Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Hardware & Software > Software players

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 16th February 2008, 20:57   #1081  |  Link
leeperry
Kid for Today
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3,463
hey dude, nothing can beat Reclock resampling 29.97@30 and 23.976@24

it's resampling the audio, so the framerate becomes judder-free.
leeperry is offline  
Old 17th February 2008, 02:52   #1082  |  Link
ADude
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 340
Quote:
Originally Posted by cca View Post
What I observe under these conditions is jerky motion. Every once in a while, the video makes annoying jumps, like skipping a frame or two. This effect is completely eliminated with ReClock.
Quote:
Originally Posted by leeperry View Post
hey dude, nothing can beat Reclock resampling 29.97@30 and 23.976@24

it's resampling the audio, so the framerate becomes judder-free.
Since that effect does not occur with Vista, then what must be happening is that both the audio and the video are synchronized to a third timing source.

And since the audio is not resampled, it should sound a little closer to the original source.
__________________
s/w: Vista Home Basic 32bit (no Aero), MPC-HC, EVR Custom Presenter, CoreAVC Pro, ffdshow, SPDIFer
h/w: Antec 2480 case, Gigabyte GA-MA69GM-S2H, 4200+, 2.5gb+512mb, ATI x1250 IGP, MS MCE remote
ADude is offline  
Old 17th February 2008, 03:28   #1083  |  Link
molitar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 177
Well I found a problem in version 396. If the xvid transform filter is checked than D.Grayman episode 70 has serious artifacting. Really bad artifacting.. I unchecked the xvid transform and did not have any artifacting.
molitar is offline  
Old 17th February 2008, 09:48   #1084  |  Link
ACrowley
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,008
Hi

I cant use Pan&Scan Mode ont HomeCinema builds ?
When i set it to Scale to 16:9 or other Modes i get a Blackscreen.
With all Renderers/Filter and Decoder

Works perfect with "standard" mpc Builds
ACrowley is offline  
Old 17th February 2008, 10:23   #1085  |  Link
leeperry
Kid for Today
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3,463
Quote:
Originally Posted by ADude View Post
Since that effect does not occur with Vista, then what must be happening is that both the audio and the video are synchronized to a third timing source.

And since the audio is not resampled, it should sound a little closer to the original source.
chances are you were using directsound on XP before you switched to Vista, and its KMixer was resampling everything anyway

in "Excellent" mode, Reclock does a very good job.

you don't see judder because you don't look for it

start using Reclock for a while, then disable it......you'll suffer great pain

Last edited by leeperry; 17th February 2008 at 12:44.
leeperry is offline  
Old 17th February 2008, 15:46   #1086  |  Link
molitar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 177
What is this Reclock your talking about?
molitar is offline  
Old 17th February 2008, 16:04   #1087  |  Link
clsid
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 5,013
Use the search

http://reclock.free.fr/
clsid is offline  
Old 17th February 2008, 19:36   #1088  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,137
@Casimir666, I have a wish for improved aspect ratio handling. It's really easy to add, I think. Let me explain: There seem to be two different ways to signal an aspect ratio via the mediatype information:

(1) VIDEOINFOHEADER2.dwPictAspectRatioX
(2) BITMAPINFOHEADER.biXPelsPerMeter

It seems that MPC HC supports both methods in several places - but not everywhere. E.g. if I check properties of the currently playing video clip, MPC HC shows the proper aspect ratio, regardless of which of the fields above are filled by the splitter. Also the "filter -> pin info" window shows the correct aspect ratio for both fields above.

However, the automatic Aspect Ratio logic seems to support (1) only. If I play a movie with a splitter which fills only (2) but not (1) then I have to manually choose the correct aspect ratio in MPC HC by using "Video Frame -> Override Aspect Ratio".

Now interestingly Haali's Media Splitter fills both (1) and (2) for MKV files with MPEG2 video. But it only fills (2) for MKV files with VC-1 video. As a result when playing a VC-1 MKV with MPC HC the aspect ratio doesn't work, although the aspect ratio is correctly set in the MKV and is correctly reported by Haali (but only through (2)).

Could you add support for automatic Aspect Ratio selection through the "BITMAPINFOHEADER.biXPelsPerMeter" fields if the "VIDEOINFOHEADER2.dwPictAspectRatioX" fields are not available (or not set), please? That would be great - thanks!

I'll also ask Haali to output both (1) and (2) for VC-1 MKVs, too, but Haali is rather slow in adding corrections, so it would be lovely if you could implement my suggestion. Furthermore there may also be other splitters which fill only (2) but not (1).
madshi is offline  
Old 17th February 2008, 21:24   #1089  |  Link
foxyshadis
ангел смерти
 
foxyshadis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Lost
Posts: 9,420
Quote:
Originally Posted by donaldtone View Post
They depend on vmr7 or vmr9(renderless) to show subtitles. By contrast, in kmplayer, the internal renderer "draw to image itself" works even at overlay mixer. Kmplayer also supports vmr7 or vmr9 mode. In a word, kmplayer internal subtitle renderer is much better than mpc because it is nothing to with the video hardware.
Then it's just a clone of VSFilter that resizes to full screen size first, with all the associated speed penalty. You want that, use VSFilter, very simple.

I wish kmplayer would contribute code back, even anonymously.
__________________
There are four boxes to be used in defense of liberty: soap, ballot, jury, and ammo. Please use in that order.
foxyshadis is offline  
Old 17th February 2008, 21:46   #1090  |  Link
leeperry
Kid for Today
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3,463
actually I had delay problems with the built-in vobsub of MPC HC, using EVR and 20 buffers.

I'm using VSFilter, set delay to +200 ms, and it's perfect

KMPlayer has tons of features, but MPC HC is a lot less buggy....besides the main coder is AWOL and the official forum ops are very unfriendly..
leeperry is offline  
Old 17th February 2008, 22:39   #1091  |  Link
dooWohcysP
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Italy
Posts: 8
Using latest MPC CSS patch (thanks Casimir666 for applying it ) I rewrote the web interface, you can find a (non-interactive) demo here, and the complete UI attached.

You can choose which (and how) extensions to show just adding them between the <style> tags in browser.html, I usually hide all non-video files since I use the webUI to control my HTPC via WiFi.
Attached Files
File Type: zip mpc_WebUI.zip (116.8 KB, 97 views)
dooWohcysP is offline  
Old 18th February 2008, 01:38   #1092  |  Link
CruNcher
Registered User
 
CruNcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 4,949
@Casimir666
Is there no way to seperate the interface (OSD) from the Video in the Exclusive Mode?

http://s3.directupload.net/images/080218/s73dzpzi.png
http://s1.directupload.net/images/080218/btxsx8jy.png
http://s1.directupload.net/images/080218/cj9v3xap.png
http://s3.directupload.net/images/080218/53euupnr.png

I really love this mode and i wonder if it would be possible to create a complete interface (OSD) for it like a file Browser, with thumbnail previews and more
and you could say if it's not possible todo that when the video stoped is even a good thing as it stays fully MediaCentric this way hehe

Also look @ this the Remaining Time Display couses every pooling a jitter spike, so i think every (state change) pooling for example keeping the Slidebar live updated would couse jitter in the Main Video?

http://s3.directupload.net/images/080218/hrlfx42p.png
__________________
all my compares are riddles so please try to decipher them yourselves :)

It is about Time

Join the Revolution NOW before it is to Late !

http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=168004

Last edited by CruNcher; 18th February 2008 at 04:11.
CruNcher is offline  
Old 18th February 2008, 05:51   #1093  |  Link
cc979
Curious BetaTester
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 430
curious question about Vista and MPC_HC does it try using hardware acceleration, has vista removed that - i did read somewhere about it - if it has could be causing problems with some things like MPC_HC if it uses it

cheers
__________________
Asrock N68-S AMD Athlon(tm) II X4 620 Processor (2.6GHz) - Crucial 2GB PC6400 800MHz DDR2 - Nvidia 9600GT

Tools: ProcessExplorer & ProcessMonitor - BatchCompressor

Guide: MinGW Compiling GCC
cc979 is offline  
Old 18th February 2008, 14:50   #1094  |  Link
LOGiC
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 121
@all,

first of all, MPC Home Cinema is a brillant tool, thanks for that hard work on it Casimir. I really appreciate this.

I would like to ask you all something for what I did not find any solution up to now. I am using HTPC to play 1080p/24 from HD-DVD and Blu-Ray. I got heavy tearing on most of the renderers as Haali and VMR9. Especially VMR9 is almost unuseable for me, it tears as crazy, even in D3D fullscreen mode. I am using ReClock, which gives good results for other material and using Overlay. Movies play very smooth with Overlay and Reclock, but I've read that VMR9 gives a bit of sharper picture. What I would like to know and asking for your help, I made EVR working in XP and I really like this renderers as it hardly tears, but when watching cropped material, the bars are unfortunately not black, just light grey to grey. This is annoying.

Is there any chance to fix this with any color corrections ?

Thank you all in advance for your help and sorry for asking that question in this thread.

Regards
LOGiC is offline  
Old 18th February 2008, 14:59   #1095  |  Link
leeperry
Kid for Today
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3,463
use regular EVR, disable "draw bars", go back to EVR C/A
leeperry is offline  
Old 18th February 2008, 16:52   #1096  |  Link
leeperry
Kid for Today
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 3,463
anyone using Reclock with MPC HC ?

I manage to get rock stable 24.000fps with Reclock resampling 23.976fps@24fps in 1280*768 48Hz.....but 24/72/96Hz are not stable at all.

in 1280*720 48Hz, it's oscilatting between 23.704fps and 23.797fps instead of 24.000fps, and any other combination like 25fps@50Hz or 30fps@60Hz will give an oscillating framerate as well.....and same goes for 1920*1080 24hz and 1280*1080 24Hz with 24fps in reclock

I think there's something fishy in the MPC HC rendering engine

I know some ppl with the same videocard and projector as mine using Reclock in 23.976@24fps with PowerDVD 7.3 Ultra in 1280*720 48Hz....and they get rock solid framerate

Last edited by leeperry; 18th February 2008 at 17:56.
leeperry is offline  
Old 18th February 2008, 19:29   #1097  |  Link
Casimir666
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 455
@Madshi
Are you sure biXPelsPerMeter should be used for A/R, that seems weird? I have generated an mkv using mkvmerge, with vc1 inside and set A/R to 4/3 in "format specifics option". With haali release 1.7.401.3 aspect ratio is correct :

Filter : Haali Media Splitter - CLSID : {55DA30FC-F16B-49FC-BAA5-AE59FC65F82D}

- Connected to:

CLSID: {94297043-BD82-4DFD-B0DE-8177739C6D20}
Filter: WMVideo Decoder DMO
Pin: in0

- Connection media type:

Video: WVC1 1280x720 (4:3)

AM_MEDIA_TYPE:
majortype: MEDIATYPE_Video {73646976-0000-0010-8000-00AA00389B71}
subtype: Unknown GUID Name {31435657-0000-0010-8000-00AA00389B71}
formattype: FORMAT_VideoInfo2 {F72A76A0-EB0A-11D0-ACE4-0000C0CC16BA}
bFixedSizeSamples: 0
bTemporalCompression: 0
lSampleSize: 1
cbFormat: 134

VIDEOINFOHEADER:
rcSource: (0,0)-(0,0)
rcTarget: (0,0)-(0,0)
dwBitRate: 0
dwBitErrorRate: 0
AvgTimePerFrame: 0

VIDEOINFOHEADER2:
dwInterlaceFlags: 0x00000000
dwCopyProtectFlags: 0x00000000
dwPictAspectRatioX: 1280
dwPictAspectRatioY: 960
dwControlFlags: 0x00000000
dwReserved2: 0x00000000

BITMAPINFOHEADER:
biSize: 62
biWidth: 1280
biHeight: 720
biPlanes: 1
biBitCount: 24
biCompression: WVC1
biSizeImage: 409764
biXPelsPerMeter: 4
biYPelsPerMeter: 3

biClrUsed: 0
biClrImportant: 0


@CruNcher
Yes i know OSD generate jitter, and work fine only with renderless and evr custom renderer :-( Maybe one day i'll fine courage and time to rewrite it differently (menu, file browsing,...)

@cc979
DXVA works on Vista with EVR only, but i'm not sure your 6800 supports mpc-hc internal decoders...
__________________
Tired of tearing?
Try this Media Player Classic mod : http://mpc-hc.sourceforge.net
Casimir666 is offline  
Old 18th February 2008, 19:53   #1098  |  Link
Schrade
Registered User
 
Schrade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 339
Does MPC-HC incorporate everything that's in clsid's patched MPC build? I mean...everything?

I'm just wondering if I switch between them will I come across something that's missing sometime down the line.
Schrade is offline  
Old 18th February 2008, 19:59   #1099  |  Link
madshi
Registered Developer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,137
Quote:
Originally Posted by Casimir666 View Post
@Madshi
Are you sure biXPelsPerMeter should be used for A/R, that seems weird?
I'm not really sure. Right now I'm thouroughly confused...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Casimir666 View Post
I have generated an mkv using mkvmerge, with vc1 inside
How did you do that? mkvmerge cannot mux raw VC-1 streams! Did you use a WMV or AVI source? Please try this one:

http://madshi.net/strange.evo (1280x1080)

When muxing this with gdsmux, the Haali Media Splitter outputs only FORMAT_VideoInfo and not FORMAT_VideoInfo2. And biXPelsPerMeter is set to 1 and biYPelsPerMeter is set to 2, which doesn't make any sense to me. The MPC property window shows it as "32:9". So obviously MPC does use biXPelsPerMeter to figure out the aspect ratio for its property window somehow.

Now it gets funny: If I drop this MKV into mkvmerge, it reports display dimensions of 3840x1080. Does that make any sense to you? Strange enough MPC HC does show the video in the correct aspect ratio in this situation...

If I mux this to MKV by using my eac3to tool (eac3to does muxing by feeding the "Haali Matroska Muxer" DirectShow filter from my own splitter) I'm setting the display dimensions to 1920x1080. Dropping this MKV into mkvmerge shows the correct display dimensions. And the MPC property window correctly shows the aspect ratio of "16:9". But MPC doesn't show video in the correct aspect ratio. I have to manually switch to 16:9.

This is all extremely confusing to me. Maybe you can have a look at this? That would be great! If possible please check out the sample EVO. Please mux it by using gdsmux and also by using eac3to. And then please compare the aspect ratio stuff with both muxes. I don't understand how MPC behaves.

Thanks very much...
madshi is offline  
Old 18th February 2008, 20:43   #1100  |  Link
Casimir666
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 455
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schrade View Post
Does MPC-HC incorporate everything that's in clsid's patched MPC build? I mean...everything?

I'm just wondering if I switch between them will I come across something that's missing sometime down the line.
Yes mpc-hc should contain all clsid patches. If you find one missing just say and we'll add it
__________________
Tired of tearing?
Try this Media Player Classic mod : http://mpc-hc.sourceforge.net
Casimir666 is offline  
Closed Thread

Tags
dxva, h264, home cinema, media player classic, mpc-hc

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:49.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.