Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 13th November 2022, 09:00   #9701  |  Link
hirahi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2022
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by v0lt View Post
Supported.
Just checked, opened VTS_01_1.VOB and VTS_01_0.IFO.

I confirmed that there are VTS_01_1.VOB and VTS_01_0.IFO files.

When I specify and open the IFO file from 「Open File/URL...」
Hardware decoded.
Specify a folder from 「Open DVD/Blu-ray...」 and play
It seems that hardware decoding is not possible.
hirahi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th November 2022, 09:43   #9702  |  Link
v0lt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,750
Quote:
Originally Posted by hirahi View Post
Specify a folder from 「Open DVD/Blu-ray...」 and play
It seems that hardware decoding is not possible.
Not possible with built-in tools. But if you really need it (which is unlikely), then you can use Microsoft DTV-DVD Video Decoder (if you have Windows 7) or LAV Video Decoder.

But initially you were talking about playing VOB files. There are no problems with this.
v0lt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th November 2022, 10:50   #9703  |  Link
hirahi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2022
Posts: 14
When I checked with MPC-HC, I confirmed that VIDEO_TS.IFO can be selected and hardware decoded.

Also, with MPC-BE, I found that VIDEO_TS.IFO is useless and VTS_01_0.IFO can be hardware decoded.

There is no problem with MPC-HC, so I will use this one.
hirahi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th November 2022, 13:41   #9704  |  Link
Aleksoid1978
Registered User
 
Aleksoid1978's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Russia, Vladivostok
Posts: 2,719
Question - why need HW for DVD decoding ? You use very-very old CPU that cant' decoding MPEG2 video ?
Internal DVD decoder don't support HW decoding, that's all.
__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 3600 /GIGABYTE B450 Gaming X /AMD Radeon R9 16Gb@3200 /Kingston 500Gb M.2 /GTX 1650 /Samsung U28R550UQI /LG 47LM620T /Yamaha RX-V471 + NS-555 + NS-C444 + NS-333 + YST-SW215

Last edited by Aleksoid1978; 13th November 2022 at 13:44.
Aleksoid1978 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th November 2022, 14:15   #9705  |  Link
hirahi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2022
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aleksoid1978 View Post
Question - why need HW for DVD decoding ? You use very-very old CPU that cant' decoding MPEG2 video ?
Internal DVD decoder don't support HW decoding, that's all.
CPU is the new 12th Gen Core i5 12400 so software decoding
But that's okay, but I wanted to use the iGPU (UHD Graphics 730) because it can do hardware MPEG2 decoding.

Since MPC-HC can perform hardware decoding, even MPC-BE can
I wish I could.
hirahi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th November 2022, 14:54   #9706  |  Link
Aleksoid1978
Registered User
 
Aleksoid1978's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Russia, Vladivostok
Posts: 2,719
I repeat once again - the player can hardware accelerate mpeg2, but don't support when open it as a DVD. And that won't change. Let's close this discussion.
__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 3600 /GIGABYTE B450 Gaming X /AMD Radeon R9 16Gb@3200 /Kingston 500Gb M.2 /GTX 1650 /Samsung U28R550UQI /LG 47LM620T /Yamaha RX-V471 + NS-555 + NS-C444 + NS-333 + YST-SW215
Aleksoid1978 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th November 2022, 19:43   #9707  |  Link
hirahi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2022
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aleksoid1978 View Post
I repeat once again - the player can hardware accelerate mpeg2, but don't support when open it as a DVD. And that won't change. Let's close this discussion.
Thank you very much.
Since MPC-HC supports DVD MPEG2 hardware
acceleration, we will use it.
hirahi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th November 2022, 21:50   #9708  |  Link
Grimsdyke
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Hannover, Germany
Posts: 228
@hirahi. I think there is an important detail maybe lost in translation. You can have hardware decoding on DVDs but you have to use LAV filters instead of internal filters !!!
__________________
MPC-BE feature wishlist: 1) DiscID
2) Two independent volume control sliders in the UI when using dual-audio-out.
Grimsdyke is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 13th November 2022, 22:07   #9709  |  Link
Klaus1189
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Bavaria
Posts: 1,485
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grimsdyke View Post
@hirahi. I think there is an important detail maybe lost in translation. You can have hardware decoding on DVDs but you have to use LAV filters instead of internal filters !!!
Right. He can even set it up to only DVD or any other he wants. For Everything else the internal filters will be used.

But mpeg 2 is really very easy to decode, especially for very new CPUs.
Klaus1189 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th November 2022, 15:12   #9710  |  Link
v0lt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,750
MPC-BE 1.6.5.3 stable with digital signature.

MPC-BE Nightly builds: main file store, alternative
Also new and old versions can be found on VideoHelp.com.

Donate.
v0lt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2022, 08:56   #9711  |  Link
Mercury_22
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,134
Can't build MPC-BE anymore, please help (VS 2022 17.4.1)

Build started...
1>------ Build started: Project: ffmpeg, Configuration: Release x64 ------
2>------ Skipped Build: Project: DeCSSFilter, Configuration: Release x64 ------
2>Project not selected to build for this solution configuration
1>make.exe: Nothing to be done for `all'.
3>------ Build started: Project: mpc-be, Configuration: Release x64 ------
3>git version 2.38.1.windows.1
3>The revision number is up to date.
3>Generating code
3>Previous IPDB not found, fall back to full compilation.
3> link!RaiseException()+0x69
3> link!RaiseException()+0x69
3> link!InvokeCompilerPassW()+0x889db
3> link!InvokeCompilerPassW()+0xa7843
3>
3>D:\MPC-BE\src\ExtLib\MediaInfo\MediaInfo\TimeCode.cpp(72): fatal error C1001: Internal compiler error.
3>(compiler file 'D:\a\_work\1\s\src\vctools\Compiler\Utc\src\p2\main.c', line 224)
3> To work around this problem, try simplifying or changing the program near the locations listed above.
3>If possible please provide a repro here: https://developercommunity.visualstudio.com
3>Please choose the Technical Support command on the Visual C++
3> Help menu, or open the Technical Support help file for more information
3>Done building project "mpc-be.vcxproj" -- FAILED.
========== Build: 1 succeeded, 1 failed, 68 up-to-date, 1 skipped ==========
========== Elapsed 00:29.236 ==========

https://msdn.microsoft.com/query/dev...C1001)&rd=true
__________________
Windows 10 19045.2311 x64
Mercury_22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2022, 13:15   #9712  |  Link
Aleksoid1978
Registered User
 
Aleksoid1978's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Russia, Vladivostok
Posts: 2,719
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mercury_22 View Post
Can't build MPC-BE anymore, please help (VS 2022 17.4.1)

Build started...
1>------ Build started: Project: ffmpeg, Configuration: Release x64 ------
2>------ Skipped Build: Project: DeCSSFilter, Configuration: Release x64 ------
2>Project not selected to build for this solution configuration
1>make.exe: Nothing to be done for `all'.
3>------ Build started: Project: mpc-be, Configuration: Release x64 ------
3>git version 2.38.1.windows.1
3>The revision number is up to date.
3>Generating code
3>Previous IPDB not found, fall back to full compilation.
3> link!RaiseException()+0x69
3> link!RaiseException()+0x69
3> link!InvokeCompilerPassW()+0x889db
3> link!InvokeCompilerPassW()+0xa7843
3>
3>D:\MPC-BE\src\ExtLib\MediaInfo\MediaInfo\TimeCode.cpp(72): fatal error C1001: Internal compiler error.
3>(compiler file 'D:\a\_work\1\s\src\vctools\Compiler\Utc\src\p2\main.c', line 224)
3> To work around this problem, try simplifying or changing the program near the locations listed above.
3>If possible please provide a repro here: https://developercommunity.visualstudio.com
3>Please choose the Technical Support command on the Visual C++
3> Help menu, or open the Technical Support help file for more information
3>Done building project "mpc-be.vcxproj" -- FAILED.
========== Build: 1 succeeded, 1 failed, 68 up-to-date, 1 skipped ==========
========== Elapsed 00:29.236 ==========

https://msdn.microsoft.com/query/dev...C1001)&rd=true
Well, say hello to Microsoft, their linker just crashes ))
VS 2022 17.3.6 working
__________________
AMD Ryzen 5 3600 /GIGABYTE B450 Gaming X /AMD Radeon R9 16Gb@3200 /Kingston 500Gb M.2 /GTX 1650 /Samsung U28R550UQI /LG 47LM620T /Yamaha RX-V471 + NS-555 + NS-C444 + NS-333 + YST-SW215
Aleksoid1978 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2022, 15:36   #9713  |  Link
v0lt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,750
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mercury_22 View Post
Can't build MPC-BE anymore, please help (VS 2022 17.4.1)
Use the following tools:
VS 2019 v16.11.21
VS 2022 v17.3.6
v0lt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2022, 17:37   #9714  |  Link
Mercury_22
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,134
Quote:
Originally Posted by v0lt View Post
Use the following tools:
VS 2019 v16.11.21
VS 2022 v17.3.6
@ Aleksoid1978 & v0lt
Will do Thanks
__________________
Windows 10 19045.2311 x64
Mercury_22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th November 2022, 23:40   #9715  |  Link
Enet47
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2022
Posts: 39
Hi again. Thanks for fixing the 3D issues. I have another 3D issue which has been here for a while but I forgot about it when the eye switch mixup happened. When using 3D top/bottom, the top and bottom panels shift to the side a few millimetres for some scene changes and there's a little gap between the two on the left top and the right bottom. You can see what I am talking about in the Original Image, but to make it clear I have also Blown up image highlighting the gap. Normally this makes no actual difference when viewing, except when watching with subtitles. Because the top and bottom panels are not in line, the top and bottom subtitles get mixed up and unreadable.

Does anyone have any ideas as to what is going on?

Last edited by Enet47; 21st November 2022 at 00:25.
Enet47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 20:19.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.