Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 Encoder GUIs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 3rd February 2007, 16:04   #101  |  Link
The Scientist
Registered User
 
The Scientist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 275
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jacquers View Post
I discovered something intersting: Load a file and wait for it to start playing. Then pause it. Select some option like De-Interlace - playback starts again to show the changes, but then the pause ability is disabled.
Interesting.... yes, that got pass me

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jacquers View Post
v2.2 used to display all the options you selected for the encode (resolution, aspect ration, filesize, quantizer, audio type, filters to use) when it starts the encode.
Well, most of them do get displayed, I assume you want all options shown?
The Scientist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th February 2007, 06:43   #102  |  Link
Jacquers
bonkers
 
Jacquers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 91
Yeah, it would be nice if you could show all the options. Also, would it be possible to show whether the input file is interlaced when loading it so I know that I have to select the deinterlace option?

Last edited by Jacquers; 4th February 2007 at 07:35.
Jacquers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th February 2007, 06:50   #103  |  Link
Jacquers
bonkers
 
Jacquers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 91
When h.264 HW support comes, do you think you will make a GUI that will cater for that conversion? I know earlier in the thread someone suggested it and said it would be good to keep that seperate from avi.NET (and I agree). If you read this post you'll see that you already have most of the requirements in avi.NET to make such a GUI. Just send the avs script to x264.exe instead of avs2avi and use a different muxer...
Jacquers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th February 2007, 08:02   #104  |  Link
The Scientist
Registered User
 
The Scientist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 275
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jacquers View Post
would it be possible to show whether the input file is interlaced when loading it so I know that I have to select the deinterlace option?
Not as far as I am aware. Just look for 'combing' in the preview, it should be quite obvious whether you need to de-interlace.
The Scientist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 4th February 2007, 08:03   #105  |  Link
The Scientist
Registered User
 
The Scientist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 275
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jacquers View Post
When h.264 HW support comes, do you think you will make a GUI that will cater for that conversion?
If I have the time I see no reason why not.
The Scientist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th February 2007, 19:20   #106  |  Link
weaver4
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 925
I did several movies with XviD single pass quantizer of 3.0. When I put the latest version of DRFAnalyzer on it shows that DRF of 3 for 50.9% and DRF of 4 for 49.1% of the frames. I encoded several movies the same way with the same results.

When I encode the movie in DivX, Quantizer of 4 the DRF is 4 for all the frames.

Is this what I should be expected?
weaver4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th February 2007, 21:03   #107  |  Link
The Scientist
Registered User
 
The Scientist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 275
Quote:
Originally Posted by weaver4 View Post
I did several movies with XviD single pass quantizer of 3.0. When I put the latest version of DRFAnalyzer on it shows that DRF of 3 for 50.9% and DRF of 4 for 49.1% of the frames. I encoded several movies the same way with the same results.

When I encode the movie in DivX, Quantizer of 4 the DRF is 4 for all the frames.

Is this what I should be expected?
It's probably not ideal to compare one at a certain quant and then another at a different quant.

I just did a little clip with both codecs at Q4.0 and got:

DIVX
Frame Type Statistics :
I Frames: 2.05%
P Frames: 58.94%
B Frames: 39.01%
S Frames: 0.00%
N Frames: 0.00%
(More Advanced Codecs use B and S frames)
Frame Quality Statistics :

DRF=1&2: 0 0.0%
DRF=3: 0 0.0%
DRF=4: 1408 60.0%
DRF=5: 0 0.0%
DRF=6: 933 39.8%
DRF=7: 0 0.0%
DRF=8: 2 0.1%
DRF=9: 2 0.1%
DRF>9: 0 0.0%

XVID
Frame Type Statistics :
I Frames: 1.50%
P Frames: 50.25%
B Frames: 48.25%
S Frames: 0.00%
N Frames: 0.00%
(More Advanced Codecs use B and S frames)
Frame Quality Statistics :

DRF=1&2: 0 0.0%
DRF=3: 0 0.0%
DRF=4: 1203 51.0%
DRF=5: 0 0.0%
DRF=6: 1155 49.0%
DRF=7: 0 0.0%
DRF=8: 0 0.0%
DRF=9: 0 0.0%
DRF>9: 0 0.0%

You're not going to get constant 4 because of b-frames and/or b-frame offset ratio's. Don't know why you got a constant quant with divx.... did you use avi.NET on both tests? use same settings e.t.c. for both. Both my above tests were in 'normal' mode, not HQ.
The Scientist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12th February 2007, 00:40   #108  |  Link
pdjm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4
I found here in doom9's forum a updated (not oficial) version of of avs2avi:
http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=71493&page=12
Is there any advantage in using it?
Thanks for great program
pdjm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th February 2007, 22:32   #109  |  Link
ricardo.santos
Registered User
 
ricardo.santos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Portugal
Posts: 908
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jacquers View Post
When h.264 HW support comes, do you think you will make a GUI that will cater for that conversion? ...
That would be great but in my opinion avi.Net "should" have SAP(ps3,xbox or hd player) playability in mind, theres megui, automkv, bencos(dvd source not yet,soon),avidemux etc if you need.

but thats up to the author to decide.
ricardo.santos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21st February 2007, 01:03   #110  |  Link
The Scientist
Registered User
 
The Scientist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 275
Quote:
Originally Posted by ricardo.santos View Post
in my opinion avi.Net "should" have SAP(ps3,xbox or hd player) playability in mind
Always has, always will
The Scientist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2007, 08:18   #111  |  Link
Jacquers
bonkers
 
Jacquers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 91
I saw that a new version is out: v2.5.1.0

Changelog:

1. Slight alteration to some codec settings
2. Altered resizing filters, Bicubic when output width less than input, Lanczos when more.
3. Videosize boxes were enabled when loading a file whilst quant pass was selected - fixed.
4. Play/Pause button behaviour was incorrect when options were chosen during pause - fixed.
5. Added more information to encoding display window.
6. DivX HQ mode multi-core aware.

Thanks!
Jacquers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th February 2007, 10:36   #112  |  Link
audioman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 105
As far as I am concerned , I Made my choice on X264 codec

Just make a test on the " NEMO MOVIE " which causes the xvid and codecs to fail , showing some big artefacts and some image degradation even at High bitrates

Make the same test using X264 with HQ matrix slow, Lanczos and Bitrate 900 , it is quite astonishing
Neither artefacts nor image degradations

The final image file is 650 megs
audioman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 6th March 2007, 21:11   #113  |  Link
avi.net_user
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 3
Divx and better quality modes

Avi.net is the best automated conversion tool-period...

But e.g. Divx has more unused potential...

Will there be ever a selectable balanced-better-extreme-insane... quality choice (supported by the codec)... From my point of view it would lift the quality of the conversion some more... (instead of going to unsupported X264 by SAPīs)

It seems to me that avi.net when using divx is stuck in BALANCED mode
avi.net_user is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th March 2007, 10:26   #114  |  Link
Lester Burnham
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by avi.net_user View Post
Avi.net is the best automated conversion tool-period...
With all due respect to avi.net - what about AutoGK?

That's not said to denigrate avi.net at all, but I just think it's awfully previous to start claiming "best" - even if you ignore the forums rules on such things.

From where I'm sat, avi.net has always had a very firm focus on standalone compatibility - whereas AutoGK has seemingly focused on being automated and quality (given the run-time constraints).

It's only recently that avi.net has started doing things like compressibility tests, that AutoGK has always (?) done.

Both apps seem very good at what they do, but have differing rationales, so I think it's doing a disservice to the other apps that do such conversions, to simply arbitrarily declare one the "best".
Lester Burnham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th March 2007, 10:47   #115  |  Link
avi.net_user
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 3
you are right

O.k. sorry sorry maybe I overstated a bit. It was just a way to motivate the author of this little program to keep going on. Avi.net is fast and very user-friendly .

Of course there are others that deserve respect. I hope this discussion does not take the upper hand.

Just wanted to know if codec settings will ever be selectable ...
avi.net_user is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th March 2007, 21:01   #116  |  Link
The Scientist
Registered User
 
The Scientist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 275
Quote:
Originally Posted by avi.net_user View Post
It seems to me that avi.net when using divx is stuck in BALANCED mode
There's isn't actually many options that can be changed in DIVX, that being said, avi.NET only uses BALANCED mode in the 'normal' DIVX encode, click the "HQ" option and it will encode using the DIVX High Quality mode.
The Scientist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 7th March 2007, 21:58   #117  |  Link
avi.net_user
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 3
Will try this HQ mode.... It is just that I use virtualdub for my own conversions (edits from DV-tape)
When selection the DIVX-codec I can alter itīs settings and quality modes. I did not know that HQ-mode in avi.net did the same thing... Which codec settings are used in HQ-mode (comparable to better mode, extreme, insane ???)

Stop the presses... I found it using the search function... it is higher quality... Will try it out...

Last edited by avi.net_user; 7th March 2007 at 22:05.
avi.net_user is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th March 2007, 04:26   #118  |  Link
Nrmf
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 114
what happened just tried to do a .ts file and the latest version wont see it when i try to load the file. please send help
Nrmf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27th March 2007, 14:18   #119  |  Link
pdjm
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4
I found a small problem with avi.net. If i open a movie and let it play until the end, when the movie finishes avi.net freezes. Anyone has the same problem?
pdjm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st April 2007, 01:14   #120  |  Link
Nrmf
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 114
anyone have a suggestion on .TS or .TP files
Nrmf is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 00:55.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.