Welcome to Doom9's Forum, THE in-place to be for everyone interested in DVD conversion.

Before you start posting please read the forum rules. By posting to this forum you agree to abide by the rules.

 

Go Back   Doom9's Forum > Video Encoding > (Auto) Gordian Knot

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 5th November 2003, 03:40   #81  |  Link
epere4
Doom9 in Spanish Team
 
epere4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Trenque Lauquen - Bs As - Argentina
Posts: 244
@len0x
I have just compressed Matrix Reloaded with this tool. 1CD and MP3 VBR. Worked very well and the quallity was excellent

Yor new software really rocks

I wonder why you made a completelly separate tool from GKnot and you didn't add this new automated features to it (with a button that could say "Show/Hide" advanced options, for example). You are not planing to make this tool commecial, are you?
__________________
epere4
Doom9 in Spanish
[Site] - [Forum]

Get DVobSub 2.23 and VobSub 2.23 in Spanish
epere4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th November 2003, 08:58   #82  |  Link
Jeffster
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Land of the Long White Cloud
Posts: 183
Quote:
Originally posted by len0x
@jeffster

how do you get the number of frames? by opening the same d2v file as was created by gkif4u ? the number of frames i report is the number of frames that i count in d2v file taking into account ivtc or FF. Are you dealing with NTSC source ? if yes, what percentage of FILM is reported in the logs ?
Sorry I was in a rush this morning and neglected to include that information.

These were all PAL source, and progressive. Yes opening the d2v file created by gkif4u shows the correct number of frames, just the log reports it differently.

That movie I'd already encoded about 3 times in the past week so I knew the number of frames by heart, probably why it stood out to me being so far off what I would expect.


Jeff
Jeffster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th November 2003, 09:10   #83  |  Link
Jeffster
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Land of the Long White Cloud
Posts: 183
@ manono

Your calculations would be absolutely correct if it was NTSC, but it was a PAL source.


Stream_Type=1,0,0
iDCT_Algorithm=3 (1:MMX 2:SSEMMX 3:FPU 4:REF 5:SSE2MMX)
YUVRGB_Scale=1 (0:TVScale 1:PCScale)
Luminance_Filter=0,0 (Gamma, Offset)
Picture_Size=0,0,0,0,0,0 (ClipLeft, ClipRight, ClipTop, ClipBottom)
Field_Operation=0 (0:None 1:ForcedFILM 2:SwapOrder)
Frame_Rate=25000
Location=0,0,5,38E69


Jeff
Jeffster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th November 2003, 10:27   #84  |  Link
wertert
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Bath Spa, UK.
Posts: 88
I encoded two movies last night and they both look great. This is the app i've been waiting for.

Pal/2 x CD with AC3 sound/704x288
PAL/2 x CD with mp3 vpr 128 sound/subtitles ( Portugues )/ 608x320

Size is bang on, quality superb. Couple of clicks and I woke up with two lovely looking movies......

One idea.... I don't really intend to ever cut my movies to cd/dvd but store them on a media server and stream them over my house network. I think more and more people are doing this. I normally go for 2 x CD size because I think it gives good quality + ac3 sound.

What I think would be really useful is allow the user to specify the percentage they would like to use after the compressibilty test has been performed, instead of a maximum file size. You already have the 'Maximum Quality - unlimited size' option.

For example I could specify I would like my movie to encode to 70% of the 'maximum' value found in by the compression test. Both my movies are close to this value anyway but it would be really great to know you are going to get a 70% quality movie from the outset. ( ignoring the final size )

Predicted comptest value is: 62.37
Predicted comptest value is: 74.91

So we go for a quality based setting instead of a final size based setting. Please don't say 'go and use GK' because this is SO much easier to use. You could add it in the 'custom size' dialogue and specify a % in stead of Mb.

I am going to check out the 'maximum quality' option tonight. What codec settings does it use ?

Thanks again for all you hard work.

wert
wertert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th November 2003, 11:25   #85  |  Link
len0x
I'm afraid we've to stop
 
len0x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Amongst mad people
Posts: 5,398
Quote:
Originally posted by killingspree
well i tried to encode the nicet&a clip with gki4fu again, but the outcome was rather strange again:
unlike the other clip it doesn't resize at all, but encodes at a faar too high bitrate.
the end result:
an avi twice the size of the original vob
no 'finished version' (muxed version) of the video,although it says muxing audio... and finished encoding in the log file
I need full log file for this one. It looks to me that actual target size was messed up. I think it's probably the same problem other ppl had, i.e. when you edit custom size gkif4u still thinks that target size is 1400Mb...
__________________
Gordian Knot Family:
Gordian Knot: website, download
Auto Gordian Knot: Website and download, tutorial, FAQ

Last edited by len0x; 5th November 2003 at 11:28.
len0x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th November 2003, 11:28   #86  |  Link
len0x
I'm afraid we've to stop
 
len0x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Amongst mad people
Posts: 5,398
Re: new bug?

Quote:
Originally posted by zerocoolnl
mm, I don't know what is wrong but I hope you can fix it:

This is the error I've got. I get the main movie to the HD with DVDDecrypter 3.1.5.0 In the map: D:\DVD\Unbreakable\VIDEO_TS
But, when I select that map I get the error.
Can you post the content of "VTS_01 - Stream Information.txt" (or something like that) created by DVDDecrypter here, please.
I tested gkif4u on 3.1.6 and 3.1.7 only, may be 3.1.5 had different format of that stream info file.
__________________
Gordian Knot Family:
Gordian Knot: website, download
Auto Gordian Knot: Website and download, tutorial, FAQ
len0x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th November 2003, 11:33   #87  |  Link
manono
Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 7,406
You're right, Jeffster-

And here I did all those NTSC ForcedFilm calculations for nothing. Sounds like a small, easily fixed, bug.
manono is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th November 2003, 11:34   #88  |  Link
len0x
I'm afraid we've to stop
 
len0x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Amongst mad people
Posts: 5,398
Quote:
Originally posted by MediaMage
i┤ll try to replicate the error an edit here
EDIT: error occuring: editing the edit-field (340 mb for example)
error disappers: when using the arrows -->341 mb, then 340 again

just update the variable used for the custom mb size "onKeyPress" when the focus is on the editfield and it should be gone.
hm... I'm catching another event - "OnExit", which is working fine on my system (I've spent 15 min trying to replicate this). But I can trap "onChange" or "onKeyPress" events as well...
__________________
Gordian Knot Family:
Gordian Knot: website, download
Auto Gordian Knot: Website and download, tutorial, FAQ
len0x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th November 2003, 11:38   #89  |  Link
len0x
I'm afraid we've to stop
 
len0x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Amongst mad people
Posts: 5,398
Quote:
Originally posted by manono
You're right, Jeffster-

And here I did all those NTSC ForcedFilm calculations for nothing. Sounds like a small, easily fixed, bug.
I wish I knew what was that bug all about

*Edit* And btw, your calculations were wrong - gkif4u's supposed to give only smaller number of frames that actual. (30fps -> 24fps). What jeffster experienced was something like 24fps -> 30fps, which is beyong my understanding of how this could happened

@Jeffster - can you please send me that D2V file to tonylen0x@yahoo.co.uk so that I could have a look at it. (the only guess is that parsing of it went wrong somewhere)
__________________
Gordian Knot Family:
Gordian Knot: website, download
Auto Gordian Knot: Website and download, tutorial, FAQ

Last edited by len0x; 5th November 2003 at 11:41.
len0x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th November 2003, 11:49   #90  |  Link
len0x
I'm afraid we've to stop
 
len0x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Amongst mad people
Posts: 5,398
Quote:
Originally posted by epere4

I wonder why you made a completelly separate tool from GKnot and you didn't add this new automated features to it (with a button that could say "Show/Hide" advanced options, for example).
the reason is simple: current GK have such somplicated source code, that it was simpler for me to write something from scratch than modify existing source code Flexibility never comes for free...

Quote:
Originally posted by epere4

You are not planing to make this tool commecial, are you?
As in sell for money ? Noo, it'll stay freeware Even if I wanted to, then there was a question of all other tools I'm using...
But I do have some interesting plans for it (will be announced later).
__________________
Gordian Knot Family:
Gordian Knot: website, download
Auto Gordian Knot: Website and download, tutorial, FAQ
len0x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th November 2003, 12:23   #91  |  Link
Jeffster
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Land of the Long White Cloud
Posts: 183
@ len0x

Email sent
Jeffster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th November 2003, 15:21   #92  |  Link
len0x
I'm afraid we've to stop
 
len0x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Amongst mad people
Posts: 5,398
Quote:
Originally posted by Jeffster
@ len0x

Email sent
Blind me! I found that all PAL based sources were handled not properly by inceasing number of frames by 25%
So in the end you get 90-95% of comp test which made video with much lower resolution that it could do... I'm gonna release 0.22 almost straight away!
__________________
Gordian Knot Family:
Gordian Knot: website, download
Auto Gordian Knot: Website and download, tutorial, FAQ
len0x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th November 2003, 15:50   #93  |  Link
len0x
I'm afraid we've to stop
 
len0x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Amongst mad people
Posts: 5,398
0.22 alpha is out

The problem with frame count for PAL sources should be solved as well as target size should always be picked up correctly.

For PAL sources 0.22 should make a large difference in resolution (you should see increase of width by 64 pixels at least). So comp test value is not above 90% anymore

My to do list for 0.30 (still alpha):

- delete "tmp" dir on job run
- check for "[" and "]" symbols in output path (to avoid confusion with DVD2AVI parameters)
- solve the problem when output is in the root of the drive
- calculate and display percentage of first pass size
- split final video if its more than one CD
- Change "Misc" advanced options to remove confusion to first time users (will do a simple TV/FILM switch and remove "4:3 perfect ratio" setting )
- change default deinterlacer

after that I will concentrate on doing installers and docs and then beta (0.4) will be released.
__________________
Gordian Knot Family:
Gordian Knot: website, download
Auto Gordian Knot: Website and download, tutorial, FAQ
len0x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th November 2003, 16:00   #94  |  Link
len0x
I'm afraid we've to stop
 
len0x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Amongst mad people
Posts: 5,398
Quote:
Originally posted by wertert
I am going to check out the 'maximum quality' option tonight. What codec settings does it use ?
Sharp matrix and resizer, no bframes, width of 720 pixels (even if it crops some it'll resize back to 720, basically preserving DVD quality).

Yes, I was wondering why nobody tried that before...
__________________
Gordian Knot Family:
Gordian Knot: website, download
Auto Gordian Knot: Website and download, tutorial, FAQ
len0x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th November 2003, 16:21   #95  |  Link
r6d2
Graphite mod
 
r6d2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Away
Posts: 2,022
Quote:
Originally posted by len0x
Yes, I was wondering why nobody tried that before...
I did, but my disk filled and couldn't mux
__________________
MPEG4 quality with MPEG2? - Try the Poor Man's DVD.
FACAR - As seen on TV! - The Complete Idiot's Guide to a good DVD Conversion.
Time is money. Try D2Sroba for DVD2SVCD (FAQ) and save both. All electricity bills supported!
Do you know how much overscan and which resolution your TV has? Find out if NTSC.
Moderator: 1: one who arbitrates 2: one who presides over an assembly, meeting, or discussion
3: a substance (as graphite) used for slowing down neutrons in a nuclear reactor (Webster)
r6d2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th November 2003, 16:32   #96  |  Link
len0x
I'm afraid we've to stop
 
len0x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Amongst mad people
Posts: 5,398
Quote:
Originally posted by r6d2
I did, but my disk filled and couldn't mux
which reminds me that I also wanted to check free space
__________________
Gordian Knot Family:
Gordian Knot: website, download
Auto Gordian Knot: Website and download, tutorial, FAQ

Last edited by len0x; 5th November 2003 at 16:37.
len0x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th November 2003, 16:33   #97  |  Link
wertert
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Bath Spa, UK.
Posts: 88
results are in on the maximum quality run

movie is PAL and about 1.5 hours

1) 2 cd/AC3 size is 1.4Gb ( resolution 704x288)
2) Maximum quality/AC3 size is 1.9Gb( resolution 720x288)

quality is really good as there is no compression test/first pass so it's very quick to encode. Not sure if it justifies the extra 0.5Gb. Are the 'maximum quality' settings the same as you use for the compression test ? Can you please please please allow the user to set the % quality they require ie instead of 'maximum quality' you could specify 60/70/80/90% quality. I would normally go for about 70% and store the movie on harddrive.

Do I need to run these tests again with version 0.22 as this is a PAL movie ? I've seen the posts about frame count.

GREAT WORK.

wert
wertert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th November 2003, 16:42   #98  |  Link
len0x
I'm afraid we've to stop
 
len0x's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Amongst mad people
Posts: 5,398
Quote:
Originally posted by wertert

Are the 'maximum quality' settings the same as you use for the compression test ?
Not exactly. Comp test always uses b-frames. Maximum quality mode doesn't.

Quote:
Originally posted by wertert

Can you please please please allow the user to set the % quality they require ie instead of 'maximum quality' you could specify 60/70/80/90% quality. I would normally go for about 70% and store the movie on harddrive.
I will not put this on the main widnow - that's for sure, but I can put small edit box on advanced options... Let me think about it...

Quote:
Originally posted by wertert

Do I need to run these tests again with version 0.22 as this is a PAL movie ? I've seen the posts about frame count.
If you had resolution below 704 in width then you might want to rerun those ones as you will benefit from larger resolution. If it's already 704 then it's not gonna be increased anyway...
__________________
Gordian Knot Family:
Gordian Knot: website, download
Auto Gordian Knot: Website and download, tutorial, FAQ

Last edited by len0x; 5th November 2003 at 16:45.
len0x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th November 2003, 19:00   #99  |  Link
zerocoolnl
Registered User
 
zerocoolnl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Holland
Posts: 47
@len0x

Here he comes:
Code:
0x20 - Subtitle - English / Normal Captions / LBA: 21395 / PTS: 00:01:04.967 / Delay: 64600ms
0x21 - Subtitle - English / Normal Closed Captions / LBA: 21402 / PTS: 00:01:04.967 / Delay: 64600ms
0x22 - Subtitle - Franšais / Normal Captions / LBA: 21404 / PTS: 00:01:04.967 / Delay: 64600ms
0x23 - Subtitle - Espa˝ol / Normal Captions / LBA: 21406 / PTS: 00:01:04.967 / Delay: 64600ms
0x24 - Subtitle - Portugues / Normal Captions / LBA: 6824 / PTS: 00:00:25.287 / Delay: 24920ms
0x25 - Subtitle - Nederlands / Normal Captions / LBA: 6827 / PTS: 00:00:25.287 / Delay: 24920ms
0x26 - Subtitle - Polish / Normal Captions / LBA: 6967 / PTS: 00:00:25.767 / Delay: 25400ms
0x27 - Subtitle - Czech(Ceske) / Normal Captions / LBA: 6969 / PTS: 00:00:25.767 / Delay: 25400ms
0x28 - Subtitle - Magyar / Normal Captions / LBA: 6840 / PTS: 00:00:25.487 / Delay: 25120ms
0x29 - Subtitle - Bulgarian / Normal Captions / LBA: 6843 / PTS: 00:00:25.487 / Delay: 25120ms
0x2A - Subtitle - Slovak / Normal Captions / LBA: 6846 / PTS: 00:00:25.487 / Delay: 25120ms
0x2B - Subtitle - Arabic / Normal Captions / LBA: 6852 / PTS: 00:00:25.487 / Delay: 25120ms
0x2C - Subtitle - Franšais / Forced / LBA: 6854 / PTS: 00:00:25.487 / Delay: 25120ms
0x2D - Subtitle - Espa˝ol / Forced / LBA: 6856 / PTS: 00:00:25.487 / Delay: 25120ms
0x2E - Subtitle - Czech(Ceske) / Forced / LBA: 6858 / PTS: 00:00:25.487 / Delay: 25120ms
0x2F - Subtitle - Magyar / Forced / LBA: 6860 / PTS: 00:00:25.487 / Delay: 25120ms
0x30 - Subtitle / LBA: 6862 / PTS: 00:00:25.487 / Delay: 25120ms
0x31 - Subtitle / LBA: 6865 / PTS: 00:00:25.487 / Delay: 25120ms
0x32 - Subtitle / LBA: 6868 / PTS: 00:00:25.487 / Delay: 25120ms
0x33 - Subtitle / LBA: 6876 / PTS: 00:00:25.487 / Delay: 25120ms
0x34 - Subtitle / LBA: 6879 / PTS: 00:00:25.487 / Delay: 25120ms
0x35 - Subtitle / LBA: 6882 / PTS: 00:00:25.487 / Delay: 25120ms
0x36 - Subtitle / LBA: 6885 / PTS: 00:00:25.487 / Delay: 25120ms
0x37 - Subtitle / LBA: 6887 / PTS: 00:00:25.487 / Delay: 25120ms
0x38 - Subtitle / LBA: 6892 / PTS: 00:00:25.487 / Delay: 25120ms
0x39 - Subtitle / LBA: 6894 / PTS: 00:00:25.487 / Delay: 25120ms
0x3A - Subtitle / LBA: 6896 / PTS: 00:00:25.487 / Delay: 25120ms
0x3B - Subtitle / LBA: 6898 / PTS: 00:00:25.487 / Delay: 25120ms
0x3C - Subtitle / LBA: 6900 / PTS: 00:00:25.487 / Delay: 25120ms
0x3D - Subtitle / LBA: 6902 / PTS: 00:00:25.487 / Delay: 25120ms
0x3E - Subtitle / LBA: 371672 / PTS: 00:14:23.527 / Delay: 863160ms
0x3F - Subtitle / LBA: 371675 / PTS: 00:14:23.527 / Delay: 863160ms
0x80 - Audio - AC3 / 6ch / 48kHz / DRC / English / LBA: 13 / PTS: 00:00:00.287 / Delay: -80ms
0x81 - Audio - AC3 / 6ch / 48kHz / DRC / Franšais / LBA: 14 / PTS: 00:00:00.287 / Delay: -80ms
0x82 - Audio - AC3 / 6ch / 48kHz / DRC / Espa˝ol / LBA: 15 / PTS: 00:00:00.287 / Delay: -80ms
0x83 - Audio - AC3 / 2ch / 48kHz / DRC / Czech(Ceske) / LBA: 16 / PTS: 00:00:00.287 / Delay: -80ms
0x84 - Audio - AC3 / 2ch / 48kHz / DRC / Magyar / LBA: 17 / PTS: 00:00:00.287 / Delay: -80ms
0xE0 - Video - MPEG-2 / 720x576 (PAL) / 16:9 / Letterboxed / LBA: 1 / PTS: 00:00:00.367 / Delay: 0ms

I used DVD Decrypter 3.1.5.0 (I know, I should update to 3.1.7.0)
and for manono: I used IFO mode, not file

I hope you can fix it, thnx

Zerocoolnl
__________________
Moderator on www.forum.Doom9.nl, the dutch mirror site.
System specifications Zerocool
zerocoolnl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 5th November 2003, 19:17   #100  |  Link
bkam
Registered User
 
bkam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: London
Posts: 115
extremely minor point

In the title menu, it says THE tool for DVD-2-XviD/XviD conversion. Did you mean XviD/DivX ?

Also any thoughts on what kind of icon you want, since you mentioned you wanted to change it?

EDIT: Just realized maybe you left both as XviD since DivX is not supported yet. Oops!

Last edited by bkam; 5th November 2003 at 19:20.
bkam is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 23:05.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.