Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 20th July 2008, 22:58   #1  |  Link
jonathonsunshine
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 87
Dolby-Prologic Filter for Media Player Classic ?

Howdy yall, I recently got my self a 5.1 speaker system, (Logitech z5500 ) and have been messin around with various configurations. I have opted to bypass the the on-board dolby/dts decoding and use my sound card through the 6 analogue channels cause I got a kickass Creative soundcard with a 10 band equalizer.

Anyhoo, MPC Home Cinemas inbuilt dts and dolby decoders do a dandy job splitting the sound up but when i play 2 channell anything it just goes to front left and right. I can enable Pro-Logic on the speakers but I would really prefer it if I didn't have to switch it over all the time. Also, my sound card has Creative CMSS-3D which is basically not very good.

Is there a filter I can that will take 2 channels and decode them into 5.1 using the actual ProLogicII algorithims ? Also preferably, one that will let 5.1 go through untouched ?
jonathonsunshine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th July 2008, 23:29   #2  |  Link
clsid
*****
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 5,126
Use Ac3Filter or ffdshow and configure it to
1) Output 5.1 channels
2) Process uncompressed audio
clsid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st July 2008, 00:11   #3  |  Link
jonathonsunshine
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 87
I tried ffdshow, I found setting to use 5.1 speakers, but they didn't work, I could never get anything besides audio from front left and right.

AC3Filter at least decoded to all 5 channels, but it wasn't very good at all, dialogue was very much spread across the three front speakers.

Any suggestions on what I might be doing wrong with ffdshow, I told it I had 5.1 speakers in the Mixer settings and also tried checking Dolby decoder, but I got nothing (at all) from the centre speaker and or the two rears.

Quote:
Originally Posted by clsid View Post
2) Process uncompressed audio
I am not sure what you mean by this

Last edited by jonathonsunshine; 21st July 2008 at 00:29.
jonathonsunshine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st July 2008, 00:31   #4  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 13,146
In ffdshow you must also enable the "Dolby Decoder" filter to get 5.1 audio from a Prologic-encoded stereo signal
__________________
There was of course no way of knowing whether you were being watched at any given moment.
How often, or on what system, the Thought Police plugged in on any individual wire was guesswork.


LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st July 2008, 11:24   #5  |  Link
Leak
ffdshow/AviSynth wrangler
 
Leak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Austria
Posts: 2,441
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonathonsunshine View Post
I am not sure what you mean by this
Codecs page > "Uncompressed" > select whatever format you need instead of "disabled"
__________________
now playing: [artist] - [track] ([album])
Leak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st July 2008, 12:19   #6  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 13,146
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leak View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonathonsunshine View Post
I am not sure what you mean by this
Codecs page > "Uncompressed" > select whatever format you need instead of "disabled"
And it means that ffdshow-audio can be used as a "post-processor" for other audio decoders...
__________________
There was of course no way of knowing whether you were being watched at any given moment.
How often, or on what system, the Thought Police plugged in on any individual wire was guesswork.


LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st July 2008, 17:07   #7  |  Link
jonathonsunshine
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by LoRd_MuldeR View Post
And it means that ffdshow-audio can be used as a "post-processor" for other audio decoders...
I have set it to Dolby Decode on and selected Uncompressed audio, it seems to work fine now, much better than AC3Filter.

What will it do when I when presented with 5.1 audio ? just let it go through untouched ?
jonathonsunshine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st July 2008, 17:10   #8  |  Link
LoRd_MuldeR
Software Developer
 
LoRd_MuldeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Last House on Slunk Street
Posts: 13,146
In the best case the "Dolby Decoder" will pass-through 5.1 audio untouched.
In the worst case it will discard the center/rear channels of 5.1 audio and then decode multi-channels from the right/left channel.

I didn't try it yet
__________________
There was of course no way of knowing whether you were being watched at any given moment.
How often, or on what system, the Thought Police plugged in on any individual wire was guesswork.


LoRd_MuldeR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st July 2008, 21:32   #9  |  Link
jonathonsunshine
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by LoRd_MuldeR View Post
worst case it will discard the center/rear channels of 5.1 audio and then decode multi-channels from the right/left channel.
I didn't try it yet
Well it isn't doing that, I was worried that it would try to extrapolate virtual channels or something, mix the centre through left and right and the left and right through to the rears



thanks for all your help folks
jonathonsunshine is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
media player classic, mpc, pro-logic, prologic

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:21.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.