Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > High Efficiency Video Coding (HEVC)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 3rd February 2024, 08:44   #841  |  Link
bobowb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2024
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TDS View Post
Hi "bob",

I haven't done this for a little while, but when I was doing DV stuff to play on my LG with the "built in player", I found that you needed to remove this part :- HDR format : Dolby Vision, Version 1.0, dvhe.08.06, BL+RPU,HDR10 compatible / SMPTE ST 2094 App 4, Version 1, HDR10+ Profile B compatible, using these tools, and I also found that it would only display DV when it was either a .ts or .m2ts file !!!!

So referencing AgentXXL's screenshot, I'd used item #4 in the "MENU" to "remove HDR10+"

EDIT:- I have been "playing around" with the latest build on a Hybrid video, and there appears to be no where you can remove any HDR10 info (as shown in the above screenshot), Menu item #4 isn't available
Thank you TDS but i already tried to remove the HDR+ metadata with DDVT_REMOVER.cmd (actually it removes just HDR+ but the HDR cant be removed)and to demux file to .m2ts but this doesnt make the TV to trigger the DV mode again ...
bobowb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd February 2024, 10:07   #842  |  Link
TDS
Formally known as .......
 
TDS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
Location: Down Under.
Posts: 987
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobowb View Post
Thank you TDS but i already tried to remove the HDR+ metadata with DDVT_REMOVER.cmd (actually it removes just HDR+ but the HDR can't be removed)and to demux file to .m2ts but this doesn't make the TV to trigger the DV mode again ...
Yeah, well like I said, I haven't done any of this stuff for quite a while, and a LOT of things have changed, and I have forgotten probably just as much

Hopefully the "higher ups" will chime in with some advice.

There has to be a simple way of removing both types of HDR....

I know I was successfully modding some hybrid videos that would play on my LG.

I just need to get into it again !!!

There might be (probably is) a way to get x265 to remove the HDR & inject a DV rpu (I know it can inject an rpu.bin)
__________________
Long term RipBot264 user.

RipBot264 modded builds..
TDS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd February 2024, 10:53   #843  |  Link
bobowb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2024
Posts: 10
Ok if someone knows let share his experience please !
bobowb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd February 2024, 16:49   #844  |  Link
quietvoid
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Canada
Posts: 574
The LG C8 doesn't work with current MP4 muxing tools. It should still work with tsMuxer if your file shows Dolby Vision in MediaInfo.
For MP4 you need to use Dolby's muxer from 2018: https://github.com/DolbyLaboratories...3a8e3effff/bin

Either way it's best to stick to .TS with tsMuxer, it should be working fine.
__________________
LG C2 OLED | GitHub Projects
quietvoid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th February 2024, 02:26   #845  |  Link
TDS
Formally known as .......
 
TDS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
Location: Down Under.
Posts: 987
Quote:
Originally Posted by quietvoid View Post
The LG C8 doesn't work with current MP4 muxing tools. It should still work with tsMuxer if your file shows Dolby Vision in MediaInfo.
For MP4 you need to use Dolby's muxer from 2018: https://github.com/DolbyLaboratories...3a8e3effff/bin

Either way it's best to stick to .TS with tsMuxer, it should be working fine.
Yep, can confirm, simply run the "hybrid" mkv thru tsmuxer, and create a .ts or .m2ts file, and the LG will display Dolby Vision.

Only problem I have is if you "jump" (forward or back) the playback from the remote, the playback will take a second or 2 to start to play, but HDR hasn't got that issue.
__________________
Long term RipBot264 user.

RipBot264 modded builds..
TDS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th February 2024, 04:35   #846  |  Link
TDS
Formally known as .......
 
TDS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
Location: Down Under.
Posts: 987
Attn -QfG-,

I have started using this tool again, after a long break, and the last build I used is #53

So I grabbed the latest build (#63.fixed) the other day, and when just simply wanting to extract the rpu.bin, it fails , however, #53 does the job, no issue

So I just got #60 & #62 (also noticed that there is a significant increase in the file size between #60 & #61.1, and then again between # 61.5 & #62.

#60 worked, #62 failed.

Am I missing something, or do I just need to keep using the older builds ??

Just fyi, that's all.

__________________
Long term RipBot264 user.

RipBot264 modded builds..

Last edited by TDS; 5th February 2024 at 04:43.
TDS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th February 2024, 07:29   #847  |  Link
ripburnlearn
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 24
I need some guidance here. I have an Amazon firestick 4K max. I have an MKV file in 4K that's about 40GB in size. The playback is extremely choppy. I read that the Amazon firestick 4K max has trouble with files with both HDR10+ and Dolby vision. So I figured that was the issue (the other issue could also be streaming that 40GB is too much for the device to handle).

So I figured I'd use handbrake to shrink the size down. In the process of doing that I used this tool to backup the original (40GB) HDR10+ stream and remove the Dolby Vision.

I then used handbrake, only to find out it doesn't keep HDR10+, it reverts it down to HDR10. So I had this idea of injecting this newly compressed MKV with the original HDR10+ stream (using DDVT_INJECTOR) which was backed up by this program.

I tried doing that and it outputted a hevc file, rather than an MKV file. I guess I'm wondering if what I'm attempting is even possible (when I re-encode with handbrake, does that make it incompatible with the HDR10+ backup?)

Also, how do I get an MKV file? I figured the injector would inject the HDR10+.json file into the MKV and give me a new MKV file. Kinda lost as what I'm supposed to do with this hevc output.

Thanks!
ripburnlearn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th February 2024, 08:42   #848  |  Link
GodzilaAvenger
Registered User
 
GodzilaAvenger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2022
Posts: 123
AFAIK there are no issues with injecting DV/HDR10+ metadata into a re-encoded stream. You can use MKVToolNix to add the audio tracks/subtitles/chapters from the original .mkv along with the .hevc file and create a new .mkv.
GodzilaAvenger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th February 2024, 11:56   #849  |  Link
ripburnlearn
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by GodzilaAvenger View Post
AFAIK there are no issues with injecting DV/HDR10+ metadata into a re-encoded stream. You can use MKVToolNix to add the audio tracks/subtitles/chapters from the original .mkv along with the .hevc file and create a new .mkv.
Ahhhh, good call! Completely forgot about that program being able to do that. So I was able to do it and MediaInfo says "SMPTE ST 2094 App 4, Version 1" under "HDR Format". Does that look right? In the original file where I striped out the Dolby Vision it says: "SMPTE ST 2094 App 4, Version 1, HDR10+ Profile B compatible". What's the significance if it missing that "HDR10+ Profile B compatible" line?

EDIT: The original file also has these included entries while the newly created file doesn't:
Mastering display color primaries : BT.2020
Mastering display luminance : min: 0.0001 cd/m2, max: 1000 cd/m2
Maximum Content Light Level : 411 cd/m2
Maximum Frame-Average Light Level : 322 cd/m2

Last edited by ripburnlearn; 5th February 2024 at 12:02.
ripburnlearn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th February 2024, 13:15   #850  |  Link
Fuso
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobowb View Post
Hello guys i am new here so please be good help me !

my TV is LG OLED C8 and i use the internal TV player to play movies As i know the TV supports DV Profile 8 too . I have problem with most of these "hybrid" DV-HDR .mkv files like the one below . The TV can play such files but the problem is that they always play in HDR mode and cant trigger the TV DolbyVision mode .
I have both B8 and C2, and also Samsung models, and so far the only universal solution is to mux them into TS/M2TS.

Profile 8 mp4 will work on both new and old type of internal LG players, but the Codec ID must be dvhe. This tool will convert to mp4 with Codec ID hev1 which plays as HDR on the B8/C8. But dvhe is not compatible with non-DoVi devices such as Samsung AU9072.

Still, it will be a great addition to add the option to chose the Codec ID when converting to mp4.
Fuso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th February 2024, 20:30   #851  |  Link
GodzilaAvenger
Registered User
 
GodzilaAvenger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2022
Posts: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by ripburnlearn View Post
Ahhhh, good call! Completely forgot about that program being able to do that. So I was able to do it and MediaInfo says "SMPTE ST 2094 App 4, Version 1" under "HDR Format". Does that look right? In the original file where I striped out the Dolby Vision it says: "SMPTE ST 2094 App 4, Version 1, HDR10+ Profile B compatible". What's the significance if it missing that "HDR10+ Profile B compatible" line?

EDIT: The original file also has these included entries while the newly created file doesn't:
Mastering display color primaries : BT.2020
Mastering display luminance : min: 0.0001 cd/m2, max: 1000 cd/m2
Maximum Content Light Level : 411 cd/m2
Maximum Frame-Average Light Level : 322 cd/m2
I'm not really sure how to interpret this. Does it play as you expect it? One possibility may be that what MediaInfo shows (info about the .mkv container) does not match the underlying .hevc stream. Another possibility, since display mastering and MaxFALL and MaxCLL are all HDR10 info, is that Handbrake stripped out the HDR10 metadata and left you with a PQ10 .hevc stream.
GodzilaAvenger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th February 2024, 07:26   #852  |  Link
giyo279
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2023
Posts: 2
I want to make an HDR10+ hybrid -- HDR10+ from the web, injected in the bluray. The HDR10+ from the web is 40 frames behind the bluray. I know there are ways to edit/sync DV RPUs to the base layer, but are there similar tools/methods for HDR10+?
giyo279 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th February 2024, 08:06   #853  |  Link
GodzilaAvenger
Registered User
 
GodzilaAvenger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2022
Posts: 123
I think you can enter the frame delay (positive or negative) in the DDVT_INJECTOR script.
GodzilaAvenger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th February 2024, 08:29   #854  |  Link
Ritsuka
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 95
Quote:
Originally Posted by ripburnlearn View Post
Ahhhh, good call! Completely forgot about that program being able to do that. So I was able to do it and MediaInfo says "SMPTE ST 2094 App 4, Version 1" under "HDR Format". Does that look right? In the original file where I striped out the Dolby Vision it says: "SMPTE ST 2094 App 4, Version 1, HDR10+ Profile B compatible". What's the significance if it missing that "HDR10+ Profile B compatible" line?

EDIT: The original file also has these included entries while the newly created file doesn't:
Mastering display color primaries : BT.2020
Mastering display luminance : min: 0.0001 cd/m2, max: 1000 cd/m2
Maximum Content Light Level : 411 cd/m2
Maximum Frame-Average Light Level : 322 cd/m2
The latest HandBrake version will preserve HDR10+ and Dolby Vision when using the x265 10-bit encoder. So either something went wrong or who knows, it's hard to say without additional info.
Ritsuka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th February 2024, 10:09   #855  |  Link
bobowb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2024
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuso View Post
I have both B8 and C2, and also Samsung models, and so far the only universal solution is to mux them into TS/M2TS.

Profile 8 mp4 will work on both new and old type of internal LG players, but the Codec ID must be dvhe. This tool will convert to mp4 with Codec ID hev1 which plays as HDR on the B8/C8. But dvhe is not compatible with non-DoVi devices such as Samsung AU9072.

Still, it will be a great addition to add the option to chose the Codec ID when converting to mp4.
Thank you very much for the info ! Please can you share which tool (source) and command do you use to demux such hybrid .mkv files into .mp4 (.m2ts) dvhe Codec ID ?

Last edited by bobowb; 6th February 2024 at 10:13.
bobowb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th February 2024, 10:26   #856  |  Link
bobowb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2024
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by quietvoid View Post
The LG C8 doesn't work with current MP4 muxing tools. It should still work with tsMuxer if your file shows Dolby Vision in MediaInfo.
For MP4 you need to use Dolby's muxer from 2018: https://github.com/DolbyLaboratories...3a8e3effff/bin

Either way it's best to stick to .TS with tsMuxer, it should be working fine.
Thank you for the support but can you share the command after mp4muxer_64bits.exe please ? And i originally have just hybrid .mkv but not .mp4 . Should i first convert it in .mp4 ?
bobowb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th February 2024, 10:42   #857  |  Link
cool advertise
Registered User
 
cool advertise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Italy
Posts: 46
to -QfG-
I would like to point out, that the DDVT_MKVTOMP4.cmd script of your tool, when converting an mkv file that has chapters, to mp4, loses the chapters in the conversion...
cool advertise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th February 2024, 10:44   #858  |  Link
bobowb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2024
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TDS View Post
Yep, can confirm, simply run the "hybrid" mkv thru tsmuxer, and create a .ts or .m2ts file, and the LG will display Dolby Vision.
The problem is that when i try to add the such hybrid .mkv files into TSMuxer i always get this error:



with other kind of .mkv files i dont get such error...
bobowb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th February 2024, 12:45   #859  |  Link
von Suppé
Registered User
 
von Suppé's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 629
I doubt if tsMuxer 2.6.12 accepts Dolby Vision video. Try latest nightly builds.

https://github.com/justdan96/tsMuxer/releases
von Suppé is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th February 2024, 13:15   #860  |  Link
bobowb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2024
Posts: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by von Suppé View Post
I doubt if tsMuxer 2.6.12 accepts Dolby Vision video. Try latest nightly builds.

https://github.com/justdan96/tsMuxer/releases
Thank you - i got it ! The .ts file is ready and waiting for me to back home and try to play it on the C8 TV ! I hope it will works this time !
bobowb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 18:22.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.