Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 18th November 2019, 14:16   #57801  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 909
Quote:
Originally Posted by nsnhd View Post
Try changing the *highlight recovery strength* to None as that eats so much performances. RX 580 is similarly powerful as my gtx 1060 6gb and it can not afford this setting on.

i'll have a look at that, I was using that for that particular scene in harry potter, i'll have a proper play with it before I sack it off.

Thanks.
__________________
OLED 4k HDR EF950-YAM RX-V685-WIN10 444 RGB 60hz-AMD RX 5700 19.12.2 KODI DS - MAD/LAV 92.17/0.74.1 - 3D MVC / FSE:Off / MADVR 10bit
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2019, 15:17   #57802  |  Link
SirMaster
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by nsnhd View Post
Try changing the *highlight recovery strength* to None as that eats so much performances. RX 580 is similarly powerful as my gtx 1060 6gb and it can not afford this setting on.
Hmm on my laptop GTX 1060 MaxQ I can have highlight recovery strength on and the performance is just fine.
SirMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18th November 2019, 23:54   #57803  |  Link
Alucard777
Registered User
 
Alucard777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 2
hii ..

I'm currently using mpv with svp but i'm missing madvr alot and if I use mpc-hc with madvr & svp >> ( need ffdshow ) then the hdr will not passthrough !! ..
https://www.svp-team.com/wiki/Manual:SVP

can any one confirm if the vapoursynth will be added to madvr ?

if yes will hdr 10 bit passthrough with svp (smooth video project ) ?


thank you
Alucard777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th November 2019, 03:26   #57804  |  Link
ryrynz
Registered User
 
ryrynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,229
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alucard777 View Post


can any one confirm if the vapoursynth will be added to madvr ?
At some stage madshi was looking to add support for this but it will either happen in 5-10 years or not at all. I asked pinterf about 10bit parsing/support in ffdshow but he's too busy for this. Honestly I hold no hope of this ever being done in the 2020s if at all.
ryrynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th November 2019, 05:03   #57805  |  Link
Alexkral
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 139
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alucard777 View Post
if I use mpc-hc with madvr & svp >> ( need ffdshow ) then the hdr will not passthrough !! ..
If you add "hdr=on" or "transfer=hdr" to the file name you'll get passthrough even using ffdshow.
Alexkral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th November 2019, 06:08   #57806  |  Link
Magik Mark
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 556
Can someone help me create a profile in "DEVICES" for SDR and HDR?

Basically if video is SDR then use SDR Profile
if video is HDR then use HDR Profile

Both in "Devices"

I'm confused reading madshi FAQ

Thanks
__________________
Asus X99 Sabertooth - Xeon E5 2695 - Asus Strix GTX 960 4G - DDR4 16GB Predator - Pioneer KRP 600M (isf calibrated) - Yamaha A3030 - Windows 10 x64 - Kodi with DSplayer - Lav - MadVR - XYsubtitle
Magik Mark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th November 2019, 12:42   #57807  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,977
click on your device name create profile 2 times name them HDR and SDR

if (HDR==true) "HDR"
else "SDR"
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th November 2019, 13:03   #57808  |  Link
Magik Mark
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 556
Thanks a lot!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
Asus X99 Sabertooth - Xeon E5 2695 - Asus Strix GTX 960 4G - DDR4 16GB Predator - Pioneer KRP 600M (isf calibrated) - Yamaha A3030 - Windows 10 x64 - Kodi with DSplayer - Lav - MadVR - XYsubtitle
Magik Mark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th November 2019, 14:01   #57809  |  Link
DMU
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
click on your device name create profile 2 times name them HDR and SDR

if (HDR==true) "HDR"
else "SDR"
Who runs this profile rule on the AMD Ryzen iGPU correctly?
I canít achieve this.
__________________
R3 2200G / Vega8 / Samsung UE40NU7100
Win10Pro 1909 / 4K RGB 60Hz / AMD19.12.2
MPC-HC 1.8.8 / madVR 0.92.17 / FSW / 10bit@60Hz
DMU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th November 2019, 14:25   #57810  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,977
he ask me to detect HDR not changing the bit deep.
the properties page is not used properly the rest is.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th November 2019, 14:58   #57811  |  Link
DMU
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 85
Yes it is clear. But how then to change the bitdepth of the output of the madVR depending on the HDR? This is necessary for owners of AMD video cards, as their API does not support HDR with 8 bits.
__________________
R3 2200G / Vega8 / Samsung UE40NU7100
Win10Pro 1909 / 4K RGB 60Hz / AMD19.12.2
MPC-HC 1.8.8 / madVR 0.92.17 / FSW / 10bit@60Hz
DMU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th November 2019, 15:33   #57812  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,977
if (HDR== true) and (bitdepth==10) "HDR"
else "SDR"

maybe he will fix these bugs one day.

maybe he will update the AGS which has been updated according to "user" feat back so it may support 8 bit finally.

maybe just get an nvidia card if you want to use madVR because the developer is clearly favouring and recommending them. it is as it is...
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th November 2019, 18:59   #57813  |  Link
cork_OS
Registered User
 
cork_OS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Minsk (Blr)
Posts: 146
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alexkral View Post
If you add "hdr=on" or "transfer=hdr" to the file name you'll get passthrough even using ffdshow.
I confirm it. I'm watching 4K HDR movies using MPC-HC+SVP+madVR thanks to this trick.
It would be better if madshi will add a hotkey to force HDR mode passthrough though.
__________________
I'm infected with poor sources.

Last edited by cork_OS; 19th November 2019 at 19:02.
cork_OS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th November 2019, 20:25   #57814  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 909
Quote:
Originally Posted by DMU View Post
Yes it is clear. But how then to change the bitdepth of the output of the madVR depending on the HDR? This is necessary for owners of AMD video cards, as their API does not support HDR with 8 bits.
where would you come accross an 8bit HDR movie though?
__________________
OLED 4k HDR EF950-YAM RX-V685-WIN10 444 RGB 60hz-AMD RX 5700 19.12.2 KODI DS - MAD/LAV 92.17/0.74.1 - 3D MVC / FSE:Off / MADVR 10bit
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th November 2019, 20:48   #57815  |  Link
DMU
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by huhn View Post
maybe he will update the AGS which has been updated according to "user" feat back so it may support 8 bit finally.
This is sad. Now there is already the ability to dynamically control the Windows HDR switch using DXGI. So, there is no particular need for the use of the HDR private API's.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mclingo View Post
where would you come accross an 8bit HDR movie though?
8 bit output needed for SDR content. But profiles for switching between HDR and SDR do not work. I gave the link above.
__________________
R3 2200G / Vega8 / Samsung UE40NU7100
Win10Pro 1909 / 4K RGB 60Hz / AMD19.12.2
MPC-HC 1.8.8 / madVR 0.92.17 / FSW / 10bit@60Hz

Last edited by DMU; 19th November 2019 at 21:04.
DMU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th November 2019, 21:18   #57816  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,977
Quote:
Originally Posted by mclingo View Post
where would you come accross an 8bit HDR movie though?
where did you come accross a 10 bit RGB source?
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19th November 2019, 21:50   #57817  |  Link
Devrim
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 58
Does anyone here use MadVR on Windows 10 LTSC? Are there any issues with it?
Devrim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th November 2019, 00:03   #57818  |  Link
redbtn
Registered User
 
redbtn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Russia
Posts: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by Devrim View Post
Does anyone here use MadVR on Windows 10 LTSC? Are there any issues with it?
I use. No issues whatsoever
redbtn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th November 2019, 01:40   #57819  |  Link
mclingo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 909
Quote:
Originally Posted by DMU View Post
This is sad. Now there is already the ability to dynamically control the Windows HDR switch using DXGI. So, there is no particular need for the use of the HDR private API's.


8 bit output needed for SDR content. But profiles for switching between HDR and SDR do not work. I gave the link above.
i'm probably just misunderstanding what you are saying. Are you saying that MADVR is failing to recognise and switch to a HDR profile based on bit rate on AMD cards due to an API issue with HDR?

I tried creating a HDR profile ages ago and couldnt not get it work but I decided I didnt need it anyway so I havent looked at it again until now. I'm looking at it again now as I'm trying to get my processing below 30ms with tone mapping and using NGU AA on my RX580.

i'm pretty close now with these settings, can anyone recommend any other tweaks to give me a few exta miliseconds?

https://1drv.ms/u/s!AgvFafeelEBigqsK...SPe_g?e=Kthzck
__________________
OLED 4k HDR EF950-YAM RX-V685-WIN10 444 RGB 60hz-AMD RX 5700 19.12.2 KODI DS - MAD/LAV 92.17/0.74.1 - 3D MVC / FSE:Off / MADVR 10bit

Last edited by mclingo; 20th November 2019 at 01:48.
mclingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20th November 2019, 03:07   #57820  |  Link
huhn
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5,977
the card it self has nothing to do with this it's the bad API from AMD that is related but the bug is in madVR. and the bug is that the properties are ignored in profiles when "HDR" is used for a check but work if bitdepth are used for the check.

if AMD would work with 8 bit he wouldn't need an profile because he would just use 8 bit (which was been proven to be better for consumer TVs over and over again) but that's not possible because the API is super limited.

all this doesn't change that there is a bug in madVR.
huhn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
direct compute, dithering, error diffusion, madvr, ngu, nnedi3, quality, renderer, scaling, uhd upscaling, upsampling

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:46.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.