Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 AVC / H.264

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 13th June 2009, 22:41   #1  |  Link
msaadn
Anime Encoder
 
msaadn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Along The Red Sea...
Posts: 38
Video Playback Issue

I encoded a video file and then played the file in 2 different players. VLC & MPC.




As you can see the video quality and the text in the two players are different. Why is this happening? Can anyone help me out??

BTW I'm using K-lite and Win Vista.

(I apologize If the topic weren't in the right place. I just couldn't figure out where to post.)
__________________
"Do Not Hurry, Death Is Faster Than You"
Ńő Μăţţĕř Ŵĥăţ Ĉőđĕ Ĺŷőķő Řŏĉķ !!!

Last edited by msaadn; 13th June 2009 at 22:48.
msaadn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2009, 23:36   #2  |  Link
J_Darnley
Registered User
 
J_Darnley's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 957
Make sure you aren't de-interlacing in MPC or that you use an equivalent one to VLC.
__________________
x264 log explained || x264 deblocking how-to
preset -> tune -> user set options -> fast first pass -> profile -> level
Doom10 - Of course it's better, it's one more.
J_Darnley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th June 2009, 23:41   #3  |  Link
msaadn
Anime Encoder
 
msaadn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Along The Red Sea...
Posts: 38
I am not de-interlacing. I've kept the settings in both players the same.
Basically what i'm worried about is how do I know which one is the Real output of my encode.
__________________
"Do Not Hurry, Death Is Faster Than You"
Ńő Μăţţĕř Ŵĥăţ Ĉőđĕ Ĺŷőķő Řŏĉķ !!!
msaadn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th June 2009, 00:24   #4  |  Link
clsid
*****
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 5,542
Change the video renderer in MPC.
Disable the internal DXVA H.264 decoder in MPC.
__________________
MPC-HC 2.0.0
clsid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th June 2009, 01:21   #5  |  Link
msaadn
Anime Encoder
 
msaadn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Along The Red Sea...
Posts: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by clsid View Post
Change the video renderer in MPC.
Disable the internal DXVA H.264 decoder in MPC.
Change the video renderer to what?
__________________
"Do Not Hurry, Death Is Faster Than You"
Ńő Μăţţĕř Ŵĥăţ Ĉőđĕ Ĺŷőķő Řŏĉķ !!!
msaadn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th June 2009, 02:11   #6  |  Link
Dark Shikari
x264 developer
 
Dark Shikari's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 8,667
Never compare by opening two videos at the same time, as usually your graphics card overlay can only accelerate one at a time, so the second one is not always identical.
Dark Shikari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th June 2009, 04:39   #7  |  Link
St Devious
Hardware Aspirin
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 461
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dark Shikari View Post
Never compare by opening two videos at the same time, as usually your graphics card overlay can only accelerate one at a time, so the second one is not always identical.
nice tip didn't know.

But doubts, is the VLC using DXVA ? If not then how is it using GPU ?
St Devious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th June 2009, 07:07   #8  |  Link
kemuri-_9
Compiling Encoder
 
kemuri-_9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,348
Quote:
Originally Posted by St Devious View Post
But doubts, is the VLC using DXVA ? If not then how is it using GPU ?
it's rendering the video on the screen is it not?
just because it's not decoding on the GPU doesn't mean it doesn't get used otherwise...
__________________
custom x264 builds & patches | F@H | My Specs
kemuri-_9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th June 2009, 07:27   #9  |  Link
St Devious
Hardware Aspirin
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 461
Quote:
Originally Posted by kemuri-_9 View Post
it's rendering the video on the screen is it not?
just because it's not decoding on the GPU doesn't mean it doesn't get used otherwise...
that's what I thought.

So how exactly does the GPU get used in VLC.

Not asking the obvious, that GPU is used for display. But technically, what does the player use it for when it doesn't decode video on it ?
St Devious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th June 2009, 11:01   #10  |  Link
nm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Finland
Posts: 2,642
Quote:
Originally Posted by St Devious View Post
Not asking the obvious, that GPU is used for display. But technically, what does the player use it for when it doesn't decode video on it ?
Resizing, colorspace conversion (YV12 to RGB) and possibly mixing multiple streams together. On Windows this is usually done through a DirectShow video rendering filter that uses DirectDraw or Direct3D for rendering.

Quote:
Originally Posted by msaadn
I am not de-interlacing. I've kept the settings in both players the same.
Basically what i'm worried about is how do I know which one is the Real output of my encode.
The image in your VLC screencap is obviously more correct.

Quote:
Originally Posted by msaadn
Change the video renderer to what?
Try all renderers, and close other player windows first, as DS suggested.
nm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th June 2009, 13:37   #11  |  Link
msaadn
Anime Encoder
 
msaadn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Along The Red Sea...
Posts: 38
clsid, DS & nm. Thank you very much for your help. I changed the renderer to VMR7. Working perfectly.
__________________
"Do Not Hurry, Death Is Faster Than You"
Ńő Μăţţĕř Ŵĥăţ Ĉőđĕ Ĺŷőķő Řŏĉķ !!!
msaadn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th June 2009, 14:32   #12  |  Link
clsid
*****
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 5,542
You might also want to update your graphics card driver to fix the problem. None of the renderers should under normal circumstances show the blurriness that was present in your screenshot. Using a different renderer is only a workaround.
__________________
MPC-HC 2.0.0
clsid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th June 2009, 15:30   #13  |  Link
msaadn
Anime Encoder
 
msaadn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Along The Red Sea...
Posts: 38
I once did update my graphics card driver, after that something real weird happened to the video. it was cut down to half and repetition flashes of the top left corner part of the video was occuring. But I guess If I changed the renderer it might fix the pro. Thank you again.
__________________
"Do Not Hurry, Death Is Faster Than You"
Ńő Μăţţĕř Ŵĥăţ Ĉőđĕ Ĺŷőķő Řŏĉķ !!!
msaadn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
issue, playback, video

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:29.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.