Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10th September 2023, 13:43   #3081  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 10,329
I don't use HDMI 2.0, not limiting myself to that when I can use 4k 120Hz 10-bit over HDMI 2.1. Its clearly an issue with HDMI 2.0 only, which wasn't clear at all when the discussion started.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders

Last edited by nevcairiel; 10th September 2023 at 13:46.
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th September 2023, 13:58   #3082  |  Link
Manni
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 919
Quote:
Originally Posted by nevcairiel View Post
I don't use HDMI 2.0, not limiting myself to that when I can use 4k 120Hz 10-bit over HDMI 2.1. Its clearly an issue with HDMI 2.0 only, which wasn't clear at all when the discussion started.
Yes, though some of us have reasons to stick to HDMI 2.0 when competitive FPS gaming isn't the primary use of a HTPC

As long as I get 10/12bits with 24p content, I'm happy to use the computational power and limit the frame rate to 24p 12bits / 60p 8bits, which fits fine into the HDMI 2.0 bandwidth.

As I said, in my case the HDMI 2.1 input can't be routed to the HDMI Zone 2, which is where my Sony HDMI headphones are located. Hence why I moved the HTPC (for now) to a HDMI 2.0 input.

Also some of use still have a HDMI 2.0 AVR, it doesn't mean they should be able to take advantage of a recent GPU.

This needs to be reported to nVidia now that we know what the factors are:
4K24p 10/12bits RGB through HDMI 2.0 chain including an AVR gives black screen from 535.x

I've ordered a 4070 to resolve another issue, I'll report back if the issue is the same with a 4xxx card.

Does anyone use a 4xxx card and get the same issue?

Please everyone with the issue report to nVidia so that this can get solved (please see link in post below).
__________________
Win11 Pro x64 b23H2
Ryzen 5950X@4.5Ghz 32Gb@3600 Zotac 3090 24Gb
madVR/LAV/jRiver/MyMovies/CMC
Denon X8500HA>HD Fury VRRoom>JVC RS3100

Last edited by Manni; 10th September 2023 at 14:42.
Manni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th September 2023, 14:10   #3083  |  Link
Manni
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 919
Bug report posted here: https://www.nvidia.com/en-us/geforce...pere-using-hd/

Please post in that thread with your hardware details to make it clear I'm not the only one experiencing this (though I linked to this thread for reference).
__________________
Win11 Pro x64 b23H2
Ryzen 5950X@4.5Ghz 32Gb@3600 Zotac 3090 24Gb
madVR/LAV/jRiver/MyMovies/CMC
Denon X8500HA>HD Fury VRRoom>JVC RS3100

Last edited by Manni; 10th September 2023 at 14:43.
Manni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11th September 2023, 15:13   #3084  |  Link
SirMaster
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 226
Some people I know (including myself) simply use 2 outputs from an HTPC. A dedicated HDMI output directly to their display for video, and a secondary HDMI output (this can be a DP-to-HDMI adapter) to their AVR for audio.

Then we can get the latest video signal support on our displays without needing to worry about the AVR video support.
SirMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th September 2023, 00:07   #3085  |  Link
Manni
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 919
Quote:
Originally Posted by SirMaster View Post
Some people I know (including myself) simply use 2 outputs from an HTPC. A dedicated HDMI output directly to their display for video, and a secondary HDMI output (this can be a DP-to-HDMI adapter) to their AVR for audio.

Then we can get the latest video signal support on our displays without needing to worry about the AVR video support.
Thanks for the suggestion, but when you do this you lose the AVR OSD, which I use all the time (especially with immersive audio). That's a compromise too far for me.

I've decided to go back to using the HDMI 2.1 input of the X8500HA for the GPU. The main downside is that I only have LPCM 2.0 sound when using my Sony HDMI Headphones, as I have to use the HDMI Audio Out (TV) of the AVR, which is sadly limited to stereo. The plus side is that I get 4K120 10bits for gaming and 4K60 10bits for video, and of course no HDMI 2.0 bug at 4K24 with the latest drivers. I don't use the headphones very often with the HTPC, so stereo will have to do.

Better than having to wait for nVidia for a fix that might never come, given that it's not a very common issue.

Looks like even the A1H has this limitation to LPCM 2.0 on the HDMI Audio Out (TV) and that the HDMI Zone 2 is also limited to 18Gb/s. Hard to believe for a 2023 model. I'm glad I skipped that "upgrade"...
__________________
Win11 Pro x64 b23H2
Ryzen 5950X@4.5Ghz 32Gb@3600 Zotac 3090 24Gb
madVR/LAV/jRiver/MyMovies/CMC
Denon X8500HA>HD Fury VRRoom>JVC RS3100
Manni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th September 2023, 02:37   #3086  |  Link
Manni
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 919
I've actually resolved this with a HD Fury VRROOM

I inserted the VRROOM between the GPU and the AVR on the 8K (HDMI 2.1) input. The PC sends up to 4K120 10bits RGB with Atmos and the VRROOM simply passes it through to the AVR, but it also extracts the full Audio directly to the Sony HDMI Headphones (along with dummy 1080p60 or 720p60 video for HDMI 1.4 compatibility, as that's the limitation of the Sony HDMI Headphones).

I now get Full HD Audio bitstream up to 7.1 (it works fine when the PC sends Atmos or DTS/X, I guess it just ignores the metadata and processes the core). I get 7.1 bitstreamed, matrixed to Neo:X (or Dolby PLIIz). I don't have to use HDMI Zone 2 or HDMI Audio Out (TV) in the AVR, so no compromise when using the HDMI headphones for picture or sound.

It shouldn't be so complicated, but I'm glad this is fully resolved for me now. I hope nVidia will resolve the HDMI 2.0 bug, but I wouldn't bet on it.
__________________
Win11 Pro x64 b23H2
Ryzen 5950X@4.5Ghz 32Gb@3600 Zotac 3090 24Gb
madVR/LAV/jRiver/MyMovies/CMC
Denon X8500HA>HD Fury VRRoom>JVC RS3100

Last edited by Manni; 13th September 2023 at 23:57.
Manni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th September 2023, 03:15   #3087  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 5,334
That's how mine is set up as well. My avr is hdmi 2.0 and non earc. So it gets audio from the vrroom and video is sent to the g2 from the vrroom. Audio is muted by the vrroom to the display.

Sent from my SM-G998U1 using Tapatalk
__________________
HTPC: Windows 11, AMD 5900X, RTX 3080, Pioneer Elite VSX-LX303, LG G2 77" OLED
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd September 2023, 11:05   #3088  |  Link
Klaus1189
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Bavaria
Posts: 1,654
Anybody tested 537.42 for AVR with HDMI 2.0 issue?
Klaus1189 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd September 2023, 14:44   #3089  |  Link
Manni
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 919
The 4070 didn't resolve the Atmos drop outs issures I had with the 3090, so the 4070 was sent back and I went back to my 1080ti for use in the HTPC. It's annoying but I'm mostly using it as a HTPC, more rarely with gaming and almost never with video editing anymore, so it's not too bad. The 3090 is now in the E-GPU connected to my Dell XPS 17 (with a discrete 3060 as well), which is what I use for video editing now.

As a result, the 1080ti HTPC uses a HDMI 2.0 input and the 3090 in the EGPU uses the HDMI 2.1 input in the AVR, so that HDMI 2.0 bug is resolved for me and I can't test for it anymore. I don't need the VRROOM for the HTPC source anymore to get sound to my Sony HDMI Headphones, which is nice. I can just use Zone 2, like any other HDMI 2.0 source.

If anyone doesn't have any Atmos drop outs when bitstreaming with a 3xxx or 4xxx, I'd like to know all their settings (lav version and settings, nvidia drivers and settings, OS and settings).
It sometimes goes away for a while when I change something, but it always came back with the 3090/4070, while all is always fine with the 1080i. I assume a 2xxx would be safe too, as this Atmos dropouts nightmare when bitstreaming started with Ampere.

The best I was able to get with the 3090/4090 was one Atmos drop out after 30 to 60 minutes of film, but it's often more than that. Not usable on a HTPC. I guess it's a non issue if you don't bitstream or if you don't go through an AVR, but if you do it's a real pain.
__________________
Win11 Pro x64 b23H2
Ryzen 5950X@4.5Ghz 32Gb@3600 Zotac 3090 24Gb
madVR/LAV/jRiver/MyMovies/CMC
Denon X8500HA>HD Fury VRRoom>JVC RS3100

Last edited by Manni; 22nd September 2023 at 15:41.
Manni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd September 2023, 18:15   #3090  |  Link
Klaus1189
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Bavaria
Posts: 1,654
Nev fixed in latest nightly an Atmos issue.
https://github.com/Nevcairiel/LAVFilters/commits/master
https://github.com/Nevcairiel/LAVFil...396229be1a477b
Did you use this version or an older one? Perhaps this version fixes it for you on 30/40 series?
Klaus1189 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd September 2023, 20:00   #3091  |  Link
Manni
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 919
Thanks, I use whatever version is included in jRiver (and the latest stable for other software such as MPC-BE etc). I'll give it a try when I have a moment, if anyone with a 30xx confirms that they can bitstream Atmos and not get any dropouts, and what their settings are. I've spent weeks on this, I'm not keen to swap the GPUs again...
Right now I don't know if anyone is actually able to bitstream Atmos through am AVR with a 30xx without issues.
__________________
Win11 Pro x64 b23H2
Ryzen 5950X@4.5Ghz 32Gb@3600 Zotac 3090 24Gb
madVR/LAV/jRiver/MyMovies/CMC
Denon X8500HA>HD Fury VRRoom>JVC RS3100
Manni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd September 2023, 21:08   #3092  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 5,334
Even with the latest LAV I still get dropouts. It's better, don't get me wrong, but, my 3080 still has issues. Hell, I get dropouts in DTS-HD MA from time to time so who knows. ATMOS is worse, but Nev's fix did improve things.
__________________
HTPC: Windows 11, AMD 5900X, RTX 3080, Pioneer Elite VSX-LX303, LG G2 77" OLED
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd September 2023, 22:15   #3093  |  Link
Manni
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 919
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamuriHL View Post
Even with the latest LAV I still get dropouts. It's better, don't get me wrong, but, my 3080 still has issues. Hell, I get dropouts in DTS-HD MA from time to time so who knows. ATMOS is worse, but Nev's fix did improve things.
Thanks for the confirmation. Good to know itís improved and might be fixable, but improved isnít good enough. I have zero tolerance for drop outs when I watch a film, so for now itís the 1080ti.
__________________
Win11 Pro x64 b23H2
Ryzen 5950X@4.5Ghz 32Gb@3600 Zotac 3090 24Gb
madVR/LAV/jRiver/MyMovies/CMC
Denon X8500HA>HD Fury VRRoom>JVC RS3100
Manni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd September 2023, 22:17   #3094  |  Link
pirlouy
_
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: France
Posts: 678
Excuse ma curiosity. Dolby Atmos and DTS-HD MA are decoded by apps now ? Is there a reason to use bitstream ?
pirlouy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd September 2023, 01:55   #3095  |  Link
SamuriHL
Registered User
 
SamuriHL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 5,334
Decoding doesn't give you the DTS:X or ATMOS metadata. So, no to that. We need bistreaming.
__________________
HTPC: Windows 11, AMD 5900X, RTX 3080, Pioneer Elite VSX-LX303, LG G2 77" OLED
SamuriHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd September 2023, 05:29   #3096  |  Link
Klaus1189
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Bavaria
Posts: 1,654
Have you guys tried internal filters of MPC-BE?
Klaus1189 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd September 2023, 05:45   #3097  |  Link
QBhd
QB the Slayer
 
QBhd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Toronto
Posts: 697
Quote:
Originally Posted by Klaus1189 View Post
Have you guys tried internal filters of MPC-BE?
I don't have a horse in this race, but isn't Atmos like Vision... the end device needs to have the meta data, so nothing on a PC will be able to decode it. It needs to be passed through. In the case of Dolby Vision, you need to play the video on the TV since nothing can do "pass through", at least audio has bitstreaming to passthrough the needed info.

QB
__________________
QBhd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd September 2023, 05:49   #3098  |  Link
Klaus1189
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Bavaria
Posts: 1,654
Something wrong is happening when bitstreaming atmos from pc. Perhaps another approach helps.
Klaus1189 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd September 2023, 12:02   #3099  |  Link
Manni
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 919
Quote:
Originally Posted by SamuriHL View Post
Decoding doesn't give you the DTS:X or ATMOS metadata. So, no to that. We need bistreaming.
Exactly. No bitstreaming, no immersive sound (Atmos, DTS:X, Auro 3D).

Quote:
Originally Posted by Klaus1189 View Post
Have you guys tried internal filters of MPC-BE?
I don't think there are internal filters in MPC-BE (as long as you mean LAV filters), I think it's MPC-HC that has an internal version of LAV.

When I did initial testing, I only had issues with jRiver, not with MPC-BE, but it might be because I didn't play a full film. Sometimes, you get an Atmos drop out within 10 minutes, sometimes you need to wait around an hour to get one. So at the beginning, I ruled out a few things wrongly simply because the drop outs I had in John Wick 3 (at least 2 or 3 at the same places within the first 30 minutes) went away.

I even had at some point no Atmos drop outs with the 3090 when watching a few of the Lord of the Rings trilogy, so I really thought it was fixed. And then it came back.

You can follow the whole saga of my testing, what I tried and my various false hopes here: https://yabb.jriver.com/interact/ind...,136525.0.html

This makes it really difficult to test, because you'd have to watch at least 4-5 films with each setting to be able to make a positive conclusion.

I spent a few weeks trying to resolve this, I'm not putting the 3090 in the HTPC again without confirmation from someone that they have no Atmos drop outs CONSISTENTLY, and provide their settings with a 3xxx GPU.

If I have some time at some point, I might try the 3090 in the E-GPU with Atmos bitstreamig as it's also wired in the AVR (on the HDMI 2.1 input), but that's not a standard configuration (there is lot more latency with the E-GPU for example) so it might be better or worse than when used in the HTPC.

Very curious to hear from any 3xxx user without any Atmos drop out when bitstreaming through an HDMI 2.1 AVR. No one came forward, so I assume that no one has succeeded.
__________________
Win11 Pro x64 b23H2
Ryzen 5950X@4.5Ghz 32Gb@3600 Zotac 3090 24Gb
madVR/LAV/jRiver/MyMovies/CMC
Denon X8500HA>HD Fury VRRoom>JVC RS3100

Last edited by Manni; 23rd September 2023 at 12:14.
Manni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23rd September 2023, 14:55   #3100  |  Link
Klaus1189
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Bavaria
Posts: 1,654
Yeah, because MPC-HC has integrated LAV Filters, it is pointless to test it. MPC-BE has internal filters capable of bitstreaming. This one can be tested.
Klaus1189 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 18:22.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.