Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion. Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules. |
4th April 2022, 08:12 | #61 | Link | |
Registered User
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 4,022
|
Quote:
Next step could be check the chroma (U,V). This is normally no problem as the chroma (U,V) is usually well within the legal 16 .... 240 range. However it is possible that some YUV triplets - although all valid within the range - lead to out-of-gamut RGB (usually clipped, rarely folded-over R,G,B) when converted to RGB for viewing on a monitor. It materializes as loss of details for example, and (slight) color distortions which can however be corrected in post processing if need be - unless the capture is totally off the kilter. Last but not least color tweaks are also a matter of personal preference which is not always in line with 'technical correctness'. Last edited by Sharc; 4th April 2022 at 09:32. |
|
4th April 2022, 08:55 | #62 | Link | ||
Registered User
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 4,022
|
Quote:
I don't believe that the device "proc-amp" does anything with the USB-live2 on its analog side of the video (the original meaning of proc-amp). It's all done after A/D conversion in the digital domain as I understand it. So I don't see a real difference between the "proc-amp" settings and post correction tweaks as long as the Hauppauge's A/D converter does not clip due to an excessive input signal level. If so (unlikely), one would probably have to use an external attenuator before the signal is fed into the Hauppauge USB-live2. Maybe there are different opinions on that .... Quote:
Last edited by Sharc; 4th April 2022 at 09:33. |
||
5th April 2022, 00:05 | #63 | Link | |
Registered User
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,657
|
Quote:
The image looks so saturated, but vectorscope was showing all color within legal range. The red channel was blowing up in the RGB parade in Davinci Resolve, but surprisingly it didn't clip and was recoverable with decreasing "color boost" or "saturation" parameter. |
|
5th April 2022, 08:37 | #64 | Link | |
Registered User
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 4,022
|
Quote:
I don't know how DaVinci Resolve deals with it, but I would suggest to legalize the colors in Avisynth before taking the clip to an NLE, and only then do the fine color tweaks in the NLE in RGB color space. My point is as soon as the capture gets converted to RGB (e.g. by the NLE) the damage is already done, hence the first correction should be done in the YUV color space. But as I said, I don't know how DaVinci Resolve handles this, and the Gamut legalization step in Avisynth may not be required. Also, I think the black level is high, e.g. the black background of the intro. Here a proposal which 'legalizes' the colors and shifts the black level down: Code:
SmoothTweak(contrast=0.95,saturation=0.7,HQ=true,TVrange=True, Limiter=False) mergechroma(SmoothLevels(input_low=16,gamma=1.0,input_high=235,output_low=8,output_high=235,HQ=true,TVrange=True,Limiter=0),last) #black level adjusted with chroma copyback And b.t.w. the chroma really deserves some sharpening (not included in the script above). Last edited by Sharc; 5th April 2022 at 10:17. |
|
5th April 2022, 21:16 | #65 | Link |
Registered User
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,657
|
The black level looks fine on the rgb parade
I compared the RGB Parade on both the NTSC_M and NTSC_M_J captures. The blown up red in NTSC_M_J was recoverable while the other one was permanently clipped. NTSC_M_J before and after decreasing "color boost" NTSC_M Why? |
5th April 2022, 22:26 | #66 | Link |
Registered User
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 4,022
|
Did you capture lossless in YUV or RGB? The sample you posted was AVC reencoded, so that was YUV (YV12) but this doesn't tell how it was captured. If your capture (the .avi) got converted from YUV (S-Video) to RGB it is possible that you got out-of-gamut values which are irrecoverably lost.
The NTSC_M_J after decreasing "color boost" looks fine to me. No clipping, that's essential. I don't use DaVinci but it looks like "color boost" tweaks the contrast and saturation (in avisynth terminology), very similar to what I suggested with my script. You can judge yourself whether the black background of the intro is "black enough" or still a bit grayish. Can you sharpen the chroma in DaVinci? The edges would look sharper with less color smear. Last edited by Sharc; 8th April 2022 at 10:38. |
5th April 2022, 23:04 | #67 | Link |
Registered User
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,657
|
Color boost in Davinci Resolve is a saturation/saturation curve that affects more on higher saturation while not really touching the lower one.
My original capture is in Lagarith lossless. I converted to x264 because Resolve couldn't open it. The thing I don't understand is why was the red in the NTSC_M_J version not clipped like the NTSC_M. How do I sharpen the chroma? |
5th April 2022, 23:11 | #68 | Link |
Registered User
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 4,022
|
You could also capture in YUV (YUY2) 4:2:2 rather than RGB and significantly reduce the file size (but keep an eye on potential Gamut violations).
No idea why the NTSC_M messes with the red channel. (Is it really the same frames which you compare? or did you capture to a different color space?) Chroma sharpening in Avisynth for example: Code:
MergeChroma(last,Spline36Resize(last,width(last)/8*4, height(last)).aWarpSharp2(depth=20).Sharpen(0.4,0.4).nnedi3_rpow2(2, cshift="Spline36Resize", fwidth=width(last), fheight=height(last))) ChromaShiftSP(x=0.0,Y=1.0) #adjust for best luma/chroma fit Last edited by Sharc; 6th April 2022 at 09:35. Reason: Added ChromaShift in the script |
6th April 2022, 04:35 | #69 | Link |
Registered User
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,657
|
Oddly I couldn't reproduce the clipping anymore on my new test captures. The blown up red on both NTSC_M and NTSC_M_J versions are recoverable now. So it seems like color adjustment can be done after the conversion without problem.
Switching RGB mode in Lagarith setting to YUY2 mode makes no difference in file size. Another thing I found is that if I load in my original capture Lagarith file and run ConvertToYV12(), the default "interlaced=false" parameter will cause chroma ghosting. Code:
AVISource("source.avi") ConvertToYV12(interlaced=false) tfm() tdecimate() |
6th April 2022, 07:56 | #70 | Link | ||
Registered User
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 4,022
|
Quote:
Quote:
(P.S. I just noticed that your uploaded telecined sample (x264 encoded YV12) has been encoded as progressive. It should have been encoded as interlaced, I think.) Last edited by Sharc; 6th April 2022 at 14:39. |
||
6th April 2022, 17:22 | #72 | Link | |
Registered User
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,657
|
Quote:
Code:
ConvertToYUV422(interlaced=false) tfm() TDecimate() |
|
6th April 2022, 22:40 | #73 | Link | |
Registered User
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 4,022
|
Quote:
Add santiag() or vinverse() after TDecimate if you see residual combing. Last edited by Sharc; 6th April 2022 at 22:57. |
|
7th April 2022, 00:14 | #74 | Link | |
Registered User
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1,657
|
Quote:
|
|
7th April 2022, 10:47 | #75 | Link | |
Registered User
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 4,022
|
Quote:
https://www.mediafire.com/file/xd12x...sing3.mp4/file P.S. For capturing one should normally switch NR (noise reduction filters) off (VCR, DVD-recorder passthrough device), as these filters may cause ghosting. It is usually better to make the noise reduction in post processing. Last edited by Sharc; 7th April 2022 at 15:25. |
|
7th April 2022, 22:53 | #77 | Link |
Registered User
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 4,022
|
The pixel format of your uploaded .avi is yuv422p means 4:2:2 subsampled. ConverttoYV12 halves the vertical chroma resolution (4:2:0). Interlace=false may however apply because the underlying video is telecined rather than true interlaced, i.e. there is no motion between fields.
Last edited by Sharc; 12th April 2022 at 07:39. |
13th July 2022, 13:20 | #79 | Link |
Registered User
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 4,022
|
I don't know NeatVideo filters, but usually one would deinterlace before noise filtering. Few noise filters do have an "interlace-aware" setting though which typically means that they filter even and odd fields separately and then reinterlace.
Spatial and temporal filters also behave differently. When in doubt I would just deinterlace first. |
Tags |
capture card, vhs capture |
Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
Display Modes | |
|
|