Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > MPEG-4 AVC / H.264

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 3rd August 2009, 05:55   #1261  |  Link
JeffBDVS
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 45
NVBeta4 issue with PureVideo double rate deinterlacing:
  1. Index a 1080i60 AVCHD clip from a Panasonic HMC150
  2. Point an .avs script file to the resulting .dga file
  3. Script Text: DGSource("00014.dga", deinterlace=2)
  4. Load the .avs script into VirtualDub
  5. Check File Information: Verify that frame rate is 59.94fps
  6. Play or scrub in VirtualDub.
Result: only half of the frames play back. At the halfway point, VirtualDub displays a freeze frame for the rest of the clip. When I go to the end of the clip I can get the second half frames to appear if I step or seek backwards. But when I try to play or scrub forward again, the frame just freezes from that point. This issue also shows up in any files exported from VirtualDub. The issue does not occur inside of DGAVCIndexNV during play or preview.

Workaround: Use single-rate PureVideo deinterlacing.

System:
Vista 64 SP2
GTX280 with the 190.38 drivers
VirtualDub 1.8.8/build 30091
AviSynth 2.5.7.0 (MT build)

If you want a sample stream, let me know and I'll email a link to you.

-Jeff
JeffBDVS is offline  
Old 3rd August 2009, 13:33   #1262  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,922
Fixed in NV beta 5:

http://neuron2.net/dgavcdecnv/NVbeta5.zip

If you have previously downloaded beta 5 to get the fix for MPEG, you need to re-download it to get this fix for AVC and VC1.

Last edited by Guest; 3rd August 2009 at 13:56.
Guest is offline  
Old 3rd August 2009, 14:25   #1263  |  Link
JeffBDVS
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 45
I guess I jumped the gun about an hour ago. I was going to report that it didn't work here for AVC. I'll try again now.

Email with a link to the problem AVCHD stream is on its way to you, Don.

-Jeff
JeffBDVS is offline  
Old 3rd August 2009, 14:29   #1264  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,922
I tested your stream with the corrected beta 5 and it was fine with deinterlace=2.
Guest is offline  
Old 3rd August 2009, 15:06   #1265  |  Link
JeffBDVS
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 45
Works a treat now. Thanks, Don.

-Jeff
JeffBDVS is offline  
Old 11th August 2009, 20:54   #1266  |  Link
JeffBDVS
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 45
New problem with NVBeta5. DGMPGIndexNV doesn't properly recognize as interlaced, an elementary MPEG2, I-frame-only high@high, 100 Mbps CBR file. The info box shows its structure as Frame/Field. DGIndex 1.5.2 does recognize it properly as interlaced.

NV and DGIndex logs and index files attached.

-Jeff
Attached Files
File Type: zip Logs_Indexes.zip (13.4 KB, 10 views)
JeffBDVS is offline  
Old 11th August 2009, 21:01   #1267  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,922
In the non-NV version "Frame Type" is the value of progressive_frame and "Coding Type" is I, P, or B frame. In the NV version, "Frame Type" is I, P, or B frame and there is no field that reports progressive_frame. I should bring them into alignment.

Frame/Field refers to the sequence: If the sequence is shown as "Frame/Field", then some frames may be coded progressively, some coded interlaced, and some pulled down.

Why aren't you using beta 7?

Last edited by Guest; 11th August 2009 at 21:17.
Guest is offline  
Old 11th August 2009, 21:18   #1268  |  Link
JeffBDVS
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 45
It's not just the info window. The output isn't interlaced either, and it should be. Both the NV window and VirtualDub from AviSynth show deinterlaced frames. I wasn't clear enough in my original post. I'm sorry.

Quote:
Originally Posted by neuron2 View Post
Why aren't you using beta 7?
Because I didn't know there was a Beta 7?

-Jeff
JeffBDVS is offline  
Old 11th August 2009, 21:38   #1269  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,922
Quote:
Originally Posted by JeffBDVS View Post
It's not just the info window. The output isn't interlaced either, and it should be. Both the NV window and VirtualDub from AviSynth show deinterlaced frames.
LOL. You'll have to give me a stream sample if you want me to believe that.

The only thing I can think of is that it has soft pulldown and you don't have Honor Pulldown selected under Video/Field Operation.
Guest is offline  
Old 11th August 2009, 22:02   #1270  |  Link
JeffBDVS
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 45
Here's the link to the sample stream:

Interlaced M2V File

Attached is a screenshot with the export parameters from Adobe Premiere Pro, and the .ini file for DGMPGIndexNV Beta 7.

-Jeff
Attached Images
 
Attached Files
File Type: txt DGMPGIndexNV.ini.txt (449 Bytes, 6 views)

Last edited by JeffBDVS; 11th August 2009 at 22:04. Reason: Added link to download sample stream
JeffBDVS is offline  
Old 11th August 2009, 22:41   #1271  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,922
I opened your sample in beta 7. I set Video/Display HD Full-Sized. I hit F5. The video clearly shows the combing.

I serve the video with my script into VirtualDub and play. The video clearly shows the combing.

I add SeparateFields() to my script and open it in VirtualDub. I step through and can see field rate motion.

Do you have all your windows set to half size? That simulates a deinterlacer.

Last edited by Guest; 11th August 2009 at 22:53.
Guest is offline  
Old 11th August 2009, 23:21   #1272  |  Link
JeffBDVS
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by neuron2 View Post
I opened your sample in beta 7. I set Video/Display HD Full-Sized. I hit F5. The video clearly shows the combing.

I serve the video with my script into VirtualDub and play. The video clearly shows the combing.

I add SeparateFields() to my script and open it in VirtualDub. I step through and can see field rate motion.

Do you have all your windows set to half size? That simulates a deinterlacer.
Nope. I configured Beta 7 exactly as you described in the quote above. Two new weird observations:
  1. If I load the clip and then select Display HD full size, the very first frame shows the combing. But if I step or seek through the clip, all subsequent frames appear deinterlaced.
  2. If I select Display HD Full Sized and *then* load the clip, not even the first frame shows the combing.
Based on those 2 observations, I suspect a display driver problem here on my end. I do have the 190.38 drivers.

Thanks for taking the time to check this out. That you cannot reproduce the issue means I've got some serious troubleshooting in my future.

-Jeff

EDIT: In item #1, not *all* of the subsequent frames appeared deinterlaced. I found that the very last 2 frames of the clip also showed combing.

Last edited by JeffBDVS; 12th August 2009 at 00:22. Reason: New Data Point
JeffBDVS is offline  
Old 12th August 2009, 00:27   #1273  |  Link
JeffBDVS
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 45
The fact that the 2 last frames in the clip showed the combing gave me an idea. My idea worked.

Workaround:
  1. Find any frame in the clip that is showing the combing.
  2. Set the In/Out points to create a short segment that encompasses at least one "combed" frame.
  3. Preview (F5)
  4. Reset the In/Out points to encompass the whole clip.
  5. Save Project.
So far, resetting the In/Out points seems to do the trick. After using the workaround, all frames in NV and in VirtualDub show up as interlaced.

Without the workaround, all the frames show up as deinterlaced. (Except for the first one and the last two, as mentioned above.)

Definitely odd. I have no idea what could cause this behavior.

-Jeff
JeffBDVS is offline  
Old 15th August 2009, 11:27   #1274  |  Link
Zelos
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Marseille
Posts: 73
Hi there,

sorry if i don't undestand the use of DGAVCDecodeNV , but does it distress the cpu for encoding from h264 source ?

thanks
Zelos is offline  
Old 15th August 2009, 12:39   #1275  |  Link
Audionut
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,275
Yes, decoding h.264 is cpu intensive. These tools decode h.264 using the GPU.
__________________
http://www.7-zip.org/
Audionut is offline  
Old 15th August 2009, 12:53   #1276  |  Link
Zelos
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Marseille
Posts: 73
oh that is a great tool so !
So it might use cuda right ?
Zelos is offline  
Old 15th August 2009, 13:00   #1277  |  Link
kemuri-_9
Compiling Encoder
 
kemuri-_9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,348
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zelos View Post
oh that is a great tool so !
So it might use cuda right ?
it does use CUDA to access the GPU's VP2 engine to decode the video directly on the card.
__________________
custom x264 builds & patches | F@H | My Specs
kemuri-_9 is offline  
Old 15th August 2009, 13:13   #1278  |  Link
Zelos
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Marseille
Posts: 73
can someone post the difference speed between :
- just cpu with megui
- using DGAVCDecNV with megui

thanks

i have core i7 920 and would like to know if i have to sell it
Zelos is offline  
Old 15th August 2009, 13:13   #1279  |  Link
Guest
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 21,922
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zelos View Post
oh that is a great tool so!
Yes, but don't overestimate its impact on timesaving when transcoding, because decoding is a relatively small load compared to encoding. The savings can be useful on a low end CPU, but negligible on a high end CPU.
Guest is offline  
Old 15th August 2009, 13:25   #1280  |  Link
Zelos
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Marseille
Posts: 73
humm ok i see, i will make a try to check the benefits , so.
thanks for all replies
Zelos is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 22:41.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.