Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > (HD) DVD, Blu-ray & (S)VCD > DVD & BD Rebuilder

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 25th April 2023, 03:40   #31441  |  Link
MrVideo
Registered User
 
MrVideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 2,132
What is the latest word on getting BDRB and NVENCCRE to place I-frames at chapter marks when encoding HEVC/H265?
MrVideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th April 2023, 03:50   #31442  |  Link
MrVideo
Registered User
 
MrVideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 2,132
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emulgator View Post
shows the nature, but does not repair the blends, more work to be done.
IMHO, it is a lost cause. Converting 23.976 frame/sec interlaced video to 25 fps progressive is always going to end up with messed up frames. Even professional standards converters can have issues. That was one of the reason for speeding up 480 analog material when going to 525 digital.

My suggestion... try and find a copy of the original source. I know: easier said than done.
MrVideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th April 2023, 04:02   #31443  |  Link
Lathe
Registered User
 
Lathe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,100
Quote:
Originally Posted by gonca View Post
Your snippet is 25 FPS progressive.
It is also a hot steaming pile of you know what.
Looks like it has gone through a bad conversion.
Yep... that is pretty much what I thought. I have the original DVD too. Believe it or not it actually looks worse! Too bad too, it is a good movie...
Lathe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th April 2023, 04:04   #31444  |  Link
Lathe
Registered User
 
Lathe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,100
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emulgator View Post
Guessed damage sequence: NTSC-> PAL blendconversion, blackbars cropped, then uprezzed to FHD.
Now to undo that, something along
Code:
ConvertToYV24()
AssumeTFF()
Lanczos4Resize(720, 446, src_left=0.0, src_top=0.0, src_width=0.0, src_height=0.0)
SeparateFields()
shows the nature, but does not repair the blends, more work to be done.
Wow, thanks! Yeah, I know that somebody screwed it up, but like I mentioned above, the original DVD which I have even looks worse. I don't suppose I can do much with it, but I figured you guys who are much more familiar with this stuff could at least give me some suggestions. I sure with there was actually a good source for this film.
Lathe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th April 2023, 04:07   #31445  |  Link
Lathe
Registered User
 
Lathe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,100
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrVideo View Post
IMHO, it is a lost cause. Converting 23.976 frame/sec interlaced video to 25 fps progressive is always going to end up with messed up frames. Even professional standards converters can have issues. That was one of the reason for speeding up 480 analog material when going to 525 digital.

My suggestion... try and find a copy of the original source. I know: easier said than done.
Yeah, I'm sure you're right (an EXTREMELY rare occurrence, but once in a great while... ) I do have the original DVD, which I believe is all there is, and like I've mentioned, it even looks worse. Oh well...
Lathe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th April 2023, 04:09   #31446  |  Link
Lathe
Registered User
 
Lathe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,100
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emulgator View Post
Guessed damage sequence: NTSC-> PAL blendconversion, blackbars cropped, then uprezzed to FHD.
Now to undo that, something along
Code:
ConvertToYV24()
AssumeTFF()
Lanczos4Resize(720, 446, src_left=0.0, src_top=0.0, src_width=0.0, src_height=0.0)
SeparateFields()
shows the nature, but does not repair the blends, more work to be done.
Oh, I forgot to ask you... So, I don't suppose I can just drop this code into the AVS window of BDRB, right? It's been quite a while since I've used Avisynth, how do I implement this code you have kindly given me above...? If I can't just drop it into BDRB, it's been so long that I'm afraid you are going to have to spell it out for me, if you don't mind, please. Thanks!
Lathe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th April 2023, 08:43   #31447  |  Link
Emulgator
Big Bit Savings Now !
 
Emulgator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: close to the wall
Posts: 1,544
My code is not worth anything now, just for peeking.
I suggest that you might upload a sample of the DVD you have.
Rip it, go to VIDEO_TS. If VTS01 contains the main PGC:
just the first VTS_01_1.VOB via wetransfer.com (2GB are free and stay up for one week)
__________________
"To bypass shortcuts and find suffering...is called QUALity" (Die toten Augen von Friedrichshain)
"Data reduction ? Yep, Sir. We're that issue working on. Synce invntoin uf lingöage..."
Emulgator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th April 2023, 11:26   #31448  |  Link
MrVideo
Registered User
 
MrVideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 2,132
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lathe View Post
but like I mentioned above, the original DVD
Post the UPC code of the DVD. I want to look that release up. Thanks
MrVideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th April 2023, 01:45   #31449  |  Link
Lathe
Registered User
 
Lathe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,100
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrVideo View Post
Post the UPC code of the DVD. I want to look that release up. Thanks
I don't know how to figure out the UPC code, I don't usually mess with DVDs only going to my collection if I want to compare the Blu-ray or see what extras are on it. But, here is the link on Amazon for the DVD. You'll notice that EVERYONE complains about how poor the DVD looks, and it does... There just simply may not be any decent source for this film.

https://www.amazon.com/Guilty-Consci...dp/B000B6TSN8/
Lathe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th April 2023, 02:00   #31450  |  Link
Lathe
Registered User
 
Lathe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,100
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emulgator View Post
My code is not worth anything now, just for peeking.
I suggest that you might upload a sample of the DVD you have.
Rip it, go to VIDEO_TS. If VTS01 contains the main PGC:
just the first VTS_01_1.VOB via wetransfer.com (2GB are free and stay up for one week)
Instead of uploading so much, I went ahead and used MakeMKV with my DVD and then took another 18 second snippet from it (very near I think to the supposed HD encoded snippet above) It doesn't seem to have quite the horrible combing in it, but it still does not look very good. Maybe I should simply start with the DVD and try some AVS from there to 'improve it'...?

https://lathe-of-heaven.com/GCDVD.mkv
Lathe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th April 2023, 03:58   #31451  |  Link
Lathe
Registered User
 
Lathe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,100
Okay, here are 2 snapshots of both versions captured on screen. I guess the supposed 'HD' print does indeed look quite a bit better than the native DVD. So, I guess if I can just get rid of or 'fix' all the combing and other screwups that whomever did the encode caused, the result could possibly look better.

Remember, I mentioned that when I played the HD file with MPC for some odd reason it did look better and didn't seem to have as much combing going on. I'm ASSuming that the MPC must have some built in filters that it is employing, that if I can figure out what it is doing, maybe I can use those to help fix the image somewhat. Playing it straight with VLC player though, it does NOT do that and looks really bad. So, whatever filter(s) MPC is employing do seem to help.

DVD:


HD:

Last edited by Lathe; 27th April 2023 at 04:56.
Lathe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th April 2023, 10:52   #31452  |  Link
gonca
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,213
Same old Lathe.
You forgot the snapshots
gonca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th April 2023, 11:06   #31453  |  Link
gonca
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,213
Your clip is plain 3:2 pulldown
Here is a screencap from a quick and dirty encode with x265
Attached Images
 
gonca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th April 2023, 00:30   #31454  |  Link
MrVideo
Registered User
 
MrVideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 2,132
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lathe View Post
I don't know how to figure out the UPC code,
It will be on the back. The barcode with the numbers underneath. Not needed now as the Amazon link was good enough. You're right, the complaints are numerous. The price also indicates that a quality source was not being used. As the saying goes: Garbage In, Garbage Out.

If it is truly 3:2 pulldown throughout the video, then doing an IVTC will greatly help. But, the video quality will still suck.
MrVideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2023, 04:15   #31455  |  Link
Lathe
Registered User
 
Lathe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,100
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrVideo View Post
It will be on the back. The barcode with the numbers underneath. Not needed now as the Amazon link was good enough. You're right, the complaints are numerous. The price also indicates that a quality source was not being used. As the saying goes: Garbage In, Garbage Out.

If it is truly 3:2 pulldown throughout the video, then doing an IVTC will greatly help. But, the video quality will still suck.
Yeah, I had BDRB set with that box checked, but the resulting encode did not look any different...??? Thanks though...
Lathe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2023, 04:18   #31456  |  Link
Lathe
Registered User
 
Lathe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,100
Quote:
Originally Posted by gonca View Post
Your clip is plain 3:2 pulldown
Here is a screencap from a quick and dirty encode with x265
Hmmm... I DID indeed include the snapshots above. They're hosted on one of my Google Photos folders. I copied the image addresses here and they show up just fine for me. Odd... Okay, I'll attach them then. Maybe you'll see the attachments now.

I see yours here. The still image doesn't look too bad. That's using the HD encode, right? So, if I can get it to look that good without the combing effects, then that would be okay to start with. Then I can mess around with maybe sharpening it some or whatever. But, by your brief comments I don't understand what you are trying to tell me here.

So, what can I do...? Please give me some suggestions if you would... Specifically what exact settings should I use with BDRB, or will I have to use a CMD line and then what specific AVS scripts should I use? It's been forever since I used AVS, so I don't remember, do I have to download certain scripts, or what? I totally forget... I'd rather just use BDRB and add whatever script to the AVS box if I need to do so.

I just read this on the VideoHelp board:

--pulldown 32 --pic-struct --fake-interlaced

Could I do an x264 CMD line encode and simply just include those parameters. Should I add these commands as 'Tweaks' in BDRB? I am REALLY rusty at this! And, remember, I want to work with the somewhat 'superiour' HD encode since the DVD looks so bad.

Thanks!
Attached Images
  

Last edited by Lathe; 5th May 2023 at 04:44.
Lathe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2023, 05:56   #31457  |  Link
Lathe
Registered User
 
Lathe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,100
@gonca I'm currently playing around with this:

DirectShowSource("Snippet.mkv")
tfm(mode=4, pp=6, slow=2, cthresh=4, mthresh=5)
tdecimate(mode=1, hybrid=1, dupThresh=1.1, vidThresh=1.1, nt=2, chroma=true, denoise=true)

It LOOKS like it is somewhat better, but I don't know what the HELL I'm doing!

Last edited by Lathe; 5th May 2023 at 06:30.
Lathe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2023, 11:19   #31458  |  Link
gonca
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,213
Try not to use DirectShowSource, if you can.
After the tdecimate use DotKill (look it up)
Then use a sharpner.
Depending on results, we might go off the beaten track.
gonca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th May 2023, 12:04   #31459  |  Link
gonca
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,213
Code:
#####FRAME SERVER#####
LoadPlugin("C:/Program Files (Portable)/dgdecodenv/DGDecodeNV.dll")
DGSource("C:\Users\LUIS\Desktop\DOWNLOADS\Snippet.dgi",  fieldop=0)

#####YOUR TFM STUFF MINUS DIRECTSHOWSOURCE#####

#####MAINTAIN HIGH BIT DEPTH#####
ConvertBits(16)

#####DENOISE#####
DGDenoise(strength=0.100)


#####DOTCRAWL#####
LoadPlugin("C:\Program Files (Portable)\AVS - VPY\AVS\PLUG-INS\DotKill-1.0.0\x64\DotKill.dll")
DotKillS(iterations=4)

#####SHARPEN#####
DGSharpen(strength=0.200)

ConvertBits(10)
Pick your frame server
Look up the other ones
Add them to the script box
Anything with # before it is just a comment (easier for me to find stuff)

EDIT
you might have to remove the ConvertBits() lines for BDRB
Also feel free to use whichever denoiser and sharpener you wish

Last edited by gonca; 5th May 2023 at 22:21.
gonca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th May 2023, 05:35   #31460  |  Link
Lathe
Registered User
 
Lathe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,100
Quote:
Originally Posted by gonca View Post
Code:
#####FRAME SERVER#####
LoadPlugin("C:/Program Files (Portable)/dgdecodenv/DGDecodeNV.dll")
DGSource("C:\Users\LUIS\Desktop\DOWNLOADS\Snippet.dgi",  fieldop=0)

#####YOUR TFM STUFF MINUS DIRECTSHOWSOURCE#####

#####MAINTAIN HIGH BIT DEPTH#####
ConvertBits(16)

#####DENOISE#####
DGDenoise(strength=0.100)


#####DOTCRAWL#####
LoadPlugin("C:\Program Files (Portable)\AVS - VPY\AVS\PLUG-INS\DotKill-1.0.0\x64\DotKill.dll")
DotKillS(iterations=4)

#####SHARPEN#####
DGSharpen(strength=0.200)

ConvertBits(10)
Pick your frame server
Look up the other ones
Add them to the script box
Anything with # before it is just a comment (easier for me to find stuff)

EDIT
you might have to remove the ConvertBits() lines for BDRB
Also feel free to use whichever denoiser and sharpener you wish
Excellent, thanks!

Okay, I understand most of it. I remember on some of the discussion threads that they also said don't use DirectShow. So, I should then get and download the DGDecodeNV.dll somewhere and place it in my plugins folder. I notice, now you call the snippet .dgi...? Do I use the MKV file and just change the suffix from .mkv to .dgi...? I don't quite get that one. And, by 'Frame Server' do you mean using this DGDecodeNV.dll?

I'll get started on that. Did you look at the rest of the code I was trying, does it make sense what functions and parameters I chose? Because I was just going by the descriptions and mainly guessing. I don't know though if the ones I chose to incorporate are really helping or not. I figured you would be much more familiar with what those functions and modes do. I was concentrating on stuff that would get rid of the damn combing.

So far, I am just previewing the code I posted using AVPmod I think it's called, so I can see the changes as I do them. I'm GUESSING though that I probably can't get away with simply dropping in all this AVS code into BDRB, right? I will eventually have to use the CMD line x264, right? I believe that is what I've done in the past unless I was just doing something simple like add borders or sharpen, then I'd add it to BDRB.

It was weird too, sometimes I would try to load a plugin that is indeed in my plugins folder, but when I'd try to run it, I would get an error in the preview saying 'no such plugin' I think I tried it with TComb and Decomb521, but even though I do have the dll's in the plugins folder, they wouldn't run. It happened with a few others I tried too. Some would run and some wouldn't. I wonder why...

***EDIT

Hmmm... DotKill will not run even though I DO have the plugin in my directory and I loaded it beforehand. I get an error that says 'There is no function DotKill' Again, I don't understand why some of these plugins either are not recognized or won't run despite the fact that I have them and load them first. It WILL load UnDot though, weird... I'll just hafta look up the parameters.

All the other commands you suggest above are not recognized except the basic 'Sharpen' I DO have a plugin called UnDot, maybe I can try that. I also have one called DGDecode.dll, is that the one I'd use as the frame server? So, would I load that dll first and then what? I don't get why a lot of this stuff is not working properly.

Well, the only other filter I could get working is Sharpen. I still don't understand how to use the DGDecode frame server. But, using DirectShow everything runs, but I'm still getting a lot of combing. There must be a way to tone that down even more.

***EDIT 2

I thought it would be super simple to find some newer AVS plugins and download them. Uh, no... All I could find was a plugin pack that was 10 years old and that I already had. Damn weird... You'd THINK if you searched for 'Avisynth plugins download' you'd easily come up with all kinds of stuff. Uh, no... Frustrating...

Last edited by Lathe; 6th May 2023 at 06:50.
Lathe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:00.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.