Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 Encoder GUIs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 15th May 2024, 17:19   #20681  |  Link
rlev11
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 96
Quote:
Originally Posted by FTLOY View Post
As far as I can tell, there's no issues with client.

The only strange thing that has been happening (and I think I've mentioned this recently), is a chunk can be happily progressing, and then "out of the blue", it re-starts, no errors msg's, just starts from 0%.
Only times I have experienced something like that was back when I did not make sure the encoding server window was on the desktop on every machine (not minimized in the tray), or occasionally when doing the rare 480p with some heavy degraining, I'll get encoding server stalled messages on some of the servers.
rlev11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16th May 2024, 10:59   #20682  |  Link
cypher007
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 128
actually i had a think about it and ive had it where even on a standard encode (not DE) its not stopped but accelerated the FPS and created junk when ive changed networks. really odd issue, i just make sure i dont unplug my lan when encoding.
cypher007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th May 2024, 10:59   #20683  |  Link
FTLOY
Friend of a friend..
 
FTLOY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2023
Posts: 290
I was having a bit of a play with the latest Handbrake 1.8.0 today, and it appears to be able to convert most audio to TrueHD, now, not just pass thru, albeit, ONLY to 5.1, even if the original is 7.1.
__________________
RipBot264 v1.27.3 (08-06-2024)
FTLOY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25th May 2024, 17:40   #20684  |  Link
Atak_Snajpera
RipBot264 author
 
Atak_Snajpera's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 7,868
Quote:
Originally Posted by FTLOY View Post
I was having a bit of a play with the latest Handbrake 1.8.0 today, and it appears to be able to convert most audio to TrueHD, now, not just pass thru, albeit, ONLY to 5.1, even if the original is 7.1.
Meanwhile most of TrueHD streams in movies are 7.1 so ... useless for me.

Last edited by Atak_Snajpera; 25th May 2024 at 20:58.
Atak_Snajpera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2024, 06:02   #20685  |  Link
FTLOY
Friend of a friend..
 
FTLOY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2023
Posts: 290
@ Atak,

I've been trying to remember the app you created to test bit's comparing to FFMS2 & L-smash, but I am drawing a blank.

I'd like to run some more tests now there's yet another improved FFMS2 build, and then there's a "new kid on the block", BestSource (BS)
__________________
RipBot264 v1.27.3 (08-06-2024)
FTLOY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2024, 08:07   #20686  |  Link
Emulgator
Big Bit Savings Now !
 
Emulgator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: close to the wall
Posts: 1,598
Seektester ?
https://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=176878
__________________
"To bypass shortcuts and find suffering...is called QUALity" (Die toten Augen von Friedrichshain)
"Data reduction ? Yep, Sir. We're that issue working on. Synce invntoin uf lingöage..."
Emulgator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2024, 08:32   #20687  |  Link
FTLOY
Friend of a friend..
 
FTLOY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2023
Posts: 290
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emulgator View Post
You just never know where you are going to pop up

that's the one.
__________________
RipBot264 v1.27.3 (08-06-2024)
FTLOY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2024, 09:59   #20688  |  Link
Emulgator
Big Bit Savings Now !
 
Emulgator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: close to the wall
Posts: 1,598
Just one Seektester quickie for fun:
1920x1080x25i AVC+MVC in .MTS from a Panasonic 3D-Cam HDC-Z10000
LWLibavVideosource 1194 by Asd-g fine
Bestsource 4.0 by Myrsloik fine
FFMS2 5.0 by Myrsloik fine
FFMS2 2390 by StvG faulty (frameskips/repeats)
__________________
"To bypass shortcuts and find suffering...is called QUALity" (Die toten Augen von Friedrichshain)
"Data reduction ? Yep, Sir. We're that issue working on. Synce invntoin uf lingöage..."
Emulgator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2024, 10:18   #20689  |  Link
FTLOY
Friend of a friend..
 
FTLOY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2023
Posts: 290
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emulgator View Post
Just one Seektester quickie for fun:
1920x1080x25i AVC+MVC in .MTS from a Panasonic 3D-Cam HDC-Z10000
LWLibavVideosource 1194 by Asd-g fine
Bestsource 4.0 by Myrsloik fine
FFMS2 5.0 by Myrsloik fine
FFMS2 2390 by StvG faulty (frameskips/repeats)
Well, that's great that you've done that

Saves me doing it...

Maybe Atak will take note...it would be nice if he added FFMS2 5.0 & Bestsource to RipBot...just to give users a choice.

Cheers.
__________________
RipBot264 v1.27.3 (08-06-2024)
FTLOY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2024, 11:22   #20690  |  Link
Atak_Snajpera
RipBot264 author
 
Atak_Snajpera's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 7,868
Quote:
Originally Posted by FTLOY View Post
Well, that's great that you've done that

Saves me doing it...

Maybe Atak will take note...it would be nice if he added FFMS2 5.0 & Bestsource to RipBot...just to give users a choice.

Cheers.
If ain't broken , don't fix it. That's my rule. If decoded frame is not corrupted then what is the point of using FFMS2 or BestSource?
Atak_Snajpera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2024, 11:37   #20691  |  Link
FTLOY
Friend of a friend..
 
FTLOY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2023
Posts: 290
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atak_Snajpera View Post
If ain't broken , don't fix it. That's my rule. If decoded frame is not corrupted then what is the point of using FFMS2 or BestSource?
Who said it was broken, it's about choice...

FFMS2 used to be a user's choice option..

It's just that over the years, you have been asked for certain extra features & functions that can only improve RipBot, but because YOU don't have a use for it, it doesn't happen, unfortunately.

It's good that someone like Pauly Dunne went to the trouble of adding the use of SMDegrain to RB, and it's proven to the many that use the PD builds, that it's superior & faster than the options in "vanilla" RB.

Just sayin'...
__________________
RipBot264 v1.27.3 (08-06-2024)

Last edited by FTLOY; 30th May 2024 at 11:58.
FTLOY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2024, 12:05   #20692  |  Link
Atak_Snajpera
RipBot264 author
 
Atak_Snajpera's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 7,868
What does FFMS2 or BestSource improve over LWLibavVideosource? In the end all those filters rely on ffmpeg code under hood.
LWLibavVideosource has proven to be very reliable over all those years so if ain't broken , don't change it.
frame accurate = CHECK
No corrupted frames = CHECK
That's all I need.
Atak_Snajpera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2024, 12:15   #20693  |  Link
FTLOY
Friend of a friend..
 
FTLOY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2023
Posts: 290
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atak_Snajpera View Post
What does FFMS2 or BestSource improve over LWLibavVideosource? In the end all those filters rely on ffmpeg code under hood.
LWLibavVideosource has proven to be very reliable over all those years so if ain't broken , don't change it.
frame accurate = CHECK
No corrupted frames = CHECK
That's all I need.
Again, it's about user choice !!!

I have no idea if FFMS2 or BS improve anything, and L-Smash isn't broken, but I have read that it might be being overshadowed by BestSource (same dev does both, I believe).

I thought that "filter's" were Avisynth based, and FFMPEG processed / encoded everything.

But this sums it up perfectly:-

Quote:
That's all I need.
__________________
RipBot264 v1.27.3 (08-06-2024)
FTLOY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2024, 12:17   #20694  |  Link
Atak_Snajpera
RipBot264 author
 
Atak_Snajpera's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 7,868
Quote:
Originally Posted by FTLOY View Post
Again, it's about user choice !!!

I have no idea if FFMS2 or BS improve anything, and L-Smash isn't broken, but I have read that it might be being overshadowed by BestSource (same dev does both, I believe).

I thought that "filter's" were Avisynth based, and FFMPEG processed / encoded everything.
FFMPEG code also decodes stuff using builtin decoders.

https://ffmpeg.org/ffmpeg-codecs.html#Decoders

The same code is used in SourceFilters() as well.

NO MATTER WHAT YOU CHOOSE YOU ALWAYS CHOOSE FFMPEG CODE UNDER THE HOOD. End of story.

Last edited by Atak_Snajpera; 30th May 2024 at 12:22.
Atak_Snajpera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2024, 12:44   #20695  |  Link
Atak_Snajpera
RipBot264 author
 
Atak_Snajpera's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Poland
Posts: 7,868
Quote:
But this sums it up perfectly:-

Quote:
That's all I need.
Fun fact: I started this project in 2007 because I wanted something simple for encoding my videos to my PSP. So It's been always tailored for my needs.


Distributed Encoding Mode was also not created because somebody requested it. I made it for myself because I had an extra PC at home.

Last edited by Atak_Snajpera; 30th May 2024 at 12:50.
Atak_Snajpera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2024, 14:19   #20696  |  Link
FTLOY
Friend of a friend..
 
FTLOY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2023
Posts: 290
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atak_Snajpera View Post
Fun fact: I started this project in 2007 because I wanted something simple for encoding my videos to my PSP. So It's been always tailored for my needs.


Distributed Encoding Mode was also not created because somebody requested it. I made it for myself because I had an extra PC at home.
So if you created this for your own needs, why did you release it to the public ???

Knowing that you would probably never do anything to it, that YOU didn't want !!!

But despite your stubbornness, I do have to applaud you for figuring out how to successfully introduce the awesome Distributed Encoding function, that IS the most outstanding feature of ANY encoding app.

None of them have attempted such a feature, the only one that comes even close is StaxRip with its parallel chunk encoding, which even tho it speeds up the encoding process, it ONLY works on 1 PC
__________________
RipBot264 v1.27.3 (08-06-2024)
FTLOY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2024, 16:27   #20697  |  Link
Emulgator
Big Bit Savings Now !
 
Emulgator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: close to the wall
Posts: 1,598
Quote:
LWLibavVideosource has proven to be very reliable over all those years so if ain't broken , don't change it.
I do agree with that, for years no failures here with LWLibavVideosource under different use cases.
The safe indexing gold standard is already implemented by Atak, adding any poorer choice
(for instance ffms2, what he tested back then and discarded for good measure) would ask for trouble...
__________________
"To bypass shortcuts and find suffering...is called QUALity" (Die toten Augen von Friedrichshain)
"Data reduction ? Yep, Sir. We're that issue working on. Synce invntoin uf lingöage..."

Last edited by Emulgator; 30th May 2024 at 16:31.
Emulgator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2024, 18:33   #20698  |  Link
FTLOY
Friend of a friend..
 
FTLOY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2023
Posts: 290
Quote:
Originally Posted by Emulgator View Post
I do agree with that, for years no failures here with LWLibavVideosource under different use cases.
The safe indexing gold standard is already implemented by Atak, adding any poorer choice
(for instance ffms2, what he tested back then and discarded for good measure) would ask for trouble...
Maybe back then, FFMS2 was faulty, but the latest build, and BS appear to be "fine" (in your words).
__________________
RipBot264 v1.27.3 (08-06-2024)
FTLOY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2024, 20:01   #20699  |  Link
cypher007
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 128
anyone getting a microsoft virus scan come up when updating to 1.27.3?
cypher007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30th May 2024, 20:42   #20700  |  Link
rlev11
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 96
Quote:
Originally Posted by cypher007 View Post
anyone getting a microsoft virus scan come up when updating to 1.27.3?
Yep, picks up Trojan:Win32/Phonzy.B!ml on ribbot264.exe and Trojan.Win32/Wacatac.B!ml on encodingclient and encodingserver exe's

Malwarebytes did not pick them up, only microsoft AV realtime protection

Downloaded the latest Microsoft Safety Scanner and ran that against it and it came back clean as well

Last edited by rlev11; 30th May 2024 at 21:00. Reason: update
rlev11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
264, 265, appletv, avchd, bluray, gui, iphone, ipod, ps3, psp, ripbot264, x264 2-pass, x264 gui, x264_64, x265, xbox360

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:30.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.