Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12th January 2017, 19:13   #42021  |  Link
pirlouy
_
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: France
Posts: 634
To avoid off-topic, if you're not logged, you can block boring users (multiple posts _questions or off-topic_) if you use uBlock:
forum.doom9.org##.tborder:has([href$="u=9759"])
Hallelujah !
pirlouy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th January 2017, 22:03   #42022  |  Link
hannes69
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 72
I have detected a strange behavior with image doubling. I donīt quite remember, but I think somebody already mentioned the problem and maybe an explanation / solution / workaround, but I donīt find it at the moment in this thread, so:
Iīm using madVR 0.91.3 and I am watching a 640 x 360 movie on a 720p (1280 x 720) projector. If my math is correct this means simple doubling. But it isnīt working as that - see following madVR OSD screenshot:



The problem is indicated with "scale 0,0,640,360 -> 0,1,1280,720".
If I interpret this line correctly, this means: movie has a source rectangle with left top corner 0,0 and right bottom corner 640,360 (seems right) which has to be drawn onto a target rectangle of left top corner 0,1 and right bottom corner 1280,720.
I donīt have an explanation why the target left top corner isnīt 0,0. I have checked all settings like cropping black borders and so on which could possibly influence that but didnīt find anything.
Maybe someone knows something useful about that... Seems a liitle bit strange to me to see doubling and then downscaling here when simple doubling is needed. And I donīt know whatīs technically happening when scaling 720 lines down to 719...
Hannes.
hannes69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th January 2017, 23:51   #42023  |  Link
foxyshadis
ангел смерти
 
foxyshadis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Lost
Posts: 9,437
Quote:
Originally Posted by CruNcher View Post
I wonder why you are so sure about that anyways yeah it gets off topic and since no one really does a foundational compare of MadVRs Shader core vs Sony Dedicated Hardware IP it's wild speculation
Start a new thread if you want to talk about anything that isn't MadVR. Even if you're comparing MadVR to something else, start a new thread, except if it's to highlight a bug.
__________________
There are four boxes to be used in defense of liberty: soap, ballot, jury, and ammo. Please use in that order.
foxyshadis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2017, 00:28   #42024  |  Link
JackCY
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 15
I've had no problem using MadVR even at times when I've had no dGPU and ran only the poor and slow Intel iGPU HD4600, meaning MadVR can be set low enough for anyone to use it and it doesn't consume much power if you don't want it to. There are tons of settings and you just gotta know what to set and see what impact it has if you want to, it's the same with setting anything else in any program, customization is good. If you want a fast and dumb solution use the renderers available from the OS.
JackCY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2017, 08:43   #42025  |  Link
cork_OS
Registered User
 
cork_OS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Minsk (Blr)
Posts: 146
It would be interesting to see photo comparison madVR vs. competitors.
__________________
I'm infected with poor sources.
cork_OS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2017, 09:07   #42026  |  Link
QBhd
QB the Slayer
 
QBhd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Toronto
Posts: 492
In another thread!

Quote:
Originally Posted by cork_OS View Post
It would be interesting to see photo comparison madVR vs. competitors.
In another thread...maybe

QB
__________________
QBhd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2017, 11:58   #42027  |  Link
SweetLow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 71
Quote:
Originally Posted by hannes69 View Post
The problem is indicated with "scale 0,0,640,360 -> 0,1,1280,720".
No, you have another problem (probably):
movie 640*360, 1.78:1

Precise 16:9 (640:360==16:9) have to view as:
movie 640*360, 16:9

Looks like you have wrong AR embedded in your stream or wrong decoder.

Last edited by SweetLow; 13th January 2017 at 12:28.
SweetLow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2017, 12:19   #42028  |  Link
cork_OS
Registered User
 
cork_OS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Minsk (Blr)
Posts: 146
Add grain don't work (or almost don't work) with 4x NGU.
__________________
I'm infected with poor sources.
cork_OS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2017, 12:48   #42029  |  Link
Mistery 73
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 31
a greeting to the forum,
Experts do you advise me to create the 3d lut for madVR as calman calibration software or displaycal?
Mistery 73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2017, 12:49   #42030  |  Link
AngelGraves13
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 239
Quote:
Originally Posted by cork_OS View Post
Add grain don't work (or almost don't work) with 4x NGU.
It works, but you were getting double grain in the previous build. Now it applies grain once after 4x scaling.
AngelGraves13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2017, 16:01   #42031  |  Link
hannes69
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 72
Quote:
Originally Posted by SweetLow View Post
No, you have another problem (probably):
movie 640*360, 1.78:1

Precise 16:9 (640:360==16:9) have to view as:
movie 640*360, 16:9

Looks like you have wrong AR embedded in your stream or wrong decoder.
Probably ... NOT
I watched another movie yesterday, now the behavior has changed (now with movie marked as 16:9).
So once again 2 different OSD screenshots for 2 different movies:





Seems that my projector can dynamically change its vertical resolution
Screenshot 1 indicates 719 lines, screenshot 2 indicates 722 lines. Negative numbers for target rectangle seem a little bit strange to me. Why display the first movie line in Nirwana?
Hannes.
hannes69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2017, 18:33   #42032  |  Link
JackCY
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by cork_OS View Post
It would be interesting to see photo comparison madVR vs. competitors.
Easy for anyone who can use the keyboard and press printscreen. Do it yourself.
Quote:
Originally Posted by cork_OS View Post
Add grain don't work (or almost don't work) with 4x NGU.
Works as intended for me, it's no longer applied twice as it was in 2x+2x or it was exaggerated in some other way.
JackCY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2017, 22:40   #42033  |  Link
dipje
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 270
Maybe I've missed something but..

... starting MPC-HC with MadVR causes the DisplayCal Profile loader to switch to a 'disabled' state.
Is it possible to disable this behavior? I know there is a special madVR calibration-lut mode, but what if I don't want to? Just leave my windows calibration alone (specially on the other screen while MadVR is playing). Is that possible somehow? Can't seem to get it to work.
dipje is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2017, 23:24   #42034  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,251
Quote:
Originally Posted by JackCY View Post
Easy for anyone who can use the keyboard and press printscreen. Do it yourself.
If you followed the conversation you'd have noticed
"competitors" was generally referring to hardware solutions.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13th January 2017, 23:25   #42035  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 6,064
are you using a 3D LUT?
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th January 2017, 01:11   #42036  |  Link
nevcairiel
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 9,862
Quote:
Originally Posted by hannes69 View Post
Screenshot 1 indicates 719 lines, screenshot 2 indicates 722 lines. Negative numbers for target rectangle seem a little bit strange to me. Why display the first movie line in Nirwana?
Do you have any of the black bar options enabled? maybe madVR is detecting a black bar of 1-2px at the bottom and zooming it away.
__________________
LAV Filters - open source ffmpeg based media splitter and decoders
nevcairiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th January 2017, 08:14   #42037  |  Link
SweetLow
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 71
>Do you have any of the black bar options enabled?
Quote:
Originally Posted by hannes69 View Post
I have checked all settings like cropping black borders and so on which could possibly influence that but didnīt find anything.
Quote:
Originally Posted by hannes69 View Post
now the behavior has changed
Ok. As madVR detect "touch windows from inside" try enable "disable scaling if image size changes" to some high value (and completely disable hard coded black bars detection to debug). And then try to view movie in natural size.

Last edited by SweetLow; 14th January 2017 at 08:30.
SweetLow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th January 2017, 09:51   #42038  |  Link
cork_OS
Registered User
 
cork_OS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Minsk (Blr)
Posts: 146
Quote:
Originally Posted by JackCY View Post
Easy for anyone who can use the keyboard and press printscreen. Do it yourself.
As soon as I buy Sony X1 Processor TV, I will use keyboard and press printscreen combo.

Quote:
Originally Posted by AngelGraves13 View Post
It works, but you were getting double grain in the previous build. Now it applies grain once after 4x scaling.
Quote:
Originally Posted by JackCY View Post
Works as intended for me, it's no longer applied twice as it was in 2x+2x or it was exaggerated in some other way.
Well, OK, but after NGU 4x added grain is definitely less visible than after NGU 2x (EDIT: once).
__________________
I'm infected with poor sources.

Last edited by cork_OS; 14th January 2017 at 12:52.
cork_OS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th January 2017, 17:09   #42039  |  Link
Selur
Registered User
 
Selur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,929
Is there some way to control which gpu madvr is using?
Got a Geforce GTX 980 Ti, a Radeon RX 460 and an Intel HD Graphics 4600 in my system and I suspect that MadVR has some problem with the Radeon.
Since I added the Radeon my whole system crashes from time to time when I play content in MPC-HC while using MadVR.
Tried en-/disabling DX11 rending in MadVR but that didn't help.
So I was wondering if I could tell MadVR somehow to now use the Radeon?
__________________
Hybrid here in the forum, homepage
Notice: Since email notifications do not work here any more, it might take me quite some time to notice a reply to a thread,..
Selur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14th January 2017, 20:22   #42040  |  Link
70MM
X Cinema Projectionist NZ
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Auckland NZ
Posts: 281
I find that just a few of my older titles dont fit the left and right sides of my motorised 4x3 masking. 90% are fine, the other 10% are too small on the left and right only.
I would like to use the zoom control on madvr but the 25% is too big!
How can I get a smaller zoom stepup thats less than 25%?
It would be nice if there was control for 5% increments.....

I have tried all the different combinations under ZOOM, black bars etc etc but I cant find anything in there that will bring these last 10% 4x3 films up to the true aspect of 4X3.

I have no issues at all on scope or 16:9 with my masking which was setup from a test disc for ratios.
70MM is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:59.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.