Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > Avisynth Usage

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 17th November 2022, 20:51   #1741  |  Link
VoodooFX
Banana User
 
VoodooFX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 975
Quote:
Originally Posted by LeXXuz View Post
It really made things much worse. What do I miss here?
GradFun2DBmod()
VoodooFX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th November 2022, 22:29   #1742  |  Link
Dogway
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2,351
Probably?:
Code:
ConvertBits(16)
GradFun3plus()
ConvertBits(8,dither=1)
Without HBD your only option is to add grain like with GradFun2DBmod()
__________________
i7-4790K@Stock::GTX 1070] AviSynth+ filters and mods on GitHub + Discussion thread
Dogway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th November 2022, 22:40   #1743  |  Link
LeXXuz
21 years and counting...
 
LeXXuz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 716
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dogway View Post
Probably?:
Code:
ConvertBits(16)
GradFun3plus()
ConvertBits(8,dither=1)
Without HBD your only option is to add grain like with GradFun2DBmod()
It's running in 16bit. (I feed the source in 16bit to x265 which dithers it down to 10bit internally.)
That's why the output confuses me. Something is off.

Last edited by LeXXuz; 17th November 2022 at 22:42.
LeXXuz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th November 2022, 22:50   #1744  |  Link
Dogway
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2,351
It mimics the original GradFun3 strength so maybe you need to increase radius? Without a small sample I don't know, it works for me for skies, etc
__________________
i7-4790K@Stock::GTX 1070] AviSynth+ filters and mods on GitHub + Discussion thread
Dogway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2022, 12:31   #1745  |  Link
LeXXuz
21 years and counting...
 
LeXXuz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 716
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dogway View Post
Without a small sample I don't know, it works for me for skies, etc
That's quite alright.

One other thing. A lot of old movies have some kind of luminance flickering which of course becomes way more noticeable after the layer of grain was removed through denoising. Is there any filter that can soothe this a little?
LeXXuz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2022, 12:33   #1746  |  Link
kedautinh12
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 2,134
You can add grain after denoise with GrainFactory3mod
kedautinh12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2022, 17:32   #1747  |  Link
anton_foy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 702
Quote:
Originally Posted by LeXXuz View Post
That's quite alright.

One other thing. A lot of old movies have some kind of luminance flickering which of course becomes way more noticeable after the layer of grain was removed through denoising. Is there any filter that can soothe this a little?
Ex_reduceflicker(strength=2) #or 1?
anton_foy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2022, 17:51   #1748  |  Link
LeXXuz
21 years and counting...
 
LeXXuz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 716
Quote:
Originally Posted by anton_foy View Post
Ex_reduceflicker(strength=2) #or 1?
I can't find that function. Which package does this belong to?
LeXXuz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2022, 23:38   #1749  |  Link
Dogway
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2,351
It's called DCTFlicker, you can enable the option in SMDegrain (requires LFR>200) or simply use ex_LFR() from ExTools with DCTFlicker enabled. It's not perfect though. You can also try ex_reduceflicker() from QTGMC+
__________________
i7-4790K@Stock::GTX 1070] AviSynth+ filters and mods on GitHub + Discussion thread
Dogway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2022, 23:45   #1750  |  Link
LeXXuz
21 years and counting...
 
LeXXuz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 716
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dogway View Post
It's called DCTFlicker, you can enable the option in SMDegrain (requires LFR>200) or simply use ex_LFR() from ExTools with DCTFlicker enabled. It's not perfect though. You can also try ex_reduceflicker() from QTGMC+
Is it enough to set LFR=true and DCTFlicker=true for SD sources or do I have to set it to 200 manually at least?
I remember a post where you mentioned LFR~150 as the default for SD.

Also I'm not so sure anymore if flickering is the right description of what I mean. It could also be described as a pumping effect of the luma in the backgrounds.
No idea what the correct expression for that effect may be.

Last edited by LeXXuz; 18th November 2022 at 23:49.
LeXXuz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th November 2022, 00:37   #1751  |  Link
Dogway
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2,351
Yes I know the effect, it's the grain low frequency contribution from the DCT compression. Basically you have to strongly temporal denoise low frequencies, this can lead to smearing so you have to be careful. LFR=true is a default, but if the effect is strong you have to lower it to make it stronger (recover less of the high frequencies). It really depends on the content, maybe you can get away with a a very crude mode="TemporalSoften".
__________________
i7-4790K@Stock::GTX 1070] AviSynth+ filters and mods on GitHub + Discussion thread
Dogway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th November 2022, 10:26   #1752  |  Link
LeXXuz
21 years and counting...
 
LeXXuz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 716
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dogway View Post
Yes I know the effect, it's the grain low frequency contribution from the DCT compression. Basically you have to strongly temporal denoise low frequencies, this can lead to smearing so you have to be careful. LFR=true is a default, but if the effect is strong you have to lower it to make it stronger (recover less of the high frequencies). It really depends on the content, maybe you can get away with a a very crude mode="TemporalSoften".
Thanks Dogway. So actually lowering the LFR-value from its default strengthens the effect of the filter? Is the default 150/300/600 for SD/HD/UHD and this value is used for LFR=true?
Just want to make sure I get it right this time.
LeXXuz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th November 2022, 11:24   #1753  |  Link
Dogway
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2,351
Default is 300 for all modes, rising or lowering that has a different effect since they all converge at maximum dimension resolution.
So 300 is same for all and max(width,height) is same for all, interpolated in between. It's made so for LFR=true to look similar at all resolutions.

By the way, I took the liberty to help Notepad3 devs with AVS+ lexer and handed them an updated list of Internal Functions, Plugins and User Functions definitions. They were kind to update it immediately.
I also made two syntax schemes, a "light" one and a dark one, you can have a glance here.

The problem now that I made Notepad3 my default text editor is that it feels glitchy. Opening a file takes like 300ms, and the GUI flickers while writing... Dunno if it's a Win7 thing here.
__________________
i7-4790K@Stock::GTX 1070] AviSynth+ filters and mods on GitHub + Discussion thread

Last edited by Dogway; 19th November 2022 at 11:28.
Dogway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th November 2022, 15:26   #1754  |  Link
LeXXuz
21 years and counting...
 
LeXXuz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 716
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dogway View Post
Default is 300 for all modes, rising or lowering that has a different effect since they all converge at maximum dimension resolution.
So 300 is same for all and max(width,height) is same for all, interpolated in between. It's made so for LFR=true to look similar at all resolutions.
Good I asked. It seems my info was a little outdated from somewhere quite early in this thread. Must've missed that they are scaled now internally according to resolution so I don't have to worry that much about.

Btw. on some sources I had the feeling LFR may increase the pumping/flickering effect. But it improved textures on clothing and stuff so I kept it. Greyish / dark suit textures are often the first things that get blurry in moving scenes.
LeXXuz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th November 2022, 20:27   #1755  |  Link
LeXXuz
21 years and counting...
 
LeXXuz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 716
From the helpfile here:
https://raw.githack.com/Dogway/Avisy...20v3.5.5d.html

Quote:
If instead you want to use your own prefilter denoiser, just define it in a variable and reference it here. Remember to:

Feed always 8 bit clips.
Input in fields for interlaced content *(read below)
Feed here planar ( by using Interleaved2Planar() ) YUY2 clips (not interleaved) when working with YUY2 sources.
Is that still valid or outdated info from the older helpfile?
LeXXuz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd November 2022, 16:12   #1756  |  Link
Ryushin
Registered User
 
Ryushin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 416
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boulder View Post
Set refinemotion=false?
That actually did fix it. Thanks. I had problem in my x265 settings that propagated to other jobs that was causing it to keep restarting the encoding chunks and not make any progress.
Ryushin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th November 2022, 11:31   #1757  |  Link
Boulder
Pig on the wing
 
Boulder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 5,708
Quote:
Originally Posted by madey83 View Post
Hello,

i'm looking reason why my dolby vision encodes have significaly higher bitrate compare to SDR encodes with all the same avisynth filters and x265 settings (DV - has few more additional tweaks).
AQ-mode 3.
__________________
And if the band you're in starts playing different tunes
I'll see you on the dark side of the Moon...
Boulder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th November 2022, 11:36   #1758  |  Link
madey83
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
Posts: 136
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boulder View Post
AQ-mode 3.
hi,

any reson for that? if so which i should use?
madey83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th November 2022, 12:49   #1759  |  Link
madey83
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
Posts: 136
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boulder View Post
AQ-mode 3.

Thank you. You were right
madey83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th November 2022, 13:06   #1760  |  Link
kedautinh12
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 2,134
Quote:
Originally Posted by madey83 View Post
hi,

any reson for that? if so which i should use?
I seen many people use aq-mode 2 for HDR and aq-mode 3 for sdr

Last edited by kedautinh12; 28th November 2022 at 17:50.
kedautinh12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
avisynth, dogway, filters, hbd, packs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:56.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.