Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > Avisynth Usage

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 27th April 2020, 04:14   #1  |  Link
ABurns
Registered User
 
ABurns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 43
Need IVTC help

I hate to be the guy with that question, but I have a source with a telecine pattern that I haven't seen before. The original source material is (supposedly) NTSC 24p animation, but I'm starting to wonder if this has been converted to 25p and then some sort of pulldown somewhere along the way.* The telecine pattern is 3 clean, 3 dirty. i.e., AA BB CC DE EF FG. At least that's what it looks like. But something is funky about it, because I even tried bobbing it to 60p with yadifmod2 but a few of the frames are out of sequence almost like the field order is wrong. I'm completely stumped.

I really don't want to have to do any frame blending here unless there's just no other way.

HUF sample here.

*This is Filmation material, all NTSC masters of which which were destroyed in the 90s when the library was owned by Hallmark. When Hallmark eventually sold it, all they had retained were PAL conversions. I've got a feeling that has something to do here. Story here.

Last edited by ABurns; 27th April 2020 at 06:35.
ABurns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th April 2020, 09:07   #2  |  Link
Sharc
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3,920
I didn't try much, but something like
Code:
QTGMC()  #or a bobber of your choice
srestore(frate=25.0)
might help
Sharc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th April 2020, 18:06   #3  |  Link
ABurns
Registered User
 
ABurns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 43
That does restore it to 25p pretty effectively, but I'm still getting the occasional frame out of sequence on panning scenes. There are a lot of duplicate frames because it's cheap animation, so it's hard to say exactly how often it's actually happening, but it's visible once in a 117 frame pan sequence.
ABurns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th April 2020, 18:29   #4  |  Link
ChaosKing
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,698
I have not tested it on this sample, but in some cases cdeblend works much better then srestore.
__________________
AVSRepoGUI // VSRepoGUI - Package Manager for AviSynth // VapourSynth
VapourSynth Portable FATPACK || VapourSynth Database || https://github.com/avisynth-repository
ChaosKing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th April 2020, 20:02   #5  |  Link
ABurns
Registered User
 
ABurns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 43
I'm not very familiar with how cdeblend works, but I'm getting much worse stuttering with it using omode=1.
ABurns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th April 2020, 19:40   #6  |  Link
SaurusX
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 107
Quote:
Originally Posted by ABurns View Post
*This is Filmation material, all NTSC masters of which which were destroyed in the 90s when the library was owned by Hallmark. When Hallmark eventually sold it, all they had retained were PAL conversions. I've got a feeling that has something to do here. Story here.
I think that's been confirmed to be a myth.
SaurusX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th April 2020, 22:19   #7  |  Link
ABurns
Registered User
 
ABurns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by SaurusX View Post
I think that's been confirmed to be a myth.
I haven't heard that, but I hope so. At any rate, I do think this is probably a double conversion for some reason.

I've gotten nowhere so far, so unless someone has any ideas I suppose I'll have to field blend it.
ABurns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2020, 01:56   #8  |  Link
manono
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 7,407
I see no blending in that sample. And, because of the vibrating in it I can't tell the field order. But this seems to work okay:

TFM()
TDecimate(Cycle=6,CycleR=1)


Or did you try that already?
manono is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st May 2020, 18:14   #9  |  Link
ABurns
Registered User
 
ABurns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 43
That did the trick. Thanks a million!
ABurns is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:50.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.