by SPDIF to a Denon AVR-X1500H (HDMI without ARC option) than play, and show DD+, all kind of eac3 encodes (EAE, DEE st or bd, Audition, TotalCode and ffmpeg)

When play from PC connected by HDMI to the AVR Denon of course all eac3 is fine, and HD, Atmos, etc.

Quote:
(no idea if it's the 5.1 core or the 7.1 DD+ that plays). PLEX reports 7.1 audio but I have a feeling that only the 5.1 core is played.
To know if is a real 7.1 or any mix use a channel test (recoded to the format desired) instead samples like you use.
Listen the sound only in appropiated speakers.
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder.

Last edited by tebasuna51; 21st September 2022 at 19:48.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd September 2022, 00:34   #213  |  Link
Kuler087
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2021
Posts: 60
thank you, that test file is very useful.
As suspected, I'm not getting 7.1 audio on the LG C2 --> AVR with EC3 (bluray profile) audio. LFE is not even working (AAC is fine but also 5.1 only).

EDIT: Ok, I just learned something, my AVR was set to Top/surround and the back channels don't work that way. So I changed to back/surround and now the back channel works but still no LFE.
Interestingly, now 7.1 EC3 standard profile works without stuttering. all the channels + LFE work.
Test file i used: https://drive.google.com/file/d/10VP...ew?usp=sharing

Last edited by Kuler087; 22nd September 2022 at 03:20.
Kuler087 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd September 2022, 17:57   #214  |  Link
SeeMoreDigital
Life's clearer in 4K UHD
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Notts, UK
Posts: 12,092
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kuler087 View Post
thank you, that test file is very useful.
As suspected, I'm not getting 7.1 audio on the LG C2 --> AVR with EC3 (bluray profile) audio. LFE is not even working (AAC is fine but also 5.1 only).

EDIT: Ok, I just learned something, my AVR was set to Top/surround and the back channels don't work that way. So I changed to back/surround and now the back channel works but still no LFE.
Interestingly, now 7.1 EC3 standard profile works without stuttering. all the channels + LFE work.
Test file i used: https://drive.google.com/file/d/10VP...ew?usp=sharing
Just so you know... With the exception of the AAC file, the 'side' and 'rear' channels of all the other encodes are the wrong way round. As tested using my OPPO UDP-203.
__________________
| I've been testing hardware media playback devices and software A/V encoders and decoders since 2001 | My Network Layout & A/V Gear |
SeeMoreDigital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd September 2022, 23:51   #215  |  Link
Kuler087
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2021
Posts: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by SeeMoreDigital View Post
, the 'side' and 'rear' channels of all the other encodes are the wrong way round.
indeed... It looks like my DEE settings are incorrect, I did a couple of tests and it keep inverting the Side and Back channels.
https://slow.pics/c/8QFfx2Wv
Can anyone help ? Do you see whats wrong in my xml file?

Code:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?> 
<job_config> 
  <input> 
    <audio> 
      <wav version="1"> 
       <file_name>1.wav</file_name> 
        <timecode_frame_rate>not_indicated</timecode_frame_rate> 
        <offset>auto</offset> 
        <ffoa>auto</ffoa> 
        <storage> 
          <local> 
            <path>D:\TEMP_folder\</path> 
          </local> 
        </storage> 
      </wav> 
    </audio> 
  </input> 
  <filter> 
    <audio> 
      <pcm_to_ddp version="3"> 
        <loudness> 
          <measure_only> 
            <metering_mode>1770-3</metering_mode> 
            <dialogue_intelligence>true</dialogue_intelligence> 
            <speech_threshold>20</speech_threshold> 
          </measure_only> 
        </loudness> 
       <encoder_mode>ddp71</encoder_mode> 
        <bitstream_mode>complete_main</bitstream_mode> 
        <downmix_config>off</downmix_config> 
        <data_rate>1024</data_rate> 
        <timecode_frame_rate>not_indicated</timecode_frame_rate> 
        <start>0:00:00.005333</start> 
        <end>end_of_file</end> 
        <time_base>file_position</time_base> 
        <prepend_silence_duration>0.0</prepend_silence_duration> 
        <append_silence_duration>0.0</append_silence_duration> 
        <lfe_on>true</lfe_on> 
        <dolby_surround_mode>yes</dolby_surround_mode> 
        <dolby_surround_ex_mode>no</dolby_surround_ex_mode> 
        <user_data>-1</user_data> 
        <drc> 
          <line_mode_drc_profile>music_light</line_mode_drc_profile> 
          <rf_mode_drc_profile>music_light</rf_mode_drc_profile> 
        </drc> 
        <custom_dialnorm>0</custom_dialnorm> 
        <lfe_lowpass_filter>true</lfe_lowpass_filter> 
        <surround_90_degree_phase_shift>false</surround_90_degree_phase_shift> 
        <surround_3db_attenuation>false</surround_3db_attenuation> 
        <downmix> 
          <loro_center_mix_level>-3</loro_center_mix_level> 
          <loro_surround_mix_level>-3</loro_surround_mix_level> 
          <ltrt_center_mix_level>-3</ltrt_center_mix_level> 
          <ltrt_surround_mix_level>-3</ltrt_surround_mix_level> 
          <preferred_downmix_mode>loro</preferred_downmix_mode> 
        </downmix> 
        <allow_hybrid_downmix>false</allow_hybrid_downmix> 
       <embedded_timecodes> 
          <starting_timecode>off</starting_timecode> 
          <frame_rate>auto</frame_rate> 
        </embedded_timecodes> 
      </pcm_to_ddp> 
    </audio> 
  </filter> 
  <output> 
    <ec3 version="1"> 
      <file_name>"THD.TEST.ec3"</file_name> 
      <storage> 
        <local> 
          <path>D:\</path> 
        </local> 
      </storage> 
    </ec3> 
  </output> 
  <misc> 
    <temp_dir> 
      <clean_temp>true</clean_temp> 
      <path>D:\TEMP_folder\</path> 
   </temp_dir> 
  </misc> 
</job_config>

Last edited by Kuler087; 23rd September 2022 at 00:11.
Kuler087 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd September 2022, 08:32   #216  |  Link
Balling
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 433
Nuts, guys, Youtube added eac3 for 5.1.

yt-dlp.exe -F https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xrYLJnrdae0

format 328.

328 m4a audio only │ 11.13MiB 384k https │ audio only ec-3 384k 48k high, THROTTLED, m4a_dash

Last edited by Balling; 23rd September 2022 at 08:38.
Balling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd September 2022, 08:52   #217  |  Link
filler56789
SuperVirus
 
filler56789's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Antarctic Japan
Posts: 1,280
Quote:
Originally Posted by Balling View Post
Nuts, guys, Youtube added eac3 for 5.1.

yt-dlp.exe -F https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xrYLJnrdae0

format 328.

328 m4a audio only │ 11.13MiB 384k https │ audio only ec-3 384k 48k high, THROTTLED, m4a_dash
Yes, that's a party 0_o

Code:
256 m4a   audio only          6 |     5.66MiB   195k https | audio only           mp4a.40.5  195k 24k low, m4a_dash
380 m4a   audio only          6 |    11.13MiB   384k https | audio only           ac-3       384k 48k high, m4a_dash
328 m4a   audio only          6 |    11.13MiB   384k https | audio only           ec-3       384k 48k high, m4a_dash
258 m4a   audio only          6 |    11.24MiB   388k https | audio only           mp4a.40.2  388k 48k high, m4a_dash
__________________
«Your software patents have expired.»
filler56789 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd September 2022, 12:56   #218  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 6,513
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kuler087 View Post
It looks like my DEE settings are incorrect, I did a couple of tests and it keep inverting the Side and Back channels.
Can anyone help ? Do you see whats wrong in my xml file?
It is not a problem of your xml file, a wav file have this channel order:
FL FR FC LF BL BR SL SR
and all eac3 7.1 encoders are wrong and ignore that order (only EAE based in ffmpeg know that), even if the wav file have the correct channelmask, and read it like:
L R C LFE Ls Rs Rls Rrs
(Ls=SL, Rrs=BR)

The input wav files must be remaped always, the deew (DEE Wrapper: automatic channel swapping for 7.1 sources) make the job for you,
or manually for Audition or TotalCode
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder.

Last edited by tebasuna51; 23rd September 2022 at 13:03.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd September 2022, 15:02   #219  |  Link
Kuler087
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2021
Posts: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
all eac3 7.1 encoders are wrong and ignore that order (only EAE based in ffmpeg know that), even if the wav file have the correct channelmask, and read it like:
L R C LFE Ls Rs Rls Rrs
(Ls=SL, Rrs=BR)[/URL]
wow, incredible. Well done Dolby. Thanks a lot(again) for the all info.
Kuler087 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd September 2022, 15:30   #220  |  Link
pcroland
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Hungary
Posts: 103
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kuler087 View Post
indeed... It looks like my DEE settings are incorrect, I did a couple of tests and it keep inverting the Side and Back channels.
Use deew, it swaps the channels automatically so DEE will encode it correctly.
__________________
deew (Dolby Encoding Engine Wrapper): GitHub, Doom9 | substoforced
pcroland is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
eac3

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:56.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.