Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > (HD) DVD, Blu-ray & (S)VCD > DVD & BD Rebuilder

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 28th March 2011, 21:15   #11641  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,975
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharc View Post
Not that it means or proves anything, but a 1920 x 1080p 16:9 source resized to 1440 x 1080p ("anamorphic") and encoded with --sar 4:3 plays undistorted on my SONY standalone.
Yeah. It does on mine too... but I can also run about 20 other illegal formats as well (like 720x480p, 1280x720@29.97, etc.).
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net

Last edited by jdobbs; 28th March 2011 at 21:35.
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th March 2011, 21:31   #11642  |  Link
A.Fenderson
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 230
Uh-oh: I was also very much under the impression that 1280x720p23.976 was valid as a primary stream, and that 720x480p was valid as a secondary (only) video stream. This is one reason why.
A.Fenderson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th March 2011, 21:35   #11643  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,975
Quote:
Originally Posted by A.Fenderson View Post
Uh-oh: I was also very much under the impression that 1280x720p23.976 was valid as a primary stream, and that 720x480p was valid as a secondary (only) video stream. This is one reason why.
Yeah it is... I meant to say 720x480p@29.97 (I corrected it).

720x480p@23.976 is valid only as a secondary stream (so it can match the HD primary's framerate) -- not as a primary stream.

I can only go by what I read in the spec -- and unfortunately it seems unclear to me. I guess it could be that since the 1440x1080 source always has a SAR of 4:3, that when it is interpolated it is "corrected" to the 1920x1080 display's 16:9 format. But even according to the link you used, the DAR is always 16:9. Then I have to ask why there is no 16/9 interpolation note anywhere?

I'd like to argue the point one way or the other -- but I've just reviewed it and right now I can't seem to make heads-or-tails of it, and I've always assumed that 1440x1080 implied 4:3. Maybe it'll make more sense to me if I look again tomorrow.

On the other hand this is all an academic exercise as far as BD-RB is concerned anyway -- BD Rebuilder doesn't change the resolution or the aspect ratio (unless you have the conversions implicitly selected in SETUP), so what goes in should come out, regardless of whether it is "legal". I'll go back and check to be sure for 1440, though.

@wolverine3n8

1. What resolution is your source?

2. Is the source an original commercial blu-ray disc (that hasn't been preprocessed)?
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net

Last edited by jdobbs; 28th March 2011 at 21:56.
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th March 2011, 22:21   #11644  |  Link
Sharc
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3,997
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
... I guess it could be that since the 1440x1080 source always has a SAR of 4:3, that when it is interpolated it is "corrected" to the 1920x1080 display's 16:9 format. But even according to the link you used, the DAR is always 16:9. Then I have to ask why there is no 16/9 interpolation note anywhere?
Further down in that link (para 1.3) there is an indication.

Last edited by Sharc; 28th March 2011 at 22:31.
Sharc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th March 2011, 22:31   #11645  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,975
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharc View Post
Further down in that link (para 1.3) there is an indication.


Question is perhaps how does BD-RB resize a 1440x1080 source if 'resize to 720' is selected in the SETUP: if it resizes to 1280x720 and sets explicitely --sar 1:1 I would assume that the encode will play correctly. If it does not explicitely set the --sar but leaves it untouched (4:3) the playback will probably be anamorphic distorted.
Hmm... it makes sense that if the SAR is 4:3 and DAR is 16:9 that a 1440 horizontal size would be displayed as 1920 (1.333 * 1440). That would dispel my belief that it's supposed to always be 4:3. But then what happens with a 4:3 source? I need to go back and find my some of my HD 4:3 sources.

I'm going to run a couple of tests and see what happens if I encode a 4:3 source with SAR at 4:3 (which it has to be) to 1440x1080 and set the 4:3 flag.

You ever have days when your thought processes just don't seem to work right? Maybe it's the cast on my leg...

I'll also look at the code and see what SAR I use when reencoding a 1440 source to 720. But more than likely the issue is the AVISYNTH resizing filter -- I may not be taking the 1440's 4:3 SAR into consideration.

[Edit] On second thought. The resize filter shouldn't have to do anything special if the DAR was 16:9. A simple resize to 1280x720 should work. Ugghh
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net

Last edited by jdobbs; 28th March 2011 at 22:42.
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th March 2011, 22:38   #11646  |  Link
Sharc
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3,997
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
....But then what happens with a 4:3 source?....
Yep, that's why I deleted the second part of my original post while you already replied.....
Sharc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th March 2011, 22:47   #11647  |  Link
shon3i
BluRay Maniac
 
shon3i's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 2,419
@jdobbs, you something misunderstand while reading specs 1440x1080 can only be 16:9 and not 4:3. Square pixels for 1440x1080 are illegal completely. 1440x1080 uses extended SAR information, this means you need to use --sar 4:3 to meet specs. Btw i checked with verifier and it's compatible. 1440x1080 is here because anamorphic encoding from HD cams.

Btw if you need 4:3, you need to leterbox source (left/right)

from spec:

Quote:
In case of 1440x1080 with aspect_ratio_idc set to 255(Extended_SAR), aspect ratio shall be indicated
by sar_width and sar_height. sar_width shall be set to 4 and sar_height shall be set to 3, respectively
__________________
ChapterGen - manipulate with chapters in various i/o formats, with CLI support
Official website or Doom9 thread

Last edited by shon3i; 28th March 2011 at 22:51.
shon3i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th March 2011, 23:35   #11648  |  Link
Sharc
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3,997
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
[Edit] On second thought. The resize filter shouldn't have to do anything special if the DAR was 16:9. A simple resize to 1280x720 should work. Ugghh
Yes, the only legal way to resize a 1440x1080 source (at this resolution legal SAR is 4:3 only, legal DAR is 16:9 only) to 720 is 1280x720 with --sar 1:1.
Sharc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2011, 00:21   #11649  |  Link
wolverine3n8
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Sharon Grove, Ky
Posts: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
@wolverine3n8

1. What resolution is your source?

2. Is the source an original commercial blu-ray disc (that hasn't been preprocessed)?
1. 1920 x 1080 but the movie is 2.35 : 1

2. Yes. The A Team. Only ripped to hard drive.
wolverine3n8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2011, 05:11   #11650  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,975
Quote:
Originally Posted by shon3i View Post
@jdobbs, you something misunderstand while reading specs 1440x1080 can only be 16:9 and not 4:3. Square pixels for 1440x1080 are illegal completely. 1440x1080 uses extended SAR information, this means you need to use --sar 4:3 to meet specs. Btw i checked with verifier and it's compatible. 1440x1080 is here because anamorphic encoding from HD cams.

Btw if you need 4:3, you need to leterbox source (left/right)

from spec:
Cool. Thanks. The more I looked at it the more I realized I had it ass-backwards.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net

Last edited by jdobbs; 29th March 2011 at 05:13.
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2011, 07:03   #11651  |  Link
Sharc
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3,997
Quote:
Originally Posted by wolverine3n8 View Post
1. 1920 x 1080 but the movie is 2.35 : 1

2. Yes. The A Team. Only ripped to hard drive.
Now I am surprised. I did the A-Team and resized it to 720 with BD-RB successfully. No issues at all .....
How do you play it? Software or standalone player? Do you perhaps use some odd settings with your player, forcing a wrong aspect ratio during playback?
Sharc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2011, 15:02   #11652  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,975
BD Rebuilder v0.37.07 (beta)

I have updated the first post of this thread with a link to the latest release of BD-RB (v0.37.07). Changes for this version:
Code:
- Corrected an error in which framerate could be
  set incorrectly when outputting to DVD and one
  of the resizing options is selected.
- Changed default audio selection behavior so that 
  a track will be kept (even when the language is 
  not one that is selected) when it is the only 
  audio track available.  This behavior can be set
  to be disabled using the new "KEEP_SINGLE_AUDIO" 
  hidden option (see HIDDENOPTS.TXT).
- Corrected a bug in which AVC sources may not be
  recognized as pulldown when appropriate when the
  480p video type is set and can result in syncing 
  issues.  Especially useful on sources previously 
  run thorugh BD-RB, TSMUXER,or multiAVCHD. 
- Corrected an error in which DEINTERLACER_TYPE
  (hidden option) was not being read properly.
- Updated the included version of X264.EXE to the
  latest release (r1924).
- Updated the included version of X264-64.EXE to 
  the latest release (r1924).
- Other minor corrections and cosmetic fixes.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th March 2011, 16:19   #11653  |  Link
wolverine3n8
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Sharon Grove, Ky
Posts: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sharc View Post
How do you play it? Software or standalone player? Do you perhaps use some odd settings with your player, forcing a wrong aspect ratio during playback?

I was playing it on the computer with VLC 1.1.7. I didn't change any settings, just double clicked the movie. I wish I hadn't deleted it or I would post a screen shot. The only thing I changed was in BD RB settings, I checked the box to resize 1080 to 720, everything else was default.
wolverine3n8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th March 2011, 18:02   #11654  |  Link
Sharc
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3,997
Quote:
Originally Posted by wolverine3n8 View Post
I was playing it on the computer with VLC 1.1.7. I didn't change any settings, just double clicked the movie. I wish I hadn't deleted it or I would post a screen shot. The only thing I changed was in BD RB settings, I checked the box to resize 1080 to 720, everything else was default.
Open the movie in VLC, right click on the picture=>Video=>Aspect Ratio=>Default (or whatever you need).
Sharc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th March 2011, 19:02   #11655  |  Link
PurpleMan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 273
@jdobbs:

I just finished doing Red Dragon (region A) to BD25.

The source is AVC and I'm using internal LAVF x264-64 decoding. While examining the encoded file I came across something I haven't before-

The main movie starts with 22 frames of gray frame (The entire movie was shifted 22 frames forward due to this).

Can you think of any reason why that would happen?
PurpleMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th March 2011, 19:06   #11656  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,975
Quote:
Originally Posted by PurpleMan View Post
@jdobbs:

I just finished doing Red Dragon (region A) to BD25.

The source is AVC and I'm using internal LAVF x264-64 decoding. While examining the encoded file I came across something I haven't before-

The main movie starts with 22 frames of gray frame (The entire movie was shifted 22 frames forward due to this).

Can you think of any reason why that would happen?
Hmmm... no I've never seen that before on AVC sources. I have seen a 1-2 gray-frame intro on MPEG-2 sources before, though. But never anything that big.

It sure sounds like a playback CODEC issue. Can you try it again without LAVF selected? I'd like to try and determine whether it is the frame-serving method or the source itself that is causing the problem.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net

Last edited by jdobbs; 30th March 2011 at 19:08.
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th March 2011, 19:18   #11657  |  Link
PurpleMan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 273
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
Hmmm... no I've never seen that before on AVC sources. I have seen a 1-2 gray-frame intro on MPEG-2 sources before, though. But never anything that big.

It sure sounds like a playback CODEC issue. Can you try it again without LAVF selected? I'd like to try and determine whether it is the frame-serving method or the source itself that is causing the problem.
Will do. What I can say for now is that I tried opening VID_00009.AVS (which is the video frameserve file that BD-RB created but did /not/ use because I chose LAVF) with virtualdub, and it seemed fine - no gray frames.

EDIT: Also, I indexed the output m2ts with DGIndexNV just to make sure that the gray frames are actually coded on the file and it's not a decoder issue- and it is indeed encoded like that on the file.
(I also indexed the source m2ts - and no gray frames there)

Last edited by PurpleMan; 30th March 2011 at 19:22.
PurpleMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th March 2011, 19:28   #11658  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,975
Quote:
Originally Posted by PurpleMan View Post
Will do. What I can say for now is that I tried opening VID_00009.AVS (which is the video frameserve file that BD-RB created but did /not/ use because I chose LAVF) with virtualdub, and it seemed fine - no gray frames.

EDIT: Also, I indexed the output m2ts with DGIndexNV just to make sure that the gray frames are actually coded on the file and it's not a decoder issue- and it is indeed encoded like that on the file.
(I also indexed the source m2ts - and no gray frames there)
When I said "decoder" or "playback CODEC" I meant LAVF... it is the decoder used for frame-serving when it is selected. So to me your report pretty much confirms that it is a decoder issue.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net

Last edited by jdobbs; 30th March 2011 at 19:30.
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th March 2011, 22:20   #11659  |  Link
Westie69
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 3
Cant seem to get it working can anyone see from the log why this could be?

Code:
-----------------------
[22:11:25] BD Rebuilder v0.37.07 (beta)
  - Source:  INVICTUS
  - Input BD size: 39.60 GB
  - Approximate total content: [03:22:06.314]
  - Target BD size: 22.95 GB
  - Windows Version: 6.1 [7601]
  - Quality: Highest (Very Slow), ABR
  - Audio Settings: AC3=0 DTS=0 HD=1 Kbs=640
[22:11:25] PHASE ONE, Encoding
 - [22:11:25] Extracting A/V streams [VID_00002]
 - [22:11:27] Reencoding: VID_00002 (1 of 5)
 - [22:11:27] Collecting video information
   - Source Video: VC-1, 1920x1080
   - Rate/Length: 23.976fps, 3,745 frames
 - [22:11:27] Reencoding: VID_00002, Pass 1 of 1
  - Encode failed.  Retrying.
  - Encode failed.  Retrying.
  - Reached retry limit.  Aborting.
  - BD-Rebuilder v0.37.07 (beta)
  - Windows Version: 6.1 [7601]
  - AVISYNTH Version: 2.5.8.0, Ok
  - HAALI Splitter:  Isn't recommended version
  - FFDSHOW: 3326, Ok
  - WIN7 preferred AVC CODEC:  Ok
  - WIN7 preferred VC-1 CODEC:  Ok
  - WIN7 preferred MPEG2 CODEC:  Ok
  - FFDSHOW VC-1 set incorrectly: [1]
  - FFDSHOW MPEG2 set to "libavcodec":  Ok
  - FFDSHOW AVC set to "libavcodec":  Ok
  - X264:  Ok
  - AFTEN:  Ok
  - FAAC:  Ok
  - MP4BOX:  Ok
  - WAVI:  Ok
  - TSMUXER:  Ok
[22:11:28] - Failed video encode, aborted
-----------------------
[22:12:19] BD Rebuilder v0.37.07 (beta)
  - Source:  INVICTUS
  - Input BD size: 39.60 GB
  - Approximate total content: [03:22:06.314]
  - Target BD size: 22.95 GB
  - Windows Version: 6.1 [7601]
  - Quality: Highest (Very Slow), ABR
  - Audio Settings: AC3=0 DTS=0 HD=1 Kbs=640
[22:12:23] PHASE ONE, Encoding
 - [22:12:23] Extracting A/V streams [VID_00002]
 - [22:12:25] Reencoding: VID_00002 (1 of 5)
 - [22:12:25] Collecting video information
   - Source Video: VC-1, 1920x1080
   - Rate/Length: 23.976fps, 3,745 frames
 - [22:12:25] Reencoding: VID_00002, Pass 1 of 1
  - Encode failed.  Retrying.
  - Encode failed.  Retrying.
  - Reached retry limit.  Aborting.
  - BD-Rebuilder v0.37.07 (beta)
  - Windows Version: 6.1 [7601]
  - AVISYNTH Version: 2.5.8.0, Ok
  - HAALI Splitter:  Isn't recommended version
  - FFDSHOW: 3326, Ok
  - WIN7 preferred AVC CODEC:  Ok
  - WIN7 preferred VC-1 CODEC:  Ok
  - WIN7 preferred MPEG2 CODEC:  Ok
  - FFDSHOW VC-1 set incorrectly: [1]
  - FFDSHOW MPEG2 set to "libavcodec":  Ok
  - FFDSHOW AVC set to "libavcodec":  Ok
  - X264:  Ok
  - AFTEN:  Ok
  - FAAC:  Ok
  - MP4BOX:  Ok
  - WAVI:  Ok
  - TSMUXER:  Ok
[22:12:26] - Failed video encode, aborted
-----------------------
[22:13:14] BD Rebuilder v0.37.07 (beta)
  - Source:  INVICTUS
  - Input BD size: 39.60 GB
  - Approximate total content: [03:22:06.314]
  - Target BD size: 22.95 GB
  - Windows Version: 6.1 [7601]
  - Quality: Highest (Very Slow), ABR
  - Audio Settings: AC3=0 DTS=0 HD=1 Kbs=640
[22:13:16] PHASE ONE, Encoding
 - [22:13:16] Extracting A/V streams [VID_00002]
 - [22:13:19] Reencoding: VID_00002 (1 of 5)
 - [22:13:19] Collecting video information
   - Source Video: VC-1, 1920x1080
   - Rate/Length: 23.976fps, 3,745 frames
 - [22:13:19] Reencoding: VID_00002, Pass 1 of 1
  - Encode failed.  Retrying.
  - Encode failed.  Retrying.
  - Reached retry limit.  Aborting.
  - BD-Rebuilder v0.37.07 (beta)
  - Windows Version: 6.1 [7601]
  - AVISYNTH Version: 2.5.8.0, Ok
  - HAALI Splitter:  Isn't recommended version
  - FFDSHOW: 3326, Ok
  - WIN7 preferred AVC CODEC:  Ok
  - WIN7 preferred VC-1 CODEC:  Ok
  - WIN7 preferred MPEG2 CODEC:  Ok
  - FFDSHOW VC-1 set incorrectly: [1]
  - FFDSHOW MPEG2 set to "libavcodec":  Ok
  - FFDSHOW AVC set to "libavcodec":  Ok
  - X264:  Ok
  - AFTEN:  Ok
  - FAAC:  Ok
  - MP4BOX:  Ok
  - WAVI:  Ok
  - TSMUXER:  Ok
[22:13:19] - Failed video encode, aborted
-----------------------
[22:13:25] BD Rebuilder v0.37.07 (beta)
  - Source:  INVICTUS
  - Input BD size: 39.60 GB
  - Approximate total content: [03:22:06.314]
  - Target BD size: 22.95 GB
  - Windows Version: 6.1 [7601]
  - Quality: Highest (Very Slow), ABR
  - Audio Settings: AC3=0 DTS=0 HD=1 Kbs=640
[22:13:27] PHASE ONE, Encoding
 - [22:13:27] Extracting A/V streams [VID_00002]
 - [22:13:30] Reencoding: VID_00002 (1 of 5)
 - [22:13:30] Collecting video information
   - Source Video: VC-1, 1920x1080
   - Rate/Length: 23.976fps, 3,745 frames
 - [22:13:30] Reencoding: VID_00002, Pass 1 of 1
  - Encode failed.  Retrying.
  - Encode failed.  Retrying.
  - Reached retry limit.  Aborting.
  - BD-Rebuilder v0.37.07 (beta)
  - Windows Version: 6.1 [7601]
  - AVISYNTH Version: 2.5.8.0, Ok
  - HAALI Splitter:  Isn't recommended version
  - FFDSHOW: 3326, Ok
  - WIN7 preferred AVC CODEC:  Ok
  - WIN7 preferred VC-1 CODEC:  Ok
  - WIN7 preferred MPEG2 CODEC:  Ok
  - FFDSHOW VC-1 set to "wmv9", Ok
  - FFDSHOW MPEG2 set to "libavcodec":  Ok
  - FFDSHOW AVC set to "libavcodec":  Ok
  - X264:  Ok
  - AFTEN:  Ok
  - FAAC:  Ok
  - MP4BOX:  Ok
  - WAVI:  Ok
  - TSMUXER:  Ok
[22:13:30] - Failed video encode, aborted
-----------------------
[22:13:51] BD Rebuilder v0.37.07 (beta)
  - Source:  INVICTUS
  - Input BD size: 39.60 GB
  - Approximate total content: [03:22:06.314]
  - Target BD size: 22.95 GB
  - Windows Version: 6.1 [7601]
  - Quality: Highest (Very Slow), ABR
  - Audio Settings: AC3=0 DTS=0 HD=1 Kbs=640
[22:13:53] PHASE ONE, Encoding
 - [22:13:53] Extracting A/V streams [VID_00002]
 - [22:13:56] Reencoding: VID_00002 (1 of 5)
 - [22:13:56] Collecting video information
   - Source Video: VC-1, 1920x1080
   - Rate/Length: 23.976fps, 3,745 frames
 - [22:13:56] Reencoding: VID_00002, Pass 1 of 1
  - Encode failed.  Retrying.
  - Encode failed.  Retrying.
  - Reached retry limit.  Aborting.
  - BD-Rebuilder v0.37.07 (beta)
  - Windows Version: 6.1 [7601]
  - AVISYNTH Version: 2.5.8.0, Ok
  - HAALI Splitter:  Isn't recommended version
  - FFDSHOW: 3326, Ok
  - WIN7 preferred AVC CODEC:  Ok
  - WIN7 preferred VC-1 CODEC:  Ok
  - WIN7 preferred MPEG2 CODEC:  Ok
  - FFDSHOW VC-1 set incorrectly: [0]
  - FFDSHOW MPEG2 set to "libavcodec":  Ok
  - FFDSHOW AVC set to "libavcodec":  Ok
  - X264:  Ok
  - AFTEN:  Ok
  - FAAC:  Ok
  - MP4BOX:  Ok
  - WAVI:  Ok
  - TSMUXER:  Ok
[22:13:56] - Failed video encode, aborted
-----------------------
[22:16:01] BD Rebuilder v0.37.07 (beta)
  - Source:  PACIFIC_DISC1
  - Input BD size: 39.53 GB
  - Approximate total content: [03:17:14.229]
  - Target BD size: 22.95 GB
  - Windows Version: 6.1 [7601]
  - Quality: Highest (Very Slow), ABR
  - Audio Settings: AC3=0 DTS=0 HD=1 Kbs=640
[22:16:03] PHASE ONE, Encoding
 - [22:16:03] Extracting A/V streams [VID_00088]
 - [22:16:03] Reencoding: VID_00088 (1 of 71)
 - [22:16:03] Collecting video information
   - Source Video: MPEG-4 (AVC), 1920x1080
   - Rate/Length: 23.976fps, 336 frames
 - [22:16:03] Reencoding: VID_00088, Pass 1 of 1
  - Encode failed.  Retrying.
  - Encode failed.  Retrying.
  - Reached retry limit.  Aborting.
  - BD-Rebuilder v0.37.07 (beta)
  - Windows Version: 6.1 [7601]
  - AVISYNTH Version: 2.5.8.0, Ok
  - HAALI Splitter:  Isn't recommended version
  - FFDSHOW: 3326, Ok
  - WIN7 preferred AVC CODEC:  Ok
  - WIN7 preferred VC-1 CODEC:  Ok
  - WIN7 preferred MPEG2 CODEC:  Ok
  - FFDSHOW VC-1 set to "wmv9", Ok
  - FFDSHOW MPEG2 set to "libavcodec":  Ok
  - FFDSHOW AVC set to "libavcodec":  Ok
  - X264:  Ok
  - AFTEN:  Ok
  - FAAC:  Ok
  - MP4BOX:  Ok
  - WAVI:  Ok
  - TSMUXER:  Ok
[22:16:03] - Failed video encode, aborted
reinstalled HAALI Splitter and thats now saying ok but still failing!

Last edited by Westie69; 30th March 2011 at 22:29. Reason: extra info
Westie69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th March 2011, 22:28   #11660  |  Link
PurpleMan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 273
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
When I said "decoder" or "playback CODEC" I meant LAVF... it is the decoder used for frame-serving when it is selected. So to me your report pretty much confirms that it is a decoder issue.
I know what you meant

My purpose for writing this addition is exactly to tell you that the problem seems to be with the LAVF decoder rather than anything else.

I made sure that the source file isn't the problem and that the output file is indeed flawed, so that basically leaves us with your conclusion that it's a decoder issue. I'll encode again tonight without LAVF using ffdshow and directshowsource() although I'm sure it'll come out perfect.

Interesting, wouldn't you say?
PurpleMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:44.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.