Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 Encoder GUIs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 19th December 2007, 01:06   #161  |  Link
weaver4
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 925
Will avi.net work with the new 6.8 divx codec?
weaver4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th December 2007, 02:07   #162  |  Link
The Scientist
Registered User
 
The Scientist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 275
try it and see ;-)
The Scientist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th December 2007, 15:25   #163  |  Link
weaver4
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 925
So that means you have not tested it to see if it does everything properly. I will give it a quick look.
weaver4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th December 2007, 18:34   #164  |  Link
The Scientist
Registered User
 
The Scientist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 275
lol, no, I was being sarcastic. Like I have said before, DIVX will always work after an upgrade (well, unless they do something drastic).
The Scientist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th December 2007, 01:20   #165  |  Link
weaver4
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 925
Thanks, I remember seeing that, but when divx 6.8 came out the DivX people had to change their own converter and Dr. Divx but you did not need to change anything. You must be really good.
weaver4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th December 2007, 10:30   #166  |  Link
s3rious
Registered User
 
s3rious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 8
ok thank god that avi.NET is still alive and kicking
Its my favourite tool
s3rious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th January 2008, 08:58   #167  |  Link
gt13013
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: France
Posts: 9
avi.NET installation error

Hello
Many thanks for your avi.NET software that I use for some time and that I find excellent.

I have a serious problem: it does not install on my new computer with Vista. It gives the following error:
Fatal Error. Installation ended prematurely because of an error.
I spend some time on it, but I did not find any solution.
I have made a detailed report with screen captures and the listing of errors reported during installation. You will find it here: http://ct13.free.fr/forumstuff/avi.N...tion_error.pdf
Perhaps it can help to diagnose...
If you have an idea...
Thanks,
Gerard
gt13013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th January 2008, 11:23   #168  |  Link
The Scientist
Registered User
 
The Scientist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 275
I'll re-compile using a different install program, you're not the only one who's mentioned this.

Will post a link here when done, just gonna have a quick check of it all.
The Scientist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th January 2008, 11:56   #169  |  Link
gt13013
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: France
Posts: 9
OK. Thanks
gt13013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th January 2008, 17:22   #170  |  Link
Poopoo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 65
Can we expect some improvement in the comming months or is this tool really laid to rest ?
Poopoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th January 2008, 20:44   #171  |  Link
The Scientist
Registered User
 
The Scientist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 275
Did "I" ever say it was 'laid to rest'?
The Scientist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th January 2008, 04:31   #172  |  Link
s3rious
Registered User
 
s3rious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 8
hi clone,
i found your excellent for making backups of movies at high quality
i have small request if you could please add resizing at intervals of 16
i.e there are no resizing options between 640 and 560
s3rious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th January 2008, 12:49   #173  |  Link
The Scientist
Registered User
 
The Scientist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 275
Quote:
Originally Posted by gt13013 View Post
It gives the following error:
Fatal Error. Installation ended prematurely because of an error.
OK I've altered the setup/install program, please download and re-try (see first post).
The Scientist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th January 2008, 17:00   #174  |  Link
ricardo.santos
Registered User
 
ricardo.santos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Portugal
Posts: 908
Thanks for the new version!
ricardo.santos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd February 2008, 21:14   #175  |  Link
ricardo.santos
Registered User
 
ricardo.santos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Portugal
Posts: 908
Hi

I was testing avi.net on Vista PC of a friend and for some reason it stops at the muxing stage displaying a warning about not being able to acess videopass or video.pass file....

the video and audio (V,A) are there so i guess i can manually mux them.

Just letting you know
ricardo.santos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd February 2008, 22:06   #176  |  Link
The Scientist
Registered User
 
The Scientist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 275
Was it a x64 PC? or did they have any SYMANTEC (Norton) programs running?
The Scientist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th February 2008, 00:26   #177  |  Link
ricardo.santos
Registered User
 
ricardo.santos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Portugal
Posts: 908
yes, her laptop has norton installed, i'll disable it during the conversion and let you know the outcome.

i have Kaspersky at the moment on mine, but i've tried avg and avast in the past and never had a problem.

Thanks for the quick response
ricardo.santos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th February 2008, 10:47   #178  |  Link
ricardo.santos
Registered User
 
ricardo.santos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Portugal
Posts: 908
it wasnt norton, it was avast but the error is still showing up, its a 32 bit system

i couldnt get "printscreen" to work on vista, so there might be a typo somewhere

Code:
System.unauthorizedAcessException: Acesso negado ao caminho 'C:\program Files\avi.net\video.pass'.
em System.IO._Error.WinIOError(int32 error Code, string maybeFullPath)
em System.IO.File.Delete(String path)
em avi.Net.Form1.Conversion()
ricardo.santos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th February 2008, 21:00   #179  |  Link
Honeyko
Registered User
 
Honeyko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 313
BUG (or missing ability)

...Decomb/Deinterlacing isn't properly converting 29.97 hybrid interlaced/progressive video to 23.976.

REQUEST 1:

...a Play button (which toggles) to stop/start the video clip playing.

REQUEST 2:

...ability to manually enter crop values in increments of 2 from each side, and top/bottom and right/left aren't "locked" together in a single "horizontal" or "vertical" set each. (DVDs usually have top and bottom black-bar padding of differing heights, and left sides that are scummy while right edge is flush.)

REQUEST 3:

...ability to manually enter output file height/width in increments of 2. (Right now width is constrained to increments of 80, meaning that popular values such as 704, 624, 576 and 512 aren't supported) ...if the user enters values which will result in source-DAR not equaling output-DAR after cropping is accounted for, a pop-up warns them of that (but permits them to continue...and produce anamorphic output whose DAR they will later correct with MPEG4Modifier).

Example of all of this put together: NTSC DVD 29.97fps "partly film" hybrid video cartoon episode of which I wish to capture at near its original resolution. Crop values are 8 left, 6 right, 1 bottom (rounded to 2). Desired output width/height is 704x480 (adjusted to 704x528 in MPEG4modifier for vertical anamorphic stretching just as would occur if the DVD itself were being played) -- this reduces encoder resizing to the bare minimum. Progressive frames are removed, and light decimation occurs if de-progression alone does not yield 23.976fps.

Last edited by Honeyko; 4th February 2008 at 21:04.
Honeyko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th February 2008, 22:21   #180  |  Link
Bradskey
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by ricardo.santos View Post
it wasnt norton, it was avast but the error is still showing up, its a 32 bit system

i couldnt get "printscreen" to work on vista, so there might be a typo somewhere

Code:
System.unauthorizedAcessException: Acesso negado ao caminho 'C:\program Files\avi.net\video.pass'.
em System.IO._Error.WinIOError(int32 error Code, string maybeFullPath)
em System.IO.File.Delete(String path)
em avi.Net.Form1.Conversion()
My brother had this problem when I installed avi.NET on his 32-bit Vista Basic notebook. I believe the file is used to store statistics for the first pass in Xvid, but he was trying to do DivX. The problem was file permissions ( I don't know why they didn't get set properly, even after multiple re-installs). I granted Everyone full control on the file, although you may not have to be that extreme. That appeared to resolve the issue.
Bradskey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:00.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.