Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 Encoder GUIs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12th February 2007, 15:56   #121  |  Link
Eretria-chan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,053
Latest release can encode to F:\ with both MP4 & MKV. Select output dir dialog is still not english, though.
Eretria-chan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th February 2007, 16:31   #122  |  Link
Sirber
retired developer
 
Sirber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 8,978
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eretria-chan View Post
Latest release can encode to F:\ with both MP4 & MKV.
Good

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eretria-chan View Post
Select output dir dialog is still not english, though.
Maybe Sharktooth can fix that one like the other one, I have no clue on how he did.
__________________
Detritus Software
Sirber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th February 2007, 00:12   #123  |  Link
Sirber
retired developer
 
Sirber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 8,978
I talked with Sharktooth. As soon as we get DVD input and bencos.ini, he'll compile and post linux bins.
__________________
Detritus Software
Sirber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th February 2007, 14:27   #124  |  Link
Sharktooth
Mr. Sandman
 
Sharktooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Haddonfield, IL
Posts: 11,768
I'm cursed... my NEW hard drive is ugly clicking... and the PC crashes and reboots continuously...
Time to get a new one...
It's like the 7th hard drive (even of different brands) with the same problem in less than 3 years.
I think there's some sort of huge electromagnetic filed or something that's killing my HDDs. Tried even different PSUs...
Luckily there are linux livecd/dvds...
Sharktooth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th February 2007, 21:13   #125  |  Link
celtic_druid
Registered User
 
celtic_druid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 2,171
You could use 2.5" drives. That way you get a 5 year warranty. SATA ones use a regular SATA connection to. Only ~120GB's though.
celtic_druid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th February 2007, 21:39   #126  |  Link
Sharktooth
Mr. Sandman
 
Sharktooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Haddonfield, IL
Posts: 11,768
Well, the drive is still covered by guarantee. However, as usual, it's difficult to recover data...
Last time i had some success with HDD Regenerator... but this time it's taking 2 days for 3Gb (247Gb left...)
Also im very lazy and my winxp installation is ubercustomized, so ill have a heart attack if i just think ill have to reinstall the OS...
So, i think i will stick completely with linux until i can recover most of the data.

Last edited by Sharktooth; 13th February 2007 at 21:44.
Sharktooth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th February 2007, 21:47   #127  |  Link
Eretria-chan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,053
It's a crying shame. I do hope it works out well.
Eretria-chan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th February 2007, 22:11   #128  |  Link
Sirber
retired developer
 
Sirber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 8,978
@Shark

The good side of that, linux build of Bencos will have more support
__________________
Detritus Software
Sirber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th February 2007, 22:29   #129  |  Link
Eretria-chan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,053
Bug / Not implememted: When selecting multiple files in list and selecting remove from the menu, only the last selected files is removed.

Successfully encoded 6 files so far. Haven't checked them yet, though.
I'd like to see Bencos save its settings and encoding list soon, if possible and if you have time... as well as RA's Award-Winning Intelligent Encoding(TM) (Go to next file in list if error).
Also, as a suggestion, when aborting encode, wouldn't it make more sense to mark the file as "aborted" and that the file will re-encode automatically next time I hit start? Currently, you have to reset status for the aborted file for it to work again. Also, clear status could work completed files, so I won't have to re-add them again. Useful for debugging (and testing).
Eretria-chan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th February 2007, 22:37   #130  |  Link
Sirber
retired developer
 
Sirber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 8,978
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eretria-chan View Post
Bug / Not implememted: When selecting multiple files in list and selecting remove from the menu, only the last selected files is removed.
I tried to make it work, but I failed I'll try again later.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eretria-chan View Post
I'd like to see Bencos save its settings and encoding list soon, if possible and if you have time... as well as RA's Award-Winning Intelligent Encoding(TM) (Go to next file in list if error).
It's supposed to do that since the last revision. I changed the "break;" for "continue;"

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eretria-chan View Post
Also, as a suggestion, when aborting encode, wouldn't it make more sense to mark the file as "aborted" and that the file will re-encode automatically next time I hit start? Currently, you have to reset status for the aborted file for it to work again.
Yes! I note that.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eretria-chan View Post
Also, clear status could work completed files, so I won't have to re-add them again. Useful for debugging (and testing).
It does. I recoded the same file that way.
__________________
Detritus Software
Sirber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th February 2007, 23:57   #131  |  Link
Eretria-chan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,053
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sirber View Post
It does. I recoded the same file that way.
Not in my revision anyway.

Another thing: When you hit Stop, it stops the current encoding file and goes on to the next. The Stop button is also disabled, which means you can't stop the process, by any other means than terminating the process.
Eretria-chan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2007, 15:52   #132  |  Link
Sirber
retired developer
 
Sirber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 8,978
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eretria-chan View Post
Another thing: When you hit Stop, it stops the current encoding file and goes on to the next. The Stop button is also disabled, which means you can't stop the process, by any other means than terminating the process.
oups
"Stop" is considered as an error, so it goes on the next file
__________________
Detritus Software
Sirber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2007, 16:07   #133  |  Link
Sharktooth
Mr. Sandman
 
Sharktooth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Haddonfield, IL
Posts: 11,768
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sirber View Post
Good

Maybe Sharktooth can fix that one like the other one, I have no clue on how he did.
Done.
Sharktooth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2007, 20:48   #134  |  Link
Eretria-chan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,053
I'm still waiting for a new build, though, to test the new implementations. The latest is 02-11.
Eretria-chan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th February 2007, 21:54   #135  |  Link
Sirber
retired developer
 
Sirber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 8,978
We have day life you know... this is a free time project.
__________________
Detritus Software
Sirber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15th February 2007, 14:51   #136  |  Link
Eretria-chan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,053
Hey. I wasn't saying you SHOULD release one. Just saying I'm waiting 'til you do. In other words, take your time.

Last edited by Eretria-chan; 15th February 2007 at 16:57.
Eretria-chan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2007, 13:45   #137  |  Link
Sirber
retired developer
 
Sirber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 8,978
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sirber View Post
oups
"Stop" is considered as an error, so it goes on the next file
fixed and released
__________________
Detritus Software
Sirber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2007, 17:28   #138  |  Link
Eretria-chan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,053
Just a quick browse through the program and I see the browse for folder is english! That's good. It still says it's version 02-11. A small miss, though not important.
IF you don't mind me asking, are you planning on adding the ability to save the encoding list and settings on exit anytime soon?
Eretria-chan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2007, 17:44   #139  |  Link
Sirber
retired developer
 
Sirber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 8,978
I'm adding more audio codecs, build date will be fixed then

Quote:
IF you don't mind me asking, are you planning on adding the ability to save the encoding list and settings on exit anytime soon?
Save settings planned, save list not planned yet. Will be in the nexts weeks.

So much to do... so not enough devs and time
__________________
Detritus Software
Sirber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th February 2007, 21:24   #140  |  Link
Eretria-chan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,053
Well, it will be done eventually, and that's what matters I guess...
Eretria-chan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
aac, bencos, gui, webm, x264

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 15:13.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.