Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > Avisynth Usage

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 22nd May 2023, 09:25   #2561  |  Link
Dogway
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2,351
Quote:
Originally Posted by anton_foy View Post
My footage in uhd is very sharp/finely detailed I guess and when using temporalsoften mode in uhdhalf=true it is considerably blurrier compared to uhdhalf=false. Not nearly as little difference as to LeXXuz comparison examples. Is there a way to regain the detail/sharpness by pel or something and yet gain the speed from mscalevector somewhat?
Can you post a before-after? TemporalSoften is very aggressive so it will make the shortcomings of vector scaling more apparent. You can try as mentioned earlier with limit=2 or something along those lines, and obviously 'LFR'. I think something is going on on the vector scaling and could be revisited on the mvtools2 side.

By the way I ported a few functions like ICtCp_to_RGB(), GamutCompression() or TM_Hable() to an .hlsl shader to decode IPTPQc2 content on real time. It doesn't read the RPU so no dynamic tonemapping, MMR or poly reshaping but the output looks very fine.
__________________
i7-4790K@Stock::GTX 1070] AviSynth+ filters and mods on GitHub + Discussion thread

Last edited by Dogway; 22nd May 2023 at 09:29.
Dogway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th May 2023, 16:52   #2562  |  Link
anton_foy
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 702
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dogway View Post
Can you post a before-after? TemporalSoften is very aggressive so it will make the shortcomings of vector scaling more apparent. You can try as mentioned earlier with limit=2 or something along those lines, and obviously 'LFR'. I think something is going on on the vector scaling and could be revisited on the mvtools2 side.

By the way I ported a few functions like ICtCp_to_RGB(), GamutCompression() or TM_Hable() to an .hlsl shader to decode IPTPQc2 content on real time. It doesn't read the RPU so no dynamic tonemapping, MMR or poly reshaping but the output looks very fine.
Yes probably so I want to try with the same footage with mdegrain mode also to see the difference but as for now and a while forward I haven't got access to my computer so I will post when I do. The limit param I need to experiment with too. Thanks!
anton_foy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2023, 09:56   #2563  |  Link
Tempter57
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Donetsk
Posts: 58
Dogway

Dear master, will pay the attention that QTGMC 4.2 + mod causes appearance of artefacts round objects. It is forced to be rolled away back on QTGMC 4.00 + mod or I apply QTGMC v3.384s by A.SONY. I process in the core results of digitization old VHS interlaced camcoders and source DVC
Tempter57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2023, 11:03   #2564  |  Link
Dogway
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2,351
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tempter57 View Post
Dear master, will pay the attention that QTGMC 4.2 + mod causes appearance of artefacts round objects. It is forced to be rolled away back on QTGMC 4.00 + mod or I apply QTGMC v3.384s by A.SONY. I process in the core results of digitization old VHS interlaced camcoders and source DVC
Can you provide a small sample and the QTGMC+ call? I'm curious to know since v4.1 and v4.2 only implemented sharper base bob deinterlacers.
__________________
i7-4790K@Stock::GTX 1070] AviSynth+ filters and mods on GitHub + Discussion thread
Dogway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th May 2023, 18:42   #2565  |  Link
Tempter57
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Donetsk
Posts: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dogway View Post
Can you provide a small sample and the QTGMC+ call? I'm curious to know since v4.1 and v4.2 only implemented sharper base bob deinterlacers.
Source https://www.dropbox.com/s/ctokgarx58...ambla.avi?dl=0
Script
Code:
prefix="C:\Program Files (x86)\AviSynth+\"
AddAutoloadDir(prefix+"plugins64")

setmemorymax(8000)

DirectShowSource2("C:\Users\Alex\Downloads\la_rambla.avi", fps=25.000, preroll=15)

LoadVirtualDubPlugin("C:\Program Files (x86)\AviSynth+\plugins64\VirtualDub\ccd_64.vdf", "ccd", 0)

ChangeFPS(last,last,true) # initiate a small forward buffer

# pointresizing for lossless RGb <> YCrCb convertion 
pointresize(last.width, last.height*2).ConvertToRGB32(interlaced=true, matrix="Rec709").pointresize(last.width, last.height) 
separatefields() ## Remove some chroma noise with CCD in RGB (gives best results) 
ccd(12,1)
weave() 
pointresize(last.width, last.height*2).converttoYUV422(matrix="Rec709",interlaced=true).pointresize(last.width, last.height) 

/*
converttoYUV422(matrix="Rec709",interlaced=true)
src=last
CCD(30)
CombinePlanes(src, last, src, planes="YUV")
*/

#==== Deinterlaced ====
AssumeBFF()
QTGMCp(Preset="placebo", NoiseProcess=0, threads=1)
#QTGMC(Preset="placebo", NoiseProcess=0, edithreads=1)
#QTGMCp(Preset="fast", sharpness=0.3, threads=1)
mergechroma(last)

stabplus(dxmax=16, dymax=16)
Crop(12, 4, -8, -0) 

yahr().yahr()
# FineDehalo(rx=2.0, ry=2.0, thmi=80, thma=128, thlimi=50, thlima=100, darkstr=0, brightstr=1.0, showmask=0, contra=0.0, excl=true)
LSFmod(defaults="Fast", strength=40, Smode=3, Smethod=2, kernel=11, secure=false, Lmode=1, soft=0, soothe=true, keep=48, edgemode=1, edgemaskHQ=true)

deep_resize(960, 720, grain=0,qual=2)

SmoothCurve(Ycurve="0-0;16-16; 255-235", Ucurve="0-0;77-72;127-127;172-177;255-255", Vcurve="0-0;77-72;127-127;172-177;255-255", interp=100, limiter=false, TVrange=0, dither=-1)
SmoothLevels(0,0.96,255,0,255, useopt=0, HQ=true, useMT=1) # 0 -automatic choice, 1- SSE2 CPU, 2 - Sandy Bridge CPU 

ex_unsharp(0.15).ex_unsharp(0.15,Fc=width()/1.5) 

# ==== DEBANDING + ADDGRAIN ====
neo_f3kdb(15,64,42,42,0,0,sample_mode=2,dynamic_grain=true,keep_tv_range=true,dither_algo=3,mt=false)

gr = 0.3
size = 0.8
GrainFactory3mod(g1str=6*gr,g2str=8*gr,g3str=5*gr,g1size=1.4*size,g2size=1.3*size,g3size=1.2*size,g1cstr=1.5*gr,g2cstr=0.8*gr,g3cstr=0.5*gr,temp_avg=1,tv_range=true)

ConvertToYV12(interlaced=false, matrix="Rec709")

AssumeFPS(50.00)
Prefetch(12,24)
Compare result with variants QTGMC(Preset="placebo", NoiseProcess=0, edithreads=1) QTGMC v3.384s mod by A.SONY or QTGMC 4.00 + mod

Last edited by Tempter57; 27th May 2023 at 19:06.
Tempter57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th May 2023, 11:49   #2566  |  Link
Dogway
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2,351
Thanks! I could see the issue, just tested the QTGMC+ part of your script. Basically it's a detail vs anti-moiree balance.
For the first half of the video everything looked fine but as soon as it couldn't resolve combing (artifact heavy motion areas) it created those issues.

I reverted the new default EdiModes to v4.0 except when the new arg 'moiree' is enabled.
In either case output now is more detail preserving than in v4.0.

Probably a good improvement would be to mask moiree areas so we could have the best of both worlds.

Check new version here.
__________________
i7-4790K@Stock::GTX 1070] AviSynth+ filters and mods on GitHub + Discussion thread
Dogway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th May 2023, 15:22   #2567  |  Link
Tempter57
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Donetsk
Posts: 58
Dogway
Unfortunately the problem with QTGMC 4.3 + mod remained. I have tried even to place QTGMC +. avsi in other folder, thought that the conflict of plug-ins is possible.
Tempter57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th May 2023, 16:42   #2568  |  Link
Dogway
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2,351
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tempter57 View Post
Unfortunately the problem with QTGMC 4.3 + mod remained. I have tried even to place QTGMC +. avsi in other folder, thought that the conflict of plug-ins is possible.
Then I don't know what the issue you refer to. Mind posting a screenshot or something? The plugin versions required are listed on the top of the script.
__________________
i7-4790K@Stock::GTX 1070] AviSynth+ filters and mods on GitHub + Discussion thread
Dogway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28th May 2023, 22:34   #2569  |  Link
Tempter57
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Donetsk
Posts: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dogway View Post
Then I don't know what the issue you refer to. Mind posting a screenshot or something? The plugin versions required are listed on the top of the script.
Here three results of different versions QTGMC https://dropmefiles.com/e2wWu. The password of archive 123
Tempter57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th May 2023, 01:32   #2570  |  Link
Dogway
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2,351
I tested encoding that portion and got no issues. Ensure the plugin versions and that you are on AVS+ 3.7.3 test9, I can't vouch for later git versions.

The problem however might be in the loader or what you process before the QTGMC+ call (I don't have the CCD plugin so I don't know).
Also it might be that DSS2 messes with frameprops. Try using FFMS2.
Also unrelated but there's no such thing as lossless RGB<->YCbCr, and less with point resize, you are matrixing so point resize will in some form leak into luma.
For lossless you can try YCoCgR but you need to upscale to 444 with an interpolation kernel.
__________________
i7-4790K@Stock::GTX 1070] AviSynth+ filters and mods on GitHub + Discussion thread

Last edited by Dogway; 29th May 2023 at 01:37.
Dogway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th May 2023, 04:47   #2571  |  Link
Tempter57
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Donetsk
Posts: 58
I used AVS+ 3.7.3 test9.
The conflict reason really in incompatibility QTGMC + 4.1 mod and above with DSS2, and also filter VirtualDub ccd_64.vdf. At connection FFMS2 and removal in a script of the lines connected with ccd_64.vdf a problem disappears.
But after all truth that QTGMC + 4.0 mod and more low worked with DSS2. I admit, if the conflict has been caused only ccd_64.vdf, but with the advent of problems at application DSS2 I can not reconcile and I do not wish. I will be forced to refuse application QTGMC + 4.3 mod or you try to eliminate in the subsequent versions this defect.
Tempter57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th May 2023, 08:38   #2572  |  Link
DTL
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 1,026
"# pointresizing for lossless RGb <> YCrCb convertion
pointresize(last.width, last.height*2).ConvertToRGB32(interlaced=true, matrix="Rec709")"

With Rec709 matrix it can not be lossless because of clipping superwhites and superblacks. And with PC.709 matrix it was found required additional Levels() preprocessing for input YUV to make more correct RGB decoding - https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.p...08#post1987708 . It looks AVS still have lots of internal shadows of the past as amateur-designed software. So it hard to believe it can do something lossless enough. Also most of processing in 8bit interfilters data transfers adds quantization noise at each step.

" application DSS2"

DS is completely random source depending on the total system DS environment configured. So if user like to use DSS in any stable way it need to cure all OS DS environment (and keep it from any changes like even Windows update). Also developers can not check if bug happen remotely without getting and somehow running locally complete remote user DS OS configuration snapshot. It is close to impossible for private persons developers.

Last edited by DTL; 29th May 2023 at 08:43.
DTL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th May 2023, 12:11   #2573  |  Link
Dogway
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2,351
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tempter57 View Post
I used AVS+ 3.7.3 test9.
The conflict reason really in incompatibility QTGMC + 4.1 mod and above with DSS2, and also filter VirtualDub ccd_64.vdf. At connection FFMS2 and removal in a script of the lines connected with ccd_64.vdf a problem disappears.
But after all truth that QTGMC + 4.0 mod and more low worked with DSS2. I admit, if the conflict has been caused only ccd_64.vdf, but with the advent of problems at application DSS2 I can not reconcile and I do not wish. I will be forced to refuse application QTGMC + 4.3 mod or you try to eliminate in the subsequent versions this defect.
Thanks for testing!
If DSS2 or other loader tags the clip as progressive or a different field order, that's a bug on the loader and not on my side.
AVS+ workflow is frame property based, if you want old school workflow you should switch to AviSynth 2.6 and use old tools otherwise you will run into numerous unexpected issues not only with my filters but also Asd-g plugins and filters.
__________________
i7-4790K@Stock::GTX 1070] AviSynth+ filters and mods on GitHub + Discussion thread
Dogway is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th May 2023, 12:39   #2574  |  Link
Tempter57
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Donetsk
Posts: 58
Thanks you for explanations
Tempter57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2023, 20:06   #2575  |  Link
salvo00786
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2022
Posts: 19
Hi Dogway. I want to report that in your latest version of SMDegrain, the v4.4.0d, the prefilter 4 doesn't work, the program give an error. The other prefilters are ok.
salvo00786 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st May 2023, 02:27   #2576  |  Link
FTLOY
Friend of a friend..
 
FTLOY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2023
Posts: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by salvo00786 View Post
Hi Dogway. I want to report that in your latest version of SMDegrain, the v4.4.0d, the prefilter 4 doesn't work, the program give an error. The other prefilters are ok.
Line 322

No problems here, with existing script

Can you provide error message ?? (I know I forget to do that, from time to time)
FTLOY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st May 2023, 07:37   #2577  |  Link
salvo00786
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2022
Posts: 19
Yes, this is the error

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1YeC...usp=share_link

If I use the old SMDegrain instead of the latest, with the same settings, the error doesn't appear
salvo00786 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st May 2023, 07:42   #2578  |  Link
kedautinh12
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 2,127
Quote:
Originally Posted by salvo00786 View Post
Yes, this is the error

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1YeC...usp=share_link

If I use the old SMDegrain instead of the latest, with the same settings, the error doesn't appear
Are you got latest ver of avs+??
https://gitlab.com/uvz/AviSynthPlus-Builds
kedautinh12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st May 2023, 08:53   #2579  |  Link
salvo00786
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2022
Posts: 19
I am using the latest version of Staxrip. I have to check what version of avs+ is in the program.
salvo00786 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st May 2023, 09:58   #2580  |  Link
salvo00786
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2022
Posts: 19
I don't know if I am wrong, but I downloaded the latest avisynth+ from your link and I overwrited the files in the staxrip directory with the files downloaded. But when I use SMDegrain, the same error appear.
salvo00786 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
avisynth, dogway, filters, hbd, packs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:14.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.