Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 Encoder GUIs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 1st October 2021, 00:41   #1  |  Link
DeepDish1433
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2021
Posts: 5
Converting TiVo .ts to H.264/5

Hi all,

I apologize in advance for the likely rookie-ness of this question.

Is there a good post/guide or general advice anyone could direct me towards on converting TiVo content to H.264/H.265?

I do this currently by:
- export (HD) content from TiVo with kmttg
- Convert .ts file with Handbrake

and it works decently well, though I never feel like I'm getting as good of compression levels as I should, which makes me wonder if there are aspects of the video I'm not properly handling in my encode.

I know the .ts files can have errors in them and kmttg has an option to remove errors which seems to work. I also do realize TiVo video is interlaced and I use the deinterlace options when encoding in Handbrake. But if there are other/better tools or workflows I should be using I'd really appreciate any help you could point me towards.

Thank you in advance.
DeepDish1433 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st October 2021, 09:27   #2  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 6,265
Welcome to the forum DeepDish1433.

If you want help it's recommended upload a short sample of your .ts to convert.
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st October 2021, 13:44   #3  |  Link
DeepDish1433
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2021
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by tebasuna51 View Post
Welcome to the forum DeepDish1433.

If you want help it's recommended upload a short sample of your .ts to convert.
I'm happy to do so, but I can't seem to find a way to create a short clip of the file without re-encoding it. Even using ffmpeg and the
Code:
-c copy
option I get errors. Is there a different tool I should be using to create a shorter clip and preserve the same format/encoding?
DeepDish1433 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st October 2021, 14:43   #4  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 6,265
tsMuxer, losslessCut, AviDemux, ...
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st October 2021, 15:45   #5  |  Link
videoh
Useful n00b
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 1,541
DGSplit
videoh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd October 2021, 17:50   #6  |  Link
DeepDish1433
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2021
Posts: 5
Thank you for the suggestions - tsMuxer worked great.

I have a brief sample of the video here:
https://s3.amazonaws.com/img.bobpusa...m/TestVideo.ts

As you can see it's good quality HD video, just it always seems that when I go to encode it, compression isn't so great. I realize that's a highly vague statement.

In this case, I'm using Handbrake and converting to H.265 with CQ25, deinterlacing enabled, and the slow preset. My result is about 2GB/hour of encoded video. I know that's not terrible, but generally I can encode video (not from TiVo) to be about half that size with the same settings.

Which is why I'm wondering if there's anything different I need to do to .ts files from TiVo first in my processing pipeline.
DeepDish1433 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd October 2021, 18:59   #7  |  Link
Atak_Snajpera
RipBot264 author
 
Atak_Snajpera's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 7,614
I hope you are using Inverse telecine instead of dumb deinterlacing!
Atak_Snajpera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd October 2021, 20:27   #8  |  Link
DeepDish1433
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2021
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atak_Snajpera View Post
I hope you are using Inverse telecine instead of dumb deinterlacing!
I am not because I didn't know what it was, but I will definitely give that a try and see if it makes any difference. Thanks for the tip!
DeepDish1433 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 2nd October 2021, 22:59   #9  |  Link
tebasuna51
Moderator
 
tebasuna51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Spain
Posts: 6,265
I can't download the sample.

But if Atak_Snajpera can, I'm sure he can help you.
__________________
BeHappy, AviSynth audio transcoder.
tebasuna51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd October 2021, 09:47   #10  |  Link
kalehrl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 302
I ran it through Megui's source analysis and it detected it correctly as film.
kalehrl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd October 2021, 12:54   #11  |  Link
Emulgator
Big Bit Savings Now !
 
Emulgator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: close to the wall
Posts: 1,041
What the others said. Commercials in 23.976 pulldowned to 29.97.
If you need to end with 2Mbps, I suggest IVTC to 23.976, downresize to 1280x720x23.976p, encode using x265.
And: the source is blocky already...
__________________
"To bypass shortcuts and find suffering...is called QUALity" (Die toten Augen von Friedrichshain)
"Data reduction ? Yep, Sir. We're working on that issue. Synce invntoin uf lingöage..."
Emulgator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd October 2021, 15:31   #12  |  Link
DeepDish1433
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2021
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emulgator View Post
What the others said. Commercials in 23.976 pulldowned to 29.97.
If you need to end with 2Mbps, I suggest IVTC to 23.976, downresize to 1280x720x23.976p, encode using x265.
And: the source is blocky already...
Dumb question time so I can be less dumb in the future.

How can you tell they were originally at 23.976 and then converted to 29.97?

What does "blocky already" mean? Like the image is made up of larger blocks that (I assume) is not helping the quality?
DeepDish1433 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd October 2021, 16:16   #13  |  Link
Atak_Snajpera
RipBot264 author
 
Atak_Snajpera's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 7,614
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeepDish1433 View Post
Dumb question time so I can be less dumb in the future.

How can you tell they were originally at 23.976 and then converted to 29.97?

What does "blocky already" mean? Like the image is made up of larger blocks that (I assume) is not helping the quality?
Look for 3 progressive frames and then 2 interlaced










Last edited by Atak_Snajpera; 3rd October 2021 at 16:18.
Atak_Snajpera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 3rd October 2021, 22:07   #14  |  Link
Emulgator
Big Bit Savings Now !
 
Emulgator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: close to the wall
Posts: 1,041
Source was 54.012 KiB. Blocky meant: Already damaged, so not worth too many bits.
<if aiming at a bigger display above 42": Deblocking suggested, and give a few more bits...

Or good enough just for mobile phone watching ?
Resize to 1280x720 and you might have the same quality x265@ at 1,5Mbps,

This was my quick and dirty MeGUI .avs, just left it at 1920x1080x23.976,
got video down to 8.664 KiB, was well watchable.

Code:
LoadPlugin("C:\_PROG\! Video Encoders\MeGUI\tools\ffms\ffms2.dll")
FFVideoSource("F:\_VID\TestVideo.ts", fpsnum=30000, fpsden=1001, threads=1)
#deinterlace
SeparateFields().SelectEvery(5, 1, 2, 3, 4).Weave()   #Decimation: 0 of 5
#SeparateFields().SelectEvery(5, 0, 2, 3, 4).Weave()  #Decimation: 1 of 5
#SeparateFields().SelectEvery(5, 0, 1, 3, 4).Weave()  #Decimation: 2 of 5
#SeparateFields().SelectEvery(5, 0, 1, 2, 4).Weave()  #Decimation: 3 of 5
#SeparateFields().SelectEvery(5, 0, 1, 2, 3).Weave()  #Decimation: 4 of 5
#crop
#resize
#denoise
__________________
"To bypass shortcuts and find suffering...is called QUALity" (Die toten Augen von Friedrichshain)
"Data reduction ? Yep, Sir. We're working on that issue. Synce invntoin uf lingöage..."

Last edited by Emulgator; 3rd October 2021 at 22:16.
Emulgator is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:31.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.