Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion. Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules. |
![]() |
#1 | Link |
Registered User
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 1,016
|
Editing on Linux is super fun (sarcasm)
Today I completed my first music video project to use a 100% Linux workflow. I learned a few pretty important things:
1) There is no excuse whatsoever for 7-zip to exist or for Linux support for it to be so atrocious 2) Dependency hell is like... double hell on Linux. Executing a program with WINE is one thing, but when you're using AVIsynth filters that require Microsoft Visual C++, you're fucked. Another example is the ffmpeg2source quirk. It requires index files created by ffmsindex, which in turn only likes being opened by Windows drop-down context menus or the Windows command line, neither of which is available in Linux regardless of whether you have WINE or not. Fortunately, ffmsindex has a native linux port. 3)Windows editing programs running in WINE won't recognize the Linux versions of codecs that you have. You need to install the Windows versions of the codecs. This is easy enough for the ones that have installers, but it kinda rules out HuffYUV, the installation of which again depends on Windows context menus and/or the Windows command prompt. Also, the Windows XviD installer didn't work with previous versions of WINE. 4) My Premiere Project files became corrupt and unreadable pretty much every time I saved and exited.
__________________
I ask unusual questions but always give proper thanks to those who give correct and useful answers. Last edited by Katie Boundary; 18th April 2022 at 20:22. |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#2 | Link |
Registered User
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,765
|
Installing Linux to use Windows software, find the error...
__________________
AVSRepoGUI // VSRepoGUI - Package Manager for AviSynth // VapourSynth VapourSynth Portable FATPACK || VapourSynth Database || https://github.com/avisynth-repository |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#3 | Link |
Broadcast Encoder
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Royal Borough of Kensington & Chelsea, UK
Posts: 2,666
|
Precisely...
First thing first, I use Fedora Linux on a daily basis and whenever I have to use Avisynth, I fire up a Windows VM which is much much better than using wine. That being said, now that AVXSynth has been merged into the main Avisynth branch, I mean the master, you can compile Avisynth+ and use it directly on Linux. Stephen (I mean qyot) has been writing some topics about it, showing how to do it and how to make use of filters. Unfortunately, only a bunch of filters work on Linux 'cause not everything has been ported/compiled for Linux, but the basic stuff work like ffms2 as an indexer, all the internal plugins etc. As to the encoders, Avisynth can be used within ffmpeg and that works just fine on Linux, so you can use it just fine. Last but not least, when it comes to non linear editors, Davinci Resolve is one of the only NLEs that work on Linux just fine, however you're gonna need to have a decent GPU and if you have Nvidia you must use the proprietary Nvidia drivers (good luck with that on Linux) 'cause it won't work with the Nouveau drivers. |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#4 | Link | ||
Registered User
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,646
|
Quote:
Quote:
|
||
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#6 | Link |
Registered User
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 1,016
|
Premiere Pro 2.0 requires XP or earlier, but XP can't see hard drives larger than 2 TB. Linux/WINE is a wonderful little cheat that allows me to use Premiere Pro 2.0 with my 8 TB external hard drives. And no, I'm not going to spend a thousand dollars for a newer version of Premiere. Fuck that.
And don't even get me started on how impossible Cinelerra is for an actual human to use.
__________________
I ask unusual questions but always give proper thanks to those who give correct and useful answers. |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#7 | Link | |
Broadcast Encoder
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Royal Borough of Kensington & Chelsea, UK
Posts: 2,666
|
Quote:
Unfortunately all other NLE don't seem to love Linux: Adobe Premiere is Windows and OSX only, AVID Media Composer is Windows and OSX only, Final Cut is made by Apple, so I'll let you figure that one out, so... you know, it's a tough world out there. Luckily Davinci Resolve seems to be the outlier and they made it Linux compatible. |
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#8 | Link | |
Registered User
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 4,765
|
Quote:
|
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#9 | Link | |
Registered User
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,765
|
Quote:
Instead of premiere you could try kdenlive which is also a powerfull and free video editor on linux.
__________________
AVSRepoGUI // VSRepoGUI - Package Manager for AviSynth // VapourSynth VapourSynth Portable FATPACK || VapourSynth Database || https://github.com/avisynth-repository |
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#11 | Link |
Registered User
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,765
|
Google says it works on Win7 if you start it as admin. Even Win8 should work
__________________
AVSRepoGUI // VSRepoGUI - Package Manager for AviSynth // VapourSynth VapourSynth Portable FATPACK || VapourSynth Database || https://github.com/avisynth-repository Last edited by ChaosKing; 19th April 2022 at 11:59. |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#12 | Link | |
...?
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,397
|
Quote:
There are a few small bits which did get copied over so some effort wasn't duplicated, but the single largest block (see commit 185723fd) was subsequently rewritten to be more portable. The rest are tiny, and you can find them using grep - a few compatibility defines in avs/posix.h, a few bits in core/parser/script.cpp that are explicitly marked as having been copied or adapted over, and core/parser/os/win32_string_compat.cpp (which just reimplements three Windows string functions, rather than anything directly related to AviSynth(+)'s code). ¹The general modernization effort did a lot to resolve things, as intrinsics are more portable and it reduced/eliminated much of the MSVC dialect being used in the core's C++. Explicit support for Linux was attempted in fits and starts for a couple years, the GCC compatibility removed another large hurdle, and beyond that you can see what went on if you read through pull request #120. |
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#13 | Link | |
...?
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,397
|
Quote:
Code:
wine ffmsindex <options> But even then, Wine does have a cmd.exe substitute: Code:
wineconsole |
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#14 | Link | |
Broadcast Encoder
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Royal Borough of Kensington & Chelsea, UK
Posts: 2,666
|
Quote:
![]() Ah and thanks for diving into this, I really appreciated back when it was announced that the frameserver could have been used outside of Windows too. ![]() |
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#15 | Link |
Registered User
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 1,016
|
Only for internal hard drives, not external ones.
Some error message or another, IDK. I tried stuff like that a long time ago. No dice. Hmmm, intradasting.
__________________
I ask unusual questions but always give proper thanks to those who give correct and useful answers. Last edited by Katie Boundary; 19th April 2022 at 20:04. |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#16 | Link |
Registered User
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Germany
Posts: 221
|
You did try the MS compatibility kit? You tried ALL switches?
I could bring some applications to work on Win7 with it, that worked with no other "stuff", f. e. the old Ulead Media Studio, so this was a quite good advice. ![]() First switch you should try is "SingleProcAffinity", if you don't know how to handle this, let me know. |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#17 | Link |
Registered User
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 1,016
|
If you're talking about something other than the Compatibility tab in the Properties window, then I've never heard of it.
__________________
I ask unusual questions but always give proper thanks to those who give correct and useful answers. |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#18 | Link |
Registered User
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Germany
Posts: 221
|
Meanwhile it's part of something bigger, but you still get it f. e. here:
https://www.chip.de/downloads/Micros..._13005894.html Click "Manuelle Installation", and then on the big blue Download button. You have to install, start, then create a new database, create a new fix in it, save the database, and finally "install" it. Then the fix will be applied each time you start Premiere automatically. (If you will really need it, you didn't answer what exact error you get, it's only a good way to go if nothing else works.) |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
#19 | Link |
Registered User
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 1,016
|
I've installed Davinci Resolve and it's one of the worst pieces of shit I've ever used. It can't even get through setup because it keeps crashing to desktop.
__________________
I ask unusual questions but always give proper thanks to those who give correct and useful answers. |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
Display Modes | |
|
|