Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion. Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules. |
![]() |
#8964 | Link | |
Formally known as .......
Join Date: Sep 2021
Location: On a need to know basis.
Posts: 752
|
Quote:
https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.p...17#post1981517 & https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.p...53#post1981553 But only up to build 85.
__________________
This can be SO "TeDiouS".. Long term RipBot264 user. #1 Ryzen 7950X #2 Intel i9-13900KF #3 Ryzen 5950X #4 Ryzen 5900X #5 Ryzen 3950X |
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#8965 | Link | |
20 years and counting...
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 680
|
Quote:
Is this still valid with v+87? A lot of talk about new switch names here which confuses me a little. |
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#8966 | Link |
Registered User
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: France
Posts: 2,234
|
@LeXXuz
For the same command line effect, you have to replace --sbrc --sbrc-aq5 --sbrc-hyst with --aq-auto 10 assuming you don't want the new sbrc (wich has totaly nothing to do with the first patch) and just keep the auto AQ feature. (And still check with the log file ![]()
__________________
My github. Last edited by jpsdr; 22nd January 2023 at 10:42. |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#8967 | Link | |
20 years and counting...
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 680
|
Quote:
![]() So with the latest version I just add "--aq-mode 5 --aq-auto 10", is that right? ![]() EDIT: Btw the clang version shows "x265 [INFO]: build info [Windows][MSVC 1928][64 bit] 10bit", is that correct ![]() Last edited by LeXXuz; 22nd January 2023 at 13:36. |
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#8968 | Link |
Pig on the wing
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 5,612
|
If you want to use the automatic AQ mode with AQ5 + hysteresis enabled, just use --aq-auto 10. --aq-auto 6 for HDR (enables auto mode + hysteresis, no AQ3 or AQ5 used since it's counterproductive).
__________________
And if the band you're in starts playing different tunes I'll see you on the dark side of the Moon... |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#8970 | Link |
Pig on the wing
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 5,612
|
@jpsdr: I've seen mentioned in some places that AQ mode 4 needs a bit lower aq-strength than other modes. Would it be possible to have a separate aq-strength parameter for it in case aq-auto is enabled?
__________________
And if the band you're in starts playing different tunes I'll see you on the dark side of the Moon... Last edited by Boulder; 30th January 2023 at 06:10. |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#8972 | Link | |
Pig on the wing
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 5,612
|
Quote:
![]() I was thinking that it might be as simple as adding the parameter and then conditionally using it as the base strength when the mode for the frame is either X265_AQ_EDGE or X265_AQ_EDGE_BIAS.
__________________
And if the band you're in starts playing different tunes I'll see you on the dark side of the Moon... |
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#8973 | Link |
Registered User
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: France
Posts: 2,234
|
@Boulder
For X265_AQ_EDGE the calcul is: Code:
inclinedEdge = curFrame->m_lowres.edgeInclined[blockXY]; qp_adj = curFrame->m_lowres.qpCuTreeOffset[blockXY]; if(inclinedEdge && (qp_adj - avg_adj > 0)) qp_adj = ((strength + AQ_EDGE_BIAS) * (qp_adj - avg_adj)); else qp_adj = strength * (qp_adj - avg_adj); If it's that, 2 options. Somethings like strength2 = strength*coeff or strength2 = strength + bias with coeff=1 or bias=0 when aq-auto is disabled and use strength2 instead of strength in calcul. And if i add some kind of AQ4 specific parameter, it can be applied to AQ 4 mode, with or without aq-auto enable, if default value keeps original behavior.
__________________
My github. Last edited by jpsdr; 31st January 2023 at 18:44. |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#8974 | Link |
Pig on the wing
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 5,612
|
What I was thinking was basically that - having AQ 4 its own strength parameter. Maybe making it equal to aq-strength in case aq-auto is not enabled so any command line would work normally.
I was wondering if it would make sense to just change the calculation of 'strength' here, I haven't had the time to get the whole idea to work because the compiled exe won't accept my new parameters for some reason. What I did was just carbon copy the existing aq-strength and aq-bias-strength parameters in various files and adjust the variable names accordingly, but probably I've missed something. In this example there's also a different value for AQ 5 bias strength. Code:
if (param->rc.aqMode == X265_AQ_EDGE || param->rc.aqMode == X265_AQ_EDGE_BIASED) strength = param->rc.aqStrengthEdge * avg_adj; else strength = param->rc.aqStrength * avg_adj; avg_adj = avg_adj - 0.5f * (avg_adj_pow2 - modeTwoConst) / avg_adj; if (param->rc.aqMode == X265_AQ_EDGE_BIASED) bias_strength = param->rc.aqBiasStrengthEdge * param->rc.aqStrengthEdge; else bias_strength = param->rc.aqBiasStrength * param->rc.aqStrength;
__________________
And if the band you're in starts playing different tunes I'll see you on the dark side of the Moon... Last edited by Boulder; 1st February 2023 at 16:53. |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#8975 | Link |
Registered User
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: France
Posts: 2,234
|
Is it what you want ?
https://github.com/jpsdr/x265/commit...6dc36cef1d1880
__________________
My github. |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#8976 | Link | |
Pig on the wing
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 5,612
|
Quote:
![]() ![]()
__________________
And if the band you're in starts playing different tunes I'll see you on the dark side of the Moon... |
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#8978 | Link |
Pig on the wing
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 5,612
|
No worries, I created a diff file to use for patching in Media Autobuild Suite so I got a compiled exe to test. First impression looks good, so I believe it's working. I didn't do any frame by frame compares but just watched an encoded clip to see if anything's weird.
__________________
And if the band you're in starts playing different tunes I'll see you on the dark side of the Moon... Last edited by Boulder; 2nd February 2023 at 19:27. |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#8980 | Link | |
Pig on the wing
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 5,612
|
Quote:
![]() If anyone wants to test the modifications, here's the build I made. 10-bit only, and optimized for Zen 3. I can also provide the patch file I used if needed. https://drive.google.com/file/d/1WGi...usp=share_link
__________________
And if the band you're in starts playing different tunes I'll see you on the dark side of the Moon... |
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
Display Modes | |
|
|