Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > Newbies

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 21st June 2015, 22:37   #1  |  Link
pcroland
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Hungary
Posts: 115
Deinterlacing BluRay on Linux

Hi! I usually just have to encode the BluRay videos from .m2ts files with x264 or extract .mkv's in case the videos are remuxes. But now the BD source is interlaced and I have no idea how to deinterlace it on Linux AviSynth is not available for Linux and I wasn't able to install the AvxSynth Linux fork on Debian

Debian 8.1
x264-r2538-121396c
pcroland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd June 2015, 13:25   #2  |  Link
microchip8
ffx264/ffhevc author
 
microchip8's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: /dev/video0
Posts: 1,843
You don't need Avisynth for a simple deinterlace. Use ffmpeg for that, it has a few deinterlacers
__________________
ffx264 || ffhevc || ffxvid || microenc
microchip8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd June 2015, 13:38   #3  |  Link
stax76
Registered User
 
stax76's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: On thin ice
Posts: 6,837
If you want to use QTGMC you can also use VapourSynth.
stax76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2015, 20:23   #4  |  Link
pcroland
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Hungary
Posts: 115
I know that FFmpeg has some deinterlacers, but how should I use them with the native x264?
pcroland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th June 2015, 21:41   #5  |  Link
microchip8
ffx264/ffhevc author
 
microchip8's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: /dev/video0
Posts: 1,843
Quote:
Originally Posted by pcroland View Post
I know that FFmpeg has some deinterlacers, but how should I use them with the native x264?
Make your life easier and use ffmpeg for the whole process. It uses libx264 for encoding so there's no difference between using x264 directly or encoding through ffmpeg
__________________
ffx264 || ffhevc || ffxvid || microenc
microchip8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th June 2015, 15:17   #6  |  Link
pcroland
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Hungary
Posts: 115
FFmpeg's x264 is a bit old and does not have as many options as the native :-(
pcroland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th June 2015, 17:12   #7  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 10,344
Quote:
Originally Posted by pcroland View Post
FFmpeg's x264 is a bit old and does not have as many options as the native :-(
How old x264 in ffmpeg is depends which version of x264 was used when building ffmpeg - and it then supports all the same options.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th June 2015, 18:42   #8  |  Link
Ely
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 40
What about something like this ?

Code:
ffmpeg -i input.m2ts -vf yadif=deint=interlaced -f rawvideo - | x264 --input-res WxH --fps N -o out.mp4 -
Or, if you have libx264 built in ffmpeg :

Code:
ffmpeg -i input.m2ts -vf yadif=deint=interlaced -vcodec libx264 [..]

Last edited by Ely; 26th June 2015 at 18:56. Reason: fixed x264 parameters
Ely is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th June 2015, 16:48   #9  |  Link
pcroland
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Hungary
Posts: 115
Code:
ffmpeg -i input.m2ts -vf yadif=deint=interlaced -f rawvideo - | x264 --input-res WxH --fps N -o out.mp4 -
That works Thanks :-)
pcroland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd July 2015, 03:49   #10  |  Link
Ely
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 40
Cool !

Btw, I complicated things by outputting rawvideo and setting the dimension/framerate in x264, but this will be even simpler :

Code:
ffmpeg -i input.m2ts -vf yadif=deint=interlaced -f yuv4mpegpipe - | x264 --demuxer y4m -o out.mp4 -
Ely is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th July 2015, 09:31   #11  |  Link
sneaker_ger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 5,565
Different fps result in different bitrates because x264's crf mode is frame-rate aware.
sneaker_ger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th July 2015, 09:39   #12  |  Link
pcroland
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Hungary
Posts: 115
I recognized the mistake after the reply and I deleted it Anyway, thanks for the quick answer :-)
pcroland is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:27.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.