Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > VP9 and AV1

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 18th February 2018, 15:09   #1041  |  Link
mzso
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 930
Quote:
Originally Posted by Selur View Post
@mzso: have you tried a higher '--cpu-used' value? (using higher values fives me more cpu usage, ~70%+ on R7 1800X with 1080p content, but still freaking slow encoding speeds)
Doesn't help. Though all cores are utulised. Per core utilization is very poor. Some cores go up to 30+% average. Some are around 15%
mzso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2018, 15:12   #1042  |  Link
Selur
Registered User
 
Selur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 7,277
Here's the command line I used:
Code:
ffmpeg -y -loglevel fatal -threads 8 -r 24000/1001 -analyzeduration 200M -probesize 200M -i "H:\00005.m2ts" -map 0:0 -an -sn  -vsync 0 -strict -1 -pix_fmt yuv422p10le  -f yuv4mpegpipe - | vpxenc --codec=vp9 --row-mt=1 --passes=1 --pass=1 --end-usage=cq --cq-level=18 --target-bitrate=15000 --profile=3 --good --cpu-used=2 --min-q=0 --max-q=63 --undershoot-pct=0 --buf-sz=6 --buf-initial-sz=4 --buf-optimal-sz=5 --drop-frame=0 --resize-allowed=0 --kf-min-dist=0 --kf-max-dist=250 --auto-alt-ref=0 --noise-sensitivity=0 --sharpness=0 --static-thresh=0 --tile-columns=2 --tile-rows=1 --min-gf-interval=0 --max-gf-interval=0 --threads=32 --width=1920 --height=1080 --i422 --color-space=unknown --input-bit-depth=10 --bit-depth=10 -o "H:\Temp\15_10_58_7610_01.vp9" -
Cu Selur
__________________
Hybrid here in the forum, homepage
Selur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2018, 16:03   #1043  |  Link
mzso
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 930
Quote:
Originally Posted by Selur View Post
Here's the command line I used:
Cu Selur
Unless you point out something relevant this is just a lot of noise to me.

I use something like this.
Code:
ffmpeg -i <input> -acodec libopus -b:a 260k -g 30 -vcodec libvpx-vp9 -b:v 0 -threads 12 -tile-columns 4 -cpu-used 1 -crf 30 out.webm
Increasing cpu-used did nothing.
mzso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2018, 16:07   #1044  |  Link
Selur
Registered User
 
Selur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 7,277
Seeing the settings you use, enabling row-mt might help.
__________________
Hybrid here in the forum, homepage
Selur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2018, 16:37   #1045  |  Link
Jamaika
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 703
I see the wrong approach. The test should be performed on the itself VPX to eliminate accidental ffmpeg errors. Input y4m.
Support speedup in sse4 has been added for the VP8 codec.
Jamaika is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2018, 17:36   #1046  |  Link
mzso
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 930
Quote:
Originally Posted by Selur View Post
Seeing the settings you use, enabling row-mt might help.
It helps a bit when cpu-used is 1 (not when it's 8). So I guess it makes higher quality encodings a little faster.

Let's hope that AOM will be more readily multi-processing optimized.

Last edited by mzso; 18th February 2018 at 17:40.
mzso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2018, 17:41   #1047  |  Link
Selur
Registered User
 
Selur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 7,277
I would go for 1 or 2 (https://www.webmproject.org/docs/encoder-parameters/) not more,..
__________________
Hybrid here in the forum, homepage
Selur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2018, 19:17   #1048  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 6,779
For AOM, a range of 5..8 was recommended to me to speed up remarkably. But VPx may either not support such levels, or it may decrease the quality too much...
__________________

New German Gleitz board
MediaFire: x264 | x265 | VPx | AOM | Xvid
LigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2018, 19:27   #1049  |  Link
Selur
Registered User
 
Selur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 7,277
vpxenc nowadays supports:
Code:
--cpu-used=<arg>           	CPU Used (-16..16)
but from my experience with older vpxenc versions I would normally stick to 1-3 not more.
__________________
Hybrid here in the forum, homepage
Selur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2018, 20:08   #1050  |  Link
mzso
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 930
Does -tile-columns and -tile-rows serve any purpose, when using -row-mt?
I don't see any difference in encoding speed and cpu utilization.
mzso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2018, 20:13   #1051  |  Link
Selur
Registered User
 
Selur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 7,277
iirc they mainly determine how well threading is possible during decoding and row-mt was responsible for threading during encoding,..
__________________
Hybrid here in the forum, homepage
Selur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2018, 09:08   #1052  |  Link
Mawazi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by mzso View Post
Does -tile-columns and -tile-rows serve any purpose, when using -row-mt?
I don't see any difference in encoding speed and cpu utilization.
I experienced a decent boost in encoding speed with --row-mt=1, --tile-columns=6, and --threads=16. This is with a 4-core, 8-hyperthreads Intel. As far as I know, --tile-rows doesn't do much, as VP9's multithreaded encoding is column based.
Mawazi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2018, 09:32   #1053  |  Link
mzso
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 930
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mawazi View Post
I experienced a decent boost in encoding speed with --row-mt=1, --tile-columns=6, and --threads=16. This is with a 4-core, 8-hyperthreads Intel. As far as I know, --tile-rows doesn't do much, as VP9's multithreaded encoding is column based.
How about if you drop tile-columns? It made no difference to me. Row-mt gave the cpu utilization boost.
mzso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22nd February 2018, 15:45   #1054  |  Link
mzso
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 930
Is it normal for stuff that fades in to look this crappy, or is something going wrong on my end?
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1x3...goGBj1CRbFJ_JH

(It sucks with AVC too BTW: https://drive.google.com/open?id=1n-..._dj3P98PPCJ7R4)
mzso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24th February 2018, 20:04   #1055  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 6,779
New upload: VPx v1.7.0-120-g167594414
__________________

New German Gleitz board
MediaFire: x264 | x265 | VPx | AOM | Xvid
LigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th February 2018, 09:17   #1056  |  Link
Mawazi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by mzso View Post
How about if you drop tile-columns? It made no difference to me. Row-mt gave the cpu utilization boost.
My initial testing with a number of permutations lead me to the numbers that I use, though I don't know (and can't find any documentation for) the default number for tile-columns once row-mt is activated. I assume it's at least two or you wouldn't see any difference at all.
Mawazi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th February 2018, 09:22   #1057  |  Link
Mawazi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 20
Is there a way to add color-range (limited/tv vs full/pc) to vp9 encodes using vpxenc? I require pc range for an encode I'm doing. I know this is possible using ffmpeg, but I'm unsure if color-range is a part of the vp9 bitstream or just part of the container, or both I suppose, and without compiling my own ffmpeg there is no row-mt or tune film options in the binaries of ffmpeg I can track down, so I'd like to use vpxenc.
Mawazi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th February 2018, 10:07   #1058  |  Link
mzso
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 930
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mawazi View Post
Is there a way to add color-range (limited/tv vs full/pc) to vp9 encodes using vpxenc? I require pc range for an encode I'm doing. I know this is possible using ffmpeg, but I'm unsure if color-range is a part of the vp9 bitstream or just part of the container, or both I suppose,
You mean color range metadata? You can't "add" color range itself.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mawazi View Post
and without compiling my own ffmpeg there is no row-mt or tune film options in the binaries of ffmpeg I can track down, so I'd like to use vpxenc.
This isn't true. Plain old zeronae builds have row-mt, just used it a few days ago.
Also there's a "-tune-content film" option.

Last edited by mzso; 26th February 2018 at 10:20.
mzso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26th February 2018, 10:26   #1059  |  Link
mzso
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 930
By the way. I tested lossless encoding with vp9, but it had some 36% higher filesize (570MB vs 420MB) than a lossless encode with libx264.

Is VP9 this poorly suited to lossless encoding, or have something likely gone awry?

Last edited by mzso; 26th February 2018 at 22:21.
mzso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th March 2018, 20:21   #1060  |  Link
LigH
German doom9/Gleitz SuMo
 
LigH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany, rural Altmark
Posts: 6,779
VPx v1.7.0-177-g2640f2507
__________________

New German Gleitz board
MediaFire: x264 | x265 | VPx | AOM | Xvid
LigH is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
google, ngov, vp8, vp9, vpx, webm

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:56.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.