Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > (HD) DVD, Blu-ray & (S)VCD > DVD & BD Rebuilder

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 1st December 2023, 22:04   #31641  |  Link
DoctorM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 558
Quote:
Originally Posted by musiclover View Post
May I remind you of this thread?
https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?p=1678011
From 9 years ago? I figured some changes were made to the software by now.
DoctorM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th December 2023, 13:14   #31642  |  Link
FilipeAmadeuO
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Portugal
Posts: 340
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoctorM View Post
I'd still really love to see a right-click option to not re-encode on a per stream basis, just like 'Blank this item'.
This is the feature I miss most.
Sometimes I want to blank some items and only reencode main movie…
Jdobbs - Any chance to implement ?
FilipeAmadeuO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th December 2023, 20:19   #31643  |  Link
DoctorM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 558
I thought I mentioned this before when I tried and failed to rebuild 'Bodies, Rest and Motion' from Kino Lorber, but I can't find the post.

I've found that the fix for the leading clip does work fine for the audio, but the subtitle tracks are still out of sync in those situations.

Edit: Looking at the pieces, it appears the timeshift that is added to the audio and subtitles is not needed for the subtitles. It's causing them to run late (not early like I expected).

So, I modified MUX_MOVIE_ONLY.meta in the WORKFILES folder. I removed "timeshift=11011ms" from the S_HDMV/PGS line, but left it for the audio line.
I opened a command line at .\BD_Rebuilder\Tools and entered:
Code:
tsMuxeR "D:\Temp\WORKFILES\MUX_MOVIE_ONLY.meta" "C:\TestRebuild"
The 'TestRebuild' BD has audio and subtitles syncing just fine with the video now. I don't know if it's specific to that disc or not. Probably is unique since no one else has found the issue.

Last edited by DoctorM; 8th December 2023 at 01:08.
DoctorM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th December 2023, 10:07   #31644  |  Link
musiclover
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 171
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoctorM View Post
I thought I mentioned this before when I tried and failed to rebuild 'Bodies, Rest and Motion' from Kino Lorber, but I can't find the post.

I've found that the fix for the leading clip does work fine for the audio, but the subtitle tracks are still out of sync in those situations.

Edit: Looking at the pieces, it appears the timeshift that is added to the audio and subtitles is not needed for the subtitles. It's causing them to run late (not early like I expected).

So, I modified MUX_MOVIE_ONLY.meta in the WORKFILES folder. I removed "timeshift=11011ms" from the S_HDMV/PGS line, but left it for the audio line.
I opened a command line at .\BD_Rebuilder\Tools and entered:
Code:
tsMuxeR "D:\Temp\WORKFILES\MUX_MOVIE_ONLY.meta" "C:\TestRebuild"
The 'TestRebuild' BD has audio and subtitles syncing just fine with the video now. I don't know if it's specific to that disc or not. Probably is unique since no one else has found the issue.

See #30598 and further

Last edited by musiclover; 8th December 2023 at 10:11.
musiclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th December 2023, 15:01   #31645  |  Link
Emulgator
Big Bit Savings Now !
 
Emulgator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: close to the wall
Posts: 1,544
Those 11011ms remind me being close to --start-time in a Blu-ray mux (00:00:11.65066666 or 524280 (dec) or 00 07 FF F8 (hex))...
__________________
"To bypass shortcuts and find suffering...is called QUALity" (Die toten Augen von Friedrichshain)
"Data reduction ? Yep, Sir. We're that issue working on. Synce invntoin uf lingöage..."
Emulgator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 9th December 2023, 18:40   #31646  |  Link
DoctorM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 558
Quote:
Originally Posted by musiclover View Post
See #30598 and further
Feel free to not read the post you are responding to.
DoctorM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2023, 05:36   #31647  |  Link
Lathe
Registered User
 
Lathe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,100
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrVideo View Post
According to my Blu-ray Essentials book, 720x480 is compliant. No upscaling should be happening?

What about the standalone encoder that I mentioned? If you don't have it installed, get it and do so.
Hey Bro! Sorry about the late response, thanks for the encoder suggestion.

The ripped episodes from the DVDs only ended up being about 1 Gig each, so instead of messing with encoding them I just left them full size since each season only takes up about 20-25 Gigs, so no big deal, but thanks though!
Lathe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th December 2023, 05:45   #31648  |  Link
Lathe
Registered User
 
Lathe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,100
Again, I'm trying to convert a 50 Gig UHD to a playable Blu-ray for my older OPPO player. I would love to use BDRB, primarily because you can set the output size, but I still haven't quite figured out how to do that yet. So, I am currently using another program which is easy to set and add the colorspace filter and such. The only thing is that it does not have a setting for output size. You can either use CRF (which I prefer) or set the bitrate. But, I don't have a way to estimate the output size.

I started with a CRF of 18, and by the time it got to about 33% (40 minutes later) I saw that the final size was going to be too big. So, I 'lowered' the CRF quality to 19, and that is looking like it MIGHT work. But, the dang thing is that in each case when I simply tried to see how big the encode was at say 10% and multiply by 10 it came out to like 12 Gigs, so I thought, Oh I have plenty of room. But... The bugger is that as the encode progresses the damn thing's size bloody accelerates! So, that by the time it got to about 33% and I multiplied by 3 it was going to be too big!

So, how do you go about estimating this kind of thing, because even when you take a relatively decent sized sample, it is NOT indicative of the total resulting size. It always gets bigger faster as it goes (and yes, I have indeed had that problem for years...)

I GUESS if I know what to do, I can take the original UHD bitrate and somehow go by that and the file size to estimate at what bitrate would yield a size that would fit on a BD? Any suggestions?

Thanks!
Lathe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th December 2023, 01:16   #31649  |  Link
DoctorM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 558
I'm going to assume it's me, but I see no option regarding uncompressed audio.

I've re-encoded just extras to a BD blanking the movie and making it a BD5.

In the output, at least two of the files have PCM stereo audio that is double the size of the SD video.
Is there a setting I have wrong that would cause this?
DoctorM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th December 2023, 03:07   #31650  |  Link
MrVideo
Registered User
 
MrVideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 2,132
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lathe View Post
Again, I'm trying to convert a 50 Gig UHD to a playable Blu-ray for my older OPPO player. I would love to use BDRB, primarily because you can set the output size, but I still haven't quite figured out how to do that yet.
You don't have to do a thing. Just select the 25 GB media size and let BDRB determine what bitrate to use to get everything to fit. BTW, I suspect you mean 60 GB UHD disc.

Last edited by MrVideo; 26th December 2023 at 03:11.
MrVideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th January 2024, 10:14   #31651  |  Link
Lathe
Registered User
 
Lathe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,100
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrVideo View Post
You don't have to do a thing. Just select the 25 GB media size and let BDRB determine what bitrate to use to get everything to fit. BTW, I suspect you mean 60 GB UHD disc.
I appreciate the reply, but I don't think that is quite right. If I do just that, won't it simply shrink the size but still KEEP the HEVC UHD format. I want it in a playable format for my older OPPO, which would be a standard Blu-ray AVC 1080 format. I can use another well known program to do this and also choose the color space filter to convert from HDR-SDR, BUT... with that program there is no way to set the output size, whereas with BDRB there is. I guess I'll just hafta experiment around with it.
Lathe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th January 2024, 14:07   #31652  |  Link
MrVideo
Registered User
 
MrVideo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 2,132
Ah, OK. I misunderstood. Converting from UHD format to BD format is indeed a whole 'nother can-o-worms. Because the UHD and BD menu structures are way different, there is no simple way to go between the two. The only way I know of is to rebuild the BD structure from scratch, which BDRB is great for doing so. You can use the standalone encoder to convert from HEVC to AVC and from 2160p to 1080p. From there you can put those files into BDRB to build a new BD disc and if the files are too large, it will re-encode to get them to fit.

Just a thought.
MrVideo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th January 2024, 14:44   #31653  |  Link
raul124
Registered User
 
raul124's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Yonkers New York USA
Posts: 63
I too would like to convert a UHD 4K to 1080P format, I just don't know how, can someone show me the steps to take in making this happen? thanks
raul124 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th January 2024, 19:32   #31654  |  Link
Blurayhd
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 232
Hi guys the thing is I have my several Bluray movie collection and I´m pass it to a MKV movie but every movie the size could be 22gb and I wish to encode so I can reduce the size but keeping the best movie quality possible and for that in BDrebuilder section Alternate movie only there is CRF, two pass etc I so need to know if you can recomend what number to put in Two pass for reduce but get the best quality?

Thank You in advance
Blurayhd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th January 2024, 01:14   #31655  |  Link
Emulgator
Big Bit Savings Now !
 
Emulgator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: close to the wall
Posts: 1,544
You would specify Two Pass Target Size 22000MB.
Besides, you may set up your personal profile modifying \BD_Rebuilder\Misc\alternate.txt
Quote:
# The options below show up in the Alternate Output Dialog
# Settings:
# caption=Text to show on alternate selection list
# vEncoder=Video encoder, 0=x264 (default), 1=x265, 2=HC Encoder (MPEG-2)
# Note: A cType of 3 or 4 (see below) forces MPEG-2 via HCEncoder
# vBitrate=Bitrate to use for two-pass video encoding, * = variable (DVD only)
# mBitrate=Maximum bitrate (and VBV buffer size) for VBR video encoding. Uses system defaults when not specified.
# aBitrate=Bitrate to use for audio encoding, * = automatic (constant quality encode, not allowed for iPod & iPad)
# aType=Output Audio Type, 0=AC3 (Default), 1=AAC (Note: Audio bitrate less than 384Kbs implies stereo downmix)
# 2=[Intact audio -- MKV only]
# vFormat=Video Format: 0=320x240/180, 1= 480x360/270, 2= 640x480/360, 3= 1024x768/576,
# 4= 1280x720, 5= 1920x1080, 6= 720x480/576, 7= No Resizing, 8=Intact
# vKeyint=Video GOP size (interval): Default=24, "Auto" = 10x framerate (MKV & MP4 only)
# cType= Container/limits type, 0=iPod (mp4), 1=MKV, 2=iPad (mp4), 3=DVD-5, 4=DVD-9, 5=MP4 6=iPad 2+ (MP4)
__________________
"To bypass shortcuts and find suffering...is called QUALity" (Die toten Augen von Friedrichshain)
"Data reduction ? Yep, Sir. We're that issue working on. Synce invntoin uf lingöage..."

Last edited by Emulgator; 30th January 2024 at 01:28.
Emulgator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th February 2024, 00:45   #31656  |  Link
spotswood
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 129
@jdobbs et al... I've just noticed an anomaly in the log entries between v0.61.0.28 and the latest v0.61.0.29. Differences shown below...

v0.61.0.28:
Below the line at [13:15:24] Reencoding video [VID_00000], the Source Video, Rate/Length and Bitrate parameters are shown (in bold below).

[02/05/24] BD Rebuilder v0.61.28
- Input BD size: 1.48 GB
- Approximate total content: [00:28:35.574]
- Target BD size: 0.75 GB
- Windows Version: 6.2 [9200]
- MOVIE-ONLY mode enabled
- Quality: High Quality (Default), 1-Pass VBR
- Converting to UHD-BD (HEVC) output format
- Decoding/Frame serving: NVENCC
- Audio Settings: AC3=0 DTS=1 HD=1 Kbs=640
[13:15:17] PHASE ONE, Encoding
- [13:15:17] Processing: VID_00000 (1 of 1)
- [13:15:17] Extracting A/V streams [VID_00000]
- [13:15:24] Reencoding video [VID_00000]
- Source Video: MPEG-4 (AVC), 1920x1080
- Rate/Length: 29.970fps, 51,416 frames
- Bitrate: 3,224 Kbs

- [13:15:24] Reencoding: VID_00000, Pass 1 of 1

In v0.61.0.29:
The same parameters below [13:22:32] Reencoding video [VID_00000] are not shown. Was this by design? Thanks for any info/explanation.

[02/05/24] BD Rebuilder v0.61.29
- Input BD size: 1.48 GB
- Approximate total content: [00:28:35.574]
- Target BD size: 0.75 GB
- Windows Version: 6.2 [9200]
- MOVIE-ONLY mode enabled
- Quality: High Quality (Default), 1-Pass VBR
- Converting to UHD-BD (HEVC) output format
- Decoding/Frame serving: NVENCC
- Audio Settings: AC3=0 DTS=1 HD=1 Kbs=640
[13:22:25] PHASE ONE, Encoding
- [13:22:25] Processing: VID_00000 (1 of 1)
- [13:22:25] Extracting A/V streams [VID_00000]
- [13:22:32] Reencoding video [VID_00000]
spotswood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th February 2024, 02:11   #31657  |  Link
jdobbs
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 20,975
@spotswood

Make sure you have "Verbose Status Reporting" checked under the SETTINGS menu.
__________________
Help with development of new apps: Donations.
Website: www.jdobbs.net
jdobbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th February 2024, 03:41   #31658  |  Link
spotswood
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 129
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdobbs View Post
@spotswood

Make sure you have "Verbose Status Reporting" checked under the SETTINGS menu.
Thanks for the fast reply. Don't know why it was unchecked, but that did it. Thanks!
spotswood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th March 2024, 05:54   #31659  |  Link
Lathe
Registered User
 
Lathe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,100
Okay, just a quickie (because that's the way I roll...)

I have a UK DVD I bought long ago (the movie 'SCISSORS') I already have a Blu-ray of it and I wanted to give the DVD to my friend. But, he has a really old DVD player that won't play UK DVDs. I first tried to remove the Region coding, but it wouldn't play. Then I remembered that it was also in the PAL format, which his player will not play. Then I used BDRB with alternate output to create a playable NTSC DVD structure, but his player won't play DVD folders, there has to be a menu.

Is there a way to 'Import' the DVD into BDRB and do the exact same thing I just did, but with a Quick-Play menu for DVD, not for Blu-ray, because then it will work on his player because I've played other burned DVDs where I think long ago I used DVD Shrink to blank one of two films on the DVD so it would fit on the 4.5 Gig DVD and it played just fine with it's original menu intact on his player.

Is there a way to create just a simple Quick-Play menu for DVDs using BDRB?

Thanks!
Lathe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th March 2024, 09:31   #31660  |  Link
cartman0208
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 205
You mean a DVD Rebuilder just like the BlurayDisk Rebuilder?
http://www.jdobbs.net/Pages/DVDRebuilder/DVD-RB.htm
https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=75452

Last edited by cartman0208; 7th March 2024 at 15:10.
cartman0208 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:52.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.