Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > General > Audio encoding

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10th January 2020, 19:21   #1  |  Link
sfatula
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 30
Looking for a eac3 7.1 encoder

I don't think eac3to does this, libav doesn't seem to support it, ffmpeg does not, etc. However, I have discovered that Plex does use ffmpeg via a special external library they seem to create on the fly to transocde to eac3. I can't find eac3_eae reference anywhere but Plex, and of course no source code. I wonder where they got it?

Anyone know of a library anywhere I could use to encode to eac3 7.1?
sfatula is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd April 2020, 21:25   #2  |  Link
eca2424
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 3
Any news?
eca2424 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd April 2020, 23:26   #3  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 6,516
7.1 for what? Maybe Atmos...
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2020, 11:19   #4  |  Link
hajj_3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,055
Anyone know when patents for E-AC3 aka Dolby Digital Plus expire? I can't find anything on google, just info about regular dolby ac3. Also, I can't even find a date for when E-AC3 was even released so i can't even add 20yrs to that for a rough estimate.

Last edited by hajj_3; 3rd April 2020 at 11:30.
hajj_3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd April 2020, 15:09   #5  |  Link
amichaelt
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by hajj_3 View Post
Anyone know when patents for E-AC3 aka Dolby Digital Plus expire? I can't find anything on google, just info about regular dolby ac3. Also, I can't even find a date for when E-AC3 was even released so i can't even add 20yrs to that for a rough estimate.
If it helps, the A/52B revision of the ATSC standard that contained the eac-3 specification was published in June of 2005.
  Reply With Quote
Old 5th April 2020, 20:36   #6  |  Link
eca2424
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 3
These guys encoding 7.1 eac3. How?

[DELETED by rule 6]

Last edited by tebasuna51; 6th April 2020 at 17:06. Reason: rule 6
eca2424 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th April 2020, 00:18   #7  |  Link
Sparktank
47.952fps@71.928Hz
 
Sparktank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 942
Quote:
Originally Posted by eca2424 View Post
These guys encoding 7.1 eac3. How?
Rule 6 violation. We don't discuss pirated stuff here.
__________________
Win10 (x64) build 19041
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1060 3GB (GP106) 3071MB/GDDR5 | (r435_95-4)
NTSC | DVD: R1 | BD: A
AMD Ryzen 5 2600 @3.4GHz (6c/12th, I'm on AVX2 now!)
Sparktank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th April 2020, 08:05   #8  |  Link
l00t
Where's my loot?
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 62
The only way to do it, is to use Dolby's Media Producer Suite. It costs about $3000 grand and available for Windows and OSX.

https://www.dolby.com/us/en/professi...cer-suite.html
l00t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th April 2020, 13:08   #9  |  Link
filler56789
SuperVirus
 
filler56789's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Antarctic Japan
Posts: 1,281
Quote:
Originally Posted by l00t View Post
The only way to do it, is to use Dolby's Media Producer Suite. It costs about $3000 grand and available for Windows and OSX.

https://www.dolby.com/us/en/professi...cer-suite.html
Not the only way, apparently...

The MainConcept Dolby Digital Plus Pro SDK components support both Dolby Digital (AC-3) as well as Dolby Digital Plus (EAC-3) audio for encoding and decoding.

Encoding and decoding for different channel layouts ranging from mono, stereo, 5.1 up to 7.1 for the perfect Dolby audio experience.


https://www.mainconcept.com/eu/produ...ital-plus.html
filler56789 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th April 2020, 15:34   #10  |  Link
SeeMoreDigital
Life's clearer in 4K UHD
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Notts, UK
Posts: 12,092
And here's a link to the 'MainConcept Dolby Digital Plus Pro SDK Data Sheet' Data sheet: https://www.mainconcept.com/fileadmi..._DATASHEET.pdf
__________________
| I've been testing hardware media playback devices and software A/V encoders and decoders since 2001 | My Network Layout & A/V Gear |
SeeMoreDigital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th April 2020, 15:36   #11  |  Link
neil wilkes
Registered User
 
neil wilkes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: London, England
Posts: 168
Quote:
Originally Posted by l00t View Post
The only way to do it, is to use Dolby's Media Producer Suite. It costs about $3000 grand and available for Windows and OSX.

https://www.dolby.com/us/en/professi...cer-suite.html
Sorry to correct you, but this is Mac only.
Just like the new DTS-X encoder.
From the quoted Dolby web page:
Quote:
Dolby Media Producer Suite v.2 Hardware Requirements
Mac® Pro 5,1 or later (6,1 preferred)
Intel Xeon, Intel Core i7 or Intel Core i5 with full support of the SSE4.2 instruction set (Nehalem/Westemere and later microarchitectures)
Mac OS X® version 10.10, 10.11 or 10.12
8 GB RAM (16 GB recommended for Dolby TrueHD encoding jobs with Dolby Atmos)
PACE iLok USB smart key
For more information about iLok USB smart keys, please visit www.iLok.com.
This of course is nothing less than bloody perverse given there are NO full spec mac OS Blu-ray authoring tools in existence that can be used to create factory replicas, and far too many consoles in common use will not play or even load BD-R.
All you have these days is Scenarist BD, and that is strictly Windows 64-bit only. Sony bought up NetBlender, and promptly killed it off and it appears that their Blu-Print has gone the same way. Scenarist is the best (indeed the only) player in town still actively developing and supporting their software.

Question - why on earth would you want to even bother with 7.1 AC3? Much better to use DTS-HD Master Audio.
__________________
www.opusproductions.com
Multichannel Audio Productions
DVD-Audio/Video Authoring specialists
neil wilkes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th April 2020, 16:27   #12  |  Link
SeeMoreDigital
Life's clearer in 4K UHD
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Notts, UK
Posts: 12,092
Quote:
Originally Posted by neil wilkes View Post
Question - why on earth would you want to even bother with 7.1 AC3? Much better to use DTS-HD Master Audio.
What's so bad about having a lossy audio format that's able to support 7.1 channels (not to mention Atmos)?

By-the-way.... MainConcept's Dolby Digital Plus Pro encoder runs with Windows, Mac and Linux
__________________
| I've been testing hardware media playback devices and software A/V encoders and decoders since 2001 | My Network Layout & A/V Gear |

Last edited by SeeMoreDigital; 24th April 2020 at 16:29.
SeeMoreDigital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th April 2020, 10:46   #13  |  Link
hajj_3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,055
I think this might be the list of patents for Dolby E-AC3/Dolby Digital Plus: TS 102 366 https://www.docdroid.net/xEqhKmr/initdecl-pdf

The last U.S patent seems to be US6246345 which seems to have expired on 2019-07-08.

Last edited by hajj_3; 18th April 2020 at 10:57.
hajj_3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th April 2020, 22:18   #14  |  Link
SquallMX
Special SeeD
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Mexico
Posts: 315
Adobe Audition 2018 and below includes support for EAC3 encoding up to 7.1 1024 Kbps, but is not Blu-ray compatible.
SquallMX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th May 2020, 11:05   #15  |  Link
SeeMoreDigital
Life's clearer in 4K UHD
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Notts, UK
Posts: 12,092
As most of us have quite a bit of time on our hands at the moment, a couple of days ago I decided to find out what a 5.1 Dolby Digital Plus audio encode of Blade Runner 2049 would sound like.

Audio source: 7.1 [8-channel] Dolby TrueHD with Atmos stream
Encoding software: UsEac3To 'A/V Recode' option using ffmpeg manually set to 'E1536' (Kbps)
Muxer: MKVToolNixGUI
Playback device: OPPO UDP-203

My audio surround system is essentially for listening to music (I don't have an Atmos). All my speakers offer full frequency range, so they're all able to produce bass!

Anyway... I can confirm that the 5.1 Dolby Digital Plus encodes sounds extremely good, there's plenty of bass and dynamic range. Indeed, there's very little difference between the 7.1 TrueHD source.

Now I'm wondering what a 7.1 Dolby Digital Plus encode from the same source would sound like!
__________________
| I've been testing hardware media playback devices and software A/V encoders and decoders since 2001 | My Network Layout & A/V Gear |
SeeMoreDigital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd September 2020, 15:02   #16  |  Link
NiN3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Location: EU
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by SquallMX View Post
Adobe Audition 2018 and below includes support for EAC3 encoding up to 7.1 1024 Kbps, but is not Blu-ray compatible.
What's the difference between Bluray compatible or not? Both have legacy 5.1 stream inside as far as I am concerned.

Last edited by NiN3; 22nd September 2020 at 15:14.
NiN3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd September 2020, 15:34   #17  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 10,251
Quote:
Originally Posted by NiN3 View Post
What's the difference between Bluray compatible or not? Both have legacy 5.1 stream inside as far as I am concerned.
Blu-ray EAC3 7.1 is literally 5.1 AC3 + 4 channel EAC3 which replaces the side channel and adds rear channel.

Streaming EAC3 7.1 from eg. Netflix is pure 7.1 EAC3, no weird composition, no AC3 legacy stream on the inside.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd September 2020, 15:59   #18  |  Link
NiN3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Location: EU
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by nevcairiel View Post
Blu-ray EAC3 7.1 is literally 5.1 AC3 + 4 channel EAC3 which replaces the side channel and adds rear channel.

Streaming EAC3 7.1 from eg. Netflix is pure 7.1 EAC3, no weird composition, no AC3 legacy stream on the inside.
I see, thanks.

What happens when you play a EAC3 track on a system that only supports AC3? According to wikipedia and some explanations on Dolby's website, EAC3 is backwards compatible so it supposedly converts it bit perfectly to AC3.

Last edited by NiN3; 22nd September 2020 at 17:35.
NiN3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd September 2020, 21:53   #19  |  Link
SeeMoreDigital
Life's clearer in 4K UHD
 
SeeMoreDigital's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Notts, UK
Posts: 12,092
Quote:
Originally Posted by NiN3 View Post
I see, thanks.

What happens when you play a EAC3 track on a system that only supports AC3?
Well... If the EAC3 audio stream contains an AC3 core, the playback device should, in theory, be able to play the AC3 core...
__________________
| I've been testing hardware media playback devices and software A/V encoders and decoders since 2001 | My Network Layout & A/V Gear |
SeeMoreDigital is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd February 2022, 22:39   #20  |  Link
FuzzyNutz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Canada
Posts: 131
Adobe Audition 2017 Can Do It!

Quote:
Originally Posted by SquallMX View Post
Adobe Audition 2018 and below includes support for EAC3 encoding up to 7.1 1024 Kbps, but is not Blu-ray compatible.
AC3/EAC3 encoders are not present in the 2018 version of Adobe Audition. They're in the 2017 version. Apparently, getting the 2017 version from Adobe, at present, will yield a version that has had the Dolby encoders removed. Thus, acquiring an existing version of Adobe Audition 2017, or possibly earlier, may be necessary.
The 2017 version can encode 7.1 EAC3 up to 1024. It can also enable the surround EX flag for AC3 and EAC3. Audition's Dolby encoding is accessible via File -> Export -> File, after double-clicking the loaded source file. The plethora of studio-level configuration options suggests Audition's AC3/EAC3 encoders are the no-compromise, professional version(s).
Lossless sources in TrueHD and dts-HD formats won't load into Audition, but .w64 and FLAC versions, created with eac3to or similar, will.
Audition outputs EAC3 files with .ec3 extensions. Though the .ec3 will need to be changed to .eac3 to be recognized by some software, MKVToolNix correctly outputs EAC3 tracks from .ec3 or eac3. Matroska files containing EAC3, including 7.1, created with Audition, are playable with VLC, MPC-HC, KODI, Microsoft Movies & TV and Windows Media Player. -My playback tests were done on various Windows 10 PCs outputting in 2-channel stereo via HDMI and DisplayPort.

Last edited by FuzzyNutz; 5th February 2022 at 21:09.
FuzzyNutz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
eac3

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 18:15.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.