Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion. Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules. |
![]() |
#8981 | Link | |
Registered User
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 11
|
Thank You for sharing the build.
--aq-auto 10 works. It is about 3% faster than --aq-mode 4 and may preserve a bit more detail. When using --rd 4 --dynamic-rd 3 options I've got the warning Quote:
|
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#8982 | Link | |
Pig on the wing
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 5,612
|
Quote:
Code:
if (m_param->dynamicRd && (!bIsVbv || !p->rc.aqMode || p->rdLevel > 4)) { p->dynamicRd = 0; x265_log(p, X265_LOG_WARNING, "Dynamic-rd disabled, requires RD <= 4, VBV and aq-mode enabled\n"); }
__________________
And if the band you're in starts playing different tunes I'll see you on the dark side of the Moon... |
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#8983 | Link | |||
Registered User
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 11
|
VBV is set automatically because of the parameters
Quote:
aqMode should be 2 by default, but --aq-auto 10 sets it to Quote:
In the INFO section I see Quote:
|
|||
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#8984 | Link |
Pig on the wing
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 5,612
|
Then it must be because of --aq-auto. I'll take a look at it when I'm back home from work and adjust that check in the code accordingly to make it work again.
__________________
And if the band you're in starts playing different tunes I'll see you on the dark side of the Moon... |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#8985 | Link |
20 years and counting...
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 680
|
Isn't that what it is supposed to do?
https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.p...00#post1981600 |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#8987 | Link |
Pig on the wing
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 5,612
|
Yes, it's probably just that validation which has not been updated accordingly. I don't remember I've ever seen the dynamic RD option used by anyone so it's definitely understandable.
__________________
And if the band you're in starts playing different tunes I'll see you on the dark side of the Moon... |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#8988 | Link |
Pig on the wing
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 5,612
|
I found the cause of the issue, it's not auto-aq related. The validation is almost ok, it just doesn't understand that --level-idc enables VBV. If you add the VBV parameters to the command line, it will work.
EDIT: Here's a build where the validation is fixed (if VBV is not set and --level-idc is 0, it will disable dynamic-rd): https://drive.google.com/file/d/1U9c...usp=share_link
__________________
And if the band you're in starts playing different tunes I'll see you on the dark side of the Moon... Last edited by Boulder; 6th February 2023 at 17:55. |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#8989 | Link | |
Moderator
![]() Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 4,490
|
Quote:
It can improve throughput across many clips, but perf improvements for any given encode are unpredictable, varying with how often the content would hit the VBV. Of course, this will increase ABR versus just using full complexity the whole time, so it's quite scenario specific. There is also the risk of the different modes causing some "stylistic" discontinuities. |
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#8991 | Link |
Registered User
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: France
Posts: 2,234
|
I'm stuck with an issue i've no idea for now how to solve, and i may think that's there is just no solution at all (unless a loooooot of rework of the code).
After adding just the command line asked by Boulder, i've hit the C1061 error issue with MS compiler... ![]() Why have they done this...???? As it's specific to MS compiler, i still can make the clang version, but for now, it's the only build i can do. To do the others builds, i have to see how i can build x265 with gcc, maybe i'll do that, but not the time for now...
__________________
My github. |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#8992 | Link |
Registered User
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: France
Posts: 2,234
|
Finaly i made some tests for gcc build, but when things want to get in your way, they are very efficients...
![]() I've tested msys script build, but what i'm looking for is where i can find the parameter list you see in command like this: Code:
cmake -G "MSYS Makefiles" ../../../source -DHIGH_BIT_DEPTH=ON -DEXPORT_C_API=OFF -DENABLE_SHARED=OFF -DENABLE_CLI=OFF -DMAIN12=ON This is possible with cmake-gui (i have trouble to make it start also), but cmake-gui doesn't give all the options (you don't have 12bits for exemple). Also, i would like to add "-mavx2" in the gcc command, no idea how to do that's kind of stuff (this is why i choose the Visual Studio solution, where i have access to all the compiler options in the ide). Edit Even with "static link CRT" checked in cmake-gui, the .exe from gcc build is still asking for dll... Not the same than my first attempt without, but still... So, gcc builders, can you provide my your whole complete build script ? As i said, when things want to get in your way, they are very efficients !!
__________________
My github. Last edited by jpsdr; 12th February 2023 at 12:11. |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#8993 | Link |
Pig on the wing
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 5,612
|
For GCC builds, I use Media Autobuild Suite to take care of the cumbersome scripting. You can use custom patches, for example with x265, create a file named x265_git_extra.sh and add the patch in the main 'build' folder and it will get applied during the compile operation. This is what I have in the file.
Code:
#!/bin/bash _pre_ninja(){ patch -p 1 -i "$LOCALBUILDDIR/x265-jpsdr-aqauto-v5.patch" }
__________________
And if the band you're in starts playing different tunes I'll see you on the dark side of the Moon... |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#8994 | Link | ||
...?
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,378
|
Quote:
Quote:
https://github.com/qyot27/mpv/blob/1...dious.txt#L475 Most GCC toolchains that are widely distributed are built assuming shared runtime by default, you have to either pass something like -static-libgcc -static-libstdc++ to LDFLAGS (in CMake, -DCMAKE_SHARED_LINKER_FLAGS for libraries and -DCMAKE_EXE_LINKER_FLAGS for executables) or you can just turn this off entirely by building GCC with static runtime only (which is what I do when building the MinGW/GCC toolchain, hence why the guide doesn't use those flags). I need to do a good refresh on that guide because while I typically do a once-through every six months after moving to the current release of Ubuntu, I was so stressed out last year and now spend >95% of my time in Linux that I still haven't done so since last May or something like that. |
||
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#8995 | Link |
Registered User
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: France
Posts: 2,234
|
Ok, translation issue from my part, my question is not properly made.
I was asking, from people using gcc, their whole complete build script for building static x265 (not building gcc...).
__________________
My github. |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#8999 | Link |
Registered User
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: France
Posts: 2,234
|
No luck, i've tried several options, but i always have an error message telling me that libstdc++6.dll is missing when i try to run the x265.exe builded...
![]() Don't know what option i have to use to make a standalone version.
__________________
My github. |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#9000 | Link | |
20 years and counting...
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 680
|
Quote:
|
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
Display Modes | |
|
|