Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Capturing and Editing Video > New and alternative a/v containers

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 26th July 2022, 19:23   #21  |  Link
jpsdr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: France
Posts: 2,245
Tested mkvtoolnix-32-bit-69.0.0-revision-007-ga64005aa6-setup.exe under Windows 7 x86, not working for me.
__________________
My github.
jpsdr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th July 2022, 11:00   #22  |  Link
hubblec4
Matroska find' ich toll
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,346
for me also not.
__________________
chapterEditor || Matroska-Playback || hSplit || DiscShare
hubblec4 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 27th July 2022, 18:21   #23  |  Link
filler56789
SuperVirus
 
filler56789's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Antarctic Japan
Posts: 1,347
FWIW, and again:

from the #usercomments section for MKVtoolnix @ Videohelp dot com:

Code:
If you have the following 69.0.007 versions bearing the below SHA-1, they will work with Windows 7/8 and respective server version:

B5D5E22968F947558BFB100EF06D37A1FB3BC7C4 mkvtoolnix-32-bit-69.0.0-revision-007-ga64005aa6-setup.exe
5F8BB12A7C9FA214E4B63BCFC4EF020E27186A4F mkvtoolnix-32-bit-69.0.0-revision-007-ga64005aa6.7z
254911C993E8685AE514A8B7FD789C200EA6E3C4 mkvtoolnix-64-bit-69.0.0-revision-007-ga64005aa6-setup.exe
86B4EEDFA42A60D74FECBE76FA55BF44A53D400A mkvtoolnix-64-bit-69.0.0-revision-007-ga64005aa6.7z
BUT the greater surprise is this one

Code:
There might be one more option. There seems to be modified QT6 version for Win7 here:
https://forum.qt.io/topic/133002/qt-creator-6-0-1-and-qt-6-2-2-running-on-windows-7
I've been already able to run another QT6 based software using that (Calibre 6.1 - https://calibre-ebook.com/download).
There you need to use as well VxKex to run it - https://github.com/vxiiduu/VxKex
But MKVToolnix seems to have QT embedded in main exe, so it is not possible just easily replace those binary files like for Calibre.
filler56789 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th July 2022, 17:10   #24  |  Link
jpsdr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: France
Posts: 2,245
Intersesting. Maybe someone who know how to build MKVToolnix can test make a build using this QT version instead of standard.
__________________
My github.
jpsdr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29th July 2022, 19:13   #25  |  Link
filler56789
SuperVirus
 
filler56789's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Antarctic Japan
Posts: 1,347
Quote:
Originally Posted by jpsdr View Post
Intersesting. Maybe someone who know how to build MKVToolnix can test make a build using this QT version instead of standard.
For the users of Windows 7 and 8.1, the ``ideal solution would be

1) revert the change which made the CLI-executables depend on Qt
(I.O.W., make them use the file magic.mgc again)

+

2) replace the Qt-based GUI with one written in Java, or in a dot-net language, or in C++.

Last edited by filler56789; 29th July 2022 at 19:16. Reason: clarity
filler56789 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th July 2022, 05:13   #26  |  Link
filler56789
SuperVirus
 
filler56789's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Antarctic Japan
Posts: 1,347
OOOPS, now finally there exists a non-official build of MKVtoolnix for Windows 7 and 8.1

https://forum.videohelp.com/threads/...st#post2663774
filler56789 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st July 2022, 11:04   #27  |  Link
jpsdr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: France
Posts: 2,245
According this thread, the minimal requirement build for mkvtoolnix is QT 5.9.0, so, for now, you "just" have to build mkvtoolnix with this QT version, no need for tweaked QT version, just normal 5.9.0.
I, out of curiosity take a look of how to build mkvtoolnix... argh... it seems even more painfull than building x264...

Edit
Maybe finaly it's not so painfull, but still failling building...
__________________
My github.

Last edited by jpsdr; 31st July 2022 at 12:16.
jpsdr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st July 2022, 14:42   #28  |  Link
filler56789
SuperVirus
 
filler56789's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Antarctic Japan
Posts: 1,347
Quote:
Originally Posted by jpsdr View Post
I, out of curiosity take a look of how to build mkvtoolnix... argh... it seems even more painfull than building x264...
INFINITELY more annoying than building x264, granted.
Principally because of the bloated Qt slowware.
When I managed to compile tsMuxeR, it was easy to get rid of the GUI part, which is the one that requires Qt. But MKVtoolnix is much more complex than tsMuxeR :/
filler56789 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st July 2022, 16:26   #29  |  Link
manolito
Registered User
 
manolito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 3,062
Now there is a 32-bit version which works nicely under Win7 . Have a look here:

https://forum.videohelp.com/threads/...st#post2663838

Cheers
manolito
manolito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31st July 2022, 19:59   #30  |  Link
Video Dude
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,052
If we could fork MKVToolNix to GitHub and then create an Actions script to automatically compile it.

I found this about Qt5:
Code:
https://github.com/marketplace/actions/install-qt
There should also be ways to include mxe/rake in the Actions script.

Future updates could be cherry picked to commit. Most non-gui commits would not break Win7 support.
Video Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2022, 09:14   #31  |  Link
jpsdr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: France
Posts: 2,245
Building MKVToolnix with QT5 under Linux

While the minimum requirement described in the MKVToolnix home page stays QT 5.9.0, it will probably be able to build a Windows 7 version.
For now, i've not been able to build under Windows with MSYS2, the mxe package may just not be compatible with...
But one thing is sure: You can't build from a 32 bits Windows with a 32 bits version of MSYS2.

I'll describe what i've done, so some the paramaters/values i've used are specific to my configuration, adapt if you change things.

I've created an MKVToolnix directory in my $HOME directory.
Then, clone GIT the followings:
Code:
git clone https://gitlab.com/mbunkus/mxe $HOME/MKVToolnix/mxe
git clone https://gitlab.com/mbunkus/mkvtoolnix.git  $HOME/MKVToolnix/mkvtoolnix
Now, edit the setup_cross_compilation_env.sh file in the mkvtoolnix/packaging/windows directory.
Change eventualy the ARCHITECTURE if you want to build for 32 or 64 bits.
For my setup, i've changed:
Code:
INSTALL_DIR=${INSTALL_DIR:-$HOME/MKVToolnix/mxe}
Now change the following line:
Code:
MKVTOOLNIX_DEPENDENCIES+=qt6 qt6-qtmultimedia
with:
Code:
MKVTOOLNIX_DEPENDENCIES+=qt5 qtmultimedia
Now... In the mxe/docs directory, open the index.html file in your brower, and check the necessary installed tools according your Linux version.

I was under Ubuntu 20.04, i'll now switch to install instructions specific to it.
I had to install the following:
Code:
apt-get install \
    autoconf \
    automake \
    autopoint \
    bash \
    bison \
    bzip2 \
    flex \
    g++ \
    g++-multilib \
    gettext \
    git \
    gperf \
    intltool \
    libc6-dev-i386 \
    libgdk-pixbuf2.0-dev \
    libltdl-dev \
    libssl-dev \
    libtool-bin \
    libxml-parser-perl \
    lzip \
    make \
    openssl \
    p7zip-full \
    patch \
    perl \
    python3 \
    python3-mako \
    ruby \
    sed \
    unzip \
    wget \
    xz-utils
That was for mxe. I've struggle a little to figure out what was missing to finalise.
I may have installed too much things, so, the following is my guess of what may just be necessary:
Code:
apt-get install python-is-python3 libogg-dev libvorbis-dev docbook-xsl xsltproc
You can try with just this. If it fails, add the following:
Code:
apt-get install vorbis-tools qt5-default build-essential qtcreator
On my system, both lines are installed, but as i said, i may have installed things not necessary.

Now, from within the mkvtoolnix directory, run the script:
Code:
./packaging/windows/setup_cross_compilation_env.sh
The building library part will take a LOOOT of time, without any message log displayed, so, don't panic if script seems "frozen", it's not ! But, once it's done, when you re-run the script, it will not take a lot of time.

Now... If everything went fine, it will say it and display a message with also 3 commands to execute, with rake at the last.
Copy/paste (and so execute) the 3 commands in your console.
The last, rake, will build mkvtoolnix.
You have to search within the src directory (and sub-directories) to find all the .exe.
I've been able to build a 32 bits version of 69.0.0.39, tested Ok (at leat the GUI starts) on a Windows 7 x86.

Edit
If you want to build both 32 bits and 64 bits versions, once a build is finished, you have to run "rake clean", and after changing ARCHITECTURE in setup_cross_compilation_env.sh, re-run it, don't add the PATH (it's allready done if you're still in the same console), just "hash -r" and "rake".

And then, after, you have to strip the files.

Edit 2
Collect them together in a location for stripping them all at once.
32-bit executables require the 32-bit strip.exe, 64-bit executables require the 64-bit strip.exe.

32-bit build:
Code:
Code:
{mxe}/usr/bin/i686-w64-mingw32.static-strip *.exe
64-bit build:
Code:
Code:
{mxe}/usr/bin/x86_64-w64-mingw32.static-strip *.exe
__________________
My github.

Last edited by jpsdr; 10th August 2022 at 08:52.
jpsdr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2022, 13:23   #32  |  Link
jpsdr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: France
Posts: 2,245
Build under Windows with MSYS2 is not looking good...
After solving some issues, i've been able to begin the toolchain build, but after a very long time (at least 1h if not 2h), it failed with:
Code:
configure: error: Oops, mp_limb_t doesn't seem to work
After a little search, it seems to be a MSYS2 issue, for now there is unfortunately a big chance this being a fatal blow...
__________________
My github.
jpsdr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2022, 13:44   #33  |  Link
filler56789
SuperVirus
 
filler56789's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Antarctic Japan
Posts: 1,347
I have not read everything yet, BUT maybe there exists a workaround :/

Code:
.............
The configure step fails with "error: Oops, mp_limb_t doesn't seem to work" apparently because it calls configure using an absolute path, not relative.
https://githubmemory.com/repo/wbhart/mpir/issues/189
filler56789 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th August 2022, 14:31   #34  |  Link
jpsdr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: France
Posts: 2,245
Unfortunately, this is advanced Makefile/script, i'm totaly lost and have no idea of what to do (if it's even possible to do something).
__________________
My github.
jpsdr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th August 2022, 08:15   #35  |  Link
jpsdr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: France
Posts: 2,245
Anyway, i have 69.0.0.39 Windows 7 working (at least, GUI start, didn't test further yet) version build under Linux, but i don't know where to put it. Any suggestion ? Create a Github ?
__________________
My github.
jpsdr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th August 2022, 13:01   #36  |  Link
hubblec4
Matroska find' ich toll
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,346
GitLab
__________________
chapterEditor || Matroska-Playback || hSplit || DiscShare
hubblec4 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 6th August 2022, 13:50   #37  |  Link
filler56789
SuperVirus
 
filler56789's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Antarctic Japan
Posts: 1,347
BOTH GitHub and GitLab.
Just to be on the safe side.
Hopefully someone will change the source-code and find a way to get rid of Qt entirely 😇.
filler56789 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th August 2022, 13:52   #38  |  Link
filler56789
SuperVirus
 
filler56789's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Antarctic Japan
Posts: 1,347
Quote:
Originally Posted by jpsdr View Post
Anyway, i have 69.0.0.39 Windows 7 working (at least, GUI start, didn't test further yet) version build under Linux, but i don't know where to put it. Any suggestion ? Create a Github ?
You might have already shared the archive in that Videohelp thread that I opened some weeks ago.
filler56789 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th August 2022, 10:39   #39  |  Link
jpsdr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: France
Posts: 2,245
Quote:
Originally Posted by filler56789 View Post
Hopefully someone will change the source-code and find a way to get rid of Qt entirely ��.
This is, i think a LOOOT harder than just try to build it with a QT5 version, while the minimum is still QT5.
I'll think later eventualy for at least a github.
__________________
My github.
jpsdr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10th August 2022, 18:27   #40  |  Link
jpsdr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: France
Posts: 2,245
Check first post, and forget GitLab, i stopped trying to understand how it works before i wanted to kill someone...
__________________
My github.
jpsdr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
mkvtoolnix, windows 7

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:53.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.