Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 AVC / H.264

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 2nd October 2007, 15:50   #501  |  Link
Toti
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 160
My PC originally comes with WinXP and it works fine there. However, on Windows Vista, the slider doesn't work but if you press preview then I can see the video just fine.

Yes, I do have Avisynth 2.5 installed and the script file is pretty simple just like you put on your "Read Me". I am not doing anything different from XP where it worked flawlessly.

I can import the file via directshow/graphedit but I always rather use your products.
__________________
VAIO VGX-XL3 4gig RAM, 4Tb HDD. MEDIA CENTER WINDOWS 7 simply the best!!
Toti is offline  
Old 2nd October 2007, 16:18   #502  |  Link
dk75
Registered User
 
dk75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 43
UPS!
So Yoda Master not I am?
__________________
I'm going down...
dk75 is offline  
Old 2nd October 2007, 16:59   #503  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,922
@dk75

Stop making useless posts or you will be struck.
Guest is offline  
Old 12th October 2007, 18:10   #504  |  Link
Toti
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 160
Neuron2; I found the problem. Haali Media Splitter installed doesn't let DGAVCindex work.

Uninstalling Haali Media Splitter does not help. Just don't install it at all.

Thanks anyway.
__________________
VAIO VGX-XL3 4gig RAM, 4Tb HDD. MEDIA CENTER WINDOWS 7 simply the best!!
Toti is offline  
Old 12th October 2007, 22:58   #505  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,922
Are you sure? I don't see any way they could interfere with each other.
Guest is offline  
Old 17th October 2007, 08:15   #506  |  Link
Toti
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 160
Quote:
Originally Posted by neuron2 View Post
Are you sure? I don't see any way they could interfere with each other.
Don't worry neuron2, I gave up on trying to encode in Vista. CineVision the only app that I have the produces a compliant AVC stream for AVCHD & HD-DVD.

I am back on XP where everything works great.
__________________
VAIO VGX-XL3 4gig RAM, 4Tb HDD. MEDIA CENTER WINDOWS 7 simply the best!!
Toti is offline  
Old 28th October 2007, 16:08   #507  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 6,435
ffdshow_rev1579_20071026_xxl.exe is able to decode PAFF AVC video.

Unfortunately, it is not possible to copy libavcodec.dll from ffdshow to DGAVCDec and make it index such a file. DGAVCIndex "knows it better" and refuses to even try it.

Donald Graft, please update...
LigH is offline  
Old 28th October 2007, 23:49   #508  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,922
Yes, I'm aware of it and it is on the agenda.
Guest is offline  
Old 31st October 2007, 17:34   #509  |  Link
tjmitchem
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 17
Weird Stream

Can someone take a look at this H.264 stream and tell me if it's valid/okay? DGAVCIndex doesn't like it at all, and crashes when I try to open it.

The stream is from Dish Network, and was recorded with an R5000-HD modded receiver.

Any and all help is appreciated.
tjmitchem is offline  
Old 31st October 2007, 18:32   #510  |  Link
harissa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 68
dont even bother I use a genpix 8psk and a R-5000 to record from dish , ( even the PPVHD arent scarmbeld )
and i wasnt able at all to encod any h264 1440*1080
I spent the whole summer trying
even directshow crach
only ABC FOX H264 can be encoded cauz they are 1280*720
harissa is offline  
Old 31st October 2007, 18:35   #511  |  Link
canTsTop
Registered User
 
canTsTop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Lithuania
Posts: 120
for some reason DGAVCIndex aplha 6 crashes on my pc to, try older DGAVCIndex (dgavcdec100a5) and you will see that your video is PAFF, it not supported now.
canTsTop is offline  
Old 1st November 2007, 01:28   #512  |  Link
tjmitchem
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by canTsTop View Post
for some reason DGAVCIndex aplha 6 crashes on my pc to, try older DGAVCIndex (dgavcdec100a5) and you will see that your video is PAFF, it not supported now.
Dang! I was hoping it would be a simple fix and then I could go beg squid_80 for a 64-bit version of the avisynth plugin
tjmitchem is offline  
Old 1st November 2007, 01:45   #513  |  Link
harissa
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 68
dont expect h264 from dish network easy to manipulate like any other h264
it quit hard to cut , to encod , to play ,
it s not even worth it ,
the quality is way worse than canadian hd , I wasnt expectin that
harissa is offline  
Old 1st November 2007, 03:10   #514  |  Link
tjmitchem
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by harissa View Post
dont expect h264 from dish network easy to manipulate like any other h264
it quit hard to cut , to encod , to play ,
it s not even worth it ,
the quality is way worse than canadian hd , I wasnt expectin that
I haven't had any problems playing it at all.
tjmitchem is offline  
Old 1st November 2007, 14:26   #515  |  Link
G_M_C
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,076
Quote:
Originally Posted by canTsTop View Post
for some reason DGAVCIndex aplha 6 crashes on my pc to, try older DGAVCIndex (dgavcdec100a5) and you will see that your video is PAFF, it not supported now.
Yep, there were more problems; Alpha 6 crashes on my version too, and the earlier versions (up till Alpha 3). were much faster. In the end it was something or another with libavcodec, when Neuron2 tried to incorporate it into the application (to remove the need for .DLL's in system-directory's).

Too bad that development seems to have stopped after this snag was found on alpha 6.
G_M_C is offline  
Old 1st November 2007, 14:35   #516  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,922
No, it was the move to the Windows based build for libavcodec. If you use the one from ffdshow_tryouts, you should not have crashes. And PAFF will be added soon. The project has not stopped, only paused.
Guest is offline  
Old 1st November 2007, 18:18   #517  |  Link
G_M_C
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,076
Quote:
Originally Posted by neuron2 View Post
No, it was the move to the Windows based build for libavcodec. If you use the one from ffdshow_tryouts, you should not have crashes. And PAFF will be added soon. The project has not stopped, only paused.
Good to hear that the project has not stopped

I still use it whenever i need to get an X264 stream openend in AviSynth, best tool for it imho.

But i've read that FFMPEGSource () can also open AVC-streams, but since you tool works fine, i havent felt the need to it try out.
G_M_C is offline  
Old 4th November 2007, 02:03   #518  |  Link
zurv
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 14
gdavcdec works fine for stuff encoded in x264, but avc files from blu-ray's i get odd bands on it. I've seen it on all the blu-ray i've tried it on. Please see linked pix.

http://www.kickassanime.org/derp/test/tekkon01.png

Ideas?

i guess in the meantime i can use directshow() orFFMPEGSource() - but of which are pretty useless for seeking around with (ie, going back and forward u can wind up with different frame numbers for the same frame - which is a problem when doing subtitles)

^_^

yes, the video was demuxed from the m2ts to a avc/h.265 elementary stream
zurv is offline  
Old 4th November 2007, 03:41   #519  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,922
Post a link to an unprocessed source stream. I can't do anything with a PNG.
Guest is offline  
Old 4th November 2007, 09:15   #520  |  Link
ACrowley
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,008
[QUOTE=zurv;1061670]gdavcdec works fine for stuff encoded in x264, but avc files from blu-ray's i get odd bands on it. I've seen it on all the blu-ray i've tried it on. Please see linked pix.

http://www.kickassanime.org/derp/test/tekkon01.png

Ideas?

i guess in the meantime i can use directshow() orFFMPEGSource() - but of which are pretty useless for seeking around with (ie, going back and forward u can wind up with different frame numbers for the same frame - which is a problem when doing subtitles)

^_^

Try to use a new ffdshow Build which supports PAFF and copy over the libavcodec.dll from ffdhsow to the dgavc folder

Also you can perfectly encode directly from the .m2ts

HaaliMediaSplitter-ffdshowVidedecoder (or you can use Sonic Decoder)

I pers never demux the m2ts with H264 before encoding.

Last edited by ACrowley; 4th November 2007 at 16:00.
ACrowley is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 14:39.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.