Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > New and alternative a/v containers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11th August 2022, 17:16   #1681  |  Link
von Suppé
Registered User
 
von Suppé's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 518
Hi Mosu,

At the Dolby Vision support status page, I wonder why there is no "Supported check" under mkvextract for single track dual layer. Extracting hevc from STDL seems ok.
von Suppé is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th August 2022, 17:32   #1682  |  Link
Mosu
MKVToolNix author
 
Mosu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Braunschweig, Germany
Posts: 4,180
Mostly because it doesn't do anything with the data stored in the various "addition" blocks (the stuff that corresponds to the CodecPrivate of the base laye, the dvcC/dvvC atoms). For regular, non-DV HEVC it's quite common that the parameter set NALUs are only stored once at the start, and mkvextract tries its best to normalize them so they're present before each and every key frame.

It could do something similar with the Dolby Vision NALUs, but it doesn't yet (as that is simply not implemented).

So yeah, for well-formed tracks you only take out and remux somewhere else as-is, the current code should work fine. The edge cases probably won't, though.
__________________
Latest MKVToolNix is v70.0.0

If I ever ask you to upload something, please use my file server.
Mosu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2022, 08:52   #1683  |  Link
Mosu
MKVToolNix author
 
Mosu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Braunschweig, Germany
Posts: 4,180
MKVToolNix v70.0.0 released

Heyo!

A new small release is ready, mostly fixing two annoying bugs in the GUI's handling of color parameters that unfortunately slipped in in v69.

Here are the usual links: the MKVToolNix home page, the Windows installer/portable version & macOS DMG & Linux AppImage and the source code.

The Windows and macOS binaries as well as the Linux AppImage are available already. The other Linux binaries are still being built and will be available over the course of the next couple of hours.

Here are the NEWS since the previous release:

Version 70.0.0 "Caught A Lite Sneeze" 2022-08-14
New features and enhancements
  • MKVToolNix GUI: the user can now control where the job queue files & the preferences INI file are stored via environment variables. If set, the variable "MKVTOOLNIX_GUI_STATE_DIR" can point to a directory where the GUI stores both the job queue sub-directory and the preferences INI file. If you only want to relocate the preferences INI file, you can store the desired file name for the INI file in "MKVTOOLNIX_GUI_CONFIG_FILE". Implements #3382.
  • MKVToolNix GUI: when adding directories via drag & drop/copy & paste the GUI will now offer the user the option to create one multiplex settings tab per directory & adding all files from that directory to the corresponding, newly created tab. Implements #3371.

Bug fixes
  • mkvmerge: AV1 OBU parser: fixed identifying files that only contain single frame. Fixes #3380.
  • MKVToolNix GUI: multiplexer: when reading color parameters from identified files that are floating point numbers (minimum/maximum luminance, projection pitch/roll/yaw) the numbers will be formatted in floating-point notation instead of scientific notation as mkvmerge only supports the former. Fixes #3368.
  • MKVToolNix GUI: multiplexer: color parameters that are floating point numbers (minimum/maximum luminance, projection pitch/roll/yaw) will only be set to a value during identification if the identification actually contains the property, and not to 0 anymore if it doesn't.

Build system changes
  • Several merge requests where accepted that improve compilation on MSYS2 on Windows. Note that this build type isn't supported.

Have fun 😁
__________________
Latest MKVToolNix is v70.0.0

If I ever ask you to upload something, please use my file server.
Mosu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th August 2022, 14:07   #1684  |  Link
Kuler087
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2021
Posts: 60
thank you !
Kuler087 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th August 2022, 08:47   #1685  |  Link
lvqcl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 254
I wonder why A/V detection is 3/15 on Windows portable and 0/15 on Windows installer. Also some antiviruses don't like hevcc_dump.exe.
lvqcl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th August 2022, 08:51   #1686  |  Link
Mosu
MKVToolNix author
 
Mosu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Braunschweig, Germany
Posts: 4,180
New EXEs that have never been seen in the wild are often the target of false positives.

I create both the 7z and the installer from the same set of compiled EXEs. I compile on Linux. There's no Windows involved in the build process at all.

So… yeah.
__________________
Latest MKVToolNix is v70.0.0

If I ever ask you to upload something, please use my file server.
Mosu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th August 2022, 17:45   #1687  |  Link
jpsdr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: France
Posts: 2,052
A build question.
When you're building for Linux (we will forget targeting Windows for now).
Will --enable-static-qt build QT (or something similar) ? If not, what will it do ?
Is --enable-static-qt mandatory for --enable-static ?
Or for --enable-static you just need to have installed the proper allready build QT package ?
__________________
My github.
jpsdr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th August 2022, 18:02   #1688  |  Link
Mosu
MKVToolNix author
 
Mosu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Braunschweig, Germany
Posts: 4,180
If you want to use a statically-linked Qt, you'll have to use "--enable-static-qt".

"--enable-static" compiles all programs as static binaries, requiring all libraries to exist as static libraries. This isn't supported. The option is only present because one user provided a merge request for it. I don't use it, I don't test it, I don't support it.
__________________
Latest MKVToolNix is v70.0.0

If I ever ask you to upload something, please use my file server.
Mosu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th August 2022, 08:42   #1689  |  Link
jpsdr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: France
Posts: 2,052
Ok, thanks.
When you're building for Linux, what are the required QT packages for --enable-static-qt ?
__________________
My github.
jpsdr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th August 2022, 08:54   #1690  |  Link
Mosu
MKVToolNix author
 
Mosu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Braunschweig, Germany
Posts: 4,180
I only use static Qt libraries for the Windows builds, via the MXE project.
__________________
Latest MKVToolNix is v70.0.0

If I ever ask you to upload something, please use my file server.
Mosu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th August 2022, 10:53   #1691  |  Link
jpsdr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: France
Posts: 2,052
I'm not talking about the Windows build via MXE.
As i've specified, when you build for Linux, what are the required QT package for --enable-static-qt ?
__________________
My github.
jpsdr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th August 2022, 11:20   #1692  |  Link
Mosu
MKVToolNix author
 
Mosu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Braunschweig, Germany
Posts: 4,180
I'm not building with static Qt libraries on Linux. That's what I meant above. I only build with static Qt libraries when I build for Windows. For that I only use MXE.
__________________
Latest MKVToolNix is v70.0.0

If I ever ask you to upload something, please use my file server.
Mosu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17th August 2022, 12:31   #1693  |  Link
jpsdr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: France
Posts: 2,052
Ah... Ok...
Sorry, i didn't understood, thanks for these informations.
__________________
My github.
jpsdr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st August 2022, 20:10   #1694  |  Link
manolito
Registered User
 
manolito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 3,028
https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.p...08#post1972708

Sorry for bringing this up again, but I think I found the issue now...

It turned out that the source files are borked, but playing the original .TS files in any player did not reveal the problem. Only after converting the source to .MKV usind MKVToolNix the audio sync was broken.

dmMediaConverter to the rescue. It reported THIS in its log:

[mpegts @ 076b04c0] Non-monotonous DTS in output stream 0:1; previous: 16190735, current: 16189009; changing to 16190736. This may result in incorrect timestamps in the output file.

The solution was to just repack the source with dmMediaConverter (everything in DirectStreamCopy mode) to another .TS file and then use this repacked source file as the input for MKVToolNix. All audio sync errors are gone...


Cheers
manolito

Last edited by manolito; 21st August 2022 at 20:17.
manolito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd August 2022, 11:49   #1695  |  Link
jpsdr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: France
Posts: 2,052
@Mosu
Assuming i want to build a Linux release, the same way you do, but from a clean fresh mkvtoolnix repo cloning.

My guess is that i have to do the following, am i correct ?

Code:
./autogen.sh  (is there parameters here ?)
./configure (what parameters are you using ?)
rake (is there parameters here ?)
__________________
My github.
jpsdr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd August 2022, 12:14   #1696  |  Link
Mosu
MKVToolNix author
 
Mosu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Braunschweig, Germany
Posts: 4,180
Highly depends on which distro I build for, if I build for development, if I try to test certain features.

For releases I build from source tarballs, not git repo checkouts, meaning that you don't have to run "autogen.sh" (that builds the "configure" script, but the source tarball already includes "configure"). "autogen.sh" doesn't need parameters.

In general I only add those parameters to "configure" that are required for it to find the required libraries if they're stored in locations "configure" doesn't search in. Ideally I don't add any parameter to "configure".

"rake" doesn't need any parameters either.
__________________
Latest MKVToolNix is v70.0.0

If I ever ask you to upload something, please use my file server.
Mosu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd August 2022, 13:05   #1697  |  Link
jpsdr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: France
Posts: 2,052
Ok, thanks.
__________________
My github.
jpsdr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th August 2022, 02:31   #1698  |  Link
Perenista
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 168
I used MKVToolnix to put a subtitle (SRT) inside a m2ts file, and noticed that as MKV the filesize decreased from 65.1 to 61.9 GB.

By comparing both MediaINFO details from them, can this reduction be explained?

m2ts (original file):

https://pastebin.com/VuBWVUn8

MKV:

https://pastebin.com/r1VSWpXu

Is the MKV still "lossless" after I used MKVtoolnix? I only added the SRT.

EDIT: I just found this explanation:

Is that it?

The CONTAINER OVERHEAD of a transport stream is much greater than the container overhead of other formats (MPG, AVI, MKV, MP4). In this way, when you remux from (m2)ts to Matroska, you will ALWAYS get a very-noticeable filesize reduction.

Last edited by Perenista; 24th August 2022 at 02:34.
Perenista is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th August 2022, 10:19   #1699  |  Link
Mosu
MKVToolNix author
 
Mosu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Braunschweig, Germany
Posts: 4,180
Yes. The MPEG (2) transport stream container has one of the highest overhead of all the usual containers. It's really noticeable.

Another possible part of the explanation are filler NALUs. Video streams might contain so-called "filler NALUs" that don't contain any data and are only present to keep the effective bitrate above a certain threshold. As those NALUs are completely superfluous wrt. decoding, they're dropped by MKVToolNix.
__________________
Latest MKVToolNix is v70.0.0

If I ever ask you to upload something, please use my file server.
Mosu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th August 2022, 20:22   #1700  |  Link
hubblec4
Matroska find' ich toll
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,268
Hi Mosu

Short question. mkvmerge writes always 8 bytes for the Segment DataSizeLength?
__________________
chapterEditor || Matroska-Playback || hSplit || DiscShare
hubblec4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
matroska

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:16.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.